Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

Hempden HP 52 in the USSR

Handley-Page "Hampden" TB.Mk.I 30 "white" from 24 MTAPs of the USSR Navy aviation.

The Hampden torpedo bomber version appear in the USSR in 1942 when Royal Air Force aircraft flew to Murmansk to fly from here to protect the PQ 18 Convoy. The British air group included: a Spitfire and Mosquito photo reconnaissance unit, several flying boats Catalina and Hampden torpedo bombers, which were represented by two squadrons (144th and 445th).

The flight of these torpedo bombers from Lyohars airfield in Scotland was very difficult. Having refueled at the Sumburgh base (Shetland Islands), thirty-two Hampdens headed for Murmansk on September 4. Along the way, spare parts for the Hurricane fighters delivered earlier to our country were loaded into the empty fuselages of the aircraft. The range of loaded aircraft was barely enough to reach the nearest Soviet airfield.

On the most difficult route, the British crews faced both bad weather and enemy aircraft. Three Hampdens were shot down over Finland by German fighters. Two torpedo bombers crashed in Sweden: one due to a failed engine, and the other crashed into a mountain in the fog. Another crew lost their bearings and, having made an emergency landing in Finland, was taken prisoner.

When the surviving torpedo bombers appeared over the territory of the USSR, the troubles continued. Due to fog, one Hampden landed on the fuselage in the Kirov region, and the other near Kandalaksha ran into stumps and was completely broken (the crew, fortunately, was not injured). The last lost Hampden was helped to shoot down by Soviet fighters, mistaking it for a Bf 110. The downed torpedo bomber sat on the water, and the bottom gunner was among the dead.

Twenty-three Hampdens that flew over safely were placed at the Vaenga airfield near Murmansk. The technical staff, spare parts and torpedoes were delivered to Murmansk by the American cruiser Tuscaloosa. English crews flew out on a combat mission on September 14, 1942 - the first and only time. Torpedo bombers patrolled the approaches to the Altenfjord, where the battleship Tirpitz was located. But no German ships were encountered during the departure of the Hampdens.

Operation Orator to escort convoy PQ-18 ended on 22 September. And the question arose - what to do next with British aircraft? The complexity of the return flight made it completely pointless. As a result of the negotiations, British Prime Minister Winston Churchill approved the transfer of torpedo bombers to the Red Army. All Hampdens became part of the 24th Mine-Torpedo Aviation Regiment (24th MTAP) of the Air Force of the Northern Fleet.

The composition of the regiment turned out to be mixed: the first squadron had 9 DB-ZF torpedo bombers, and the second and third received ten Hampdens each. During retraining, two aircraft were damaged, and two were destroyed (one of them killed the regiment commander, Lieutenant Colonel Vedmenko).


The Hampdens with red stars on their wings recorded their first sortie on November 8, when they went out to search for German ships. Bad weather prevented the detection of enemy targets. The flight on December 16 turned out to be successful - the planes bombed over Kirkenes. But the main task of the torpedo bombers was considered to be the fight against the ships of the Kriegsmarine.

On December 18, 1942, the crew of Captain S.I. Trunov torpedoed a German transport near Tanafjord. The crews of captains V.N. Kiselev and A.A. Bashtyrkov on January 15 attacked an enemy convoy off the Norwegian coast. Bashtyrkov's Hampden caught fire on the combat course, but the pilot did not turn away until the torpedo was dropped. The burning aircraft became easy prey for German anti-aircraft gunners and fell into the sea. Posthumously, Bashtyrkov and his navigator V.N. Gavrilov were awarded the titles of Heroes of the Soviet Union.

Captain Kiselev repeated the feat of his deceased friend three months later. On April 25, 1943, the five H.R.52 led by him chose a convoy of seventeen ships under the cover of Luftwaffe fighters as their goal on April 25, 1943. German planes tied up the twin-engine Pe-3 fighters from the 95th IAP, allowing the torpedo bombers to go on the attack.

Kiselev headed for the lead transport "Leesee", but got hit in the left engine, which immediately caught fire. Nevertheless, the Hampden remained on course and dropped a torpedo from a height of 400 m. All anti-aircraft weapons of the convoy concentrated fire on the flaming plane of Kiselev. In the end, the torpedo bomber crashed into the water not far from the sinking Leesee. For their feat, V.N. Kiselev, together with the navigator M.F. Pokalo, were posthumously awarded the title of Heroes.

The Hampdens were in service with the 24th MTAP (renamed 9th Guards MTAP in May) until mid-1943. They made their last sortie on 4 July. At Cape Kibergnes, a pair of NR52 aircraft, three Il-4s and two Il-2s attacked German ships. Torpedo bombers sank one transport with a displacement of 8000 tons and seriously damaged two more ships, but on the way back both Hampdens were shot down by German fighters. Fortunately, the crews of the planes that landed on the water (Major Shipilov and Junior Lieutenant Martynov) managed to escape.

