Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

Lincoln

Strategic Bomber

AVRo

AVRo 694 Lincoln Mk 31

The most successful British long-range bomber of the Second World War is considered the Avro "Lancaster", in the course of numerous night raids methodically destroyed the industrial potential of Nazi Germany and terrified its population. But back in 1942, the RAF command began to think about the upcoming large-scale operations in the Far East. For use in this theater of operations, the British bomb carriers clearly did not have enough range. Therefore, the creator of "Lancaster" Roy Chadwick began developing its improved version - the Mk.IV modification (AVRo "model 694").

At the end of 1942, a preliminary design was submitted to the military along with a competing project Vickers "Windsor". The choice was made in favor of the Chadwick machine, and in July 1943 AVRo received a contract for the construction of a prototype, and a month later - an order for the supply of 162 production aircraft that corresponded to the specification (technical assignment) B. 14/43, and in two modifications at once - "Lancaster" B Mk.IV and B Mk.V, distinguished by engines ("Merlin-85" and "Merlin-68" with 1635 and 1315 hp respectively).

In June 1944, due to significant differences between the new modifications from the previous ones, it was decided to separate the "model 694" into a separate type of aircraft. The plane was named "Lincoln" after the city of Lincoln - the capital of the county in the east of England. Thus, Lancaster B Mk.IV and B Mk.V became Lincolns B Mk.I and B Mk.II.

Externally, the aircraft differed from the previous models of "Lancaster" in the shape of the nose. One of the main disadvantages of "Lancaster" was the poor layout of the close, with a poor view of the navigator-bombardier's workplace. Therefore, on the "Lincoln" the design of the nose of the fuselage was changed, making it "two-story" - below was the glazed cockpit of the navigator-bombardier, and above it was a remotely controlled turret.

The Lincoln fuel system consisted of six tanks with a total capacity of 16,278 liters (3580 imp g). It was a large supply of fuel that made it possible, at a speed of 320 km / h, with a bomb load of 1400 kg, at an altitude of 6100 m, to reach a strategic range of 7160 km.

Lincoln first flew on June 9, 1944 from Ringway airfield near Manchester. From July 15 to 23, the aircraft passed preliminary state tests, showing good controllability and satisfactory flight characteristics. The only change made to the design based on the test results was a slight increase in the area of ​​the rudders.

The first modification turned out to be unsuccessful - the Merlin-85 engines lacked power, and in February 1949 several dozen aircraft, already tainted by corrosion, were sold for scrap.

Model B Mk.II with American Packard-Merlin-68 engines, which actually provided the declared power, turned out to be more promising. But the introduction of the "two" into the series was delayed - the first aircraft of this modification was produced only at the beginning of June 1945, and like the first model, these aircraft did not participate in World War II.

The Lincoln Mk.31 was used only by the Australian Air Force (RAAF). Its bow, lengthened by 1.98 m, housed additional crew members for naval reconnaissance. It was balanced by the mass of equipment moved to the rear of the fuselage. 19 of these aircraft were converted from Australian-built Mk. 30A and served with 10 Squadron.

A total of 604 units of various modifications were produced. The plane was the last to be decommissioned in Argentina, in 1967.


                                                                                                                                                                                                              
AVRo 694 Lincoln B Mk.II Specification
Crew 7
Dimensions
Wing span, m 36.58
Wing area, m² 132.20
Length, m 23.86
Height, m 5.27
Powerplant
4×PE Packard-Merlin 68, V-12 liquid cooling, h.p. 4×1750
Weight, kg:
Empty 20043
Loaded weight 34,019
Gross weight 37,195
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h at altitude 5600 m 499
Cruising speed, km/h at altitude 6100 m 346
Service ceiling, m 9,300
Service range, km at altitude 4600 m with 6400 kg bomb 4,506
Service range, km at altitude 4600 m with 1400 kg bomb 7,160
Armament
2 × 12.7 in the bow, dorsal, tail turrets, bombs, kg 6,350
Photo Description
Drawing AVRo Lincoln B Mk.II

Drawing AVRo Lincoln B Mk.II

Bibliography

  • "Encyclopedia of military engineering" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "British warplanes of World War II" /under cor. Daniel March/

Your Name (Nick):
Your e-mail:
Input # 7284356:
Your Information:

Also used by the RAF in the UK as a reconnaissance aircraft. So, on March 12, 1953, a Lincoln reconnaissance aircraft over German territory, performing reconnaissance tasks, was shot down by pilots of the 43rd IAP of the USSR Air Force V. Ivanov and V. Alekseev. Judging by the names, such pilots in the USSR could not be counted ...

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте
Самолёты AVRo Anson Manchester Lancaster Lincoln York Lancastrian Фото и схемы Боевое применение Anson Lancaster Lancaster в СССР Pilot`s Notes Lancaster I, III Техническое описание Lancaster I PA474

Lincoln

Стратегический бомбардировщик

AVRo

AVRo 694 Lincoln Mk 31

Самым удачным британским дальним бомбардировщиком времен Второй мировой считается Авро "Ланкастер", в ходе многочисленных ночных рейдов методично разрушавший промышленный потенциал гитлеровской Германии и наводивший ужас на ее население. Но еще в 1942 году командование RAF начало задумываться о предстоящих крупномасштабных операциях на Дальнем Востоке. Для использования на этом ТВД британским бомбовозам явно не хватало дальности. Поэтому создатель "Ланкастера" Рой Чедвик приступил разработке его усовершенствованного варианта - модификации Mk.IV (AVRo "модель 694").

