Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

B-32A "Dominator"

Heavy Bomber

Consolidated

B-32 refuel

In November 1939, the commander of the US Army Air Force, General Arnold, asked the War Department for permission to develop a heavy four-engined bomber, which was supposed to surpass the B-24 Liberator and B-17 Flying Fortress in terms of its capabilities. The new aircraft was supposed to have high speed and long flight range to the detriment of the bomb load. The specifications issued by the Army Air Corps on January 29, 1940 required the creation of a bomber capable of delivering 900 kg of bombs to a range of more than 8000 km at a speed of 640 km / h.

The proposed Consolidated aircraft received the designation Model 33 and was a completely new project, despite that. that during its development the experience and technologies obtained during the creation of the "Liberator" were used. It was much larger than the B-24 - 5.18 m longer and 7.62 more in span. The aircraft was supposed to be equipped with new engines with a Wright R-3350-13 "Super Cyclone" turbocharger with a capacity of 2200 hp each, driving Curtiss Electric propellers with a constant speed. The new bomber was supposed to have a cylindrical fuselage with a pressurized crew cabin and remotely controlled weapons. The new project retained the "Davis wing", two-finned tail and the scheme of opening the Liberator's bomb bay doors. Consolidated's proposal was approved by the US Army Air Force on September 6, 1940, and the firm received an order for the construction of three experimental bombers, designated XB-32A. On September 1, 1942, the first XB-32 (41-141) was rolled out at the Consolidated plant in San Diego. The first flight and the first of the malfunctions that accompanied the entire XB-32 program followed a week later at North Island airfield. The problem was minor - the elevator trim failed, but such faults followed one after another. Finally, due to a malfunction in the flap control system, the aircraft crashed in which the pilot died. The delays in the construction of the second prototype resulted in Consolidated losing the contract for the Very Heavy Bomber, which became the Boeing B-29.

When the third prototype XB-32 "Terminator" * left the assembly shop, the US Air Force already believed that the bomber "... is outdated and does not meet the combat standards of 1943." In order for the new car to remain competitive, its design required a large number of changes, and made quickly. They abandoned the two-fin tail in favor of the conventional, single-fin, pressurized cabin, remote shooting installations. The engine nacelles were redesigned and four-blade propellers were installed. In addition, the bomb release system was fully electrified and the M-series sight was installed, as well as a number of other minor changes. Most of the modifications were made on the third prototype XB-32 (41-18336) after the aircraft was rolled out. The 4.87 m vertical tail was borrowed from the B-29, but problems with the stability of the machine forced the development of a new one, 5.94 m high. These modifications were approved by the Army Air Force and Convair received an order for 1200 aircraft. In fact, 115 bombers were built, all (with the exception of three prototypes) at the Fort Worth plant.

The defensive armament of the B-32A was weaker than that of the B-24. "Liberators" carried up to thirteen 12.7-mm machine guns, while the B-32A only ten. Sperry M-17 ball turrets were installed in the nose and tail of the aircraft, another retractable turret from this company was located under the fuselage. On top were two Martin A-15 turrets with improved aerodynamics. After the release of fifteen bombers, a series of 44 training TV-32A was built, from which defensive weapons and part of the systems were removed. The turret locations were covered with fairings and 317 kg of ballast was added to the aircraft to maintain the center of gravity.

* - Convair originally assigned the XB-32 the designation "Terminator", but in August 1944, according to the recommendation of the Technical Subcommittee on aircraft naming, they changed it to "Dominator" However, in the summer of 1945, Assistant Secretary of State Archibald McLeish spoke out against the name, stating that "... it is not suitable for a US combat aircraft." The name was again changed to "Terminator", but by this time the program was closed.

Specifications
B-24D B-24J-CO PB4Y-2 B-32A
Crew 10 10 11 10
Dimensions
Wing span, m 33.52 33.52 33.52 41.14
Length, m 20.21 20.61 22.72 25.32
Height, m 5.46 5.48 8.86 9.80
Powerplant
4 × PE Pratt & Whitney R-1830-43 R-1830-65 R-1830-94 R-3350-23А
Power, hp 1200 1200 1350 2200
Weight, kg:
Empty weight 14,744 16,566 17,130 27,340
Maximum takeoff weight 27,215 29,480 28,120 45,720
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 487 466 394 574
Service ceiling, m 9,750 8,530 6,460 9,350
Service range, km 4,580 3,380 4,230 4,830
Armament
Machine guns, 12.7mm 11 10 12 10

Combat use . The program for the creation of the B-32 was so delayed that the bomber would probably never have been able to take part in the hostilities, if not for the insistence of General George Kenny, who insisted on testing the aircraft in battle. The well-proven Boeing B-29 "Superfortress" was already in service and the US Air Force did not have much need for another heavy bomber, in addition suffering from "childhood diseases". But the B-32 made such an impression on General Arnold, the commander-in-chief of the Air Force, that he allowed Kenya to conduct military trials. On May 12, 1945, three B-32 A departed from the Fort Worth plant for the Philippines. Two of them landed at Clark Field airfield twelve days later, and a third plane arrived a day later. On May 29, 1945, the B-32A went on their first combat mission - their target was the Japanese warehouses on Luzon. Before the end of the tests, they completed ten more sorties. Despite minor technical problems, the final conclusion was that the aircraft "is an excellent bomber" and "fit for combat without restrictions."