By that time, the 9th Guards MTAP had completely re-equipped with American Douglas A-20G torpedo bombers. There was only one N.R.52T.V. in the regiment. Mk.1, and that one was faulty.

Combat operation of the Hampdens in the Red Army cannot be called easy. There were constant problems with spare parts - often only Russian ingenuity helped to keep the aircraft in a state of combat readiness. For example, the lack of spare English spark plugs forced the use of domestic VG-22, having redone the ignition system.

They did the same with torpedoes: instead of the spent English ones, our 45-36ANs were suspended. Since Soviet torpedoes were half a meter longer, the bomb bay doors had to be redone, shortening part of the navigator's cabin.

To increase the survivability of English torpedo bombers, our designers equipped them with a system for supplying cooled exhaust gases to gas tanks, reducing the fire hazard in case of bullet damage. The armament was also strengthened: the coaxial Vickers machine guns were replaced at the rear with the Soviet UTK-1 turret with the UBT heavy machine gun.

With such modifications, the Hampden was much better suited for military service in the Russian North, but in terms of basic parameters it was inferior to our main torpedo bomber, the Ilyushinsky DB-ZF. The English plane moved slower by about 40 km / h, significantly lost in range and, most importantly, had worse maneuverability. It was thanks to the latter reason that Soviet pilots spoke of these machines without much enthusiasm, noting among the advantages only a spacious cockpit with good visibility. The Hampden was appreciated by the technicians in their own way, giving it the nickname "Balalaika" because of the flat and high cockpit and wide delta wing with a straight leading edge.

Bibliography

  • Bomber "Hampden". Sergei Kolov /Airplanes of the World No. 2 2000/

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте English
 
Самолёты Handley Page Hampden HP 52 Halifax HP 57 Фото и схемы Боевое применение Hampden В СССР Hampden

Хемпдены в СССР

Хэндли-Пейдж «Хэмпден» TB.Mk.I 30 «белый» из 24 МТАП авиации ВМФ СССР

Хэндли-Пейдж «Хэмпден» TB.Mk.I 30 «белый» из 24 МТАП авиации ВМФ СССР.

С торпедным вариантом «Хэмпдена» познакомились в СССР, когда в 1942 г. самолёты Королевских ВВС прилетели в Мурманск, чтобы отсюда выполнять полёты по защите конвоя PQ 18. В состав английской авиагруппы вошли: подразделение фоторазведчиков «Спитфайр» и «Москито», несколько летающих лодок «Каталина» и торпедоносцы «Хэмпден», которые были представлены двумя эскадрильями (144-й и 445-й).

Перелёт этих торпедоносцев с аэродрома Лыохарс в Шотландии прошёл с очень большими трудностями. Дозаправившись на базе Самбург (Шетландские о-ва), тридцать два «Хэмпдена» 4 сентября взяли курс на Мурманск. Попутно в пустые фюзеляжи самолетов погрузили запасные части для поставленных ранее в нашу страну истребителей «Харрикейн». Дальности загруженных самолётов едва хватило, чтобы достичь ближайшего советского аэродрома.

На сложнейшем маршруте английские экипажи столкнулись как с непогодой, так и с вражескими самолётами. Три «Хэмпдена» были сбиты над Финляндией немецкими истребителями. Два торпедоносца разбились в Швеции: один — из-за отказавшего мотора, а другой в тумане врезался в гору. Ещё один экипаж потерял ориентировку и, сев на вынужденную посадку в Финляндии, попал в плен.

Когда уцелевшие торпедоносцы появились над территорией СССР, неприятности продолжились. Из-за тумана один «Хэмпден» сел на фюзеляж в Кировской области, а другой под Кандалакшей налетел на пни и был полностью разбит (экипаж, к счастью, не пострадал). Последний потерянный «Хэмпден» помогли сбить советские истребители, приняв его за Bf 110. Подбитый торпедоносец сел на воду, а среди погибших оказался нижний стрелок.

Двадцать три благополучно перелетевших «Хэмпдена» разместили на аэродроме Ваенга под Мурманском. Технический состав, запасные части и торпеды доставил в Мурманск американский крейсер «Таскалуза». Английские экипажи вылетели на боевое задание 14 сентября 1942 г. — первый и единственный раз. Торпедоносцы патрулировали подходы к Альтен-фьорду, где находился линкор «Тирпиц». Но никаких немецких судов во время вылета «Хэмпдены» не встретили.

Операция «Оратор» по проводке конвоя PQ-18 закончилась 22 сентября. И встал вопрос — что дальше делать с английскими самолётами? Сложность обратного перелёта делала его совершенно бессмысленным. В результате проведенных переговоров премьер-министр Великобритании Уинстон Черчилль одобрил передачу торпедоносцев Красной Армии. Все «Хэмпдены» вошли в состав 24-го минно-торпедного авиаполка (24-й МТАП) ВВС Северного флота.

