Aviation of WWII
Home Custom Search
USA Lockheed Martin B-10/B-12 Martin 167 Hudson Ventura Harpoon P-38 B-26 Photo & Drawings

"Martin 167"

Light Bomber

Martin

Martin 167

Martin 167 was developed by the Glenn L. Martin Company design team led by engineer James S. McDonell. The aircraft was designed for use as a light front-line bomber, reconnaissance aircraft and even an attack aircraft.

Construction. Structurally "Martin 167" was an all-metal cantilever monoplane with smooth duralumin sheathing of all surfaces, except for rudders and ailerons, sheathed with canvas. The fuselage is a semi-monocoque type of oval cross-section. The designers tried to "squeeze" the midship as much as possible in order to reduce aerodynamic drag. For this, they had to abandon the transitions between the cockpits, although this was a clear departure from the American tradition of bomber aircraft. The crew members could communicate with each other only via an intercom.

Two-spar wing of the caisson type. The main landing gear struts are non-flat, with oil-pneumatic shock absorption, they were retracted by turning back into the engine nacelles. The tail wheel is fixed. In general, the aircraft turned out to be very elegant, aerodynamic and light, which provided it with relatively good flight performance.

The crew consisted of a navigator-bombardier (aka commander), who was sitting in a well-glazed bow cockpit, a pilot and a gunner-radio operator. Sometimes the crew included one more person - the navigator. First of all, this concerned the French naval squadrons.

Plane control has been duplicated. In the cockpit of the bombardier navigator there was a second steering wheel and pedals, which he could use for precise aiming at the target or in the event of a pilot's dead.

Powerplant. The first modification of the aircraft was equipped with 14-cylinder two-row radial engines "Pratt-Whitney" R-183SC3G "Twin Wasp" with single-stage superchargers with a capacity of 1050 hp. The propellers are Hamilton-standard three-blade automatic gearboxes with “fan” linings at the hub to improve the cooling of engine cylinders.

Armament. To act as a bomber, a small bomb bay was made in the fuselage, which could hold small and medium-caliber bombs (from 10 to 100 kg). The total bomb load, even by the then standards, was small. The designers planned to install additional outer underwing bomb racks in the future.

In addition to bombs, "Martin" could attack the enemy with machine-gun fire, for which in the center section of the wing were installed four course machine guns "Browning" rifle caliber.

According to the project, the crew for self-defense had three mobile Vickers machine guns. One of them was located in the bow installation (however, it was not installed either on the prototype or on production vehicles), one more - in the upper turret turret, and the third - in the rear lower "dagger" installation. In general, it can be said that both offensive and defensive armament of the aircraft was already clearly weak for that time. The situation was aggravated by the complete lack of passive protection. The developers did not want to make the vehicle heavier with armor and reduce the volume of fuel tanks by protecting them. It was assumed that the aircraft's main protective means would be its high speed. But in practice, this calculation was not justified, since most of the enemy fighters, with which the "Martins" soon had to deal, had an undeniable advantage over them in speed characteristics.

'Martin - Maryland' Specification
Martin US 167F-3 167B-4
Martin UK Mk. I Mk. II
Crew 3 3
Dimensions
Length, m 14.22 14.22
Height, m 4.57 4.57
Wing span, m 18.69 18.69
Wing area, m² 50.03 50.03
Weight
Empty weight 5086 5700
Loaded weight 6940 7620
Powerplant
Pratt & Whitney 2×R-183SC3G 2×R-1830-S3C4-G
Power, hp 2×1050 2×1200
Performance
Speed, km/h 489 508
Initial rate of climb, m/min 600 -
Ceiling, m 8990 9450
Range, km 2090 2890
Armament
4 × 7.62mm machine guns, bombs on internal load, kg 544 544

In France, according to the agreement, "Martins" entered without weapons, the French themselves on the spot equipped them with machine guns and bomb throwers, designed for the local nomenclature of ammunition. At the same time, obviously, with the aim of further lightening the machine and increasing flight data, they abandoned bow and dagger machine-gun installations, thereby further worsening the protection of the bomber. In the wing and in the upper turret, they installed machine guns of their own production MAC-34 of 7.5 mm caliber. Sometimes, instead of one machine gun, a twin was mounted in the tower.

"Martin" 167 was in a completely uncertain position until France needed a light bomber/attack aircraft in 1939. The contract was signed for 215 Martins 167F-3 in two lots (F-France).

