Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

B-24H "Liberator"

Heavy Bomber

Consolidated

Duckin-Ducklin Consolidated B-24J, Liberator 42-72971 from the 38th BS 30 thBG

Following the modifications at field airfields, the introduction of reinforced defensive weapons at factories began. Emerson was preparing a new stern turret for the B-24. But, due to the primary need, she was asked to modify the turret to be placed in the bow of the Liberator. Emerson engineers, together with Consolidated specialists, hastily adapted the installation to the new location. The turret blueprints were sent to Willow Run, where a wooden model was quickly made. The nose of the aircraft was redesigned in accordance with it. The Air Force headquarters took only three and a half months to fine-tune the turret, test and mount it on the bomber.

The installation of the new Emerson A-15 turret required 56 changes to the airframe design. In fact, the entire nose was redone. The bombardier's cockpit has completely changed. The landing gear niche doors began to open outward, not inward. The A-15 turret added about 100 kg to the vehicle's weight. This had a positive effect on the alignment of the aircraft. Previously, the Liberator was "heavy on the tail" and flew with a slightly raised nose. The change in the position of the center of gravity leveled the machine.

The new version was designated B-24N. It also differed from the previous modifications by the improved A-6B turret at the rear. She had a much larger glass area on the sides, which improved the view of the shooter. A Martin A-3D turret was mounted on top. Before that, they put A-ZA, and then A-ZS, outwardly almost indistinguishable from it. The new A-3D had an enlarged transparent hood. This was also dictated by the requirements for better visibility. Onboard installations (also of a new type, K-6 pivots) were screened. The side windows near the lower turret were eliminated as unnecessary - the shooter in the "ball" could look almost anywhere. The navigation lights above and below the wing were replaced with one light at the tip of each wing.

Due to the large number of changes made, the implementation of the B-24N has fallen behind the planned schedule. But already in March 1944, the Ford plant produced a new bomber every 100 minutes. Separate components from the V-24N were also supplied to enterprises in Fort Worth and Tulsa. A total of 3100 aircraft of this modification were produced. They were delivered to England as "Liberator" VI. There, the aft turret on them was usually changed to their own Boulton Paul.

From the H-20 series, the onboard installations were spread along the length so that the arrows did not interfere with each other. Approximately in the middle of the production of the H type, a color change took place. More precisely, they stopped painting them altogether. The Liberators now gleamed with polished aluminum.

At the beginning of January 1944, six new bombing groups were transferred to North Africa on the B-24N. On January 19, one of them, 449th, “plowed” the enemy airfield in Perugia, where the air reconnaissance officers were based. This contributed to the achievement of surprise in the Allied landing at Anzio four days later.

Advanced bombers were produced not only by Ford. After the manufacture of 25 B-24Gs in Dallas, they switched to the assembly of B-24G-1 machines. Despite the retention of the letter designation, these aircraft no longer corresponded to Type D, but to Type N. They almost completely corresponded to the aircraft from Willow Run, including the Emerson A-15 turret. The first B-24G-1 was handed over to representatives of the Air Force on November 3, 1943, three months after the start of production of the B-24N. At first, the Dallas planes were slightly heavier than the Willow Run planes, but things quickly improved. A total of 430 new B-24Gs were manufactured. Early series were camouflaged, but starting with the G-10 series, the aircraft ceased to be painted.

Most of the bombers of this type entered the Mediterranean theater of operations, the 15th Air Force.

It was obvious that the A-15 turrets would not be enough for all factories. Therefore, San Diego modified the A-6A stern turret to be installed in the bow of the Liberator. In August 1943, the first aircraft with such weapons was handed over to the Air Force. The modification was designated B-24J. The installation of two A-6A turrets made the Type J the longest bomber modification. The rest of the armament was retained as the B-24D. In San Diego, the spaced-apart onboard mounts and the A-3D upper turret of the B-24N were not implemented.

