Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

Disadvantages of the P-39 "Airacobra"

Fighter Bell Airacobra Mk I from 19 GIAP, on which Major A.P. Zaitsev flew combat missions, spring 1942. The pilot died in this aircraft in a plane crash on May 30, 1942.

One should not think that "Cobra" possessed only merit. In terms of speed, rate of climb, maneuverability, it was inferior to domestic fighters at low and medium altitudes. But this was not the main drawback of the American aircraft. Due to the fact that the engine was in the center of gravity of the aircraft, the Cobra reacted strongly to the center of gravity change. After the cannon shells were used up, the centering changed sharply and the fighter often fell into a tailspin. With a delay in taking out of the spin by only half a second, the R-39 went into an even more dangerous flat spin. It was enough carelessness on a deep bend or a combat turn, and the pilot, who pressed the pedal a little harder than usual, immediately fell into serious danger. The corkscrew on the Cobra was also uneven - there was a beating of the control stick with great physical exertion.

In the report of the Air Force Research Institute on the testing of the P-39Q-10 aircraft (pilot K.I. Ovchinnikov), it is indicated: “Tug of the handle or the transfer of legs in aerobatics also leads to a spin. When centering is shifted back, the corkscrew tendency increases. " The most dangerous situation was when there was no ammunition on the plane, and the oil tank was filled under the neck. In relation to it, it was said: "It is very difficult to perform aerobatics on an airplane ... The slightest tug of the handle leads to a rapid drop in speed and a transition into a spin."

The corkscrew has been the cause of numerous accidents and disasters in combat units. For two months in 1944, because of this, only in the 1st Guards Air Division there were two disasters and four accidents. In some places, at first, there was even a panic fear of performing aerobatics on the P-39 (for example, I.M. Dzusov talks about this in his memoirs). Moreover, not only hastily trained wartime pilots crashed, but also experienced test pilots. Only at the Air Force Research Institute there were three catastrophes: on February 2, 1943, K.A. Gruzdev died on the Aerocobra I, K.A. Avtonomov died on the P-39N on January 3, 1944, and K.A. Avtonomov died on April 27 of the same year on the P-39Q-10 - K.I. Ovchinnikov.

The situation was so serious that in the fall of 1943 a special team of the Bell firm, headed by L. Rogers, who was in charge of the company for complaints, arrived in Moscow.

It was not easy to jump out of the P-39, which got into a tailspin. They jumped into the left door, which was thrown off in an emergency.

At the same time, a person often hit the stabilizer. The consequences of this could be fatal. Thus, Heroes of the Soviet Union N.M. Iskrin (in May 1943) and B.B. Glinka (in July 1944) were seriously injured. But even if the pilot was lucky and he got out of the spin, a new danger awaited him: due to large overloads, the tail unit of the R-39 was deformed, the rudders jammed. In March 1944, after a series of accidents and disasters, all Cobras were checked in the 11 Fighter Corps. On 15 machines, clear signs of deformation were revealed. The greater efficiency of the rudder could also lead to the fact that high values ​​of g-forces could be obtained with sharp maneuvering. The result is the same, deformation of the tail and tail of the fuselage. Here are the lines from the report of the senior engineer of the 273rd division (September 1944): “Identified <…> twisting of the tail section of the fuselage in the radio hatch section during sharp evolutions in the air. There was a deformation of the skin in the lower end of the fuselage ... There was a case when in the air one of the halves of the stabilizer was bent towards the inner side.

In the USSR, a whole program of combating the main defects of the "Airacobra" was carried out. After careful tests, the pilot's actions were revealed, provoking a spin. The Air Force Research Institute conducted a training session of instructors, in part they sent experienced pilots who demonstrated safe piloting techniques for an American fighter. They even filmed the training film "Corkscrew of the Air Cobra". All this significantly reduced the accident rate at the front, although, of course, it could not completely save from losses.