After testing, three B-32A entered the 386th Bomber Squadron, 312th BG, 5th Air Army. During the summer of 1945, these aircraft operated against targets in the Japanese islands. August 11, 1945, two days after the atomic bombing of Hiroshima. The Dominators were transferred to Yontan Air Force Base in Okinawa. On August 12, four more B-32A joined them, and some time later, two more. There were flights over Tokyo, mainly for reconnaissance. On the night of August 17-18, the first meeting with Japanese fighters took place. The shooters managed to shoot down three enemy aircraft, but one "Dominator" was severely damaged. On August 28, 1945, B-32A made their last combat mission, taking photographs of Tokyo.

After the end of the Second World War, the US Army Air Force gradually removed several thousand Liberators from service. scrapping them. Production of the B-32 was discontinued on September 18, 1945, by which time they had built 118 aircraft, including three prototypes. The last six production B-32A flew from the assembly line directly to the recycling center. Not a single Convair B-32A Dominator bomber has survived to this day.

Photo Description
Drawing B-32A

Drawing B-32A Dominator

Dominator B-32A (42-108544)

Dominator B-32A (42-108544)

Bibliography

  • "Encyclopedia of military engineering" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "American warplanes of World War II" /under cor. David Donald/

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте English
 
Самолёты Consolidated B 24 B 24D B 24H PB2Y PB4Y-2 B-32A PBY Фото и схемы Боевое применение B-24 B-24 PBY В СССР B 24 PBN-1

B-32A "Dominator"

Дальний тяжелый бомбардировщик

Consolidated

В ноябре 1939 года командующий ВВС Армии США генерал Арнольд запросил у Военного Департамента разрешение на разработку тяжелого четырехмоторного бомбардировщика, который по своим возможностям должен был превзойти В-24 «Либерейтор» и В-17 «Летающая Крепость». Новый самолет должен был обладать высокой скоростью и большой дальностью полета в ущерб бомбовой нагрузке. В выпущенной Армейским авиакорпусом 29 января 1940 года спецификации требовалось создать бомбардировщик способный доставить 900 кг бомб на дальность более 8000 км со скоростью 640 км/ч.

Предложенная Консолидейтед машина получила обозначение Модель 33 и являлась совершенно новым проектом, несмотря на то. что при ее разработке использовался опыт и технологии, полученные при создании «Либерейтора». Она была гораздо крупнее В-24 -на 5,18 м длиннее и на 7,62 больше в размахе. На самолет предполагалось установить новые моторы с турбонагнетателем Райт R-3350-13 «Супер Циклон» мощностью по 2200 л.с, приводивших в движение винты Кертисс Электрик с постоянной частотой вращения. Новый бомбардировщик должен был иметь цилиндрический фюзеляж с гермокабиной экипажа и дистанционно упраатяемым вооружением. В новом проекте сохранились «крыло Дэвиса», двухкилевое оперение и схема открытия створок бомбоотсека «Либерейтора». Предложение Консолидейтед было одобрено ВВС Армии США 6 сентября 1940 года, и фирма получила заказ на постройку трех опытных бомбардировщиков с обозначением ХВ-32А 1 сентября 1942 года на заводе Консолидейтед в Сан-Диего состоялась выкатка первого ХВ-32 (41-141). Первый полет и первая из неисправностей, сопровождавших программу ХВ-32 на всем ее протяжении, последовали неделю спустя на аэродроме Норт Айленд. Неполадка была незначительной - отказ триммера руля высоты, но такие неисправности следовали одна за другой. Наконец, нз-за сбоя в системе управления закрылками самолет потерпел катастрофу, в которой погиб пилот. Задержки с постройкой второго прототипа привели к тому, что Консолидейтед потеряла контракт на «Очень Тяжелый Бомбардировщик», которым стал Боинг В-29.

Когда третий прототип ХВ-32 «Терминатор» * покинул сборочный цех, ВВС Армии США уже считали, что бомбардировщик «...устарел и не соответствует боевым стандартам 1943 года». Чтобы новая машина осталась конкурентоспособной, в ее конструкцию требовалось внести большое число изменений, причем внести быстро. Отказались от двухкилевого оперения в пользу обычного, однокилевого, гермокабины, дистанционных стрелковых установок. Были перепроектированы мотогондолы и установлены четырехлопастные винты. Кроме того, полностью электрифицировали систему сброса бомб и установили прицел серии М, а также внесли ряд других незначительных изменений. Большинство доработак было сделано на третьем прототипе ХВ-32 (41-18336) после выкатки самолета. Вертикальное оперение высотой 4,87 м позаимствовали от В-29, но проблемы с устойчивостью машины заставили разработать новое, высотой 5,94 м. Эти доработки были одобрены армейскими ВВС и Конвэр получила заказ на 1200 самолетов. Фактически было построено 115 бомбардировщиков, все (за исключением трех прототипов) на заводе в Форт Уорте.