Состав полка получился смешанным: первая эскадрилья имела 9 торпедоносцев ДБ-ЗФ, а вторая и третья получили по десять «Хэмпденов». Во время переучивания два самолёта повредили, а два разбили (на одном из них погиб командир полка подполковник Ведменко).

Первый боевой вылет «Хэмпдены» с красными звёздами на крыльях записали на свой счёт 8 ноября, когда вышли на поиск немецких кораблей. Непогода помешала обнаружить вражеские цели. Успешным получился вылет 16 декабря — самолёты отбомбились над Киркенесом. Но основной задачей торпедоносцев считалась борьба с кораблями кригсмарине.

18 декабря 1942 г. экипаж капитана С.И.Трунова торпедировал немецкий транспорт у Тана-фьорда. Экипажи капитанов В.Н.Киселева и А.А.Баштыркова 15 января атаковали вражеский конвой у норвежского побережья. «Хэмпден» Баштыркова загорелся на боевом курсе, но лётчик не отвернул до сброса торпеды. Горящий самолёт стал лёгкой добычей немецких зенитчиков и упал в море. Посмертно Баштыркову и его штурману В.Н.Гаврилову присвоили звания Героев Советского Союза.

Капитан Киселев повторил подвиг погибшего друга через три месяца. Ведомая им пятёрка Н.Р.52 своей целью 25 апреля 1943 г. избрала конвой из семнадцати кораблей под прикрытием истребителей Люфтваффе. Немецкие самолёты связали боем двухмоторные истребители Пе-3 из 95-го ИАП, позволив торпедоносцам выйти в атаку.

На головной транспорт «Леезее» направился Киселев, но получил попадание в левый мотор, который тут же загорелся. Тем не менее, «Хэмпден» остался на курсе и с высоты 400 м сбросил торпеду. На пылающем самолёте Киселева сосредоточили огонь все зенитные средства конвоя. В конце концов торпедоносец рухнул в воду недалеко от тонущего «Леезее». За свой подвиг В.Н.Киселев вместе со штурманом М.Ф.Покало посмертно были удостоены звания Героев.

«Хэмпдены» состояли на вооружении 24-го МТАП (переименованного в мае в 9-й Гвардейский МТАП) до середины 1943 г. Они совершили свой последний боевой вылет 4 июля. У мыса Кибергнес пара самолетов Н.Р.52, три Ил-4 и два Ил-2 атаковали немецкие суда. Торпедоносцы потопили один транспорт водоизмещением 8000 тонн и ещё два корабля серьёзно повредили, но на обратном пути оба «Хэмпдена» были сбиты немецкими истребителями. К счастью, экипажам севших на воду самолётов (майора Шипилова и младшего лейтенанта Мартынова) удалось спастись.

К тому времени 9-й Гвардейский МТАП полностью перевооружился на американские торпедоносцы Дуглас A-20G. В полку числился только один Н.Р.52Т.В. Мк.1, да и тот был неисправен.

Боевую эксплуатацию «Хэмпденов» в Красной Армии легкой назвать нельзя. Постоянно возникали проблемы с запчастями — зачастую лишь русская смекалка помогала поддерживать самолёты в состоянии боевой готовности. Например, отсутствие запасных английских свечей зажигания вынуждало использовать отечественные ВГ-22, переделав систему зажигания.

Также поступили и с торпедами: взамен израсходованных английских подвешивали наши 45-36АН. Поскольку советские торпеды были на полметра длиннее, пришлось переделывать створки бомболюков, укоротив часть кабины штурмана.

Для повышения живучести английских торпедоносцев, наши конструкторы их оснастили системой подачи охлажденных выхлопных газов в бензобаки, уменьшив пожароопасность при пулевом повреждении. Усилили и вооружение: заменили сзади спаренные пулеметы «Виккерс» на советскую башню УТК-1 с крупнокалиберным пулемётом УБТ.

С подобными доработками «Хэмпден» был гораздо лучше приспособлен для военной службы на русском Севере, но по основным параметрам он уступал нашему основному торпедоносцу - «ильюшинскому» ДБ-ЗФ. Английский самолет передвигался медленнее примерно на 40 км/час, значительно проигрывал в дальности и, самое главное, имел худшую манёвренность. Именно благодаря последней причине советские пилоты без особого энтузиазма отзывались об этих машинах, отмечая среди достоинств лишь просторную кабину с хорошим обзором. По своему оценили «Хэмпден» техники, присвоив ему прозвище «Балалайка» из-за плоской и высокой кабины и широкого треугольного крыла с прямой передней кромкой.

Источники

  • Бомбардировщик "Хэмпден ". Сергей Колов /Самолеты мира № 2 2000/

©AirPages
2003-