By order of the Chief Engineer of the Air Force, restrictions were imposed on the alignment of the aircraft, it was forbidden to put covers and tools in the tail section when redeploying. Aerobatics without ammunition or ballast equal in weight was strictly prohibited. To shift the center of the fighter forward, it was sometimes practiced to remove the armor protection from the oil tank. They also began to strengthen the tail section of the P-39. It turned out that the safety margins of the Cobra were lower than those adopted in the USSR. In the design bureau of the Central Scientific and Operational Base (TsNEB) of the Air Force, engineer M.S. Malkov developed a technique for reinforcing the set in the tail section. The prototype aircraft was altered and tested at the Air Force Research Institute. Following this, the revision of the "Airacobr" was deployed directly in the shelves. In the air defense alone, 326 aircraft were converted in this way. In various parts, on their own initiative, other reinforcements were added to the fighter's glider. So, in the 273rd division, they put overlays on the stabilizer spars.


Other shortcomings of the Airacobra were also noted. Although the tricycle landing gear provided excellent visibility during taxiing and takeoff, and, in principle, made it possible to move around the airfield at high speed without fear of nosing, on uneven unpaved airfields the nose strut vibrated and often broke, which forced the taxiing speed to be limited.

Allison U-1710 motors were the same. as on the P-40. but tied up with an elongated shaft that went through the entire plane to the propeller. Accordingly, the problems remained the same. Here is what was reported from the 67th Guards Regiment in August 1944: “The engine does not work out the 250 hours it was supposed to have for its resource ... put ". Here only "shooting with rods" here turned out to be much more dangerous, since they could easily interrupt the rudder cables passing nearby.

Of course, part of the responsibility for this lay with the flight and technical personnel of our Air Force. Inspections in the units showed that the pilots used the afterburner excessively and did not monitor the condition of the oil system. And they did not always use the necessary brands of oils and gasoline. Our Cobras were usually filled with B-78 gasoline, which, of course, was worse than the American one. And in blockaded Leningrad and B-78 were replaced with a homemade mixture "compote". There is even a known case when a B-70 was poured into an American fighter and it took off safely!

Some alterations were associated with operating experience in winter: insulation of highways, installation of drain valves in the oil system and cooling circuits. To work with these cranes, small hatches were cut in the lower hood of the radiator. With the onset of cold weather, the lubrication of components and assemblies was partially replaced with a more frost-resistant Soviet one. For example, the main bearing of an elongated shaft was lubricated with NK-30 oil in winter. We tried to operate the engines on more frost-resistant Soviet antifreezes, but this forced the cooling system to be altered.

Just like on the Kittyhawks, on the P-39 there were cases of destruction of the tubes of the petrol system from vibrations, which led to a fire in the air. So during the ferrying of aircraft near Gudermes, Hero of the Soviet Union N.E. Lavitsky died. In this regard, American duralumin pipes were sometimes replaced with annealed copper pipes.

The Northern Fleet and the Baltic have tried to install a retractable ski landing gear on the Cobra. But this innovation did not take root - the P-39s continued to fly on wheels all year round.

The disadvantage of the "Airacobra" is the inconvenient trigger of the gun. Here is how A.I. Pokryshkin:

"... One very important issue was resolved positively. Another one had to be resolved. Ammunition of cartridges and shells was calculated taking into account the rate of fire of each type of aircraft weapon for eight seconds of continuous firing. An experienced pilot, a good shooter, shooting from close range, simultaneously using all weapons - machine guns and a cannon, could shoot down up to three or four enemy aircraft in one sortie.

However, the very first battles showed that we used a powerful cannon (37 mm caliber) poorly. They often returned even after a long battle with unused cannon ammunition. The reason is the inconvenient location of the cannon release button. It was on top of the plane's control stick. To press it, it was necessary to turn the palm of the hand a little, which interfered with aiming. This inconvenience was especially affected when firing on piloting with overloads. The control of all weapons had to be redone for one trigger, for the trigger of machine guns. The conversation on this issue took place with the engineer Zhmud.

