Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

F8F Bearcat

Deck Fighter

Grumman

F8F Bearcat

In 1943, the Grumman manufacturing facility was busy producing large numbers of F6F-3 Hellcat for the Pacific War. However, at the same time, the development of a new fighter with better characteristics began. The competing companies - Boeing and Curtiss offered projects heavier than Hellcat fighters. At the same time, test pilot "Grumman" Bob Hall was sent to England, where he conducted comprehensive tests of the captured "Focke-Wulf" FV-190. The test results were immediately reported to Leroy Grumman, the president of the company.

As a result, it was decided to design a light aircraft with optimal characteristics. According to the president, it should be small and very maneuverable. And on July 28, 1943, the specification for a new carrier-based fighter was signed.

As a result, Project 58 appeared with a Pratt & Whitney R-2800 "Double Wasp" engine, NACA 230 wing profile. For the first time, a revolutionary lantern was used for carrier-based fighters, which provided the pilot with excellent visibility in all directions. Project 58 was led by William T. Schwendler, who has already contributed to Widecat and Hellcat.

On November 29, 1943, the Navy signed a contract with the firm to build two prototypes under the designation XF8F-1. As a matter of fact, the competition did not work out. Competitors clearly could not compete with Grumman. The Curtiss XF14C-1 turned out to be weaker in maneuver and climb, and the huge Boeing XF8B-1 was difficult even to call a fighter.

Grumman built these two aircraft in record time: for example, the first prototype was rolled out of the hangar on August 21, 1944.

It clearly had its own unique beauty, which was only emphasized by short wings and a "forehead" barrel-shaped fuselage with a "drop" of the cockpit. The main structural material of the aircraft is the new 302W aluminum alloy, which ensures very high skin cleanliness. The semi-monocoque fuselage had an armoring of the cockpit, engine and oil system units. Improved methods of strength calculations have made the aircraft light enough. Particular attention was paid to the wing, which was designed for a maximum operational overload of 9 units. The designers managed to significantly reduce the weight of its structure due to the use of a new concept of "enhanced safety tips", based on the latest achievements of that time in the field of strength theory and materials science.

The most interesting moment was the shooting of the wingtips (the so-called safetywing tips) when the permissible overload was sharply exceeded. At the same time, the wingspan decreased by about 2 meters, and therefore the available lift, overload and air load on the wing decreased sharply, which prevented the wing from breaking or spontaneous folding. The remaining area was enough for the pilot to get out of the battle and sit down safely.

At the request of the customer, the first XF8F-1 received the Pratt & Whitney R-2800-22W. and the second is the improved R-2800-30W. However, the -30W engine had not yet been built and both XF8F-1s received the R-2800-22W and the Aeroproducts Model A642-G1 four-blade propeller.

On August 21, 1944, Bob Hall lifted the XF8F-l prototype (BuNo 90460) into the air. However, the first flight was short due to the fact that the pilot had problems with handling. The reason was found quickly. The hot air coming out of the oil coolers on the upper surface of the wing created a powerful air stream that fell on the empennage. The radiator exhaust vents were moved under the wing, and the fighter became more obedient.

In the very first sorties, the prototype demonstrated a speed of 424 mph (about 680 km h), and in terms of climb rate the aircraft had no equal among American carrier-based fighters - in one minute the XF8F-1 gained almost one and a half kilometers of altitude.

Tests of the second prototype XF8F-1 began on December 2, 1944. However, in March 1945, the first XF8F-1 prototype was lost in a crash.

Despite this nuisance, testing of the second prototype continued intensively. Already in June 1944, the Navy placed an order for the production of the first batch of 23 aircraft. Soon, according to tradition, the new "Grumman" fighter received a "cat" name - "Birkat" ("Wolverine"). The second contract provided for the delivery of 2000 F8Fs under the designation F8F-1 at a rate of 100 vehicles per month. The first baptism of fire of the aircraft was to be Operation OLYMPIC (landing on the Japanese Islands), scheduled for November 1945.

According to the same plans, the production of "Hellcats" was to be gradually phased out in order to begin a full-fledged production of "Birkats" from January 1946. A sub-contractor was also found - Eastern Aircraft, which produced 77% of all Avengers and 79% of Wildcats during the war.