But the B-24J was distinguished by an improved C-1 autopilot, a new M-type bombsight and an improved petrol system. In Fort Worth, the release of the J modification was mastered in September 1943.

At the beginning of 1944, the Air Force command ordered to install new scopes and autopilots on all production Liberators, designating them B-24J. Willow Run switched to such aircraft from April 1944, North American factories in Dallas and Douglas factories in Tulsa - from May. For the first time, all businesses made cars under the same designation. But the planes were not the same. By the spring of 1944, the supply of A-15 turrets had grown so much that they were also installed in Fort Worth and San Diego instead of A-6B. In San Diego, the transition took place from the 181st B-24J, in Fort Worth from the 41st. Now all the factories were making practically the same bomber. The B-24J became the most massive modification of the Liberator.

Gradually, many of the innovations inherent in the B-24H were implemented on the B-24J. We removed the side windows at the lower turret, introduced single navigation lights on the wing. All these changes were made at different plants at different series. Aircraft of later releases received thermal de-icers. They were first tested on the XB-24F, a converted B-24D.

Some episodes seemed to fall out of the general course of evolution of the "Liberator". Thus, 122 aircraft of the J-165 series received an M-6A aft turret with a hydraulic drive. It also carried a pair of 12.7 mm machine guns. Fort Worth produced 57 B-24J-40s, which were actually B-24Hs, assembled from units brought from Willow Run. These were the only B-24Js with A-3D turrets on top and shielded onboard mounts.

Despite the external similarity, the five factories still made "Liberators" a little differently. Their nodes were often not interchangeable. Ford's planes were different from North American and Convair (Consolidated merged with Valty to form Consolidated-Valty Aircraft, or Convair for short).

Lack of standardization was a constant problem for suppliers and repairers, who were forced to select and store parts and assemblies of numerous subspecies of B-24.

Modification J aircraft were delivered to Great Britain. A total of 1,200 aircraft of this type were sent there.


                                                                                                                                                                                                              
Specifications
B-24D B-24J-CO PB4Y-2 B-32A
Crew 10 10 11 10
Dimensions
Wing span, m 33.52 33.52 33.52 41.14
Length, m 20.21 20.61 22.72 25.32
Height, m 5.46 5.48 8.86 9.80
Powerplant
4хPratt & Whitney R-1830-43 R-1830-65 R-1830-94 R-3350-23А
Power, h.p. 1200 1200 1350 2200
Weight, kg:
Empty weight 14,744 16.566 17,130 27,340
Maximum takeoff weight 27,215 29,480 28,120 45,720
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 487 466 394 574
Service ceiling, m 9,750 8,530 6,460 9,350
Service range, km 4,580 3,380 4,230 4,830
Armament
Machine guns, 12.7mm 11 10 12 10

RECENT MODIFICATIONS In mid-1944, the Air Force decided that two factories, in San Diego and Willow Run, were sufficient to meet the need for Liberators. Production at Douglas and North American was ordered to cease. The Fort Worth plant continued to operate, producing the B-24J, until the end of 1944, mainly for export to the UK under the Lend-Lease program.

The enrichment of the equipment and the strengthening of the armament have significantly increased the weight of the B-24J compared to the previous modifications. Flight data fell accordingly, especially at high altitudes. In order to reduce takeoff weight, in the Pacific theater of operations, crews removed the Sperry ball turret and replaced it with a pair of 12.7 mm machine guns firing through a hatch in the floor. When, by the spring of 1944, the capabilities of fighter cover over Europe had significantly expanded, they began to do the same there.

In an attempt to make the Liberator easier, the Convair specialists at the Taxon plant have developed several new feeding options. The new M-6 Stinger turret saved about 100 kg compared to the standard A-6B. She was easier to control and had a large field of fire. By August 1944, the San Diego and Willow Run factories had switched to a lightweight modification of the bomber called the B-24L. Due to the introduction of the M-6 turret and some other measures, the weight has decreased by more than 450 kg. On the L type in San Diego, the K-5 onboard installations with shielded hatches were finally introduced. Later, on the L-5 series, the bombardier's cockpit glazing area was increased and a trimmer was introduced on the left aileron, on the L-15 series - a device for removing static charge. 417 B-24Ls were assembled in San Diego, and 1250 in Willow Run.

