Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

HP 54 Harrow

Medium Bomber

Handley Page

HP 54 Harrow

HP 54 Harrow - British bomber of the 1930s, used by the RAF during WWII mainly as a transport aircraft. Built as a twin-engined high-wing aircraft with fixed landing gear, the Harrow was originally powered by two 830 hp Bristol Pegasus X engines. (620 kW), which allowed a maximum speed of 306 km / h, the first flight took place on October 10, 1936.

Starting from the 40th aircraft, Bristol Pegasus XX engines with a capacity of 925 hp were installed on the aircraft, the aircraft received the designation Mk.II, while the maximum speed increased to 322 km / h.

Despite the fact that the aircraft was equipped with steam batteries that used the heat of the exhaust gases, the Harrow earned a reputation as a cold aircraft, mainly due to the design of the turrets.

Handley Page proposed a new way of manufacturing the Harrow aircraft that allowed small firms to subcontract individual units. On January 13, 1937, the first HP 54 Harrow was delivered to RAF 214 Squadron, and by the end of the year, all 100 bombers were delivered to five RAF squadrons.



Harrow B.Mk.II Specification
Crew 4-5
Dimensions
Wing span, m 26.95
Wing area, m² 101.26
Length, m 25.04
Powerplant
2 × PE Bristol Pegasus XX, power, h. p. 2 × 925
Weight, kg:
Empty 6169
Loaded weight 10433
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 322
Cruising speed, km/h 262
Service ceiling, m 6,950
Service range, km 2,012

Armament. Four 7.7 mm machine guns, one each in the nose and dorsal turrets and 2 in the tail turret; up to 1361 kg bomb load.

Combat use. In October 1940, six Harrow bombers were equipped with the LAM (Long Aerial Mine) system as air minelayers, consisting of many small explosive charges suspended from parachutes on a long tow rope at 610 m. It was assumed that the charges would explode on contact with enemy bombers. The use of such unusual tactics for 3 months was attributed to the destruction of 4-6 German bombers, but in general the experiment was considered unsuccessful, and the planned deployment of the HP 54 in the LAM role was canceled.

Harrow was used to support the allied forces in northwestern Europe, these aircraft were used for various purposes until May 1945. As more modern bombers arrived, they were transferred to transport units from September 1939. In March 1940, the 271st Transport Squadron was formed and operated various types of aircraft, including the Harrow. In February 1944, the Harrow crews supported the allied forces in North-Western Europe, and a month later a medical evacuation unit was formed, two of which in September 1944 participated in the evacuation of wounded soldiers from near Arnhem. Seven of the unit's planes were lost in 1945 during the Luftwaffe's New Year's attack on the airbases of the 2nd Tactical Air Force in Europe. In May 1945, the unit was re-equipped with American Douglas Dakota.

Bibliography

  • "Military transport aircraft 1939-1945" /V.R. Kotelnikov./
  • "Encyclopedia of Military Equipment" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "British military aircraft of the Second World War" /ed. Daniel March/

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте
Самолёты Handley Page Hampden HP 52 Herefold HP 53 Harrow HP 54 Halifax HP 57 Halifax GR Фото и схемы Боевое применение Hampden В СССР Hampden

HP 54 Harrow

Средний бомбардировщик

Handley Page

HP 54 Harrow

HP 54 Harrow - британским бомбардировщик 1930-х годов, использовался во время Второй мировой в Королевских ВВС большей частью как транспортный самолет. Построенный, как двухмоторный высокоплан с неубираемым шасси Harrow первоначально оснащался двумя двигателями Bristol Pegasus X мощностью 830 л.с. (620 кВт), позволявшими развивать максимальную скорость 306 км/час, первый полет состоялся 10 октября 1936 года.

Начиная с 40-го самолета на самолет стали устанавливаться двигатели Bristol Pegasus XX мощностью по 925 л.с., самолет получил обозначение Mk.II, при этом максимальная скорость увеличилась до 322 км/час.

Несмотря на то, что самолет оборудовался паровыми батареями, использовавшими тепло отработанных выхлопных газов, Harrow заслужил репутацию холодного самолета, главным образом из-за конструкции турелей.

Компания Handley Page предложила новый способ производства самолета Harrow, который позволял небольшим фирмам производить по субдоговору отдельные агрегаты. 13 января 1937 года первый HP 54 Harrow был поставлен в 214 эскадрилью RAF, а к концу года все 100 бомбардировщиков были поставлены в пять эскадрилий RAF.

Характеристики Harrow B.Mk.II
Экипаж 4-5
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 26,95
Площадь крыла, м² 101,26
Длина самолета, м 25,04
Силовая установка
2 × ПД Bristol Pegasus XX, л. с. 2 × 925
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого самолета 6169
Нормальная взлетная 10433
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 322
Крейсерская скорость, км/ч 262
Практический потолок, м 6950
Практическая дальность, км 2012

Вооружение. Четыре 7,7-мм пулемета, по одному в носовой и надфюзеляжной турелях и 2 в хвостовой турели; до 1361 кг бомбовой нагрузки.

Боевое применение. В октябре 1940 г. шесть бомбардировщиков Harrow были оборудованы системой LAM (Long Aerial Mine) в качестве воздушных минных заградителей, состоявших из множества маленьких взрывчатых зарядов, подвешенных на парашютах на длинном буксировочном тросе в 610 м. Предполагалось, что заряды будут взрываться при контакте с вражескими бомбардировщиками. На применение столь необычной тактики в течение 3 месяцев списали уничтожение 4–6 немецких бомбардировщиков, однако в целом эксперимент был признан неудачным, и запланированное развертывание HP 54 в роли LAM было отменено.

Harrow применялись для поддержки союзнических войск в северо-западной части Европы, эти самолеты использовались в различных целях до мая 1945 г. По мере поступления более современных бомбардировщиков их с сентября 1939 г. передавали в транспортные части. В марте 1940 года была сформирована 271-я транспортная эскадрилья, которая эксплуатировала различные типы самолетов, включая Harrow. В феврале 1944 года экипажи Harrow обеспечивали действия союзных войск в Северо-Западной Европе, а месяц спустя было сформировано медикоэвакуационное подразделение, два самолета которого в сентябре 1944 года участвовали в эвакуации раненых бойцов из-под Арнема. Семь самолетов подразделения были потеряны в 1945 году во время новогодней атаки Люфтваффе на авиабазы 2-й тактической Воздушной армии в Европе. В мае 1945 года подразделение было перевооружено на американские Douglas Dakota.

Источники

  • "Военно-транспортные самолеты 1939-1945" /В.Р. Котельников./
  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "Английские военные самолеты Второй мировой войны" /под ред. Даниэля Марча/
Armstrong Whitworth A V Ro Blackburn Boulton Paul Bristol Fairey Gloster De Havilland Handley Page Hawker Saunders-Roe Short Supermarine Taylorcraft Vickers Westland Бои Люди Фото

©AirPages
2003-