Under the sub-contract signed on February 5, 1945, it was supposed to produce 1876 Birkats (under the naval designation F3M-1). However, due to the end of the war, the contract was terminated in August 1945.

F8F-1 Following the triumphant procession of two XF8F-1s, Grumman began construction of the first batch, the first of which (Bu No 90437) left the production shops on December 31, 1944. The new aircraft was designated F8F-1. The aircraft of this batch received numbers from BuNo from 90437 to 90461. 90460 and 90461 were XF8F.

The new F8F-1 has received several changes compared to prototypes. So, the scope of the stabilizer was increased by 12 inches, a small forkil appeared, and under the hood there was now an R-2800-34W motor, which had 300 hp. more power than the motors of the 22nd and 30th series installed on the prototypes. At the request of the customer, the volume of fuel tanks was increased by 104 liters and amounted to 824 liters. All fuel tanks were sealed. Already during the construction of prototypes, the requirement was introduced for the possibility of suspension under the wing of two 454 kg bombs or additional fuel tanks. This mission was completed on the second pre-production F8F-1, which received two underwing Mk.51 holders. and one more, the same, under the fuselage. In addition to bombs and tanks, Mk containers were tested on underwing holders. 1 with two 12.7mm machine guns each, as well as a 298mm Tiny Tim missile. Despite their success, the latter two suspension options did not catch on. More successful was the installation of 5-inch (127 mm) AR or HVAR missiles on four Mk.9 launchers (from the fourth aircraft), which was subsequently used on most serial Birkats.

Captain Robert M.Edler carried out the "run-in" of the aircraft on the ship. who landed his F8F-1 on the deck of the CVE-30 "Charger" on February 17, 1945. This last phase of aircraft testing was also successful.

Of course, like any new car, Birkat had its own "nuances". So, the landing gear retracted too quickly and with a shock. Buffering was observed when operating speed limits were exceeded, and the pilot was advised to use the brake flaps on the underside of the wing to absorb the shaking. There were also peculiarities of the reaction to the "dacha" of the rudders.

As a result, the aircraft's good landing characteristics were confirmed and it was recommended for deployment on aircraft carriers of all classes, including small escort (CVE).

The last batch of 10 F8F-1s (BuNo from 90450 to 90459) was sent to NAS North Island and NAS Santa Rosa airbases, where the pilots of two squadrons, VF-18 and VF-19, underwent retraining.



F8F-1 Specification
Crew 1
Dimensions
Wing span, m 10.82
Wing area, m² 22.673
Length, m 10.24
Height, m 8.43
Powerplant
1 × PE Pratt Whitney R-2800-34W Double Wasp, power h.p. 2100 л.с.
Weight, kg:
Empty 3,322
Loaded weight 4,387
Gross weight 5,779
Fuel, l 700
Performance
Maximum speed at altitude, km/h 680
Maximum speed over ground, km/h 615
Rate of climb, m/min 1,710
Service ceiling, m 10,575

Armament. F8F-1: four 12.7mm Cplt-Browning machine guns with 300 rounds per machine gun. F8F-1В four 20mm Ford cannons with 205 rounds per cannon.

Suspended armament: 4 supersonic NAR HVAR with a caliber of 127 mm and 2 bombs of 450 kg each under the wing pylons or 1 bomb of 725 kg instead of PTB. PTB with a capacity of 568 liters, under the bomb pylons it is possible to suspend two PTBs of 757 liters each.

In service. The first unit to receive Birkats was VF-19. The squadron proved itself to be successful during its "mission" to the war aboard the Lexington. The pilots flew the F6F Hellcat. It included several experienced pilots - so Lieutenant Bill Masoner shot down 12 Japanese aircraft. On August 16, 1945, a unit aboard the light aircraft carrier CVE-27 "Langley" sailed from the United States to the shores of Japan. But the Birkats did not get to fight. August was the last month of the war.

VF-18 was sent to NAS North Island AFB after their aircraft carrier Interpid (CV-11) was hit by two kamikazes on November 25, 1944 and was incapacitated for two months. The squadron pilots received several vehicles from the first batch of F8F-1 for retraining.

