Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

Windsor
Long-range Heavy Bomber
Vickers

Windsor

Vickers Windsor, a long-range heavy bomber that remained in the prototype stage and was not mass-produced. According to the British Air Ministry B.5 / 41 specification from 1941, a four-engine bomber with a maximum speed of 555 km / h was supposed to carry up to 3629 kilograms of bombs at a distance of 3218 kilometers.

Of interest is the unusual landing gear of the aircraft - four main landing gear legs with struts in the engine nacelles. The defensive armament consisted of 4 Hispano-Suiza HS.404 cannons in the outer engine nacelles to protect the rear hemisphere.

The first flight of the prototype aircraft (DW506) took place on January 23, 1943. During tests, the aircraft showed a maximum speed of 486 km / h at an altitude of 7620 meters. Based on the test results, the Aviation Ministry ordered a series of 300 aircraft. The power plant of the serial aircraft was supposed to consist of 4 Rolls-Royce Merlin 100 or Griffon engines. This aircraft configuration received the factory designation Type 483 and the military Windsor B.Mk I. The first production aircraft were scheduled to be delivered in the summer of 1945, but due to the end of the war, the order was canceled.

Despite the successful tests of the first prototype, Vickers continued to work on improving the design of the bomber. The second prototype of the aircraft (DW512), designated Vickers Type 457, received 1750 hp Merlin 85 engines. Its first flight took place on February 15, 1944. Another prototype was also built - Vickers Type 461 (registration number - NK136, maiden flight - July 11, 1944, after installing 20 mm cannons on it, it received the designation Type 480). Work on the aircraft continued after the war. Several more variants of the aircraft were proposed, which remained at the prototype stage.


                                                                                                                                                                                                              
Windsor(DW506)
Crew 4
Dimensions
Wing span, m 35.71
Wing area, m² 116
Length, m 23.43
Height, m 7.01
Powerplant
Engine Rolls-Royce 4 × PE Merlin 65
power, h.p. 4 × 1635 (1220 kWt)
Weight, kg:
Empty 17,548
Gross weight 24,545
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h, Н=7010 510
Service ceiling, m 8,300
Service range, km with bombs 3600 kg 4,653
Armament 2 × 2 × 20-mm cannons, 6800 kg bombs
Photo Description
Drawing Vickers Windsor

Drawing Vickers Windsor

Vickers Windsorin flight and taxiing on the airfield

Vickers Windsorin flight and taxiing on the airfield

Bibliography

  • "Encyclopedia of military engineering" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "British warplanes of World War II" /under cor. Daniel March/

Авиация Второй мировой

Авиация Второй мировой

На главную Поиск на сайте  Полная версия

Windsor
дальний тяжелый бомбардировщик
Vickers

Windsor in flight

Vickers Windsor, дальний тяжелый бомбардировщик, оставшийся на стадии прототипов и не выпускавшийся серийно. Согласно спецификации Министерства Авиации Великобритании B.5/41 от 1941 года четырехмоторный бомбардировщик с максимальной скоростью 555 км/ч, должен был нести до 3629 килограмм бомб на расстояние до 3218 километров.

Вызывает интерес необычное шасси самолета - четыре основных опоры шасси со стойками в мотогондолах двигателей. Оборонительное вооружение состояло из 4-х пушек Hispano-Suiza HS.404 во внешних мотогондолах двигателей для защиты задней полусферы.

Первый полет прототипа самолета (DW506) состоялся 23 января 1943 года. На испытаниях самолет показал максимальную скорость 486 км/ч на высоте 7620 метров. По результатам испытаний Министерство Авиации заказало серию из 300 самолетов. Силовая установка серийного самолета должна была состтоять из 4-х двигателей Rolls-Royce Merlin 100 или Griffon. Эта конфигурация самолета получила заводское обозначение Type 483 и военное Windsor B.Mk I. Поставки первых серийных самолетов были запланированы на лето 1945 года, однако в связи с окончанием войны заказ был аннулирован.

Несмотря на удачные испытания первого прототипа фирма Vickers продолжала работы по улучшению конструкции бомбардировщика. Второй прототип самолета (DW512), обозначенный Vickers Type 457 получил двигатели Merlin 85 мощностью 1750 л.с. Первый его полет состоялся 15 февраля 1944 года. Было так же построен еще один прототип - Vickers Type 461 (рег. номер - NK136, первый полет - 11 июля 1944 года, после установки на него 20-мм пушек получил обозначение Type 480). Работы над самолетом продолжались и после войны. Было предложено еще несколько вариантов самолета, оставшихся на стадии прототипов.

Windsor(DW506)
Экипаж 4
Размеры
Размах крыла 35,71
Площадь крыла, м² 116
Длина самолета 23,43
Высота самолета 7,01
Силовая установка
Двигатель Rolls-Royce 4× ПД Merlin 65
Мощность, л.с. 4× 1635 (1220)
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого самолета 17548
Максимальная взлетная 24545
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч, Н=7010 510
Практический потолок, м 8300
Практическая дальность, км с бомбами 3600 кг 4653
Вооружение 2×2×20-мм пушки,
6800 бомб
Фото Описание

Схема Vickers Windsor

Vickers Windsor в полете и на рулении на летном поле

Источники

  • "Английские военные самолеты Второй мировой войны." /Под ред. Даниэля Марча/
  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/