Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

London

Patrol Flying Boat

Saunders-Roe

Saro London

The A.27 London is a high seas multipurpose patrol aircraft built to specification R.24/31 under the direction of Henry Knowler. Structurally, the A.27 was an all-metal one-and-a-half glider with an upper wing raised on a system of struts. The engines were installed on the leading edge of the upper wing. The fuselage had a patented "Saunders-Roe" corrugated skin, which, however, had its drawbacks and which had to be abandoned in further developments *.

The two-fin tailplane made it possible to place a machine-gun mount with good firing angles in the tail section of the fuselage, the cargo area on top of the fuselage (between the upper and lower wings), made it possible to transport bulky cargo on it (see top photo).

The London prototype with 9-cylinder radial engines Bristol Pegasus III M3 went to flight tests in the spring of 1934.Their results were quite successful, and the Royal Air Force in 1935-36 ordered both modifications for a total of 30 seaplanes, the delivery of which from the factory at East Cowes were completed by May 1938.

Two major modifications have been released. London Mk.I - Pegasus III M3 engines (2 × 820 hp). Small arms - 3 × 7.7 mm Lewis machine gun (1 each in the nose, upper and tail open turrets). Bomb load mass - up to 907 kg (2 × 227 kg and 2 × 113 kg bombs suspended under the wing). Crew - 6 people. 7 aircraft were produced, later modified to the Mk.II London Mk.II standard - Pegasus X engines (2 × 915 hp). Armament and crew, like the Mk.I. 23 aircraft were produced.

The London seaplane turned out to be a fairly successful machine, despite its solid size, distinguished by its ease of piloting and a comfortable closed cockpit.



London Mk.II
Crew 6
Dimensions
Length, m 17.31
Height, m 5.72
Wing span, m 24.38
Wings area, m#178; 132.38
Weight, kg
Empty 5,035
Loaded weight 8,346
Powerplant
2 × PE Bristol Pegasus X, power, h. p. 2 × 1055
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 249
Cruising speed, km/h 202
Service ceilling, m 6,065
Service range, km 1,770
Armament
3 × 7,7 mm machine guns Lewis, Bombs, kg 907

Photo Description
Drawing A.27 London Mk.II

Drawing A.27 London Mk.II

A.27 London K 5262

A.27 London K 5262

Bibliography

  • "All seaplanes of the Second World War" /Andrey Kharuk/
  • "Saunders and Saro Aircraft Since 1917" /Peter London./
  • "British Flying Boats" /Peter London/

Your Name (Nick):
Your e-mail:
Input # 7284356:
Your Information:

* - As mentioned above, the corrugated patented sheathing had its drawbacks. This technology has never been particularly robust and it turns out that structural damage can be done fairly easily, especially in cases of rough use. On several occasions, the Marine Aircraft Experimental Establishment (MAEE) has criticized the "corrugation" method for being overly lightweight.

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте
Самолёты Saunders-Roe A.27 London A.33 S.36 Lerwick SR.45 Princess Боевое применение A.27 London S.36 Lerwick

London

Патрульная летающая лодка

Saunders-Roe

Saro London

A.27 London - многоцелевой патрульный самолет открытого моря, построенный в соответствии со спецификацией R.24/31 под руководством Генри Ноулера (Henry Knowler). В конструктивном отношении А.27 представлял собой цельнометаллический полутораплан с верхним крылом, поднятым на системе подкосов. Двигатели устанавливались на передней кромке верхнего крыла. Фюзеляж имел патентованную гофрированную обшивку "Saunders-Roe", впрочем, имевшую свои недостатки и от которой в дальнейших разработках пришлось отказаться*.

Двухкилевое оперение позволяло разместить в хвостовой части фюзеляжа пулеметную установку с хорошими углами обстрела, грузовая площадка сверху фюзеляжа (между верхним и нижним крыльями), позволяла перевозить на ней крупногабаритные грузы (см. верхний фото).

Прототип London с 9-цилиндровыми радиальными двигателями Bristol Pegasus III М3 вышел на летные испытания весной 1934 г. Их результаты оказались вполне успешными, и Королевские ВВС в 1935 - 36 годах заказали обоих модификаций в общей сложности 30 гидросамолетов, поставки которых с завода в Ист-Каусе (East Cowes) завершились к маю 1938 г.

Были выпущены две основные модификации. London Mk.I - двигатели Pegasus III М3 (2×820 л.с.). Стрелковое вооружение - 3 × 7,7-мм пулемета Lewis (по 1 в носовой, верхней и хвостовой открытых турелях). Масса бомбовой нагрузки - до 907 кг (2×227-кг и 2×113-кг бомбы, подвешиваемые под крылом). Экипаж - 6 чел. Выпущено 7 самолетов, впоследствии доработанных до стандарта Mk.II London Mk.II - моторы Pegasus X (2×915 л.с.). Вооружение и состав экипажа, как у Mk.I. Произведено 23 самолета.

Гидросамолет London оказался достаточно удачной машиной, несмотря на солидные размеры, отличавшийся легкостью в пилотировании и удобной закрытой кабиной пилотов.

London Mk.II
Экипаж 6
Геометрия
Длина самолета, м 17,31
Высота самолета, м 5,72
Размах крыла, м 24,38
Площадь крыльев, м² 132,38
Массы, кг
пустого 5035
нормальная взлетная, кг 8346
Силовая установка
2 × ПД Bristol Pegasus X, мощностью, л. с. 2 × 1055
Лётные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 249
Крейсерская скорость, км/ч 202
Практический потолок, м 6065
Практическая дальность, км 1770
Вооружение
3 × 7,7-мм пулемета Lewis в носу и в центре, бомб, кг 907

Фото Описание

Схема A.27 London Mk.II

A.27 London K 5262

Подробно

Источники

  • "Все гидросамолеты Второй Мировой" /Андрей Харук/
  • "Saunders and Saro Aircraft Since 1917" /Peter London./
  • "British Flying Boats" /Peter London/

Ваше имя (Nick):
Ваш e-mail:
Введите число 5146563:
Ваша информация:

* - Как уже было сказано выше гофрированная запатентованная обшивка имела свои недостатки. Эта технология никогда не обеспечивала особенную прочность и оказалось, что конструкции может быть довольно легко нанесен ущерб, особенно в случаях грубой эксплуатации. В ряде случаев Экспериментальный центр морской авиации (MAEE - Marine Aircraft Experimental Establishment) критиковал метод "гофрирования" из-за создания излишне легких конструкций.

Armstrong Whitworth A V Ro Blackburn Boulton Paul Bristol Fairey Gloster De Havilland Handley Page Hawker Saunders-Roe Short Supermarine Taylorcraft Vickers Westland Бои Люди Фото

©AirPages
2003-