In view of the end of the war, the squadron was not sent to the front, being transferred on November 17, 1945 to the NAS Norfolk airbase.

The formation of new squadrons on the "Birkats" was suspended by the post-war reduction of the armed forces. So, by November 1946, only nine squadrons were rearmed. In the same month, there was a reorganization of the naval squadrons, during which VF-18 became VF-18A. The prefix "A" stood for "Strike," and while "L" stood for "Light," based on the Independence-class aircraft carriers.

The pilots were happy with their cars, and many of them have kept fond memories of the plane forever. The floor is given to Captain Gordon Firebauch, commander of the VF-5A squadron in 1946-1947. armed with Birkats: “I think this is the best plane I have ever flown. I commanded a dozen green pilots, whose total flight time did not exceed 400 hours, and the four-month ocean voyage passed without difficulty, which testifies to the flying qualities of the F8F. "

F8F-1B. In 1944, at the Joint Fighter Conference, training battles were held between various types of fighters -P-47D and P-47M "Thunderbolt", P-51D " Mustang ", F4U-4" Corsair "and F8F-1" Birkat ". Five army, five naval and 12 test pilots took part in the battles. During the Conference, a significant drawback of the aircraft was revealed - weak small arms in the form of four .50 "Browning" and a small cockpit area.

Strictly speaking, this fact was not a discovery. It was pointed out during prototype testing, but it was not until after the war that it was taken to eliminate it.

As a result, the fleet command ordered the modernization of two F8F-1s with the installation of two 20mm MZ cannons instead of four machine guns. Such a gun weighed almost twice as heavy as the M2 machine gun. The company practically redesigned a wing, in which two cartridge boxes were installed. It is by these access hatches that cannon Birkats can be distinguished. The new modification was designated F8F-1B.

The prototype for the new series was the serial F8F-1 with registration number 90440. In March 1946, the first production vehicles appeared.

On new machines, as a result of the modification, the horizontal maneuverability of the aircraft was reduced, in particular, the angular rates of roll worsened.

It is very significant that in the design of the MZ it was possible not only to achieve high muzzle power and good firing range, but also to increase the reliability of the weapon - frequent machine gun failures worried the F8F-1 pilots. Tests have shown that the cannon fires more than 10,000 rounds per failure.

From March 1946 to January 1948, Grumman built 226 F8F-1Bs. Every fourth Birkat was an F8F-1B.

Photo Description
Drawing F8F2 Drawing F8F2
F8F2 F8F-2P at NAS Pensacola, 1949, aircraft of this modification can be distinguished by a single 20-mm cannon in the wing.
F8F3 Known as "Beetle Bomb" "Bircat" on NAS Glenview in 1948. This aircraft was painted completely Glossy Orange-Yellow with blue lettering and a zero number. The plane held out in the group even after the main team began to fly on the "Panthers".

Bibliography

  • F8F "Bearcat" / War in the air # 146 /
  • Encyclopedia of Military Equipment / Aerospace Publising /
  • Carrier-based fighters of the Second World War / Ivan Kudishin /
  • American military aircraft of the Second World War / ed. David Donald /

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте English
 
Самолёты Grumman F4F-3 F4F-4 XF5F-1 F6F-5 F7F F8F TBF Фото и схемы Боевое применение F4F F6F TBF

F8F "Bearcat"

Палубный истребитель

Grumman

F8F Bearcat

В 1943 году производственные мощности фирмы «Грумман» были заняты производством большого количества F6F-3 «Хеллкэт» для войны на Тихом океане. Однако одновременно начались разработки нового истребителя с лучшими характеристиками. Компании конкуренты - «Боинг» и «Кертисс» предложили проекты более тяжелых чем «Хеллкет» истребителей. В то же время пилот испытатель «Грумман» Боб Холл был отправлен в Англию, где провел всесторонние испытания трофейного «Фокке-Вульфа» ФВ-190. Результаты испытаний были сразу доложены Лерою Грумману -президенту компании.

