Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

Buckingham

Tactical Bomber

Bristol

Buckingham

Bristol Type 163 Buckingham - British medium bomber during WWII, RAF. Buckingham was seen as one of the highest priority projects for the Bomber Command, capable of replacing Blenheim, Boston and Mitchell bombers. It was already planned to release 400 vehicles with a delivery rate of up to 60 bombers per month by 1944, but the actual plans for the use of Buckingham were quickly reduced, as the planned roles of a day high-speed bomber, torpedo bomber and dive bomber went to the Mosquito. By the end of 1941, production was limited to 400 aircraft. At the same time, it was required to further increase the flight range, which is why the take-off weight increased to 15436 kg, and then also to 16344 kg. The crew was already supposed to consist of four people.

On March 16, 1942, the task was revised again: the new Buckingham I / P1 was supposed to reach a speed of 571 km / h at an altitude of 6100 m, have a flight range of 2574 km with a bomb load of 900 kg. The armament in the bow was reinforced to four 7.7-mm machine guns in the Bristol B.14 mount, controlled by the bombardier from the ventral gondola, which also had two machine guns in the rear. The bow installation had angles of deflection of 25 ° to the sides and 60 ° downward. But the installation of B.14 could not be completed and the offensive armament had to be replaced with four stationary machine guns, aimed by the pilot. At the same time, four more machine guns were placed in the upper tower and two in the gondola under the fuselage.

The first flight of an experimental, still unarmed vehicle took place on February 4, 1943 in Filton (eng. Filton). The first prototype, like the third and fourth, was equipped with Bristol Centaurus IV engines with a capacity of 2400 hp. s, but the first serial Buckingham, which took to the skies on February 12, 1944, received Centaurus VII and XI engines of the same power, but with a significantly reduced altitude. The assembly of serial aircraft was established in Filton using components and assemblies supplied by subcontractors. This was supposed to speed up the development of production, but almost immediately it was stopped - the Bomber Command no longer saw a special need for bombers for use in Europe, although plans for its use in the Far East were still preserved.



Buckingham B Mk I
Crew 4
Dimensions
Length, m 14.27
Height, m 5.33
Wing span, m 21.89
Wing area, m² 65.77
Weight, kg:
Empty 10905
Loaded weight 16,799
Gross weight 17,259
Powerplant
2 × PE Bristol Centaurus VII (XI) radial, h.p. 2 × 2520 (2555)
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 531
Cruising speed, km/h 459
Service ceiling, m 7,625
Ferry range, km 5,118
Service range, km 3,585
Armament
10 × 7.7 mm Browning machine guns, bombs, kg 1814

Buckingham B Mk.I did not show any advantages over the already in service Mosquito. True, the first had defensive armament, but it was weaker than that of the Mitchell III, which was already used as a day bomber. Accordingly, the order for Buckingham was reduced to 300 aircraft, but only 119 aircraft were actually built, of which less than half were delivered in the bomber version, and the rest as a transport aircraft. Several bombers were later also converted into transport aircraft, but even in this role they were not used much - most of the aircraft were scrapped after several hours of flying or short storage.

Photo Description
Drawing Buckingham Mk I

Drawing Buckingham Mk I

Buckingham Mk I DX255

Buckingham Mk I DX255

Bibliography

  • Encyclopedia of Military Equipment / Aerospace Publising /
  • British military aircraft of the Second World War / ed. Daniel March /

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте
Самолёты Bristol Blenheim Mk.IF Blenheim Mk.IV Bisley Mk.I Beaufighter Mk.IF Beaufighter Mk.X Buckingham Mk.I Brigand Mk.I Фото и схемы Боевое применение Blenheim Beaufighter

