Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

B-25 Roc

Shipborn Fighter

Blackburn

B-25 Roc

A heavy carrier-based two-seat fighter armed with a turret-mounted B-25 Roc was developed in accordance with the O.30 / 35 specification. The new aircraft was developed on the basis of the "B-24 Skua" by installing a standard four-gun turret "Boulton Paul" on it.

The prototype, also known as the first production aircraft (L3057), took to the air for the first time on December 23, 1938. The second and third examples (L3058 and L3059) were prototypes of a hydro-fighter (specification 20/37) with floats. However, the test program showed the futility of further work on this option, and all the vehicles were again equipped with a wheeled chassis.

A total of 136 aircraft were produced.



B-25 Roc Mk. I
Crew 2
Dimensions
Length, m 10.85
Height, m 3.68
Wing span, m 14.02
Wing area, m² 28.80
Weight, kg
Empty 2,778
Loaded weight, kg 3,606
Powerplant
1×PE Bristol Perseus ХII, h.p. 1×890
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 359
Cruising speed, km/h 217
Rate o climb, m/s 7.6
Service ceiling, m 5485
Service range, km 1,304
Armament
4 × 7.7 mm Browning machine gun in electric turret

Combat use. The 803rd Squadron became the first combat unit to receive the Rock in April 1939. A month later, the 800th began to receive planes. The standard number of squadrons for the summer of 1939 was determined at 6 Skua and 3 Roca. However, despite the fact that the factories regularly produced serial vehicles, by the beginning of autumn, only two combat squadrons were armed with new vehicles.

One of the Rock seaplanes was tested as a target towing machine with a winch installed in place of the turret, and was able to lift a target on a cable 1830 m long to an altitude of 3050 m, after which several land aircraft were used as target towing vehicles. By mid-1943, all aircraft were decommissioned, the last two were decommissioned in August 1943.

Photo Description
Drawing B-25 Roc

Drawing B-25 Roc

Pair of B-25 Roc in flight

Pair of B-25 Roc in flight

Bibliography

  • "Encyclopedia of military engineering" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "British warplanes of World War II" /under cor. Daniel March/

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте
Самолёты Blackburn B-24 Skua B-25 Roc B-26 Botha Firebrand Фото и схемы

B-25 Roc

Палубный истребитель

Blackburn

B-25 Roc

Тяжелый палубный двухместный истребитель с вооружением на поворотной турели B-25 Roc был разработан в соответствии со спецификацией O.30/35. Новый самолет разрабатывался на основе "B-24 Skua" путем установки на него стандартной четырехпулеметной турели "Boulton Paul".

Прототип, он же первый серийный самолет (L3057) впервые поднялся в воздух 23 декабря 1938 г. Второй и третий экземпляры (L3058 и L3059) были прототипами гидроистребителя (спецификация 20/37) с поплавками. Однако программа испытаний показала бесперспективность дальнейших работ над этим вариантом, и все аппараты снова снабдили колесным шасси.

Всего было произведено 136 самолетов.

B-25 Roc Mk. I
Экипаж 2
Геометрия
Длина самолета, м 10,85
Высота самолета, м 3,68
Размах крыла, м 14,02
Площадь крыла, м² 28,80
Массы, кг
пустого 2778
нормальная взлетная, кг 3606
Силовая установка
1×ПД Bristol Perseus ХII, л.с. 1×890
Лётные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 359
Крейсерская скорость, км/ч 217
Скороподъемность, м/сек 7,6
Практический потолок, м 5485
Практическая дальность, км 1304
Вооружение
4×7,7 мм пулемета Browning в турели с электроприводом

Боевое применение. Первой строевой частью, получившей на вооружение "Рок" в апреле 1939 г., стала 803-я эскадрилья. Месяц спустя самолеты начала получать и 800-я. Стандартную численность эскадрилий на лето 1939 г. определили в 6 "Скуа" и 3 "Рока". Однако, несмотря на то, что заводы исправно выпускали серийные машины, к началу осени только две боевые эскадрильи имели на вооружении новые аппараты.

Один из гидросамолетов "Рок" был опробован как буксировщик мишеней с лебедкой, установленной на месте турели, и оказался способен поднимать мишень на кабеле длиной 1830 м на высоту 3050 м, после чего несколько сухопутных самолетов были использованы как буксировщики мишеней. К середине 1943 г. все самолеты были выведены из эксплуатации, последние два были списаны в августе 1943 г.

Фото Описание

Схема B-25 Roc

Пара B-25 Roc в полете

Источники

  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "Английские военные самолеты Второй мировой войны" /под ред. Даниэля Марча/
Armstrong Whitworth A V Ro Blackburn Boulton Paul Bristol Fairey Gloster De Havilland Handley Page Hawker Short Supermarine Taylorcraft Vickers Westland Бои Люди Фото

©AirPages
2003-