В итоге было решено делать проект легкого самолета с оптимальными характеристиками. По словам президента он должен быть небольшим, очень маневренным. А 28 июля 1943 года бьша подписана спецификация на новый палубный истребитель.

В итоге появился «Проект 58» с двигателем Pratt & Whitney R-2800 «Double Wasp», профилем крыла NACA 230. Впервые для палубных истребителей был применен революционный фонарь, который обеспечивал летчику прекрасный обзор на всех направлениях. Работу над «Проектом 58» возглавил Уильям Т. Швендлер, в активе которого бьша уже работа над «Уайддкэтом» и «Хэллкэтом».

29 ноября 1943 года Военно-морской флот подписал с фирмой контракт на постройку двух прототипов под обозначением XF8F-1. Собственно говоря, конкурса не получилось. Конкуренты явно не могли тягаться с фирмой «Грумман». XF14C-1 фирмы «Кертисс» оказался слабее в маневре и наборе высоты, а огромный XF8B-1 фирмы «Боинг» трудно было даже назвать истребителем.

«Грумман» построил эти два самолета в рекордно короткие сроки: так, первый прототип выкатили из ангара 21 августа 1944 года.

Он явно имел свою, неповторимую красоту, которую лишь подчеркивали короткие крылья и «лобастый» бочкообразный фюзеляж с «каплей» кабины. Основным конструкционным материалом самолета стал новый алюминиевый сплав 302W, обеспечивающий очень высокую чистоту обшивки. Фюзеляж типа полумонокок имел бронирование кабины, двигателя и узлов маслосистемы. Улучшенные методы прочностных расчетов позволили сделать самолет достаточно легким. Особое внимание было уделено крылу, которое рассчитывалось на максимальную эксплуатационную перегрузку 9 единиц. Конструкторам удалось существенно снизить вес его конструкции за счет применения новой концепции «законцовок повышенной безопасности», основанной на новейших достижениях того времени в области теории прочности и материаловедения.

Наиболее интересным моментом был отстрел законцовок крыла (так называемых safetywing tip) при резком превышении допустимой перегрузки. При этом размах крыла уменьшался примерно на 2 метра, а следовательно располагаемая подъемная сила, перегрузка и воздушная нагрузка на крыло резко уменьшались, что предотвращало крыло от поломки или самопроизвольного складывания. Оставшейся площади было достаточно, чтобы пилот вышел из боя и благополучно сел.

По желанию заказчика первый XF8F-1 получил Pratt & Whitney R-2800-22W. а второй - усовершенствованный R-2800-30W. Однако двигатель -30W еще не был построен и оба XF8F-1 получили R-2800-22W и четырехлопасный винт Aeroproducts Model A642-G1.

21 августа 1944 года Боб Холл поднял в воздух прототип XF8F-l(BuNo 90460). Однако первый вылет был коротким из-за того, что у летчика возникли проблемы с управляемостью. Причину нашли быстро. Горячий воздух, выходящий из маслорадиаторов на верхнюю поверхность крыла, создавал мощный воздушный поток, попадавший на оперение. Выхлопные отверстия радиаторов перенесли под крыло, и истребитель стал послушнее.

В первых же вылетах прототип продемонстрировал скорость в 424 mph (около 680 км ч), а по скороподъемности самолет не имел себе равных среди американских палубных истребителей - за одну минуту XF8F-1 набирал почти полтора километра высоты.

Испытания второго прототипа XF8F-1 начались 2 декабря 1944 года. Однако в марте 1945 года первый прототип XF8F-1 был потерян в катастрофе.

Несмотря на эту неприятность испытания второго прототипа продолжались интенсивно. Уже в июне 1944 года Флот разместил заказ на производство первой партии в 23 самолета. Вскоре по традиции новый «груммановский» истребитель получил «кошачье» имя - «Биркэт» («Росомаха»). Второй контракт предусматривал поставку 2000 F8F под обозначением F8F-1 с темпом в 100 машин в месяц. Первым боевым крещением самолета должна была стать операция «OLYMPIC» (высадка на Японские острова), запланированная на ноябрь 1945 года.