Оборонительное вооружение В-32А было слабее, чем у В-24. «Либерейторы» несли до тринадцати 12,7-мм пулеметов, в то время как В-32А только десять. В носовой и хвостовой части самолета были установлены шаровые турели Сперри М-17, еще одна убирающаяся турель этой фирмы разместилась под фюзеляжем. Сверху располагались две турели Мартин А-15 с улучшенной аэродинамикой. После выпуска пятнадцати бомбардировщиков построили серию из 44 учебных ТВ-32А, с которых было снято оборонительное вооружение и часть систем. Места расположения турелей закрыли обтекателями и добавили в самолет 317 кг балласта, чтобы сохранить положение центра тяжести.

Боевое применение. Программа создания В-32 настолько затянулась, что вероятно бомбардировщику так и не удалось бы поучаствовать в боевых действиях, если бы не настойчивость генерала Джорджа Кенни, настаивавшего на испытаниях самолета в бою. На вооружении уже состоял хорошо зарекомендовавший себя Боинг В-29 «Суперфортресс» и ВВС Армии США не имели особой необходимости в еще одном тяжелом бомбардировщике, вдобавок страдающем «детскими болезнями». Но В-32 произвел такое впечатление на генерала Арнольда, главнокомандующего ВВС, что он разрешил Кении провести войсковые испытания. 12 мая 1945 года три В-32 А отбыли с завода в Форт Уорте на Филиппины. Два из них приземлились на аэродроме Кларк Филд через двенадцать дней, а через сутки прибыл третий самолет. 29 мая 1945 года В-32А отправились в первый боевой вылет - их целью были японские склады на Лусоне. До окончания испытаний они выполнили еще десять вылетов. Невзирая на мелкие технические проблемы, окончательное заключение гласило, что самолет «является превосходным бомбардировщиком» и «без ограничений пригоден для боевых действий».

После испытаний три В-32А вошли в состав 386-й Бомбардировочной эскадрильи 312-й BG 5-ой Воздушной Армии. В течение лета 1945 года эти самолеты действовали против целей на Японских островах. 11 августа 1945 года, через два дня после атомной бомбардировки Хиросимы. «Доминэйторы» перебросили на авиабазу Йонтан на Окинаве. 12 августа к ним присоединились еще четыре В-32А, а некоторое время спустя - еще два. Проводились полеты над Токио, в основном для разведки. В ночь с 17 на 18 августа произошла первая встреча с японскими истребителями. Стрелкам удалось сбить три вражеских самолета, но один «Доминэйтор» получил тяжелейшие повреждения. 28 августа 1945 года В-32А выполнили последний боевой вылет, проведя фотографирование Токио.

После окончания Второй Мировой войны ВВС Армии США поэтапно сняли с вооружения несколько тысяч «Либерейторов». пустив их на слом. Производство В-32 было прекращено 18 сентября 1945 года, к этому времени успели построить 118 самолетов, включая три прототипа. Последние шесть серийных В-32А перелетели со сборочной линии прямо в центр утилизации. Ни одного бомбардировщика Конвэр В-32А «Доминэйтор» не сохранилось до наших дней.

* - Конвэр первоначально присвоила ХВ-32 обозначение «Терминатор», но в августе 1944 года, согласно рекомендации Технического Подкомитета по наименованию самолетов, сменили его на «Доминэйтор». Однако, летом 1945 года, помощник госсекретаря Арчибальд Маклейш высказался против этого названия, заявив, что «...оно является неподходящим для боевого самолета США». Имя снова сменили на «Терминатор», но к этому времени программа была закрыта.

Характристики Либерейтеров
B-24D B-24J-CO PB4Y-2 B-32A
Экипаж, чел 10 10 11 10
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 33.52 33.52 33.52 41.14
Длина самолета, м 20.21 20.61 22.72 25.32
Высота самолета, м 5.46 5.48 8.86 9.80
Мотор
4хПратт-Уитни R-1830-43 R-1830-65 R-1830-94 R-3350-23А
Мощность, л.с. 1200 1200 1350 2200
Массы и нагрузки, кг
Вес пустого, кг 14744 16566 17130 27340
Максимальный взлетный 27215 29480 28120 45720
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 487 466 394 574
Потолок, м 9750 8530 6460 9350
Дальность полета, км 4580 3380 4230 4830
Вооружение
Вооружение, число пулеметы, 12,7-мм 11 10 12 10

Источники

  • "B-24 Libaretorи" /Война в воздухе № 110/
  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "Авиация и космонавтика /№ 10, 2003 г.

©AirPages
2003-