Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

C-109

Transport Aircraft

Consolidated

C-109 Consolidated

C-109 - transport version of the B-24 long-range bomber as an air tanker. Unlike the cargo-passenger C-87, all C-109s were manufactured by alteration of the finished B-24 bombers. All weapons and bomber equipment were removed, the nose and tail turret mounts were also removed and their installation sites were covered with fairings made of sheet metal. The rear windows were not sealed. Eight fuel tanks were installed inside the fuselage, with a total capacity of about 11,000 liters of gasoline.

Most C-109s were equipped with a dual ADF (Automatic Direction Finder) system with two antennas on top of the fuselage. (This is the aircraft shown in the top photo, above the cockpit you can see the fairing of the second loop antenna.) The system, based on the principle of a radio compass, made it possible to determine the position of the aircraft with low accuracy from two heading angles of different radio stations. * On some aircraft, the defensive armament was not completely removed, which can be determined from the surviving photographs.

A total of 218 Liberators were converted into C-109s. The aircraft proved to be very difficult to control when landing at full load, especially with a runway length of less than 1800 meters. In addition, low longitudinal stability during flight with a full front tank in the fuselage forced the crew not to refuel it, which reduced the volume of transported fuel to 9600 liters.

* - Note. - When manually determining the position of the aircraft using two KUR-am, the accuracy is 6-9% of the distance to the localization radio station).



C-109 Specification
Crew 4
Dimensions
Wing span, m 33.53
Wing area, m² 97.36
Length, m 20.21
Height, m 5.45
Powerplant
4×PE Pratt Whitney R-1830-43 Twin Wasp с ТН, h.p. 4×1200
Weight, kg:
Empty 14,200
Loaded weight 28,700
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 483
Cruising speed, km/h 346
Time to climb 6100 m, min 60
Service ceiling, m 8534
Service range, km 2,253
Ferry range, km 5,311
Payload of 8 fuel tanks, total l: 10,977

Combat use. C-109s were originally used by the 20th Air Force in the Indochina-Burma theater of operations to support B-29 operations from China. It was originally planned to produce 2,000 C-109s, but the order was canceled after the B-29 Superfortress bases were moved from China to the Mariana Islands, where they were supplied with fuel by US naval seaborne tankers. In late 1944, the C-109s were transferred to Air Transport Command. Several C-109s were in limited use in Europe.

Photo Description
Drawing C-109 Consolidated

Drawing C-109 Consolidated

Bibliography

  • "Encyclopedia of military engineering" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "American warplanes of World War II" /under cor. David Donald/

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте
Самолёты Consolidated B 24 B 24D B 24H C-87 C-109 PB2Y PB4Y-2 B-32A PBY TBY-2 Фото и схемы Боевое применение B-24 B-24 PBY В СССР B 24 PBN-1

C-109

Транспортный самолет

Consolidated

C-109 Consolidated

C-109 - транспортная версия дальнего бомбардировщика B-24J и B-24L в качестве воздушного танкера. В отличие от грузопассажирского C-87 все C-109 изготавливали путем переделки готовых бомбардировщиков B-24. Все вооружение и бомбардировочное оборудование снималось, носовая и хвостовая турельные установки также снимались и места их установки закрывались обтекателями из тонколистового металла. Окна в хвостовой части не заделывались. Внутри фюзеляжа были установлены восемь топливных баков, общей емкостью около 11000 л бензина.

Большинство C-109 было оборудовано двойной системой ADF (Automatic Direction Finder - автоматического радиопеленгования) с двумя антеннами на верхней части фюзеляжа. (Именно такой самолет изображен на верхнем фото, над кабиной можно рассмотреть обтекатель второй рамочной антенны.) Система, основанная на принципе радиокомпаса, позволяла с невысокой точностью определять местоположение самолета по двум курсовым углам различных радиостанций.* На некоторых самолетах оборонительное вооружение снималось не полностью, что можно определить по сохранившимся фотографиям.

Всего в C-109 было переоборудовано 218 Либерейторов. Самолет оказался очень труден в управлении при посадке с полной загрузкой, особенно при длине ВПП менее 1800 метров. Кроме того, низкая продольная устойчивость при полете с полным передним баком в фюзеляже вынуждала экипаж его не заправлять, что снижало объем перевозимого топлива до 9600 л.

* - Прим. - При ручном определении местоположения самолета по двум КУР-ам точность составляет 6-9% от расстояния до курсовой радиостанции).

Характеристики C-109
Экипаж 4
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 33,53
Площадь крыла, м² 97,36
Длина самолета, м 20,21
Высота самолета, м 5,45
Силовая установка
4×ПД Pratt Whitney R-1830-43 Twin Wasp с ТН, л.с. 4×1200
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого самолета 14200
Нормальная взлетная 28700
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 483
Крейсерская скорость, км/ч 346
Время набора высоты 6100 м, мин 60
Практический потолок, м 8534
Практическая дальность, км 2253
Перегоночная дальность, км 5311
Полезная нагрузка 8 баков с топливом, всего л: 10977

Боевое применение. C-109 первоначально использовались 20-й Воздушной армией на Индокитайско-Бирманском театре воздушных действий для поддержки операций B-29 из Китая. Первоначально планировалось изготовить 2000 C-109, но заказ был отменен после переноса баз B-29 Superfortress из Китая на Марианские острова, где их снабжали топливом морские танкеры флота США. В конце 1944 года C-109 были переданы Air Transport Command. Несколько C-109 ограниченно использовались в Европе.

Фото Описание

Схема C-109 Consolidated

Источники

  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "Американские военные самолеты Второй мировой войны" /под ред. Дэвида Дональда/

Подробно

Bell Boeing Brewster Consolidated Curtiss Douglas General Motors Grumman Lockheed Martin North American Northrop Republic Vought Бои Люди Фото

©AirPages
2003-