По тем же планам производство «Хеллкэтов» должно было понемногу сворачиваться с тем, чтобы с января 1946 года начать полноценный выпуск «Биркэтов». Был найден и суб-подрядчик - фирма «Eastern Aircraft», на которой в годы войны было выпущено 77 % всех «Эвенджеров» и 79% «Уайлдкэтов».

По суб-контракту, подписанному 5 февраля 1945 года, предполагалось произвести 1876 «Биркэтов» (под флотским обозначением F3M-1). Однако в связи с окончанием войны контракт был расторгнут в августе 1945 года.

F8F-1 Следом за триумфальным шествием двух XF8F-1 «Грумман» начала постройку первой партии, первый самолет из которой (Bu No 90437) вышел из производственных цехов 31 декабря 1944 года. Новый самолет получил обозначение F8F-1. Самолеты этой партии получили номера от BuNo от 90437 до 90461. причем 90460 и 90461 - это были XF8F.

Новый F8F-1 получил несколько изменений по сравнению с прототипами. Так, размах стабилизатора был увеличен на 12 дюймов, появился небольшой форкиль, а под капотом теперь стоял мотор R-2800-34W, имевший на 300 л.с. большую мощность, чем моторы 22-й и 30-й серий, установленные на прототипах. По требованию заказчика объем топливных баков был увеличен на 104 литра и составил 824 л. Все топливные емкости были протектированны. Уже в ходе постройки опытных образцов было введено требование возможности подвески под крыло двух бомб калибра 454 кг или дополнительных топливных баков. Это задание было выполнено на втором предсерийном F8F-1, получившим два подкрыльевых держателя Мк.51. и еще один, такой же, под фюзеляжем. Кроме бомб и баков на подкрыльевых держателях испытывали контейнеры Мк. 1 с двумя 12.7 мм пулеметами в каждом, а также 298 мм ракеты «Тайни Тим» (Tiny Tim). Несмотря на успех, два последних варианта подвески не прижились. Более удачной оказалась установка 5-дюймовых (127 мм) ракет AR или HVAR на четырех пусковых устройствах Мк.9 (с четвертого самолета), применявшаяся впоследствии на большинстве серийных «Биркэтах».

«Обкатку» самолета на корабле провел капитан Роберт М.Эдлер (Robert M.Edler). посадивший свой F8F-1 на палубу авианосца CVE-30 «Чарджер» («Charger») 17 февраля 1945 года. Этот последний этап испытаний самолета также прошел успешно.

Конечно, как и у всякой новой машины, у Биркэта были свои «нюансы». Так, шасси убиралось слишком быстро и с ударом. При превышении эксплуатационных ограничений по скорости наблюдался бафтинг, и чтобы погасить тряску, пилоту рекомендовалось использовать тормозные щитки на нижней поверхности крыла. Были также свои особенности реакции на «дачу» рулей.

В итоге были подтверждены хорошие посадочные характеристики самолета и он был рекомендован для базирования на авианосцах всех классов, включая малые эскортные (CVE).

Последняя партия из 10 F8F-1 (BuNo от 90450 до 90459) была отправлена на авиабазы NAS «North Island» и NAS «Santa Rosa», где проходили переподготовку летчики двух эскадрилий - VF-18 и VF-19.

На службе. Первым подразделением, получившим «Биркэты» стала VF-19. Эскадрилья проявила себя успешно в ходе своей «командировки» на войну на борту «Лексингтона». Летчики летали на F6F «Хеллкэт». В ее составе было несколько опытных летчиков -так лейтенант Билл Масонер (Bill Masoner) сбил 12 японских самолетов. 16 августа 1945 года подразделение на борту легкого авианосца CVE-27 «Ленгли» («Langley») отплыло из США к берегам Японии. Но повоевать «Биркэтам» не довелось. Август стал последним месяцем войны.

VF-18 была отправлена на авиабазу NAS «North Island» после того как 25 ноября 1944 года их авианосец «Интерпид» (CV-11) был поражен двумя камикадзе и был выведен из строя на два месяца. Летчики эскадрильи получили для переучивания несколько машин из первой партии F8F-1.

Ввиду окончания войны эскадрилью на фронт не отправили, перебросив 17 ноября 1945 года на авиабазу NAS «Norfolk».