В конце 1942 г. эскизный проект представили на рассмотрение военных вместе с конкурирующим проектом Виккерс "Виндзор". Выбор был сделан в пользу машины Чедвика, и в июле 1943 г. фирма AVRo получила контракт на постройку прототипа, а месяцем позже - заказ на поставку 162 серийных самолетов, соответствовавших спецификации (техническому заданию) В. 14/43, причем сразу в двух модификациях - "Ланкастер" В Mk.IV и В Mk.V, отличавшихся двигателями ("Мерлин-85" и "Мерлин-68" мощностью 1635 и 1315 л.с. соответственно).

В июне 1944-го в связи с существенными отличиями новых модификаций от предыдущих, было принято решение выделить "модель 694" в отдельный тип самолета. Самолет получил название "Линкольн", по названию города Линкольн - столицы графства на востоке Англии. Таким образом, "Ланкастеры" В Mk.IV и В Mk.V стали "Линкольнами" B Mk.I и B Mk.II.

Внешне самолет отличался от предыдущих моделей "Ланкастера" формой носа. Одним из главных недостатков "Ланкастера" была неудачная компоновка тесного, с плохим обзором рабочего места штурмана-бомбардира. Поэтому на "Линкольне" конструкцию носовой части фюзеляжа изменили, сделав ее "двухэтажной" - внизу находилась остекленная кабина штурмана-бомбардира, а над ней - дистанционно управляемая турель.

Топливная система "Линкольна" состояла из шести баков общей емкостью 16 278 л (3580 imp g). Именно большой запас топлива и позволял на скорости 320 км/час, при бомбовой нагрузке 1400 кг, на высоте 6100 м достигать стратегического радиуса действия в 7160 км.

"Линкольн" впервые поднялся в воздух 9 июня 1944 г. с аэродрома "Рингуэй" близ Манчестера. С 15 по 23 июля самолет прошел предварительные государственные испытания, показав хорошую управляемость и удовлетворительные летные характеристики. Единственным изменением, внесенным в конструкцию по результатам испытаний, стало некоторое увеличение площади рулей направления.

Первая модификация оказалась не удачной - двигатели "Мерлин-85" недодавали мощности, и в феврале 1949 года несколько десятков самолетов, уже подпорченных корррозией, продали на металлолом.

Более перспективной оказалась модель В Mk.II с американскими моторами "Паккард-Мерлин-68", реально обеспечивавшими заявленную мощность. Но внедрение "двойки" в серию задерживалось - первый самолет этой модификации был выпущен лишь в начале июня 1945 г., и как и первая модель эти самолеты не участвовали во Второй мировой войне.

Самолет Lincoln Mk.31 применялся только в австралийских ВВС (RAAF). В его носовой части, удлиненной на 1,98 м, размещались дополнительные члены экипажа для морской разведки. Она уравновешивалась массой оборудования, перемещенного в хвостовую часть фюзеляжа. 19 таких самолетов были переделаны из собранных австралийцами машин Mk. 30A и служили в 10-й эскадрилье.

Всего было произведено 604 единицы различных модификаций. Самолет последним списали в Аргентине, в 1967 году.

Характеристики AVRo 694 Lincoln B Mk.II
Экипаж 7
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 36,58
Площадь крыла, м² 132,20
Длина самолета, м 23,86
Высота самолета, м 5,27
Силовая установка
4×ПД Packard-Merlin 68, V-12 жидкостного охлаждения, л.с. 4×1750
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого самолета 20043
Нормальная взлетная 34019
Максимальная взлетная 37195
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость, на высоте 5600 м, км/ч 499
Крейсерская скорость, на высоте 6100 м, км/ч 346
Практический потолок, м 9300
Дальность на высоте 4600 м с 6400 кг бомб, км 4506
Дальность на высоте 4600 м с 1400 кг бомб, км 7160
Вооружение
2×12,7 в носовой, надфюзеляжной, хвостовой турелях, бомб, кг 6350
Фото Описание

Схема AVRo Lincoln B Mk.II

Источники

  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "Английские военные самолеты Второй мировой войны" /под ред. Даниэля Марча/

Ваше имя (Nick):
Ваш e-mail:
Введите число 5146563:
Ваша информация:

Использовался в RAF Великобритании также в варианте разведчика. Так, 12 марта 1953 года самолет-разведчик Lincoln над территорией Германии, выполняя разведывательные задачи, был сбит лётчиками 43-го ИАП ВВС СССР В. Ивановым и В. Алексеевым. Судя по фамилиям, таких лётчиков в СССР было не перечесть...

Armstrong Whitworth A V Ro Blackburn Boulton Paul Bristol Fairey Gloster De Havilland Handley Page Hawker Saunders-Roe Short Supermarine Taylorcraft Vickers Westland Бои Люди Фото

©AirPages
2003-