Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

B-377 ✪ Stratocruiser
Transcontinental Airliner
Boeing

The B-377 Stratocruiser was the last propeller-driven transport aircraft built by Boeing. This aircraft was created on the basis of the B-29 "super fortress" bomber. The wing, engines, tail unit and landing gear were taken from the bomber as it is, and the fuselage has changed quite significantly: it was made double-deck, attaching another larger circle to the circular section of the fuselage from above. As a result, the aircraft changed from a mid-wing to a low-wing aircraft, and the fuselage acquired a characteristic figure-eight section (in English “double-bubble” - “double bubble”).

"Stratospheric cruiser" ("stratospheric cruiser") was designed for 55-100 passengers, depending on the layout of the cabin or 28 beds ("night" version). On the "lower deck" behind the wing there was additional saloon with 14 seats , which could be reached by a spiral staircase; this cabin was used as a bar and not to accommodate additional passengers. Women's and men's toilets were provided, and the kitchen, located at the rear of the aircraft, was the most perfect at that time.

Judging by the number of aircraft built, the Model-377 cannot be called a successful airliner: only 55 units were built, while the main "competitors" - Douglas DC-6 and Lockheed L-049 "Constellation" ("Constellation") - were sold in the amount of 600 and more than 200 pieces, respectively.

The reason for this failure lay primarily in the propeller group. The new P&W P-4360 Wasp Major engines had an enormous power of 3500 hp. from. (later versions - 3800 hp), otherwise it would have been impossible to achieve any decent performance from an aircraft with a flight weight of 66 600 kg.

But the 28-cylinder four-row engine was incredibly complex, for which it received the unflattering nickname "corncob engine". It took two years to eliminate his "childhood diseases"; during this time there were so many refusals that a joke appeared: "Stratocruiser" is the best three-engine aircraft flying across the Atlantic!

For the most part, these failures were caused by engine overheating: the R-4360 was turbocharged, but with strong compression, the air is known to heat up (for which reason, heat exchangers are installed on turbocharged cars to cool the charge air). Aircraft engines did not have such heat exchangers, and since four-row radial engines are generally prone to overheating, it is not surprising that failures rained in one after another.

According to John Borger, the problem was aggravated by the extremely poor design of the engine hoods. By the way, at first they wanted to install the Wright R-3350 engines on the Stratocruiser - the same ones as on the XC-97, but they tormented the designers on the B-29, and the trust in the Wright company was lost.

The problem with the propellers was even more serious: initially their blades were hollow, and the ends of the blades were filled with special plastic for balancing. From strong heating in flight, these balancing weights often loosened and began to dangle inside the blade, and the strongest vibration resulting from the imbalance led to the destruction of the engine - for this reason, two catastrophes occurred. The problem was solved by replacing the hollow steel blades with solid aluminum ones.

The reason for the commercial failure was also the high cost: Model-377 cost 1.75 million dollars, and DC-6 and L-049 - about a million. Nevertheless, the Stratocruiser was in many ways superior to its competitors.

As elegant as Lockheed "Constellation" was, the "Stratocruiser" looked just as heavy and awkward; but this impression was misleading - "377" flew 160 km / h faster than the first version of "Constellation" L-049; (then the L-749 and L-1049 appeared), and 40 km / h faster than the DC-6 - the enormous power of the engines made itself felt.

The propellers had a large diameter and therefore rotated rather slowly, due to which the level of noise and vibration was extremely low - and this is important for intercontinental flights: noise and vibration tire passengers.

The 377th surpassed all the airliners of that time in the chic finish of the 377th (hence the high cost) - in the cabin there were adjustable armchairs and "coupes" for newlyweds (!). The bar on the “ground floor” was especially popular with passengers, where you could walk to diversify your pastime - flights across the Atlantic took 16 hours at that time.

The aircraft was designed to provide the crew with optimal working conditions; in particular, the view from the cockpit was the best for those times (the DC-6 and Constellation pilots unanimously complained about poor visibility). The Stratocruiser was the first passenger aircraft to have a cockpit designed to minimize the possibility of error in piloting.

