Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

AVRo

Read more

The Lancaster bomber evokes a sense of affection mingled with pride in the British and the British Commonwealth, much like the B-17 Flying Fortress in the Americans. If the Spitfire personified the fighting spirit of the Commonwealth in the face of a seemingly inevitable defeat, then the sight and sound of the engines of the Lancastrian armadas embarking on a night raid into the center of Nazi Germany embodied the desire of war-weary people to see the German war machine destroyed.

Like all successful aircraft, "Lancaster" had not only good flight characteristics, but also a beautiful appearance. Ironically, the mighty Avro bomber owes its birth to a failure that befell its immediate predecessor, Manchester.

From the very beginning of the tests of the Manchester prototype, when it became clear that the 24-cylinder Walchers did not develop their design capacity, the Avro designers began to develop alternative projects. Under the designation "Manchester" Mk II, a twin-engine version of the aircraft was considered, on which the "Walchers" were supposed to be replaced by engines Nepir "Saber" or Bristol "Centaurus". The four-engine version was designated Manchester Mk III. Work on it went ahead of schedule and, after their success became obvious, the development of a two-engine version was abandoned.

The glider of the production Manchester, the VT308, was fitted with a new center wing section, which housed four reliable Rolls-Royce Merlin X engines. The first flight of the prototype, on January 9, 1941, convinced Roy Dobson and his designers that they chose the right path.

Doubling the number of engines made it possible to increase the maximum bomb load of the Manchester from 4694 kg to 5443/6350 kg, the fuel reserve increased from 6435 to 8153 liters, and the flight range increased from 1930 to 3780 km. The bomber command now had a bomber capable of striking targets deep in Nazi-occupied Europe, had a heavy bomb load and could withstand enemy air defenses. The ceiling of the new car was more than double the Manchester's measly 3,048 meters. Even more important for the crews making deep raids behind enemy lines was the high reliability of the Merlin engines, which provided them with additional safety.

Official tests at Boscombe Down, held in March 1941, showed that in the range of indicated speeds of 160 - 466 km / h the elevators and ailerons worked well, but the load on the steering wheel increased with increasing speed. During takeoff, the aircraft had a strong tendency to turn to the left, but this problem was solved by throttling the left external engine and quickly raising the tail of the car, which allowed the pilot to use the vertical tail to parry.

Авиация Второй мировой На главнуюПоиск на сайтеEnglish
 
Самолёты AVRo Manchester Lancaster Фото и схемы Боевое применение Lancaster Lancaster в СССР Pilot`s Notes Lancaster I, III Техническое описание Lancaster I PA474

AVRo

Бомбардировщик «Ланкастер» вызывает у англичан и жителей Британского Содружества чувство привязанности, смешанное с гордостью - примерно так же, как В-17 «Летающая Крепость» у американцев. Если «Спитфайр» олицетворял боевой дух Содружества перед лицом казавшегося неизбежным поражения, то вид и звук моторов армад «Ланкастеров», отправлявшихся в ночной рейд в центр нацистской Германии, воплощали желание измученных войной людей увидеть немецкую военную машину уничтоженной.

Как и все удачные самолеты, «Ланкастер» имел не только хорошие летные характеристики, но и красивый внешний вид. По иронии судьбы, своим появлением на свет могучий бомбардировщик фирмы Авро обязан неудаче, которая постигла его непосредственного предшественника - «Манчестер».

С самого начала испытаний прототипа «Манчестера», когда стало ясно, что 24-х цилиндровые «Валчеры» не развивают проектной мощности, конструкторы Авро приступили к разработке альтернативных проектов. Под обозначением «Манчестер» Mk II рассматривался двухдвигательный вариант самолета, на котором «Валчеры» предполагалось заменить моторами Непир «Сейбр» или Бристоль «Центавр». Четырехмоторный вариант получил обозначение «Манчестер» Mk III. Работы по нему шли опережающими темпами и, после того, как стал очевиден их успех, от разработки двухдвигательного варианта отказались.

Планер серийного «Манчестера», ВТ308, был оснащен новой центральной секцией крыла, в которой разместили четыре надежных мотора Роллс-Ройс «Мерлин» X. Первый полет прототипа, состоявшийся 9 января 1941 года, убедил Роя Добсона и его конструкторов, что они выбрали правильный путь.

Удвоение числа моторов позволило увеличить максимальную бомбовую нагрузку «Манчестера» с 4694 кг до 5443/6350 кг, запас топлива увеличился с 6435 до 8153 литров, а дальность полета возросла с 1930 до 3780 км. Бомбардировочное командование теперь имело бомбардировщик способный наносить удары по целям в глубине занятой нацистами Европы, имел большую бомбовую нагрузку и мог противостоять ПВО противника. Потолок новой машины более чем вдвое превосходил жалкие 3048 метров «Манчестера». Еще более важной для экипажей, совершавших глубокие рейды в тыл врага, была высокая надежность моторов «Мерлин», что обеспечивало им дополнительную безопасность.

Официальные испытания в Боскомб Даун, проходившие в марте 1941 года, показали, что в диапазоне приборных скоростей 160 - 466 км/ч рули высоты и элероны действовали хорошо, а вот нагрузка на руль управления увеличивалась с ростом скорости. При разбеге самолет имел сильную тенденцию к развороту влево, но эту проблему удалось решить дросселируя левый внешний двигатель и быстро поднимая хвост машины, что позволяло пилоту использовать для парирования вертикальное оперение.

Статьи


©AirPages
2003-