Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

Bristol

Bristol was founded on February 19, 1910 at the initiative of George White, one of the pioneers of British aviation, as British and Colonial Airplane Comp. In 1919, it was renamed Bristol Aircraft Ltd. Until 1946 alone, the company created about 170 different, mainly military types of aircraft. In the First World War, most of the aircraft were fighters, for example the F-28 - 4,500 copies. In the Second World War, bombers were also produced in large series.

The first real RAF night fighter was the twin-engine Bristol Beaufighter, which had a fairly high flight speed and powerful weapons for its time. From 1942, this vehicle was also used as a torpedo bomber, successfully striking enemy ships and submarines.

Having begun the rearmament of the Air Force, the British command in 1936 already had prototypes of the new Hurricane and Spitfire day fighters in stock, but there was no aircraft capable of effectively fighting enemy night bombers, and in England they remembered the night raids of German airships on London during the First World War. Therefore, at the beginning of the next year, there was a demand for the creation of a night fighter. In addition to the long flight duration for long patrols in the air, the vehicle was supposed to have four 20-mm cannons, guaranteeing the complete destruction of the enemy.

Three firms took part in the competition: Bristol, Hauker and Westland. In mid-1938, the aircraft projects were ready, but the “Munich crisis” that broke out in September did not leave time for their further revision. Under the new conditions, a night fighter was required immediately, and Bristol engineer Leslie Fries found a way out by proposing to re-equip for this purpose the twin-engine Bristol Beaufort bomber, a prototype of which was just preparing for testing.

Авиация Второй мировой На главнуюПоиск на сайтеEnglish
 
Самолёты Bristol Blenheim Mk.IF Blenheim Mk.IV Beaufighter Mk.IF Beaufighter Mk.X Brigand Mk.I Фото и схемы Боевое применение Blenheim Beaufighter

Bristol

Фирма Bristol была создана 19 февраля 1910 г. по инициативе Джорджа Уайта - одного из пионеров английской авиации, как British and Colonial Aeroplane Comp. В 1919 она была переименована в Bristol Aircraft Ltd. Только до 1946 фирмой было создано около 170 различных, преимущественно военных типов самолетов. В первую мировую войну большая часть самолетов - истребители, например F-28 - 4500 экземпляров. Во второй мировой войне большими сериями выпускались и бомбардировщики.

Первым настоящим ночным истребителем RAF стал двухмоторный самолет Бристоль «Бьюфайтер», обладавший для своего времени довольно высокой скоростью полета и мощным вооружением. С 1942 года эта машина также использовалась в качестве торпедоносца, с успехом нанося удары по кораблям и подводным лодкам противника.

Начав перевооружение ВВС, британское командование в 1936 году уже имело в наличии опытные образцы новых дневных истребителей «Харрикейн» и «Спитфайр», однако самолета, способного эффективно бороться с ночными вражескими бомбардировщиками, еще не было, а в Англии прекрасно помнили ночные налеты немецких дирижаблей на Лондон в период Первой мировой войны. Поэтому в начале следующего года появилось требование на создание ночного истребителя. Кроме большой продолжительности полета для длительного патрулирования в воздухе, машина должна была иметь четыре 20-мм пушки, гарантирующие полное уничтожение врага.

В конкурсе приняли участие три фирмы: «Бристоль», «Хаукер» и «Уэстланд». В середине 1938 года были готовы проекты самолетов, однако разразившийся в сентябре «мюнхенский кризис» не оставил времени на их дальнейшую доработку. В новых условиях ночной истребитель требовался немедленно, и инженер фирмы «Бристоль» Лесли Фрайз нашел выход из положения, предложив переоборудовать для этой цели двухмоторный бомбардировщик Бристоль «Бофорт», опытный экземпляр которого как раз готовился к испытаниям.


©AirPages
2003-