- Comrade engineer, are you going to stockpile shells?

- How to store? I don’t understand you.

- Do you wonder why the pilots after the battle bring all or almost all of the shells, and the machine-gun containers are empty?

- I still cannot understand why pilots use a cannon poorly in battle.

I said that it is inconvenient to press the cannon button when firing. And he asked:

- By the morning, change the descent of all weapons to the machine gun trigger.

- But according to the instructions, this cannot be done without the permission of the constructor.

- My dear engineer, we pilots are fighting, not a designer. Redo immediately on my plane and on the planes of my squadron. In general, it is necessary to redo the entire regiment. The pilots will thank you for this.

- Let's do it. Nothing complicated. "

To speed up the process of retraining pilots, they created a training aircraft with a second cockpit in front of the main one, very similar to the American TR-39. They were made according to the drawings of the TsNEB Air Force in different parts and formations. V.P. Voronov, who flew on such a machine after the war in the 6th Guards Regiment, wrote: “The 'hybrid' performed its task, but in the front cockpit it was very uncomfortable: the propeller rotated about forty centimeters before my eyes. And if, in case of something unforeseen, you have to leave the plane with a parachute, then you will certainly get on the propeller. " With the exception of the reinforcement of the tail section, "Cobras" have not undergone any major significant structural changes. One can only mention the alteration of several dozen R-39s for M-105P engines due to the lack of spare Allison engines. Some minor changes were made directly to the parts. For example. Pokryshkin redesigned the control handle, combining the trigger of the cannon and machine guns.

In the 1st ferry division, a Soviet RPK-10 radio semi-compass was installed on one P-39 and used this machine as a leader when ferrying groups of single-engine aircraft. Radio half-compasses on some "Cobras" were also installed in the USA. Such machines also entered our country, but, apparently, in very small quantities, since they were not enough even in air defense units.

Production of the P-39 at the Bell plant in Niagara Falls ceased in 1944. The last five vehicles of the P-39Q type passed through to ALSIB at the very beginning of 1945. In total, according to various sources, from the United States delivered from 4,719 to 4,746 "Aerocobras" of various modifications. Another 212 aircraft were re-exported from Great Britain, 158 of them reached their destination. According to our data, 4952 aircraft were accepted in the USSR. We, however, also took into account faulty fighters sent by the British instead of group sets of spare parts. The breakdown by modification is only known from US military aid reports. According to them, 108 P-39D, 40 P-39K, 137 P-39L, 157 P-39M, 1113 P-39N and 3291 P-39Q were sent.

Bibliography

  • Americans in Russia / V.R. Kotelnikov, G.F. Petrov /
  • Know yourself in battle / A.I. Pokryshkin /

Авиация Второй мировой На главнуюПоиск на сайтеEnglish
Ленд - лиз Ленд-лиз A 20 AT 6 B 25 P 39 P 40 P 47 P 63 PBN-1 Hurricane Spitfire Mk.5 Spitfire Mk.9

Недостатки P-39 "Airacobra"

Airacobra Mk I из состава 19 гиап, на котором совершал боевые вылеты майор А.П.Зайцев, 1942 © Михаил Быков

Истребитель Bell Airacobra Mk I из состава 19 гиап, на котором совершал боевые вылеты майор А.П.Зайцев, весна 1942 г. Летчик погиб на этой машине в авиакатастрофе 30.05.42.

