Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

AT-6 "Texan"

Training aircraft

North American

Texan of Air Force of Cuba, the beginning of 1950-th

Texan of Air Force of Cuba, the beginning of 1950-th.

This aircraft was one of the members of a large family of North American training vehicles, launched by NA-16 (BT-9) in 1935. The AT-6 (NA-59) was built in series since 1940 and was intended for the second stage of training with elements of combat use, for which it carried weapons - one stationary machine gun under the engine hood, one more in the wing and the third one on a pivot in the rear cockpit.

AT-6 in its design was much closer to modern combat aircraft than the domestic UT-2. It had a retractable landing gear, a variable pitch propeller, a closed cockpit, and more advanced equipment.

Several modifications were produced, differing in engine options, equipment and fuselage design.

Replacing integral fuel tanks in the center section with plug-in and installing the R-1340-49 engine gave the AT-6A modification, 517 aircraft of this type were built in Inglewood before all production was transferred to Dallas, Texas (where North American opened his second plant). Built in Dallas for the US Army Air Corps, the batches consisted of 1,330 AT-6A, 400 AT-6B version air gunners, 2970 AT-6C, 3404 AT-6D and 956 AT-6F. The AT-6C modification appeared in anticipation of a possible shortage of light alloys - approximately 567 kg were saved on each aircraft due to the use of other light materials. Plywood was used in the structure of the tail section of the fuselage and for the skin of the tail unit. The AT-6D was characterized by a return to all-metal construction and a switch from 12V to 24V electrical system, and the AT-6F had a modified rear fuselage and reinforced wing.

The US Navy aircraft were designated SNJ. Modifications SNJ-1 and -2 corresponded to BC-1. except that the SNJ-2 was powered by an R-1340-56 engine. SNJ-3 was similar to AT-6A, while SNJ-4 was similar to AT-6C. This option was the main one: 2,400 copies were produced for the fleet. The designation SNJ-5 was assigned to no less than 1,573 AT-6Ds transferred from the US Air Force. Soon, the Navy also received 931 of the 956 army AT-6Fs (navy designation SNJ-6). Some SNJs were equipped with a landing hook for practicing deck landings, with the suffix "C" added to their name (for example, SNJ-4C). The name AT-16 was borne by 2,610 aircraft produced by Nordwin Aviation Ltd. (Montreal) for the RAF and the Royal Canadian Air Force. Structurally, they matched the US Air Force AT-6A. In 1948, all designations AT, BT and RT were abolished: all the names of training aircraft now began with the letter "T". So AT-6 became T-6

Throughout the war, AT-6 and SNJ were used to train thousands of pilots. Both the Air Force and the US Navy had a single training aircraft, and many Allied pilots, especially the RAF and RCAF, were trained on these aircraft. Their flight performance and controllability made them ideal for training fighter pilots, and their superb ease of handling saved many young pilots.

In total, about 17,000 Teksan aircraft of various modifications were produced.

AT-6 Texan
Crew 2
Dimensions
Wing span, m 12.8
Length, m 8.99
Height, m 3.58
Wing area, m² 23.57
Powerplant
1 × PE Pratt Whitney R-1340-AN-1 550 hp (410kW)
Weight, kg:
Empty weight 1886
Performance
Maximum speed at altitude 1525 m, km/h 330
Cruising speed at altitude 1525 m, km/h 274
Service ceiling, m 6555
Service range, km 1207
Armament
3×7.62-mm machine guns -


Photo Description
Drawing T-6G Texan Drawing T-6G Texan
AT-6A The AT-6A No 41-16069 (it is constructed in Dallas). It is shown flying under control No Gin Yung, one of trainees group of the Chinese Air Forces passing the USA Army regular training program in the Phoenix on March, 6, 1942. Arizona.
'Texan' AT-6C 'Texan' AT-6C during testing at the Air Forces Scientific Research Institute.

Bibliography

  • "Encyclopedia of military engineering" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "American warplanes of World War II" /under cor. David Donald/

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте English
 
Самолёты North American AT 6 P 51A/B P 51D P 82 B 25A/B B 25C/D B 25G/H B 25J Фото и схемы Боевое применение P 51 B 25 В СССР B 25 AT-6C

AT-6 "Texan"

Учебно-тренировочный самолет

North American

Texan докастровских (батистовских) ВВС Кубы, начало 1950-х © Михаил Быков

Texan докастровских (батистовских) ВВС Кубы, начало 1950-х гг.

