Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

B-18B Bolo

Anti-submarine Patrol Aircraft

Douglas

B-18B Bolo Douglas

An effective search for German submarines in the Atlantic was possible only with the use of electronic means. For this, an SCR-517 radar antenna was installed in the nose of the B-18A bomber under a large semicircular fairing. She took the place of the former cockpit of the navigator-bombardier, who was "moved" down, to the place of the front gunner, the machine-gun point was removed from there. The radar provided surface detection of submarines day and night, in any weather. The search for submarines at shallow depths was carried out using a magnetometer installed in a long tail cone.

For long-distance navigation, a radio compass was still used, its rotary frame in the fairing was installed above the fuselage behind the cockpit.

The anti-submarine version received the designation B-18B, a total of 122 aircraft were modified. Some of them received, in addition to the internal, external suspension of bombs.



B-18B Specification
Crew 6
Dimensions
Wingspan, m 27.28
Wings area, m² 89,65
Length, m 17.62
Height, m 4.62
Powerplant
2 × PE Wright R-1820-53 Cyclone 9, h.p. 2×1000
Weight, kg
Empty 7,400
Loaded weight 12,560
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 346
Cruising speed, km/h 269
Service ceiling, m 6,500
Service range, km 2,250
Armament, bomb, kg 2000

Combat use. Anti-submarine B-18B in 1941-1942 received several squadrons that patrolled the Caribbean Sea. Several cases of detection of submarines on the surface and shallow depths were recorded, but none of them ended in the sinking of the enemy by aircraft. The crew of Captain N. Meadowcroft of 90 Squadron departed on patrol from Zandri airfield in Suriname. He was tasked with checking the message about the presence of a German submarine in a given area of ​​the Caribbean Sea. From a height of about 1000 m, the pilots noticed a slowly moving shadow under the water. Deciding that this was a German boat, they dropped four depth charges on it. But it was not oil spots and debris that flared up, but a large, dead whale ...

Three "Bolos" made forced landings at sea due to various problems. The crew of the already mentioned Meadowcroft ended up on a floating aircraft after one of the engines failed. The people were captured by a Dutch patrol boat. On the fifth day after this incident, it was reported that a large plane was drifting in the ocean. A rescue tug was sent there, which found the Bolo on the water without significant damage. The bomber on the cable reached the nearest island. Then it was washed, dried and disassembled for parts.

Five days of sailing for B-18 is not a record. One car from the 80th squadron, starting from Florida, was found on the water a week after the forced landing. She was dragged into port and lifted ashore on a slip for Pan American flying boats.

The third "Bolo", who also made an emergency landing on the water, did not "live" long after the crew was rescued. The sailors considered it a danger to shipping and fired guns at the plane.

The last B-18B sorties were made from the Panama Canal Zone in August 1943.

Photo Description
Drawing B-18B Bolo Douglas

Drawing B-18B Bolo Douglas

Bibliography

  • "Encyclopedia of military engineering" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "American warplanes of World War II" /under cor. David Donald/

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте
Самолёты Douglas TBD A-20 B-23 SBD-1/2 A-24/SBD SBD-5/6 A-26 Dolphin DF DC-2 DC-5 C-47 C-54 B-18B Фото и схемы Боевое применение TBD A 20 В СССР A 20

B-18B Bolo

Патрульный противолодочный самолет

Douglas

B-18B Bolo Douglas

Эффективный поиск немецких подводных лодок в Атлантике был возможен только с применением радиоэлектронных средств. Для этого в носовой части бомбардировщика B-18А под большим полукруглым обтекателем установили антенну РЛС SCR-517. Она заняла место бывшей кабины штурмана-бомбардира, которого "переселили" вниз, на место переднего стрелка, пулеметную точку оттуда убрали. Радиолокатор обеспечивал обнаружение субмарин в надводном положении днём и ночью, в любую погоду. Поиск подводных лодок на малой глубине проводился с помощью магнитометра, установленного в длинном хвостовом конусе.

Для дальней навигации по прежнему использовался радиокомпас, его поворотная рамка в обтекателе устанавливалась над фюзеляжем за кабиной экипажа.

Противолодочный вариант получил обозначение В-18В, всего доработали 122 самолета. Часть из них получила, вдобавок к внутренней, внешнюю подвеску бомб.

Характеристики B-18B
Экипаж 6
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 27,28
Площадь крыла, м² 89,65
Длина самолета, м 17,62
Высота самолета, м 4,62
Силовая установка
2 × ПД Wright R-1820-53 Cyclone 9, л.с. 2×1000
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого самолета 7400
Нормальная взлетная 12560
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 346
Крейсерская скорость, км/ч 269
Практический потолок, м 6500
Практическая дальность, км 2250
Вооружение, бомб, кг 2000

Боевое применение. Противолодочные В-18В в 1941-1942 годах получили несколько эскадрилий, патрулировавших Карибское море. Было зафиксировано несколько случаев обнаружения подводных лодок на поверхности и малых глубинах, но ни один из них не закончился потоплением противника авиацией. Экипаж капитана Н. Медоукрофта из 90-й эскадрильи вылетел на патрулирование с аэродрома Зандри в Суринаме. Он получил задание проверить сообщение о наличии немецкой субмарины в заданном районе Карибского моря. С высоты около 1000 м лётчики заметили под водой медленно двигавшуюся тень. Решив, что это и есть немецкая лодка, они сбросили на неё четыре глубинных бомбы. Но вспыли не масляные пятна и обломки, а большой дохлый кит...

Три "Боло" из-за различных неполадок совершили вынужденные посадки в море. Экипаж уже упоминавшегося Медоукрофта оказался на плавающем самолёте после отказа одного из двигателей. Людей снял голландский патрульный катер. На пятый день после этого происшествия поступило сообщение, что какой-то большой самолёт дрейфует в океане. Туда направили спасательный буксир, который обнаружил "Боло" на воде без существенных повреждений. Бомбардировщик на тросе дотянули до ближайшего острова. Потом его вымыли, просушили и разобрали на запчасти.

Пять дней плавания для В-18 - это не рекорд. Одна машина из 80-й эскадрильи, стартовавшая из Флориды, была найдена на воде через неделю после вынужденной посадки. Её притащили в порт и подняли на берег по слипу для летающих лодок компании "Пан Америкэн".

Третий же "Боло", тоже совершивший вынужденную посадку на воду, после спасения экипажа "прожил" недолго. Моряки сочли, что он представляет собой опасность для судоходства и расстреляли самолёт из пушек.

Последние боевые вылеты В-18В совершили из Зоны Панамского канала в августе 1943 г.

Фото Описание

Схема B-18B Bolo Douglas

Источники

  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "Американские военные самолеты Второй мировой войны" /под ред. Дэвида Дональда/
Bell Boeing Brewster Consolidated Curtiss Douglas General Motors Grumman Lockheed Martin North American Northrop Republic Vought Бои Люди Фото

©AirPages
2003-