Не следует думать, что «Кобра» обладала одними только достоинствами. По скорости, скороподъемности, маневренности она на малых и средних высотах уступала отечественным истребителям. Но и не это являлось главным недостатком американской машины. Из-за того, что мотор стоял в центре тяжести самолета, «Кобра» сильно реагировала на изменение центровки. После израсходования пушечных снарядов центровка резко менялась и истребитель часто срывался в штопор. При запаздывании с выведением из штопора всего на полсекунды Р-39 переходил в еще более опасный плоский штопор. Достаточно было небрежности на глубоком вираже или боевом развороте, и пилот, чуть-чуть сильнее обычного нажавший педаль, тут же попадал в серьезную опасность. Штопор на «Кобре» был к тому же неравномерным — возникало биение ручки управления с большими физическими нагрузками.

В отчете НИИ ВВС об испытании самолета P-39Q-10 (летчик К.И.Овчинников) указываюсь: «К штопору приводит и перетягивание ручки или передача ног на фигурах высшего пилотажа. При смещении центровки назад - тенденция штопора усиливается». Самой опасной являлась ситуация, когда боекомплекта на самолете нет, а маслобак заправлен под горловину. Применительно к ней говорилось: «Выполнять высший пилотаж на самолете весьма трудно... Малейшее перетягивание ручки на себя ведет к быстрому падению скорости и переходу в штопор».

Штопор являлся причиной многочисленных аварий и катастроф в боевых частях. За два месяца 1944 года из-за этого только в 1-й гвардейской авиадивизии произошли две катастрофы и четыре аварии. Кое-где поначалу даже возникла паническая боязнь выполнения на Р-39 фигур высшего пилотажа (об этом, например, рассказывает в своих мемуарах И.М.Дзусов). Причем разбивались не только наскоро обученные пилоты военного времени, но и опытные летчики-испытатели. Только в НИИ ВВС произошли три катастрофы: 2 февраля 1943 года на «Аэрокобре» I погиб К.А.Груздев, 3 января 1944 года на P-39N - К.А.Автономов и 27 апреля того же года на P-39Q-10 - К.И.Овчинников.

Положение было настолько серьезным, что осенью 1943 года в Москву прибыла специальная бригада фирмы «Белл» во главе с Л.Роджерсом, отвечавшим в компании за рекламации.

Из попавшего в штопор Р-39 было нелегко и выпрыгнуть. Прыгали в левую дверь, которая в аварийной ситуации сбрасывалась.

При этом часто человек ударялся о стабилизатор. Последствия этого могли быть и смертельными. Таким образом тяжелые травмы получили Герои Советского Союза Н.М.Искрин (в мае 1943 года) и Б.Б.Глинка (в июле 1944 года). Но даже если пилоту повезло и он выходил из штопора, его подстерегала новая опасность: из-за больших перегрузок у Р-39 деформировалось хвостовое оперение, заклинивало рули. В марте 1944 года после серии аварий и катастроф в 11-м истребительном корпусе провели проверку всех «Кобр». На 15 машинах выявили явные признаки деформации. Большая эффективность рулой могла привести и к тому, что высокие значения перегрузок можно было получить при резком маневрировании. Результат - тот же самый, деформация оперения и хвостовой части фюзеляжа. Вот строки из доклада старшего инженера 273-й дивизии (сентябрь 1944 года): «Выявлены <...> скручивание хвостовой части фюзеляжа на участке радиолюка при резких эволюциях в воздухе. Обнаруживалась деформация обшивки в нижней концевой части фюзеляжа... Был случай, когда в воздухе одна из половин стабилизатора загибалась во внутреннюю сторону».

В СССР осуществили целую программу борьбы с основными дефектами «Аэрокобры». После тщательных испытаний выявили действия летчика, провоцирующие вхождение в штопор. В НИИ ВВС провели учебные сборы инструкторов, в части направили опытных пилотов, демонстрировавших безопасные приемы пилотирования американского истребителя. Сняли даже учебный фильм «Штопор самолета «Аэрокобра». Все это существенно уменьшило аварийность на фронте, хотя полностью от потерь избавить, конечно, не могло.

