Aviation of WWII
HomeCustom SearchRussian
 
AVRo Armstrong Whitworth Bristol Fairey Gloster De Havilland Handley Page Hawker Short Supermarine Taylorcraft Vickers Westland

Armstrong Whitworth. AVRo.

Photos and Drawings

Photo Description
Whitley MK.V Drawing

Armstrong Whitworth. Whitley MK.V Drawing

AW 41 Albemarle

Armstrong Whitworth. AW 41 Albemarle

AVRo. Manchester Mk. IA

AVRo. Manchester Mk. IA

AVRo. Lancaster B1

AVRo. Lancaster B1

Whitley MK.V in flight

Armstrong Whitworth. Whitley MK.V in flight

Whitleys of No 58 Squadron at Linton-on-Ouse under threatening clouds, summer 1940

Whitleys of No 58 Squadron at Linton-on-Ouse under threatening clouds, summer 1940. P5028/GE:R outlasted most of her kind to be broken up in 1945. N1469/GE:H, usually flown by Flt Lt O'Neill's crew while at Linton, was later transferred to 19 OTU and flew into high ground near Arckiestown, Morayshire, during bad weather on 3 January 1943.

No 58 had spent the winter of 1939-40 on detachment to assist Coastal Command in oceanic patrols before participating in Bomber Command's night bombing operations. As one of the last Whitley-equipped squadrons in No 4 Group, it did not convert to Halifaxes within the Command as did the others, for it was permanently transferred to Coastal Command in April 1942.

The steel ringlet in the foreground is for tying down aircraft in high winds. (IWM CH222)

Installing the guns in the rear turret of a No 58 Squadron Whitley at Linton-on-Ouse

Installing the guns in the rear turret of a No 58 Squadron Whitley at Linton-on-Ouse. The four .303 calibre Browning machine guns delivered 80-plus bullets a second but the effective range was around 700yds and of little use against armour. Although numbers of enemy aircraft were shot down by these turret weapons, standard on all the main heavy bombers of the Command, the .303 machine gun was quickly rendered outclassed by the advances in German gun technology. (IWM CH246)

The first operation in which the Avro Manchester participated was the night raid of 24/25 February 1941

The first operation in which the Avro Manchester participated was the night raid of 24/25 February 1941, to bomb a Hipper class cruiser reported in Brest. Six aircraft of No 207 Squadron were involved, including L7284/EM:D with Fg Off P. R. Burton-Gyles and crew. One aircraft had undercarriage failure and crashed on landing back at Waddington. The Manchester had the highest combat loss-to-sorties ratio and the highest accident rate of all

Bomber Command bomber types. This was due primarily to the persistent overheating and failure of the Vulture engines, troubles that were never satisfactorily overcome. With the loss of one engine the power from the other usually proved insufficient for flight to be maintained for long. With much-troubled engines, L7284 was removed from operational use in April 1941 and scrapped two years later. (IWM CHI7297)

The Manchester L7246

The Manchester L7246.

| >>

©AirPages
2003-

Авиация Второй мировой На главнуюПоиск на сайтеEnglish
 
AVRo Armstrong Whitworth Bristol Fairey Gloster De Havilland Handley Page Hawker Short Supermarine Taylorcraft Vickers Westland

Armstrong Whitworth. AVRo

Фото и схемы

Фото Описание
Схема Whitley MK.V

Armstrong Whitworth. Схема Whitley MK.V

Схема AW 41 Albemarle

Armstrong Whitworth. AW 41 Albemarle

Схема AVRo Manchester Mk. IA

AVRo. Manchester Mk. IA

Схема AVRo Lancaster B1

AVRo. Lancaster B1

Whitley MK.V в полете

Armstrong Whitworth. Whitley MK.V в полете

Самолеты «Уитли» из 58-ой Эскадрильи, лето 1940

(Eng) Самолеты «Уитли» из 58-ой Эскадрильи в Linton-on-Ouse под грозовыми облаками, лето 1940. «Уитли» P5028/GE:R пережил большинство самолетов своего типа, и был разбит в 1945 году. «Уитли» N1469/GE:H, обычно летал с экипажем командира флайт л-та О'Неилла, пока находился в Линтоне (Linton), был позже передан в 19-ую OTU (Operational Training Unit - учебно-боевая авиачасть) и 3 января 1943 года в условиях плохой видимости перелетел на высокогорье около Arckiestown, Morayshire.

58-ая Эскадрилья перед участием в ночных бомбардировках в Бомбардировочном Командовании провела зиму 1939-40 года в океанских патрулях, передаваясь для помощи Береговому Командованию. Эскадрилья одной из последних продолжала эксплуатировать «Уитли» в 4-ой Группе, не пересев, как другие, на «Галифаксы», поскольку постоянно, до апреля 42 года, передавалась Береговому командованию.

Стальное кольцо на переднем плане - для швартовки самолета при сильных ветрах.

«Уитли» из 58-ой Эскадрильи в Linton-on-Ouse

(Eng) Установка пулеметов в кормовой башне «Уитли» из 58-ой Эскадрильи в Linton-on-Ouse. Четыре пулемета Браунинг калибра 0,303 (7,69 мм), обеспечивали скорострельность 80 пуль в секунду, но эффективный радиус действия не превышал 700 ярдов (640 м) и был малоэффективен против брони. Хотя число вражеских самолетов, сбитых с кормовой установки был небольшим, ее наличие являлось стандартом на большинстве тяжелых английских бомбардировщиков, 0,303 пулемет был быстро выведен за класс прогрессом в немецкой технологии производства оружия. (IWM CH246)

Манчестер L7284/EM:D, командир P.R. Burton-Gyles

(Eng) Первой боевой операцией, в которой участвовал Avro Манчестер, был ночной рейд 24/25 февраля 1941 года для бомбардировки крейсера класса Hipper, обнаруженного в порту Бреста. Шесть самолетов 207-ой эскадрильи были привлечены к выполнению операции, включая Манчестер L7284/EM:D, командир P.R. Burton-Gyles. Один самолет при из-за отказа шасси разрушился при посадке в Ваддингтоне (Waddington). Манчестер имел самое высокое соотношение потерь на самолето-вылет и самое большое число боевых потерь из всех самолетов.
   Типы бомбардировщиков Бомбардировочного командования. Потери самолетов происходили, прежде всего, благодаря постоянному перегреву и отказу двигателей «Валте», производственные дефекты которых так и не были никогда устранены. С отказом одного двигателя мощность другого обычно оказывалась недостаточный для продолжения полета в течение длительного времени. Из-за частых отказов двигателей, L7284 был снят с эксплуатации в апреле 1941 и два года спустя списан.

Манчестер L7246.

Манчестер L7246


©AirPages
2003-