In connection with the surrender of France in June 1940, Britain agreed to purchase part of the French order (50 vehicles) and placed an order for another 150, which were produced under the designation "Martin" 167В-4 (B-Britain) and equipped with engines "Pratt -Whitney "R-1830-SC3G. They were designated "Maryland" Mk I and "Maryland" Mk II, respectively.

Former French "martins", and now "Marylands" were used mainly for educational purposes. Only a few vehicles were transferred to the 771st division of the RAF, in which in 1940-41 they made reconnaissance flights over the Atlantic and the North Sea, looking for German raiders and submarines. One of these scouts became famous for the discovery of the largest German warship - the battleship Bismarck. After a fierce naval battle and an attack by torpedo bombers, the battleship was sunk by a British squadron.

The most active British and South African "Marylands" fought in North Africa. In May 1942, the 39th RAF battalion was added to the 24th SAAF division, previously transferred from Kenya.

The last Allied air unit to be adopted by the Marylands was the 20th SAAF division, formed in April 1942 in Tanzania. This division did not participate in the battles with the Germans and Italians, but he had a chance to fight with the French after the landing of British and South African troops in Madagascar. French colonial units put up stubborn resistance, and fighting on the island continued from September to November. Then the division returned to Africa and at the beginning of 1943 was re-equipped with new equipment.

This was the end of the American bomber's combat career, which had to fight a lot in different countries and with different emblems, but not with the US identification marks.

Bibliography

  • "Encyclopedia of military engineering" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "American warplanes of World War II" /under cor. David Donald/
  • "aviAMaster" /#7, 8 Grigoriy Minskiy/
Bell Boeing Brewster Consolidated Curtiss Douglas General Motors Grumman Lockheed Martin North American Northrop Republic Vought People & Aircraft Photos & Drawings

©AirPages
2003-

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте  Мобильная версия
 
Самолёты Lockheed Martin B-10/B-12 Martin 167 Martin 187 PBM Mariner Hudson Ventura Harpoon P-38 B-26 Фото и схемы Боевое применение B-26

"Martin 167"

Легкий бомбардировщик-разведчик

Martin

Martin 167

Martin 167 был разработан конструкторским коллективом «Glenn L. Martin Company » под руководством инженера Джеймса С. Макдонелла. Самолет проектировался для использования в качестве легкого фронтового бомбардировщика, разведчика и даже штурмовика.

Конструкция. Конструктивно «Мартин 167» представлял собой цельнометаллический свободнонесущий моноплан с гладкой дюралевой обшивкой всех поверхностей, за исключением рулей и элеронов, обшитых полотном. Фюзеляж типа полумонокок овального сечения. Конструкторы стремились максимально «обжать» мидель с целью снижения аэродинамического сопротивления. Ради этого им пришлось отказаться от переходов между кабинами, хотя это и являлось явным отступлением от американских традиций бомбардировочного самолетостроения. Члены экипажа могли общаться между собой только по переговорному устройству.

Крыло двухлонжеронное кессонного типа. Основные стойки шасси бесподкосные, с масляно-пневматической амортизацией убирались поворотом назад в мотогондолы. Хвостовое колесо неубирающееся. В целом самолет получился весьма изящным, аэродинамичным и легким, что обеспечило ему относительно неплохие летные данные.

Экипаж состоял из штурмана-бомбардира (он же командир), сидевшего в хорошо остекленной носовой кабине, пилота и стрелка-радиста. Иногда в состав экипажа включали еще одного человека - штурмана-навигатора. Прежде всего, это касалось французских морских эскадрилий.

Управление самолетом было дублировано. В кабине штурмана-бомбардира стоял второй штурвал и педали, которыми он мог воспользоваться для точной наводки» на цель или в случае выхода из строя пилота.

Силовая установка. На первой модификации машины стояли 14-цилиндровые двухрядные звездообразные моторы «Пратт-Уитни» R-183SC3G «Твин Уосп» с одноступенчатыми нагнетателями мощностью по 1050 л.с. Винты - трехлопастные ВИШ-автоматы «Хэмилтон-стандард» с «вентиляторными» накладками у ступицы для улучшения охлаждения цилиндров двигателей.

Вооружение. Для действий в роли бомбардировщика в фюзеляже сделали небольшой бомбоотсек, вмещавший бомбы малого и среднего калибра (от 10 до 100 кг). Общая бомбовая нагрузка даже по тогдашним меркам оказалась мала. Конструкторы планировали в дальнейшем установить дополнительно наружные подкрыльевые бомбодержатели.

Помимо бомб, «Мартин» мог атаковать противника пулеметным огнем, для чего в центроплане крыла установили четыре курсовых пулемета «Браунинг» винтовочного калибра.