Распоряжением главного инженера ВВС ввели ограничения на центровку самолета, запретили при перебазировании укладывать в хвостовую часть чехлы и инструмент. Высший пилотаж без боезапаса или равного ему по весу балласта категорически запрещался. Для смещения вперед центровки истребителя иногда практиковали снятие бронезащиты с маслобака. Занялись и усилением хвостовой части Р-39. Выяснилось, что запасы прочности «Кобры» ниже, чем принятые в СССР. В конструкторском бюро Центральной научно-эксплуатационной базы (ЦНЭБ) ВВС инженер М.С.Малков разработал методику подкрепления набора в хвостовой части. Опытный самолет переделали и испытали в НИИ ВВС. Вслед за этим доработку «Аэрокобр» развернули непосредственно в полках. Только в ПВО таким образом переделали 326 самолетов. В различных частях по собственной инициативе вносили в планер истребителя другие усиления. Так, в 273-й дивизии ставили накладки на лонжероны стабилизатора.

Отмечались и другие недостатки «Аэрокобры». Хотя трехколесное шасси обеспечивало прекрасный обзор на рулении и взлете, и в принципе позволяло перемещаться по аэродрому с большой скоростью, не опасаясь капотирования, на неровных грунтовых аэродромах носовая стойка вибрировала и нередко ломалась, что вынуждало ограничивать скорость руления.

Моторы Аллисон У-1710 были те же. что и на Р-40. но увязывались с удлиненным валом, шедшим через весь самолет к винту. Соответственно и проблемы оставались те же. Вот что сообщали из 67-го гвардейского полка в августе 1944 года: «Мотор положенные ему по ресурсу 250 ч. по норме не вырабатывает... За два года эксплуатации не было, чтобы мотор в боевых условиях нарабатывал хотя бы 60-70% от положенного». Вот только «стрельба шатунами» здесь оказывалась гораздо опаснее, поскольку они легко могли перебить проходящие рядом тросы рулей.

Конечно, часть ответственности за это лежала на летном и техническом составе наших ВВС. Проверки в частях показывали, что летчики чрезмерно используют форсаж, не следят за состоянием маслосистемы. Да и не всегда пользовались необходимыми марками масел и бензина. У нас «Кобры» обычно заправляли бензином Б-78, который, конечно, был хуже американского. А в блокированном Ленинграде и Б-78 заменяли самодельной смесью «компот». Известен даже случай, когда в американский истребитель залили Б-70 и он благополучно взлетел!

Кое-какие переделки связывались с опытом эксплуатации зимой: утепление магистралей, установка сливных кранов в маслосистсме и контурах охлаждения. Для работы с этими кранами в нижнем капоте радиатора прорезали небольшие лючки. С наступлением холодов частично заменяли смазку узлов и агрегатов на более морозостойкую советскую. Например, главный подшипник удлиненного вала смазывался зимой маслом НК-30. Пробовали эксплуатировать двигатели на более морозостойких советских антифризах, но это вынуждало переделывать систему охлаждения.

Так же как на «Киттихауках», на Р-39 отмечались случаи разрушения трубок бензосистемы от вибраций, что приводило к возникновению пожара в воздухе. Так при перегонке самолетов под Гудермесом погиб Герой Советского Союза Н.Е.Лавицкий. В связи с этим американские дюралевые трубки у нас иногда заменялись отожженными медными.

На Северном флоте и на Балтике пробовали установить на «Кобры» убирающееся лыжное шасси. Но это новшество не прижилось - Р-39 продолжали круглый год летать на колесах.

К недостатком «Аэрокобры» следует отнести и неудобную гашетку пушки. Вот как описывает в своей книге "Познать себя в бою" решение этого вопроса А.И. Покрышкин:

"...Один очень важный вопрос был решен положительно. Требовалось решить и другой. Боекомплект патронов и снарядов был рассчитан с учетом скорострельности каждого типа вооружения самолета на восемь секунд беспрерывной стрельбы. Опытный летчик, хороший стрелок, стреляя с близкой дистанции, одновременно используя все оружие — пулеметы и пушку, мог сбить до трех-четырех вражеских самолетов за один вылет.

