Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

Lerwick

Patrol Flying Boat

Saunders-Roe

Saro Lewrick

In March 1936, the RAF Ministry of Aviation issued the R.1 / 36 specification for the creation of an all-metal flying monoplane boat to replace the Saro London and Supermarine Stranraer biplanes. The competition was attended by aircraft from three firms: S.36 Saunders-Roe (Saro), Type 314 Supermarine and B.20 Blackburn Aircraft. As a result, the choice was made in favor of the S.36 project by Saro, developed under the leadership of G. Knowler.

Lerwick was distinguished by a rather high fuselage, thereby ensuring the rise of the wing with engines installed on its leading edge to a safe distance from the water. Machine gun armament, which consisted of seven 7.7 mm (0.303 inch) machine guns, was housed in three Nash & Thompson turrets (1 × Vickers K 0.303 inch in the bow turret, 2 × Browning 0.303 inch in the upper turret and 4 in the tail turret), with the bow performed sliding inward of the fuselage - this freed up the area for mooring work. The designers abandoned the external suspension of the bombs, equipping the bomb bays in the engine nacelles. The total mass of the bomb load was 907 kg - 2 × 227-kg or 4 × 113-kg bombs in each of the two compartments.

As a power plant, they ultimately chose 14-cylinder air-cooled engines Bristol Hercules II (2 × 1375 hp on 9 aircraft) or Hercules IV (2 × 1650 hp on 8 aircraft), which were the moment of its creation the most powerful in the world.

In April 1937, a batch of 10 Lerwick seaplanes was ordered. The first serial prototype went for testing in early November 1938. The results were not very encouraging - the flying boat was distinguished by poor hydrodynamic characteristics, unsatisfactory takeoff and landing qualities and instability in the air.



Lerwick Mk.I
Crew 6-9
Dimensions
Length, m 19.40
Height, m 6.10
Wing span, m 24.64
Wing area, m² 78.50
Weight, kg
Empty 12,880
Gross weight, kg 15060
Powerplant
2 × PE Bristol Hercules II, power, h. p. 2 × 1375
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 345
Cruising speed, km/h 267
Rate of climb, m/min 270
Service ceilling, m 4,270
Service range, km 2,480

A number of changes were made to the design of the L7248 prototype, eventually installing a double keel instead of a single keel. The propellers were replaced with new ones with an increased diameter from 4.11 m to 4.42 meters. However, the changes made to the design did not allow for a radical improvement in the characteristics of the machine. Nevertheless, production continued, until the final discontinuation of production in March 1941 built 21 aircraft.

Photo Description
Drawing Lerwick Mk.I

Drawing Lerwick Mk.I

Lerwick on the sea

Lerwick on the sea

Bibliography

  • "Flying boat Saro "Lerwick"/Evgeny Aranov/
  • "All seaplanes of the Second World War" /Andrey Kharuk/
  • "British Flying Boats" /Peter London/

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте
Самолёты Saunders-Roe A.27 London A.33 S.36 Lerwick SR.45 Princess Боевое применение A.27 London S.36 Lerwick

Lerwick

Патрульная летающая лодка

Saunders-Roe

Saro Lewrick

В марте 1936 г. Министерство авиации RAF выдало спецификацию R.1/36 на создание цельнометаллической летающей лодки-моноплана для замены бипланов Saro London и Supermarine Stranraer. В конкурсе участвовали самолеты трех фирм: S.36 Saunders-Roe (Saro), Type 314 Supermarine и B.20 Blackburn Aircraft. По его итогам выбор сделали в пользу проекта S.36 фирмы Saro, разработанного под руководством Г. Ноулера.

Lerwick отличался довольно высоким фюзеляжем, обеспечивая тем самым подъем крыла с установленными на его передней кромке двигателями на безопасное расстояние от воды. Пулеметное вооружение, состоявшее из семи 7,7-мм (0.303 inch) пулеметов размещалось в трех турелях Nash & Thompson (1 × Vickers K 0.303 inch в носовой башне, 2 × Browning 0.303 inch в верхней и 4 в хвостовой башнях), причём носовую выполнили сдвигающейся внутрь фюзеляжа - так освобождалась площадка для швартовых работ. От наружной подвески бомб конструкторы отказались, оборудовав бомбоотсеки в мотогондолах. Суммарная масса бомбовой нагрузки составляла 907 кг - по 2×227-кг или по 4×113-кг бомбы в каждом из двух отсеков.

В качестве силовой установки в конечном итоге выбрали 14-цилиндровые моторы воздушного охлаждения Bristol Hercules II (2×1375 л.с. на 9 самолетах) либо Hercules IV (2×1650 л.с. на 8 самолетах), являвшиеся к моменту своего создания самыми мощными в мире.

В апреле 1937 г. была заказана партия из 10 гидросамолетов Lerwick. Первый серийный экземпляр вышел на испытания в начале ноября 1938 г. Результаты были весьма не утешительными - летающая лодка отличалась плохим гидродинамическим характеристиками, неудовлетворительными взлетно-посадочными качествами и неустойчивостью в воздухе.

Lerwick Mk.I
Экипаж 6-9
Геометрия
Длина самолета, м 19,40
Высота самолета, м 6,10
Размах крыла, м 24,64
Площадь крыла, м² 78,50
Массы, кг
пустого 12880
максимальная взлетная, кг 15060
Силовая установка
2 × ПД Bristol Hercules II, мощностью, л. с. 2 × 1375
Лётные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 345
Крейсерская скорость, км/ч 267
Максимальная скороподъемность, м/мин 270
Практический потолок, м 4270
Практическая дальность, км 2480

В конструкцию прототипа L7248 внесли ряд изменений, в конечном итоге, вместо одинарного киля установив двойной. Воздушные винты были заменены на новые с увеличенным диаметром с 4,11 м на 4,42 метра. Однако, вносимые в конструкцию изменения не позволили радикально улучшить характеристики машины. Тем не менее, производство продолжили, до окончательного прекращения выпуска в марте 1941 г. построив 21 самолет.

Фото Описание

Схема Lerwick Mk.I

Lerwick на море

Подробно

Источники

  • "Летающая лодка Саро "Лервик" /Евгений Аранов/
  • "Все гидросамолеты Второй Мировой" /Андрей Харук/
  • "British Flying Boats" /Peter London/
Armstrong Whitworth A V Ro Blackburn Boulton Paul Bristol Fairey Gloster De Havilland Handley Page Hawker Saunders-Roe Short Supermarine Taylorcraft Vickers Westland Бои Люди Фото

©AirPages
2003-