Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

Spitfire Mk.IX

Fighter

Supermarine

Spitfire Mk IX in flight

From February 1944, Spitfire IX began to go to the Soviet Union. The first six nines arrived in Basra by City of Eastbourne. They were old, repaired cars. They went through Iraq and Iran and our northern ports. Then new planes began to arrive, directly from the factories. The deliveries of the Spitfires ended after the end of the war in Europe: the Sannitian arrived on June 12, 1945 in Molotovsk (Severodvinsk) with 53 nines on board.

In total, 1185 Spitfire IXs were imported into our country, of which 1183 are of the LF IX type (low-altitude version) and two HF IX (high-altitude). The HF and LF differed in engines, which were different modifications of the Merlin 60. The LF usually had 66 engines, and the HF - 70. The widespread opinion that the external sign of low-altitude machines was cut-off wingtips is erroneous. Not all Spitfire LF IXs had short endings. In addition, even fighters with "trimmed" wings were supplied with sets of normal wingtips. Later "nines" had a wider and sharpened top rudder and an additional gas tank in the fuselage. Aero-Vi dust filter, located on the carburetor intake pipe, became standard. Among the LF IXs in the spring of 1945, nine outwardly indistinguishable aircraft of the LF XVI modification with American Merlin 266 engines arrived. These engines were produced in the United States under a Rolls-Royce license by Packard and differed somewhat from the British prototype, first of all, by the configuration of other units ...

Spitfire IX of different variants have been thoroughly studied at the Air Force Research Institute. The first of them, the LF IX type, was tested there in September 1944. Tests showed that the nine with its powerful and high-altitude engine has a much higher service ceiling than all domestic production fighters. Even the LF confidently climbed 12,500 m, while the HF climbed to 13,100 m, which was 2,450 m more than the Yak-9U and 2,350 m more than the La-7. Spitfire IX surpassed these aircraft both in climb rate and in armament. The equipment available on the English aircraft also made it stand out for the better.

But at low and medium altitudes, the "nine" was seriously inferior to domestic fighters. For example, the La-7 lost as much as 100 km/h in speed at the ground. Therefore, the use of "Spitfires" at the front was deemed inappropriate. Most of them were sent to air defense regiments.


Since the summer of 1944, the LF IXC and LF IXE received the 26th and 27th Guards regiments near Leningrad, the 16th and 177th regiments in the Moscow region, the 767th near Murmansk and many others. By the end of 1944, there were already 297 nines in our air defense system. There is practically no information about any combat use of IX Spitfires in the Soviet Union. Only one combat episode is known. On March 8, 1945, near Leningrad, pilots V. Rybin and A. Fedotov (from the 11th and 102nd Guards Regiments) on Spitfire LF IX intercepted and shot down a German Ju88 reconnaissance aircraft walking at high altitude. The downed plane belonged to one of the latest modifications (S or T), which had power-boosting devices on the motors. For other types of fighters, this Junkers was invulnerable.

One of the disadvantages of the Spitfire IX as an interceptor was its lack of navigation and target acquisition capabilities in poor visibility conditions. At the end of the war, in the 26th Guards Air Defense Aviation Regiment, the RD-1 television system was installed on two machines. On its screen in the cockpit of the fighter, an image was transmitted from the tube of a ground-based radar station, with a map of the terrain. The regiment commander, Lieutenant Colonel V. Matsievich and Captain N. Shcherbina, flew on these aircraft, but they did not have a single case of possible interception and attack.

In connection with the presence of a large number of Spitfire fighters near Leningrad, one of the aircraft depots manufactured there a double training version of this machine - the Spitfire IX UTI. The Spitfire IXV was also made by workshops in Tbilisi. A number of "nines" ended up in naval aviation, in particular in the Black Sea Fleet Air Force.

Although the Spitfire did not leave a noticeable mark on the fronts of the Great Patriotic War, however, at the end of it and in the first post-war years, it became indispensable as a high-altitude air defense interceptor.

Supermarine Spitfire IX
Crew 1
Dimensions
Wing span 36 ft 10 in (11.23 m) or 32 ft 9 in (9.80 m)
Length 31 ft 1 in (9.47 m)
Wing area 242 sq ft (22.48 m²)
Powerplant
Rolls-Royce Merlin 66, hp 1575
Weight
Empty weight 5,634 lb (2,556 kg)
Max takeoff weight 9,500 lb (4,309 kg)
Performance
Max speed at 25,000ft (7,620 m) 408 mph (657 km/h)
Initial climb 3,950 ft/min (20.1 m/sec)
Time to 20,000ft (6,100 m) 5.7 min
Service ceiling 43,000 ft (13,106 m)
Range, internal fuel 434 mis (698 km)
Armament
2×20-mm cannon and 2 X 12.7-mm machine guns in the wing 2+2
Photo Description
Drawing Spitfire Mk.9C

Drawing Spitfire Mk.9C

Bibliography

  • "Encyclopedia of military engineering" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "British warplanes of World War II" /under cor. Daniel March/

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайтеEnglish
 
Ленд - лиз Ленд-лиз A 20 AT 6 B 25 P 39 P 40 P 47 P 63 PBN-1 Hurricane Spitfire Mk.5 Spitfire Mk.9

Spitfire Mk.IX

Истребитель

Supermarine

Spitfire Mk.IX

С февраля 1944 г. Spitfire IX начали отправляться в Советский Союз. Первые шесть "девяток" прибыли в Басру на транспорте "Сити оф Истборн". Это были старые, прошедшие ремонт машины. Шли они через Ирак и Иран и наши северные порты. Потом начали прибывать и новые, прямо с заводов, самолеты. Поставки "спитфайров" завершились уже после окончания войны в Европе: судно "Саннитиан" пришло 12 июня 1945 г. в Молотовск (Северодвинск) с 53 "девятками" на борту.