Однако первые же бои показали, что мощную пушку (калибра 37 мм) мы использовали плохо. Часто возвращались даже после продолжительного боя с неизрасходованным пушечным боекомплектом. Причина — неудобное расположение кнопки спуска пушки. Она была сверху ручки управления самолетом. Чтобы нажать ее, надо было несколько вывернуть ладонь руки, что сбивало прицеливание. Это неудобство особенно сказывалось при стрельбе на пилотировании с перегрузками. Управление всем оружием необходимо было переделать на один спуск, на гашетку пулеметов. Разговор по этому вопросу состоялся с инженером Жмудем.

— Товарищ инженер, вы что, собираетесь складировать снаряды?

— Как складировать? Я что-то вас не пойму.

— А вы поинтересуйтесь, почему летчики после боя привозят все или почти все снаряды, а пулеметные контейнеры пусты?

— Я до сих пор понять не могу, почему летчики в бою слабо используют пушку.

Я рассказал, что при стрельбе неудобно нажимать кнопку пушки. И попросил:

— Вот к утру переделайте спуск всего оружия на пулеметную гашетку.

— Но по инструкции без разрешения конструктора этого делать нельзя.

— Мой дорогой инженер, мы, летчики, ведем бой, а не конструктор. Переделать немедленно на моем самолете и на самолетах моей эскадрильи. А вообще надо переделать во всем полку. За это вам летчики спасибо скажут.

— Сделаем. Сложного ничего нет."

Для ускорения процесса переучивания летчиков создали учебный самолет со второй кабиной впереди основной, очень похожий на американский ТР-39. Их по чертежам ЦНЭБ ВВС делали в разных частях и соединениях. В.П.Воронов, летавший на такой машине уже после войны в 6-м гвардейском полку, писал: «Свою задачу «гибрид» выполнял, но в передней кабине было очень неуютно: винт вращался сантиметрах в сорока перед глазами. А если, в случае непредвиденного, придется покидать самолет с парашютом, то уж попадешь на винт непременно». За исключением усиления хвостовой части, «Кобры» у нас не подвергались сколько нибудь серьезным существенным конструктивным изменениям. Можно только упомянуть о переделке нескольких десятков Р-39 под моторы М-105П из-за нехватки запасных двигателей «Аллисон». Некоторые мелкие изменения вносились непосредственно в частях. Например. Покрышкину переделали ручку управления, совместив гашетки пушки и пулеметов.

В 1-й перегоночной дивизии на один Р-39 установили советский радиополукомпас РПК-10 и использовали эту машину как лидер при перегонке групп одномоторных самолетов. Радиополукомпасы на некоторых «Кобрах» ставились и в США. Такие машины тоже поступали в нашу страну, но, видимо, в очень небольшом количестве, так как их не хватало даже в частях ПВО.

Производство Р-39 на заводе «Белл» в Ниагара-Фоллз прекратили в 1944 году. Последние пять машин типа P-39Q прошли но АЛСИБу в самом начале 1945 года. Всего, по различным источникам, из США поставили от 4719 до 4746 «Аэрокобр» разных модификаций. Еще 212 самолетов реэкспортировали из Великобритании, до места из них дошли 158. По нашим данным, в СССР приняты 4952 машины. У нас, правда, учитывались и неисправные истребители, присылавшиеся англичанами вместо групкомплектов запчастей. Разбивка по модификациям известна только из отчетов об американской военной помощи. Согласно им, отправлено 108 P-39D, 40 Р-39К, 137 P-39L, 157 Р-39М, 1113 P-39N и 3291 P-39Q.

Источники

  • "«Американцы» в России" /В.Р. Котельников, Г.Ф. Петров/
  • "Познать себя в бою" /А.И. Покрышкин/

©AirPages
2003-