Also, for the first time in the electrical circuit, wire markings were introduced, which facilitate troubleshooting. Today, the nameplates on the wires with its markings seem to be an absolutely necessary attribute, and it seems that it should not be otherwise. Finally, the structure of the aircraft was very solid, probably due to its "military roots".


                                                                                                                                                                                                              
B-377 Stratocruiser
Crew 3
Dimensions
Length, m 33.63
Height, m 11.66
Wing span, m 43.05
Wing area, m² 164.34
Weights and loads, kg
Empty 37,875
Gross weight 66,134
Powerplant
4 × PE Pratt Whitney R-4360 Wasp Major, h.p. 4 × 3500
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 604
Cruising speed, km/h 547
Service range, km 6759
Service ceiling, m 9755
Payload, passengers from 55 to 117

Bibliography

  • Encyclopedia of Military Equipment / Aerospace Publising /
  • Boeing transport aircraft /K.G. Udalov, D.S. Komissarov /

In detail

Photo Description
Drawing B-377 Stratocruiser

Drawing B-377 Stratocruiser

Boeing B-377 Stratocruiser from Pan American World Airways

Boeing B-377 Stratocruiser from Pan American World Airways

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте
Самолёты Boeing B-17G B-29 B-44 B-314 B-307 B-377 Фото и схемы Боевое применение B-17 B-17 в Люфтваффе В СССР B 17 B 17

B-377 ✪ Stratocruiser
Магистральный авиалайнер
Boeing

Модель B-377 Stratocruiser стала последним винтовым транспортным самолетом, построенным фирмой «Боинг». Этот самолет был создан на основе бомбардировщика — «суперкрепости» В-29. Крыло, двигатели, хвостовое оперение и шасси были взяты от бомбардировщика как есть, а фюзеляж изменился весьма существенно: его сделали двухпалубным, пристроив сверху к круглому сечению фюзеляжа еще одну окружность, побольше. В результате самолет из среднеплана превратился в низкоплан, а фюзеляж приобрел характерное сечение в виде восьмерки (по-английски «double-bubble» — «двойной пузырь»).

«Стратокрузер» («стратосферный крейсер») был рассчитан на 55-100 пассажиров в зависимости от планировки салона либо на 28 коек («ночной» вариант). На «нижней палубе» за крылом имелся дополнительный салон на 14 мест, куда можно было спуститься по винтовой лестнице; этот салон использовался как бар, а не для размещения дополнительных пассажиров. Были предусмотрены женский и мужской туалеты, а кухня, размещенная в хвостовой части самолета, была по тем временам самой совершенной.

Если судить по количеству построенных самолетов, то удачным авиалайнером Модель-377 не назовешь: было построено всего 55 единиц, тогда как основные «конкуренты» — Дуглас DC-6 и Локхид L-049 «Констеллейшн» («Созвездие») — были проданы в количестве 600 и 200 с лишним штук соответственно.

Причина такого неуспеха крылась прежде всего в винтомоторной группе. Новые двигатели P&W Р-4360 «Уосп Мейджор» обладали огромной мощностью — 3500 л. с. (поздние варианты — 3800 л. с.), иначе невозможно было бы добиться сколько-нибудь приличных показателей от самолета с полетной массой 66 600 кг.

Но 28-цилиндровый четырехрядный двигатель был неимоверно сложен, за что получил нелестное прозвище «corncob engine» («двигатель — кукурузный початок»). На устранение его «детских болезней» ушло два года; за это время было столько отказов, что появилась шутка: «Стратокрузер» — лучший трехмоторный самолет, летающий через Атлантику!

По большей части эти отказы были вызваны перегревом двигателя: R-4360 был снабжен турбонаддувом, но при сильном сжатии воздух, как известно, нагревается (по каковой причине на автомобилях с турбонаддувом устанавливают теплообменники для охлаждения наддувного воздуха). На авиадвигателях таких теплообменников не было, а поскольку четырехрядные звездообразные двигатели вообще склонны к перегреву, неудивительно, что отказы сыпались один за другим.