Формирование новых эскадрилий на «Биркэты» было приостановлено послевоенным сокращением вооруженных сил. Так, к ноябрю 1946 года было перевооружено всего девять эскадрилий. В том же месяце произошла реорганизация флотских эскадрилий, в ходе которых VF-18 стала VF-18A. Префикс «А» обозначал «Ударную», а в то время как «L» - «Легкую», базировавшуюся на авианосцах класса «Индепенденс».

Пилоты были довольны своими машинами, а многие из них теплые воспоминания о самолете сохранили навсегда. Слово капитану Гордону Файрбауху, в 1946-47 годах командиру эскадрильи VF-5A. вооруженной «Биркэтами»: «Я думаю - это лучший самолет, на котором мне когда-либо приходилось летать. Я командовал дюжиной «зеленых» пилотов, чей общий налет не превышал 400 часов, а четырехмесячный океанский поход прошел без трудностей, что свидетельствует о летных качествах F8F».

F8F-1B. В 1944 году на Совместной истребительной конференции (Joint Fighter Conference) были проведены учебные бои между различными типами истребителей -P-47D и Р-47М «Тандерболт», P-51D «Мустанг», F4U-4 «Корсар» и F8F-1 «Биркэт». В боях участвовали пять армейских, пять флотских и 12 летчиков-испытателей. В ходе Конференции выявили существенный недостаток самолета - слабое стрелковое вооружение в виде четырех .50 «Браунингов» и малая площадь кабины.

Собственно говоря, этот факт не был открытием. На него было указано еще в ходе испытаний прототипов, но за его устранение взялись лишь после войны.

В итоге командование флота заказало модернизацию двух F8F-1 с установкой двух пушек 20-мм пушек МЗ вместо четырех пулеметов. Такое орудие весило почти вдвое тяжелее пулемета М2. На фирме было практически заново разработано крыло, в котором установили два патронных ящика. Именно по этим люкам доступа можно отличить пушечные «Биркэты». Новая модификация получила обозначение F8F-1B.

Прототипом для новой серии послужил серийный F8F-1 с регистрационным номером 90440. В марте 1946 года появились первые серийные машины.

На новых машинах в результате модификации были снижены горизонтальная маневренность самолета, в частности ухудшились угловые скорости крена.

Весьма существенно, что в конструкции МЗ удалось не только добиться высокой дульной мощности и хорошей дальности стрельбы, но и повысить надежность оружия - частые отказы пулеметов беспокоили пилотов F8F-1. Испытания показали, что на один отказ пушка делает более чем 10000 выстрелов.

С марта 1946 года по январь 1948 года фирма «Грумман» построила 226 F8F-1B. Каждый четвертый «Биркэт» был F8F-1B.

Характеристики F8F-1
Экипаж 1 чел.
Размеры.
Размах крыла, м 10,82
Площадь крыла, м² 22,673
Длина самолета, м 10,24
Высота самолета, м 8,43
Двигатель.
18-цил. ПД Pratt Whitney R-2800-34W Double Wasp 2100л.с.
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого самолета 3322
Нормальная взлетная 4387
Максимальная взлетная 5779
Топливо 700 л
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость на высоте, км/ч 680
Максимальная скорость у земли, км/ч 615
Максимальная скороподъемность, м/мин 17101
Практический потолок, м 10575
Вооружение
F8F-1: четыре 12,7-мм пулемета Cplt-Browning с 300 патронами на пулемет.
F8F-1В четыре 20-мм пушки Ford с 205 снарядами на пушку.
Подвесное вооружение: 4 сверхзвуковых НАР HVAR калибром 127 мм и 2 бомбы по 450 кг под крыльевыми пилонами или 1 бомба 725 кг вместо ПТБ.
ПТБ емкостью 568 л, под бомбовые пилоны возможна подвеска двух ПТБ по 757 л.
 

Источники

  • "F8F «Bearcat» " /Война в воздухе № 146/
  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "Палубные истребители Второй мировой войны" /Иван Кудишин/
  • "Американские военные самолеты Второй мировой войны" /под ред. Дэвида Дональда/

©AirPages
2003-