On July 10, 1944, the Air Force headquarters ordered not to install aft turrets at the factories, but to mount them in the Air Force modification centers, depending on the needs of each theater of operations. "Liberators" without tail units in San Diego still went as B-24L, and in Willow Run they were renamed B-24M. The latter designation did not last long, and the Air Force soon renamed 115 vehicles produced at Willow Run as B-24L.

On several aircraft, named RB-24L, remote-controlled turrets were mounted to train the shooters of the latest B-29 bombers. To train navigators, training TB-24Ls with radar stations were also made for them.

In December 1944, both plants switched to production of "real" V-24Ms. This was the last serial modification of the Liberator. On it, feed installations were again installed in factories. Only one type was mounted - a lightweight version of the A-6B turret. From the V-24M-20 series, a completely modified pilot's cockpit canopy with improved visibility was introduced.

The release of the "Liberators" was completed in June 1945. In San Diego, 916 B-24Ms were manufactured, and in Willow Run - 1877. Some new aircraft, after the official termination of contracts, went straight to scrap metal.

There were a few more modifications that remained only in prototypes or were purely experimental. The XB-24R was a flying laboratory of the Sperry Gyroscope Company ", the XB-24Q tested a tail turret with a radar sight, later modified for the B-47 jet bomber. In June 1944, a B-24J appeared with a nose part from the "Flying Fortress" B-17G, but this "mutation" was unsuccessful. In 1943, Ford converted one B-24D to the XB-24K with a single fin. In April 1944, it was concluded that this improved the stability of the aircraft. For military trials, seven YB-24Ks were built, and they wanted to launch this model into series. But all the "Liberators" were still produced with two-finned plumage. The new high keel was used on PB4Y-2 "Privatur" naval patrol aircraft and its transport modification RY-3.

Photo Description
Drawing B-24J Liberator

Drawing B-24J Liberator

'Maulin Mallard' from 93 Bomber Group

"Maulin Mallard" from 93 Bomber Group.

B-24J in flight

B-24 groups arriving in England and Italy during the winter of 1943-44 were equipped with the B-24H and J models. These featured improved armament, with a power-operated nose turret and a retractable ball turret. Unfortunately these features and revised equipment raised the overall weight of the Liberator, adversely effecting handling qualities as well as reducing operational altitude when fully loaded. The 701st Bomb Squadron's B-24J 2100404/ MK:S, The Grim Reaper, endured to the end of hostilities despite its forbidding name, although it was transferred to another group following repairs. The ball turret usually remained retracted until over enemy territory due to its drag when lowered; the guns can be seen pointing down from the well. To improve handling, most Eighth Air Force Liberators had their ball turrets removed in the spring of 1944, but the Fifteenth Air Force chose to retain theirs. (USAAF)

Bibliography

  • "Encyclopedia of military engineering" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "American warplanes of World War II" /under cor. David Donald/
  • "RAIDING THE REICH. The Allied Strategie Offensive in Europe" /Roger A. Freeman/

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте English
 
Самолёты Consolidated B 24 B 24D B 24H PB4Y-2 B-32A PBY Фото и схемы Боевое применение B-24 B-24 PBY В СССР B 24 PBN-1

B-24H "Liberator"

Дальний тяжелый бомбардировщик

Consolidated

Convair /Consolidated/ B-24H Liberator чанкайшистских гоминьдановских ВВС © Михаил Быков

Convair /Consolidated/ B-24H Liberator чанкайшистских гоминьдановских ВВС

Вслед за полевыми переделками началось внедрение усиленного оборонительного вооружения на заводах. Фирма «Эмерсон» готовила новую кормовую турель для В-24. Но, в связи с первоочередной необходимостью, ее попросили доработать турель для размещения в носу «Либерейтора». Инженеры «Эмерсон» совместно со специалистами «Консолидейтед» спешно приспособили установку к новому месту. Чертежи турели отправили в Уиллоу-Ран, где быстро изготовили деревянный макет. В соответствии с ним переделывалась носовая часть самолета. Штаб ВВС отвел на доводку турели, испытания и монтаж на бомбардировщике всего три с половиной месяца.