По мнению Джона Боргера, проблему усугубляла крайне неудачная конструкция капотов двигателей. К слову, сначала на «Стратокрузер» хотели поставить двигатели Райт R-3350 — те же самые, что на ХС-97, но они порядком помучили конструкторов еще на В-29 и доверие к фирме «Райт» пропало.

Еще серьезнее была проблема с винтами: первоначально их лопасти были полыми, а концы лопастей для балансировки залиты специальной пластмассой. От сильного нагрева в полете эти балансировочные грузики нередко откреплялись и начинали болтаться внутри лопасти, и возникавшая в результате дисбаланса сильнейшая вибрация приводила к разрушению двигателя — по этой причине произошли две катастрофы. Проблему решили, заменив полые стальные лопасти на сплошные алюминиевые.

Причиной коммерческого неуспеха стала и дороговизна: Модель-377 стоила 1,75 млн. долл., a DC-6 и L-049 — около миллиона. Тем не менее «Стратокрузер» во многом превосходил своих конкурентов.

Насколько был элегантен Локхид «Констелейшн», настолько же тяжеловесным и неуклюжим выглядел «Стратокрузер»; но это впечатление было обманчивым — «377-й» летал на 160 км/ч быстрее, чем первый вариант «Констеллейшн» L-049; (затем появились L-749 и L-1049), и на 40 км/ч быстрее DC-6 — давала себя знать огромная мощность двигателей.

Винты имели большой диаметр и потому вращались довольно медленно, благодаря чему уровень шума и вибрации был на редкость низким — а это немаловажно при межконтинентальных полетах: шум и вибрация утомляют пассажиров.

По шикарности отделки 377-й превосходил все авиалайнеры того времени (отсюда и дороговизна) — в салоне были регулируемые кресла и «купе» для новобрачных (!). Особой популярностью у пассажиров пользовался бар на «первом этаже», куда можно было прогуляться, чтобы разнообразить времяпрепровождение — полеты через Атлантику занимали тогда 16 часов.

Самолет был сконструирован так, чтобы обеспечить экипажу оптимальные условия работы; в частности, обзор из пилотской кабины был лучшим по тем временам (пилоты DC-6 и «Констеллейшн» в один голос жаловались на плохой обзор). «Стратокрузер» стал первым пассажирским самолетом, у которого пилотская кабина была сконструирована таким образом, чтобы свести к минимуму возможность ошибки в пилотировании.

Также впервые в электросхеме была введена маркировка проводов, облегчающая поиск и устранение неисправностей. Сегодня шильдики на проводах с его маркировкой кажутся совершенно необходимым атрибутом, и кажется, что по-другому и быть не должно. Наконец, конструкция самолета была очень прочной, вероятно причиной этого явились её "военные корни".

B-377 Stratocruiser
Экипаж 3
Геометрия
Длина самолета, м 33,63
Высота самолета, м 11,66
Размах крыла, м 43,05
Площадь крыла, м2 164,34
Массы, кг
Пустого 37875
Максимальная взлетная 66134
Силовая установка
4 × ПД Pratt Whitney R-4360 Wasp Major, л.с. 4 × 3500
Лётные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 604
Крейсерская скорость, км/ч 547
Практическая дальность, км 6759
Практический потолок, м 9755
Полезная нагрузка, пасс. от 55 до 117

Источники

  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "Транспортные самолеты "Боинг"" /К.Г. Удалов, Д.С. Комиссаров/

Подробно


Фото Описание

Схема B-377 Stratocruiser

Boeing B-377 "Стратокрузер" авиакомпании "Пан Америкэн" (Pan American World Airways)

20 09 2017.

Встает вопрос о методах эвакуации "засидевшихся" в баре пассажиров. Вверх по винтовой лестнице, это вряд ли наилучший вариант ...

Bell Boeing Brewster Consolidated Curtiss Douglas General Motors Grumman Lockheed Martin North American Northrop Republic Vought Бои Люди Фото

©AirPages
2003-