HomeCustom SearchRussian
UK Fairey Battle Fulmar Firefly Swordfish Photos & Drawings


Charles Richard Fairey

Charles Richard Fairey

Founded in 1915 by Charles Richard Fairey (later Sir Richard Fairey) and Belgian engineer Ernest Oscar Tips on their departure from Short Brothers, the company first built under licence or as subcontractor aircraft designed by other manufacturers.

One notable Hayes-built aircraft type during the late 1930s and World War II was the Swordfish.

Receipt of large UK military contracts in the mid-1930 s necessitated acquisition of a large factory in Heaton Chapel Stockport in 1935 that had been used as the National Aircraft Factory No. 2 during World War I.

Flight test facilities were built at Manchester's Ringway Airport, the first phase opening in June 1937. A few Hendon monoplane bombers built at Stockport were flown from Manchester's Barton Aerodrome in 1936. Quantity production of Battle light bombers at Stockport/Ringway commenced in mid 1937.

Large numbers of Fulmar fighters and Barracuda dive-bombers followed during WWII. Fairey's also built 498 Bristol Beaufighter aircraft and over 660 Handley Page Halifax bombers in their northern facilities.

Postwar, Firefly and Gannet naval aircraft were supplemented by sub-contracts from de Havilland for Vampire and Venom jet fighters. Aircraft production and modification at Stockport and Ringway ceased in 1960.

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайтеEnglish
 
Самолёты Fairey Battle Fulmar Firefly Swordfish Фото и схемы Боевое применение Firefly

Fairey

Чарльз Ричард Фейри

Чарльз Ричард Фейри
Charles Richard Fairey
(1887-1956)

Fairey Aviation Company Limited, основанная в 1915 году Чарльзом Ричардом Фейри (Charles Richard Fairey) и бельгийским инженером Эрнестом Оскаром Типс (Ernest Oscar Tips) после их ухода из Short Brothers, построила свои первые самолеты, разработанные другими производителями, по лицензии, или как субподрядчик.

Одним из знаменитых самолетов Второй мировой войны, построенных компанией в конце 1930-х годов, был Swordfish.

Получение крупных военных контрактов Великобритании в середине 1930-х вызвало необходимость приобретения крупного завода в Heaton Chapel Stockport в 1935 году, который использовался в качестве Национального авиазавода № 2 во время Первой мировой войны.

Первая очередь объекта для испытательных полетов в Манчестерском аэропорту Ringway была сдана в июне 1937 г. Несколько бомбардировщиков-монопланов, построенных в Стокпорте, взлетели с Манчестерского аэродрома Barton в 1936 году. Серийное производство легких бомбардировщиков Battle в Stockport/Ringway началось в середине 1937 года.

Большое количество истребителей Fulmar и пикирующих бомбардировщиков Barracuda выпускались во время Второй мировой войны. На своих северных объектах компанией Фейри было также построено 498 самолетов Bristol Beaufighter и свыше 660 бомбардировщиков Handley Page Halifax.

Послевоенные Firefly и Gannet морской авиации были дополнены субподрядами от де Havilland для реактивных истребителей Vampire и Venom. Авиастроение и модификация самолетов в Stockport и Ringway было прекращено в 1960 г.


©AirPages
2003-