Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

B-24 Skua

Shipborn Fighter-Bomber

Blackburn

B-24 Skua II L2874, L2889 из 803 Sqn

The B-24 Skua heavy carrier-based two-seater fighter-bomber was developed to specification 0.27 / 34 for the needs of the RAF Fleet Air Arm (FAA). The aircraft, a two-seater all-metal monoplane with retractable landing gear and a fully enclosed cockpit, was well armed and had to effectively perform the functions of a dive bomber and an escort fighter.

The first copy of the new car, serial number K5178, with a Bristol Mercury IX air-cooled radial engine with 840 hp. first took off on February 9, 1937

A series of 190 aircraft of the future Skua was ordered by the Ministry of Aviation back in July 1936. Contract No. 534298/36 these aircraft were assigned serial numbers L2867 through L3056. The main change compared to prototypes was the installation of a new Bristol Perseus XII engine. This engine, despite its higher rated power than the Mercury, was inferior to the latter in almost all other indicators, but the replacement was forced: all Mercury went to Bristol Blenheim bombers and Gloster Gladiator fighters. With the new power plant, the aircraft became known as the Blackburn D.B.1A Skua II.



B-24 Skua Mk.II
Crew 2
Dimensions
Length, m 10.85
Height, m 3.81
Wing span, m 14.07
Wing area, m² 29.64
Weight, kg
Empty 2,493
Loaded weight, kg 3,732
Powerplant
1×PE Bristol Perseus ХII, h.p. 1×905
Performance
Maximum speed a altitude, km/h 362
Maximum speed over ground, km/h 328
Cruising speed, km/h 183
Rate o climb, m/s 7.6
Service ceiling, m 6,157
Service range, km 700
Armament
4 × 7.7 mm Browning machine gun in the wing,
1 × 7.7 mm Lewis machine gun in the rear cockpit
Photo Description
Drawing B-24 Skua II

Drawing B-24 Skua II

B-24 Skua I, second prototype K5179

B-24 Skua I, second prototype K5179

B-25 Roc

The Blackburn proposal was accepted to make a new aircraft based on the Skua by installing the standard four-gun Bolton Paul turret on the latter.

The plane was named "Roc" - a giant mythological bird described in the Arabian tales "A Thousand and One Nights".

In theory, the project looked perfect: minimal alterations, and the desired fighter is obtained, but in practice everything turned out to be not so smooth. Although the Skua glider was significantly lightened by removing the standard small arms and part of the bomber equipment, this savings was more than covered by the weight of the machine-gun "tower", so that in the end the aircraft was heavier by two centners. By keeping the same engine, this automatically meant that, according to flight data, the new aircraft would be inferior to the original model.

Photo Description
B-24 Roc Mk.I

Drawing B-25 Roc Mk.I

Combat use. September 25, 1939 during the air escort of the battleships "Nelson" and "Rodney" Lieutenant BS McEwen and petty officer B. M. Seymour (eng. BM Seymour) shot down the German flying boat Dornier Do-18 on the Skue plane belonging to the 803 squadron of the Ark Royal aircraft carrier. Thus, "Skue" became the first British aircraft to shoot down an enemy aircraft in World War II.

On April 10, 1940, 15 Skue bombers from the 800th and 803rd bomber squadrons attacked the German light cruiser Konigsberg, damaged by Norwegian coastal batteries. As a result of the attack, "Konigsberg" received 3 direct hits from aerial bombs and sank. This was the first case in history of the sinking of a large warship by aircraft.

In 1941, all "Skue" and "Roc" were removed from the units of the first line, decommissioned in 1945.

Bibliography

  • "Encyclopedia of military engineering" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "British warplanes of World War II" /under cor. Daniel March/

Your Name (Nick):
Your e-mail:
Input # 7284356:
Your Information:

May 25, 2021.
Roc - a gigantic mythological bird described in the Arabian Nights. By the way, everyone is hearing another abbreviation, like the Russian Olympic Committee - ROC, under which our "Red Machine" performs at the World Championship.