Этот самолет являлся одним из членов большого семейства учебных машин фирмы «Норт Америкен», начатого NA-16 (ВТ-9) в 1935 году. АТ-6 (NA-59) строился серийно с 1940 года и предназначался для второй ступени обучения с элементами боевого применения, для чего нес вооружение-один неподвижный пулемет под капотом мотора, еще один в крыле и третий-на шкворневой установке в задней кабине.

АТ-6 по своей конструкции был куда ближе к современным боевым самолетам, чем отечественный УТ-2. Он имел убирающееся шасси, винт изменяемого шага, закрытую кабину, более совершенное оборудование.

Выпускались несколько модификаций, отличавшихся вариантами двигателя, оборудованием и конструкцией фюзеляжа.

Замена интегральных топливных баков в центроплане вставными и установка двигателя R-1340-49 дали модификацию АТ-бА, 517 самолетов этого типа были построены в Инглвуде, прежде чем все производство было передано в Даллас, Техас (там «Норт Америкен» открыла свой второй завод). Построенные в Далласе по заказам Авиакорпуса Армии США, партии насчитывали 1330 АТ-бА, 400 самолетов для тренировки воздушных стрелков версии АТ-6В, 2970 АТ-6С, 3404 AT-6D и 956 AT-6F. Модификация АТ-бС появилась в предвидении возможного дефицита легких сплавов,- на каждом самолете экономили приблизительно 567 кг благодаря применению других легких материалов. В конструкции хвостовой части фюзеляжа и для обшивки хвостового оперения была применена фанера. Вариант AT-6D характеризовался возвращением к цельнометаллической конструкции и переводом электрической системы с 12 В на 24 В, a AT-6F имел модифицированную заднюю часть фюзеляжа и усиленное крыло.

Самолеты ВМС США были обозначены как SNJ. Модификации SNJ-1 и -2 соответствовали ВС-1. за исключением того, что SNJ-2 был оснащен двигателем R-1340-56. SNJ-3 был сходен с АТ-бА, тогда, как SNJ-4 соответствовал АТ-бС. Этот вариант был основным: для флота выпустили 2400 экземпляров. Обозначение SNJ-5 было присвоено не менее чем 1573 самолетам AT-6D, переданным из ВВС США. Вскоре ВМС получили также 931 из 956 армейских AT-6F (обозначение во флоте SNJ-6). Некоторые SNJ оснащались посадочным гаком для отработки посадок на палубу, к их названию добавлялся суффикс «С» (например, SNJ-4C). Название АТ-16 несли 2610 самолетов, произведенных фирмой «Нордуин Авиэйшн Лтд.» (Монреаль) для RAF и Королевских Канадских ВВС. Конструктивно они соответствовали АТ-бА ВВС США. В 1948 г. все обозначения AT, ВТ и РТ были упразднены: все названия тренировочных самолетов теперь начинались на букву «Т». Так АТ-6 стал Т-6

На протяжении всей войны АТ-6 и SNJ использовались для подготовки тысяч пилотов. Как у ВВС, так и у ВМС США был единый учебно-тренировочный самолет, и многие пилоты союзников, особенно RAF и RCAF, проходили обучение на этих самолетах. Их летные данные и управляемость делали их идеальными для подготовки пилотов-истребителей, а их великолепная простота в управлении спасла многих молодых пилотов.

Всего было выпущено около 17 000 самолетов «Тексан» различных модификаций.

Характеристики
Экипаж 2 чел.
Размеры.
Размах крыла, м 12,8
Длина самолета, м 8,99
Высота самолета, м 3,58
Площадь крыла, м2 23,57
Силовая установка
1 x Pratt Whitney R-1340-AN-1 550 л.с. ( 410kW)
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого самолета 1886
Максимальная взлетная 2404
Летные данные.
Максимальная скорость на высоте 1525 м, км/ч 330
Крейсерская скорость на высоте 1525 м, км/ч 274
Практический потолок, м 6555
Дальность полета, км 1207
Вооружение
2x 7,62мм пулемета, 1x7,62мм пулемет подвижный в задней кабине -

Подробно

Источники

  • "Американские военные самолеты Второй мировой войны" /под ред. Дэвида Дональда/
  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/

©AirPages
2003-