Установка новой турели Эмерсон А-15 потребовала внесения в конструкцию планера 56 изменений. Фактически всю носовую часть сделали заново. Кабина бомбардира совершенно изменилась. Створки ниши шасси стали открываться наружу, а не внутрь. Турель А-15 добавила к весу машины около 100 кг. Это положительно повлияло на центровку самолета. Раньше «Либерейтор» был «тяжеловат на хвост» и летел со слегка приподнятым носом. Изменение положения центра тяжести выровняло машину.

Новый вариант обозначили В-24Н. Он отличался от предыдущих модификаций также усовершенствованной турелью А-6В сзади. Она имела гораздо большую площадь остекления по бокам, что улучшило обзор стрелку. Сверху смонтировали турель Мартин A-3D. До этого ставили А-ЗА, а затем А-ЗС, внешне почти неотличимую от нее. Новая A-3D имела увеличенный прозрачный колпак. Это тоже было продиктовано требованиями улучшения обзора. Бортовые установки (тоже нового типа, шкворневые К-6) заэкранировали. Боковые окна возле нижней турели за ненадобностью ликвидировали - стрелок в «шарике» и так мог смотреть практически куда угодно. Навигационные огни над и под крылом заменили на один огонь в законцовке каждого крыла.

Из-за большого количества внесенных изменений, внедрение В-24Н несколько отстало от плановых сроков. Но уже в марте 1944 г. завод Форда выпускал новый бомбардировщик каждые 100 минут. Отдельные узлы от В-24Н поставлялись также на предприятия в Форт-Уорте и Талсе. Всего выпустили 3100 машин этой модификации. В Англию их поставляли как «Либерейтор» VI. Там кормовую турель на них обычно меняли на собственную «Боултон-Пол».

С серии Н-20 бортовые установки разнесли по длине, чтобы стрелки не мешали друг другу. Примерно на середине производства типа Н произошла смена окраски машин. Точнее, их вообще перестали красить. Теперь «Либерейторы» сверкали полированным алюминием.

В начале января 1944 г. в Северную Африку перебросили шесть новых бомбардировочных групп на В-24Н. 19 января одна из них, 449-я, «перепахала» аэродром противника в Перудже, где базировались воздушные разведчики. Это способствовало достижению неожиданности в высадке союзных войск у Анцио четыре дня спустя.

Усовершенствованные бомбардировщики выпускала не только фирма Форд. После изготовления 25 B-24G в Далласе перешли на сборку машин типа В-24G-1. Несмотря на сохранение буквенного обозначения, эти самолеты соответствовали уже не типу D, а типу Н. Они практически полностью соответствовали самолетам из Уиллоу-Ран, включая турель Эмерсон А-15. Первый B-24G-1 сдали представителям ВВС 3 ноября 1943 г, через три месяца после начала выпуска В-24Н. Сначала самолеты из Далласа были немного тяжелее, чем машины из Уиллоу-Ран, но положение быстро выправилось. Всего изготовили 430 новых В-24G. Ранние серии камуфлировались, но начиная с серии G-10 самолеты красить перестали.

Большая часть бомбардировщиков этого типа поступила на Средиземноморский театр военных действий, в 15-ю воздушную армию.

Было очевидно, что на все заводы турелей А-15 не хватит. Поэтому в Сан-Диего модифицировали кормовую турель А-6А для установки в носовой части «Либерейтора». В августе 1943 г. первый самолет с таким вооружением передали ВВС. Модификация получила обозначение B-24J. Установка двух турелей А-6А сделала тип J самой длинной модификацией бомбардировщика. Остальное вооружение сохранили по типу B-24D. В Сан-Диего не внедрялись разнесенные по длине бортовые установки и верхняя турель A-3D, свойственные В-24Н.

