Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

Supermarine

Reginald Mitchell

Reginald Mitchell

The Spitfire was an outstanding fighter, combining absolute perfection of form with aerobatic qualities. Spitfire achieved combat success during the Battle of Britain, defeating high-altitude armada of Luftwaffe bombers and repelling all attacks from escorting fighters.

The Spitfire was the creation of the quiet, calm, genius Reginald D. Mitchell, who created, starting in 1925, a series of high-speed seaplanes for the Schneider Cup races, culminating in the excellent S6B, which in 1931 won the British Cup forever at 548 speeds. 3 km / h (and which, two weeks later, set a world speed record of 655 km / h). The immediate predecessor of the Spitfire, insofar as it is of the present design, was the Supermarine Type 224 (K2890), a single-seat monoplane fighter.

The Supermarine Type 300, as the final development was called, was vastly superior to the F. 5/34, and in January 1935 it was accepted by AM for construction as a prototype according to the F. 37/34 specification, which was actually drawn up for contract purposes. The final presentation of the layout took place in Woolston on 26.3.35, and less than a year later (5.3.36) the Spitfire prototype (K5054), equipped with a 990-horsepower Rolls-Royce Merlin C, made its first flight at Eastleigh airfield (Southampton) under directed by J. "Matt" Summers. Summers was the chief test pilot of Vickers (Aviation) Ltd., which in 1928 acquired a full stake in Supermarin Co.

The original contract for serial production of the Spitfire expired in March 1939, but due to problems with the establishment of production, it was extended until August. Meanwhile, in 1937, the initial contract was continued with an order for 200 subsequent vehicles. In the same year, at the age of 42, after being seriously ill for many months, Reginald Mitchell died.

His successor as chief designer of the "Supermarine" was Joseph Smith, who contributed the bulk of the further development of the Spitfire, its various modifications and variations.

When the Battle of Britain began in early July 1940, the FC RAF (Fighter Command Royal Air Force) had 19 Spitfire divisions.

Spitfire MkIX in flight

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайтеEnglish
 
Самолёты Supermarine Spitfire Spitfire Mk.1 Spitfire Mk.5 Spitfire Mk.9 Spitfire Mk.14 Фото и схемы Боевое применение Spitfire В СССР Spitfire Mk.5 Spitfire Mk.9

Supermarine

Реджинальд Джозеф Митчелл

Реджинальд Джозеф Митчелл

Spitfire был выдающимся истребителем, сочетая абсолютную завершенность форм с пилотажными качествами. Spitfire добился боевых успехов во время Битвы за Британию, разбив высотные армады бомбардировщиков Luftwaffe и отразив все атаки эскортировавших их истребителей.

Spitfire был творением тихого, спокойного, гениального Реджинальда Д. Митчелла, создавшего, начиная с 1925, серию скоростных гидросамолетов для участия в гонках на Кубок Шнейдера, завершившуюся превосходным S6B, который в 1931 навсегда завоевал кубок для Великобритании, развив скорость 548,3 км/ч (и который, две недели спустя, установил мировой рекорд скорости 655 км/ч). Hепосредственным предшественником Spitfire, постольку-поскольку это касается настоящей конструкции, был Supermarine Тип 224 (К2890), одноместный истребитель-моноплан.

Supermarine Тип 300, как называлась окончательная разработка, значительно превосходил F. 5/34, и в январе 1935 он был принят AM к строительству в качестве прототипа по спецификации F. 37/34, которая фактически была составлена для контрактных целей. Окончательное представление макета состоялось в Вулстоне 26. 3. 35, а менее чем через год (5. 3. 36) прототип Spitfire (К5054), снабженный 990-сильным Rolls-Royce Merlin C, сделал первый полет на аэродроме Истлей (Саутгэмптон) под управлением Дж. "Матта" Саммерса. Саммерс был главным летчиком-испытателем "Vickers (Aviation) Ltd. ", приобревшей в 1928 полный пакет акций "Supermarin Co."

Первоначальный срок контракта на серийное производство Spitfire истекал в марте 1939, однако из-за проблем, связанных с налаживанием производства, его продлили до августа. Между тем в 1937 первичный контракт был продолжен заказом на 200 последующих машин. В том же году, в возрасте 42 лет, будучи в течение многих месяцев серьезно больным, умер Реджинальд Митчелл.

Его преемником на посту главного конструктора "Supermarine" стал Джозеф Смит, внесший основную долю в дальнейшее развитие Spitfire, его различные модификации и варианты.

Когда в начале июля 1940 началась Битва за Британию, в боевом строю FC RAF (Fighter Command Royal Air Force) имелось 19 дивизионов Spitfire.

Статьи


©AirPages
2003-