Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

General Motors

General Motors Corporation was formed from the amalgamation of several car manufacturers. The oldest corporation was founded by R. E. Olds in Detroit in 1892 under the name Olds Motor Vehicle Company.

To avoid competition, in 1903, on the initiative of Buick director William Durant, General Motors Corporation was created, which included Olds Motor Vehicle Company and Buick, in 1909 Cadillac and Oakland (renamed Pontiac) joined them. In the following years, General Motors acquired a number of car manufacturers and companies.

In 1918, Chevrolet became part of the corporation, and in 1920 - the Canadian McLaughlin Motor Company, which later became a subsidiary of General Motors of Canada Limited. Also in 1920, Dayton Engineering Laboratories, the inventor of the starter, Charles F. Kettering, was merged, and Kettering himself became GM's scientific director.

In 1923, Alfred Sloan became president of GM (he held this post until 1956), under his leadership, foreign expansion began. In 1925, the British company Vauxhall Motors was bought, and in 1931, the German company Adam Opel; the share of the American market was also significantly increased - from 12% in 1921 to 44% in 1941.

From 1940 to 1945, GM produced $ 12.3 billion worth of military products, including 1,300 aircraft and a quarter of all aircraft engines in the United States.

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте  Мобильная версия
 
Самолёты General Motors FM-1/2 TBM Фото и схемы Боевое применение TBM

General Motors


General Motors Corporation образовалась в результате объединения нескольких производителей автомобилей. Старейшая из образовавших корпорацию компаний была основана Р. Э. Олдсом в 1892 году в Детройте под названием Olds Motor Vehicle Company.

Для избежания конкуренции, в 1903 году по инициативе директора Buick Уильяма Дюранта была создана корпорация General Motors, в которую вошли Olds Motor Vehicle Company и Buick, в 1909 году к ним присоединились компании Cadillac и Oakland (переименованная в Pontiac). В последующие годы General Motors поглотила ряд производителей автомобилей и компаний.

В 1918 году в состав корпорации вошла компания Chevrolet, а в 1920 году — канадская McLaughlin Motor Company, позже ставшая дочерней компанией General Motors of Canada Limited. Также в 1920 году была присоединена Dayton Engineering Laboratories, компания изобретателя стартера Чарльза Кеттеринга (Charles F. Kettering), а сам Кеттеринг стал научным директором GM.

В 1923 году президентом GM стал Альфред Слоун (занимал этот пост до 1956 года), под его руководством началась зарубежная экспансия. В 1925 году была куплена британская компания Vauxhall Motors, а в 1931 году — немецкая Adam Opel; также была значительно увеличена доля на американском рынке — с 12 % в 1921 году до 44 % в 1941 году.

С 1940 по 1945 год GM произвела военной продукции на 12,3 млрд долларов, в том числе 1300 самолётов и четверть всех авиационных двигателей в США.




©AirPages
2003-