Зато B-24J отличался усовершенствованным автопилотом С-1, новым бомбовым прицелом типа М и усовершенствованной бензосистемой. В Форт-Уорте выпуск модификации J освоили с сентября 1943 г.

В начале 1944 г. командование ВВС предписало ставить новые прицелы и автопилоты на все серийные «Либерейторы», обозначив их B-24J. В Уиллоу-Ран перешли на такие самолеты с апреля 1 944 г., заводы Норт Америкэн в Далласе и Дуглас в Талсе - с мая. Впервые все предприятия делали машины под одним и тем же обозначением. Но одинаковыми самолеты при этом не были. К весне 1944 г. поставки турелей А-15 выросли настолько, что их стали монтировать также в Форт-Уорте и Сан-Диего вместо А-6В. В Сан-Диего переход произошел со 181-го B-24J, в Форт-Уорте -с 41-го. Теперь уже все заводы делали практически один и тот же бомбардировщик. B-24J стал самой массовой модификацией «Либерейтора».

Постепенно многие нововведения, свойственные В-24Н, внедрялись на B-24J. Убрали боковые окна у нижней турели, ввели одиночные навигационные огни на крыле. Все эти изменения на разных заводах вносили на разных сериях. Самолеты поздних выпусков получили термические антиобледенители. Их впервые опробовали на XB-24F - переделанном B-24D.

Некоторые серии как бы выпадали из общего хода эволюции «Либерейтора». Так, 122 самолета серии J-165 получили кормовую турель М-6А с гидроприводом. В ней также монтировалась пара 12,7-мм пулеметов. В Форт-Уорте изготовили 57 B-24J-40, которые фактически являлись В-24Н, собранными из узлов, привезенных из Уиллоу-Ран. Это были единственные B-24J с турелями A-3D сверху и экранированными бортовыми установками.

Несмотря на внешнее сходство, пять заводов все-таки делали «Либерейторы» немного по-разному. Узлы их часто были невзаимозаменяемыми. Самолеты Форда отличались от машин Норт Америкэн и Конвэр (Консолидейтед слилась с фирмой Валти, образовав Консолидейтед-Валти эйркрафт, сокращенно Конвэр).

Отсутствие стандартизации являлось постоянной проблемой для снабженцев и ремонтников, вынужденных подбирать и хранить детали и узлы многочисленных подвидов В-24.

Самолеты модификации J поставлялись в Великобританию. Туда отправили в общей сложности 1200 машин этого типа.

ПОСЛЕДНИЕ МОДИФИКАЦИИ В середине 1944 г. командование ВВС решило, что двух заводов - в Сан-Диего и Уиллоу-Ран, вполне достаточно для удовлетворения потребности в «Либерейторах». Производство на Дуглас и Норт Америкэн предписали прекратить. Завод в Форт-Уорте продолжал работать, выпуская B-24J, до конца 1944 г., в основном на экспорт в Великобританию по программе ленд-лиза.

Обогащение состава оборудования и усиление вооружения значительно увеличили вес B-24J по сравнению с предыдущими модификациями. Соответственно упали летные данные, особенно на больших высотах. Для того, чтобы уменьшить взлетный вес, на Тихоокеанском театре военных действий экипажи снимали шаровую турель «Сперри» и заменяли ее парой 12,7-мм пулеметов, стрелявшей через люк в полу. Когда к весне 1944 г. значительно расширились возможности истребительного прикрытия над Европой, то же самое стали делать и там.