Согласно проекту экипаж для самозащиты располагал тремя подвижными пулеметами «Виккерс». Один из них размещался в носовой установке (впрочем, ни на прототипе, ни на на серийных машинах его не ставили), еще один - в верхней башенной турели, а третий - в задней нижней «кинжальной» установке. В целом можно сказать, что как наступательное, так и оборонительное вооружение самолета было для того времени уже явно слабым. Положение усугублялось полным отсутствием пассивной защиты. Разработчики не захотели утяжелять машину броней и уменьшать объем топливных баков за счет их протектирования. Предполагалось, что главным защитным средством самолета будет его высокая скорость. Но на практике этот расчет не оправдался, поскольку большинство вражеских истребителей, с которыми «мартинам» вскоре пришлось иметь дело, обладали над ними неоспоримым преимуществом в скоростных характеристиках.

Во Францию, согласно договору, «Мартины» поступали без вооружения, французы сами на месте оснащали их пулеметами и бомбосбрасывателями, рассчитанными под местную номенклатуру боеприпасов. При этом, очевидно, с целью дальнейшего облегчения машины и повышения летных данных, они отказались от носовых и кинжальных пулеметных установок, еще сильнее ухудшив тем самым защищенность бомбардировщика. В крыле и в верхней турели они ставили пулеметы собственного производства МАС-34 калибра 7,5 мм. Иногда, вместо одного пулемета, в башне монтировали спарку.

«Мартин» 167 находился в совершенно неопределенном положении, пока Франции не потребовался в 1939 г. легкий бомбардировщик/штурмовик. Контракт подписали на 215 «Мартинов» 167F-3 в двух партиях (F-France).

В связи с капитуляцией Франции в июне 1940 г. Британия согласилась приобрести часть французского заказа (50 машин) и оформила заказ еще на 150, которые производились под обозначением «Мартин» 167В-4 (B-Britain) и оснащались двигателями «Пратт-Уитни» R-1830-SC3G. Они обозначались «Мериленд» Mk I и «Мериленд» Mk II соответственно.

Бывшие французские "мартины", а ныне "мэриленды" использовались, в основном, для учебных целей. Лишь несколько машин передали в 771-й дивизион RAF, в составе которого они в 1940-41 годах совершали разведывательные полеты над Атлантикой и Северным морем, разыскивая германские рейдеры и подводные лодки. Один из таких разведчиков прославился обнаружением крупнейшего немецкого военного корабля - линкора "Бисмарк". После ожесточенного морского боя и атаки торпедоносцев линкор был потоплен британской эскадрой.

Наиболее активно британские и южноафриканские "мэриленды" воевали в Северной Африке. В мае 1942 г. к 24-му дивизиону SAAF, ранее переброшенному из Кении, добавился 39-й дивизион RAF.

Последней авиачастью союзников, получившей на вооружение "мэриленды", стал 20-й дивизион SAAF, сформированный в апреле 1942 года в Танзании. В боях с немцами и итальянцами этот дивизион не участвовал, зато ему довелось повоевать с французами после высадки британских и южноафриканских войск на Мадагаскар. Французские колониальные части оказали упорное сопротивление, и бои на острове продолжались с сентября по ноябрь. Затем дивизион вернулся в Африку и в начале 1943-го был перевооружен на новую технику.

На этом завершилась боевая карьера американского бомбардировщика, которому немало пришлось повоевать в разных странах и с разными эмблемами, но только не с опознавательными знаками США.

Характеристики самолетов «Martin Maryland»
Martin US 167F-3 167B-4
Maryland UK Mk.I Mk.II
Экипаж, чел. 3 3
Геометрия
Длина самолета, м 14.22 14.22
Высота, м 4.57 4.57
Размах крыла, м 18.69 18.69
Площадь крыла, м2 50.03 50.03
Массы
Масса, кг пустого 5086 5700
взлетная 6940 7620
Силовая установка
14 цилиндровый, 2-х рядная звезда Pratt & Whitney R-183SC3G R-1830-S3C4-G
Мощность, л.с. 2x1050 2x1200
Лётные данные
Скорость, км/ч 489 508
Скороподъемность м/мин 600 -
на высоте, м 0 0
Потолок практический, м 8990 9450
Макс. дальность, км 2090 2890
Вооружение
4х7,62 пулеметов FN Браунинг, бомб в бомбоотсеке, кг 544 544

Источники

  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "Американские военные самолеты Второй мировой войны" /под ред. Дэвида Дональда/
  • "авиАМастер" /№ 7,8 2004 Григорий Минский/

©AirPages
2003-