Buckingham

Тактический бомбардировщик

Bristol

Buckingham

Bristol Type 163 Buckingham - британский средний бомбардировщик времен Второй мировой Королевских ВВС. Buckingham рассматривался как один из наиболее приоритетных проектов для Бомбардировочного командования, способный заменить в его составе бомбардировщики Blenheim, Boston и Mitchell. Уже планировался выпуск 400 машин с достижением темпа поставок к 1944 году до 60 бомбардировщиков в месяц, но реальные планы применения Buckingham быстро сокращались, так как планировавшиеся для него роли дневного скоростного бомбардировщика, торпедоносца и пикировщика отходили к Mosquito. К концу 1941 г объем производства был ограничен 400 самолетами. При этом требовалось еще больше увеличить дальность полета, из-за чего взлетный вес возрос до 15436 кг, а потом еще и до 16344 кг. Экипаж уже должен был состоять из четырех человек.

16 марта 1942 г. задание еще раз пересмотрели: новый Buckingham I/P1 должен был развивать скорость 571 км/ ч на высоте 6100 м, иметь дальность полета 2574 км с бомбовой нагрузкой 900 кг. Вооружение в носовой части усиливалось до четырех 7,7-мм пулеметов в установке Bristol В.14, управляемой бомбардиром из подфюзеляжной гондолы, имевшей также два пулемета в задней части. Носовая установка имела углы отклонения 25° в стороны и 60° вниз. Но установку В.14 довести не удалось и наступательное вооружение пришлось заменить на четыре неподвижных пулемета, нацеливаемых пилотом. Еще четыре пулемета при этом ставились в верхнюю башню и два - в гондолу под фюзеляж.

Первый полет опытной, еще невооруженной машины состоялся 4 февраля 1943 г. в Филтоне (eng. Filton). Первый опытный самолет, как и третий и четвертый, был оснащен двигателями Bristol Centaurus IV мощностью 2400 л. с, но первый серийный Buckingham, поднявшийся в небо 12 февраля 1944 г. получил двигатели Centaurus VII и XI той же мощности, но со значительно сниженной высотностью. Сборка серийных самолетов была налажена в Филтоне с использованием узлов и агрегатов, поставляемых смежниками. Это должно было ускорить освоение производства, однако почти сразу его прекратили - Бомбардировочное командование уже не видело особой надобности в бомбардировщиках для использования в Европе, хотя еще сохранялись планы его использования на Дальнем Востоке.

Buckingham B Mk I
Экипаж 4
Геометрия
Длина самолета, м 14,27
Высота самолета, м 5,33
Размах крыла, м 21,89
Площадь крыла, м² 65,77
Массы, кг
пустого 10905
нормальная взлетная, кг 16799
максимальная взлетная, кг 17259
Силовая установка
2 × ПД Bristol Centaurus VII (XI) радиальный, л.с. 2 × 2520 (2555)
Лётные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 531
Крейсерская скорость, км/ч 459
Практический потолок, м 7625
Перегоночная дальность, км 5118
Практическая дальность, км 3585
Вооружение
10×7,7-мм пулеметов Browning, бомб, кг 1814

Buckingham B Mk.I не показал каких-либо преимуществ перед уже состоявшим на вооружении Mosquito. Правда, первый имел оборонительное вооружение, но оно было слабее, чем у уже применявшегося в роли дневного бомбардировщика Mitchell III. Соответственно заказ на Buckingham был сокращен до 300 машин, однако реально построили только 119 самолетов, из которых менее половины поставили в варианте бомбардировщика, а остальные в качестве - транспортного самолета. Несколько бомбардировщиков позже также переделали в транспортники, но даже в этой роли их использовали мало - большинство самолетов пошло на слом после нескольких часов налета или недолгого хранения.

Фото Описание

Схема Buckingham Mk I

Buckingham Mk I DX255

Источники

  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "Английские военные самолеты Второй мировой войны" /под ред. Даниэля Марча/
Armstrong Whitworth A V Ro Blackburn Boulton Paul Bristol Fairey Gloster De Havilland Handley Page Hawker Saunders-Roe Short Supermarine Taylorcraft Vickers Westland Бои Люди Фото

©AirPages
2003-