Всего в нашу страну ввезли 1185 Spitfire IX, из них 1183 типа LF IX (низковысотный вариант) и два HF IX (высотных). HF и LF отличались моторами, представлявшими собой разные модификации Merlin 60. На LF обычно были двигатели марки 66, а на HF - 70. Распространенное мнение о том, что внешним признаком низковысотных машин являлись урезанные законцовки крыльев, ошибочно. Короткие законцовки имели далеко не все Spitfire LF IX. Кроме того, даже к истребителям с "урезанным" крылом придавались комплекты нормальных законцовок. Поздние "девятки" имели более широкий и заостренный сверху руль поворота и дополнительный бензобак в фюзеляже. Стандартным стал противопыльный фильтр Аэро-Ви, располагавшийся на всасывающем патрубке карбюратора. Среди LF IX весной 1945 г. прибыли и девять внешне неотличимых от них самолетов модификации LF XVI с американскими моторами Merlin 266. Эти двигатели выпускались в США по лицензии Роллс-Ройс фирмой Паккард и несколько отличались от английского прототипа, в первую очередь, комплектацией иными агрегатами.

Spitfire IX разных вариантов были досконально изучены в НИИ ВВС. Первый из них, типа LF IX, испытывался там в сентябре 1944 г. Испытания показали, что "девятка" со своим мощным и высотным мотором имеет значительно больший практический потолок, чем все отечественные серийные истребители. Даже LF уверенно набирал высоту 12500 м, а HF поднимался до 13 100 м, что было на 2450 м больше, чем у Як-9У и на 2350 м - чем у Ла-7. Spitfire IX превосходил указанные самолеты и по скороподъемности, и по вооружению. Имеющееся на английском самолете оборудование также выделяло его в лучшую сторону.

Но на малых и средних высотах "девятка" серьезно уступала отечественным истребителям. Например, в скорости у земли проигрывала Ла-7 целых 100 км/ч. Поэтому использование "спитфайров" на фронте признали нецелесообразным. Большую часть их направили в полки ПВО.

С лета 1944 г. LF IXC и LF IXE получили 26-й и 27-й гвардейские полки под Ленинградом, 16-й и 177-й полки в Подмосковье, 767-й под Мурманском и многие другие. К концу 1944 г. в нашей ПВО уже находилось 297 "девяток". Сведения о каком-либо боевом применении "спитфайров" IX в Союзе практически отсутствуют. Известен лишь один боевой эпизод. 8 марта 1945 г. под Ленинградом летчики В. Рыбин и А. Федотов (из 11-го и 102-го гвардейских полков) на Spitfire LF IX перехватили и сбили шедший на большой высоте немецкий разведчик Ju88. Сбитый самолет относился к одной из последних модификаций (S или Т), имевшей на моторах устройства для форсирования мощности. Для других типов истребителей этот Юнкерс был неуязвим.

Одним из недостатков Spitfire IX как перехватчика было отсутствие у него средств для навигации и обнаружения целей в условиях плохой видимости. В 26-м гвардейском авиаполку ПВО в конце войны на двух машинах поставили телевизионную систему РД-1. На ее экран в кабине истребителя передавалось изображение с трубки наземной радиолокационной станции, с нанесенной схемой местности. Летали на этих самолетах командир полка подполковник В. Мациевич и капитан Н. Щербина, но ни одного случая возможного перехвата и атаки им не предоставилось.

В связи с наличием под Ленинградом большого количества истребителей типа Spitfire одна из авиарембаз изготовила там двухместный учебный вариант этой машины - Spitfire IX УТИ. Spitfire IXV делали также мастерские в Тбилиси. Некоторое количество "девяток" попало в морскую авиацию, в частности в ВВС Черноморского флота.

Хотя Spitfire не оставил заметного следа на фронтах Великой Отечественной войны, однако в конце ее и в первые послевоенные годы он стал незаменимым в роли высотного перехватчика ПВО.

На рисунке вверху учебный истребитель Spitfire Mk. IX (УТИ), Ленинград, 1945г.

Характеристики Spitfire IX
Экипаж 1
Размеры
Размах крыла 11,23 м или 9,80 м
Длина 39,47 м
Площадь крыла 22,48 m²
Силовая установка
Rolls-Royce Merlin 66, л.с. 1575
Веса и нагрузки
Вес пустого 2556 кг
Максимальный взлетный 4309 кг
Летные данные
Макс. скорость на высоте 25,000 ft (7620 м) 657 км/ч
Начальная скороподъемнсть 20,1 м/сек
Время набора высоты 20,000ft (6100 м) 5,7 мин
Практический потолок 13106 м
Радиус с внешними баками 698 км
Вооружение
2 X 20-мм пушки и 2 X 12.7-мм пулеметов в крыле 2+2

Подробно

Источники

  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/
  • CD энциклопедия. "Военная авиация" /Media 2000/

©AirPages
2003-