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте
Самолёты Blackburn B-24 Skua B-25 Roc B-26 Botha Firebrand Фото и схемы

B-24 Skua

Палубный истребитель

Blackburn

B-24 Skua II L2874, L2889 из 803 Sqn

Тяжелый палубный двухместный истребитель - бомбардировщик B-24 Skua был разработан в соответствии со спецификацией 0.27/34 для нужд Военно воздушных сил Королевского флота (Fleet Air Arm/FAA), входивших в состав RAF. Самолет, представлял собой двухместный цельнометаллический моноплан с убирающимся шасси и полностью закрытой кабиной, был хорошо вооружен и должен был эффективно выполнять функции пикирующего бомбардировщика и истребителя сопровождения.

Первый экземпляр новой машины, серийный номер К5178, со звездообразным двигателем воздушного охлаждения Bristol Mercury IX мощностью 840 л.с. впервые взлетел 9 февраля 1937 г.

Серия в 190 самолетов будущего Skua была заказана Министерством авиации еще в июле 1936 г. В контракте No. 534298/36 этим самолетам присваивались серийные номера с L2867 по L3056. Главным изменением по сравнению с прототипами стала установка нового двигателя Bristol Perseus XII. Этот мотор, несмотря на большую, чем у Mercury, номинальную мощность, уступал последнему практически по всем остальным показателям, но замена была вынужденной: все Mercury уходили на бомбардировщики Bristol Blenheim и истребители Gloster Gladiator. С новой силовой установкой самолет стал именоваться Blackburn D.B.1A Skua II.

B-24 Skua Mk.II
Экипаж 2
Геометрия
Длина самолета, м 10,85
Высота самолета, м 3,81
Размах крыла, м 14,07
Площадь крыла, м² 29,64
Массы, кг
пустого 2493
нормальная взлетная, кг 3732
Силовая установка
1×ПД Bristol Perseus ХII, л.с. 1×905
Лётные данные
Максимальная скорость на высоте, км/ч 362
Максимальная скорость у земли, км/ч 328
Крейсерская скорость, км/ч 183
Скороподъемность, м/сек 7,6
Практический потолок, м 6157
Практическая дальность, км 700
Вооружение
4×7,7 мм пулемета Browning в крыле,
1×7,7 мм пулемет Lewis в задней кабине

Боевое применение. 25 сентября 1939 во время воздушного эскортирования линкоров «Нельсон» и «Родней» лейтенант Б. С. МакЭвен (B. S. McEwen) и петти-офицер Б. М. Сеймур (англ. B. M. Seymour) на самолёте «Скьюе», принадлежащим 803 эскадрилье авианосца «Арк Роял», сбили немецкую летающую лодку Дорнье Do-18. Тем самым «Скьюе» стала первым британским самолётом, сбившим вражеский самолёт во Второй мировой войне.

10 апреля 1940 года 15 бомбардировщиков «Скьюе» из 800 и 803-й бомбардировочных эскадрилий, атаковали повреждённый норвежскими береговыми батареями немецкий лёгкий крейсер «Кенигсберг». В результате атаки «Кенигсберг» получил 3 прямых попадания авиабомб и затонул. Это был первый в истории случай потопления крупного боевого корабля авиацией.

В 1941 г. все «Скьюе» и «Роки» были выведены из состава частей первой линии, списаны в 1945 году.

Фото Описание

Схема B-24 Skua II

B-24 Skua I, второй прототип K5179

Источники

  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "Английские военные самолеты Второй мировой войны" /под ред. Даниэля Марча/
Armstrong Whitworth A V Ro Blackburn Boulton Paul Bristol Fairey Gloster De Havilland Handley Page Hawker Short Supermarine Taylorcraft Vickers Westland Бои Люди Фото

©AirPages
2003-