В попытке добиться облегчения «Либерейтора» специалисты Конвэр на заводе в Таксоне разработали несколько новых вариантов кормовых установок. Новая турель М-6 «Стингер» экономила около 100 кг по сравнению со стандартной А-6В. Ею было легче управлять и она обладала большим полем обстрела. К августу 1944 г. заводы в Сан-Диего и Уиллоу-Ран перешли на выпуск облегченной модификации бомбардировщика, названной B-24L. За счет внедрения турели М-6 и еще некоторых мероприятий вес снизился более чем на 450 кг. На типе L в Сан-Диего наконец-то внедрили бортовые установки К-5 с экранированием люков. Позднее на серии L-5 увеличили площадь остекления кабины бомбардира и ввели триммер на левом элероне, на серии L-15 - приспособление для снятия статического заряда. В Сан-Диего собрали 417 B-24L, а в Уиллоу-Ран - 1250.

10 июля 1944 г. штаб ВВС распорядился не ставить кормовые турели на заводах, а монтировать их в модификационных центрах ВВС в зависимости от потребностей каждого театра боевых действий. «Либерейторы» без хвостовых установок в Сан-Диего по-прежнему шли как B-24L, а в Уиллоу-Ран их переименовали в В-24М. Последнее обозначение просуществовало недолго, вскоре ВВС переименовали 115 машин, выпущенных в Уиллоу-Ран, в B-24L.

На нескольких самолетах, названных RB-24L, смонтировали дистанционно управляемые турели для обучения стрелков новейших бомбардировщиков В-29. Для подготовки штурманов для них же делали учебные TB-24L с радиолокационными станциями.

В декабре 1944 г. оба завода перешли на выпуск «настоящих» В-24М. Это была последняя серийная модификация «Либерейтора». На ней кормовые установки опять стали ставить на заводах. Монтировали только один тип - облегченный вариант турели А-6В. С серии В-24М-20 ввели полностью измененный фонарь пилотской кабины с улучшенным обзором.

Выпуск «Либерейторов» завершили в июне 1945 г. В Сан-Диего изготовили 916 В-24М, а в Уиллоу-Ран - 1877. Некоторые новенькие самолеты после официального расторжения контрактов отправились прямиком в металлолом.

Существовало еще несколько модификаций, оставшихся лишь в опытных экземплярах или являвшихся чисто экспериментальными. ХВ-24Р был летающей лабораторией фирмы Сперри гироскоп компани», на XB-24Q испытывали хвостовую турель с радиолокационным прицелом, позже доработанную для реактивного бомбардировщика В-47. В июне 1944 г. появился B-24J с носовой частью от «Летающей крепости» В-17G, но эта «мутация» оказалась неудачной. В 1943 г. Форд переделала один B-24D в ХВ-24К с однокилевым оперением. В апреле 1944 г. пришли к выводу, что это улучшило устойчивость самолета. Для войсковых испытаний построили семь YB-24K, и хотели запустить эту модель в серию. Но все «Либерейторы» по-прежнему изготовлялись с двухкилевым оперением. Новый высокий киль использовали на морских патрульных самолетах PB4Y-2 «Прайвэтур» и его транспортной модификации RY-3.

Характристики Либерейтеров
B-24D B-24J-CO PB4Y-2 B-32A
Экипаж, чел 10 10 11 10
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 33.52 33.52 33.52 41.14
Длина самолета, м 20.21 20.61 22.72 25.32
Высота самолета, м 5.46 5.48 8.86 9.80
Мотор
4хПратт-Уитни R-1830-43 R-1830-65 R-1830-94 R-3350-23А
Мощность, л.с. 1200 1200 1350 2200
Массы и нагрузки, кг
Вес пустого, кг 14744 16566 17130 27340
Максимальный взлетный 27215 29480 28120 45720
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 487 466 394 574
Потолок, м 9750 8530 6460 9350
Дальность полета, км 4580 3380 4230 4830
Вооружение
Вооружение, число пулеметы, 12,7-мм 11 10 12 10

Статьи

Источники

  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "Авиация и космонавтика /№ 10, 2003 г.
  • "RAIDING THE REICH. The Allied Strategie Offensive in Europe" /Roger A. Freeman/

©AirPages
2003-