Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

SM.81 Pipistrello
Medium bomber and transport
Savoia-Marchetti

SM 81

The Savoia-Marchetti SM.81 Pipistrello (Bat) is an Italian mixed medium bomber and transport aircraft. Developed by the designers of the Savoia-Marchetti company under the leadership of Alessandro Marchetti.

The aircraft had a mixed design. The cantilever wing of a wooden structure had three spars with a double T-shaped section and consisted of three sections. In the event of an emergency landing on water, 36 watertight compartments were built into the kit. Ailerons made of steel pipes, covered with linen sheathing and impregnated with dope, the flaps (with a maximum deflection angle of 38 degrees) had a modern design and ensured low speed flight. The fuselage had a set of welded chrome-molybdenum steel pipes wrapped in canvas. Structurally, it was made of two compartments - the main (from the root of the wing to the tail) and the second, which included the cockpit and engine mount of the central engine. The crew consisted of two pilots sitting side by side, a bombardier, a flight engineer and a radio operator. Directly behind the central engine under the fuselage was a glazed bombardier's gondola.

Armament. Two semi-retractable, hydraulically driven turrets above and below the fuselage, each having a pair of 7.7 mm Breda-SAFAT machine guns. One manually operated machine gun could fire from one of the two side hatches. Normal bomb load was 1200 kg (maximum 2000) kg of bombs installed vertically along the sides of the fuselage.

By the beginning of World War II, there were still 397 SM.81s in service, but by the time Italy entered the war, July 1940, only 304 combat-ready aircraft of this type remained in Regia Aeronautica. Of these, 147 were in service with units in Italy, the Aegean Islands and North Africa, 59 in parts of East Africa (42 combat-ready), and the rest served in transport units. The first of the SM.81s to go into action were those based in East Africa, taking part in the bombing of Aden (4th group from Scenele and 29th group from Asseab). They also disrupted enemy sea traffic and took part in land operations such as the conquest of Somalia. In September 1940, the Pipistrelli were quite active, attacking convoys and bombing British bases in Khartoum and Port Sudan. During the execution of these assignments, losses were heavy and since no reinforcements were received, the effectiveness of the squadrons became very low. By January 10, 1941, only 26 SM.81s out of the total in East Africa remained operational, and by February 1, only 6 aircraft remained operational. In Western Sahara, there were the 14th storm in El Adem (south of Tobruk) with 21 SM.81s and the 15th storm with the same SM.81, engaged exclusively in transport tasks. At the end of the war, the few remaining SM.81s in Italy were in the communications squadrons.

Serial production of the aircraft lasted from 1934 to March 1938. A total of 534 aircraft were produced.


                                                                                                                                                                                                              
SM 79 SM 81
Crew 4-5 6
Dimensions
Length, m 15.60 18.36
Height, m 4.10 4.37
Wing span, m 21.18 24.00
Wing area, m² 61.00 93.60
Weight, kg
Empty 6,800 6,800
Loaded weight 10,500 10,504
Powerplant
Engine 3 PE Alfa Romeo 126 RC.34
Takeoff power, h.p. 3 х 750
Performance
Maximum speed at 5000 m, km/h 430 336
Cruising speed, km/h 360 287
Service range, km 2,000 2,000
Service ceiling, m 7,000 7,000
Photo Description
Drawing Savoia-Marchetti SM.81

Drawing Savoia-Marchetti SM.81

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81, turrets in retracted position.

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81, aircraft layout.

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81, powerplant.

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81, bombardier gondola.

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81, main landing gear.

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81, flaps.

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81, placement of a wind turbine generator and a Venuri tube on the fuselage.

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81, camera.

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81, radio operator's workplace.

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81, top turret extended.

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81, top turret removed.

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81, bottom turret extended.

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81, bottom turret removed.

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81, cockpit.

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81, commander's workplace.

Bibliography

  • Encyclopedia of Military Equipment / Aerospace Publising /
  • Aeroplano "SAVOIA-MARCHETTI" Tipo SM. 81 /Ministero dell' Aeronautica, Roma/

Авиация Второй мировой

Авиация Второй мировой

На главную Поиск на сайте

SM.81 Pipistrello
Средний бомбардировщик и транспортник
Savoia-Marchetti

SM 81

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81 Pipistrello (Летучая мышь) — итальянский средний бомбардировщик и транспортный самолёт смешанной конструкции. Разработан конструкторами фирмы Savoia-Marchetti под руководством Алессандро Маркетти.

Самолет имел смешанную конструкцию. Свободнонесущее крыло деревянной конструкции имело три лонжерона со сдвоенным Т-образным сечением и состояло из трех секций. Hа случай аварийной посадки на воду в набор были вмонтированы 36 водонепроницаемых отсеков. Элероны из стальных труб, обтянутых полотняной обшивкой и пропитанной аэролаком, закрылки (с максимальным углом отклонения 38 градусов) имели современную конструкцию и обеспечивали полет на малой скорости. Фюзеляж имел набор из сварных хромо-молибденовых стальных труб, обтянутых полотном. Конструктивно он был выполнен из двух отсеков - основного (от корня крыла до хвоста) и второго, включавшего кабину и мотораму центрального двигателя. Экипаж состоял из двух сидящих рядом пилотов, бомбаpдира, бортинженера и радиста. Hепосредственно за центральной моторамой под фюзеляжем располагалась остекленная гондола бомбардира.

Вооружение. Две полуубирающиеся, с гидроприводом, турели сверху и снизу фюзеляжа, имевших по паре 7,7-мм пулеметов Breda-SAFAT. Один управляемый вручную, пулемет мог стрелять с одного из двух бортовых люков. Нормальная бомбовая нагрузка составляла 1200 кг (максимально 2000) кг бомб, установленных вертикально по бортам фюзеляжа.

К началу Второй мировой войны на службе еще оставалось 397 SM.81, но ко времени вступления Италии в войну, июль 1940, в Regia Aeronautica осталось только 304 боеспособных самолета этого типа. Из них 147 были на вооружении частей в Италии, на Эгейских островах и в Северной Африке, 59 в частях Восточной Африки (42 боеспособных), а остальные служили в транспортных частях. Первыми из SM.81 побывали в бою те, что базировались в Восточной Африке, приняв участие в бомбаpдиpовке Адена (4-я гpуппо из Сценеле и 29-я гpуппо из Ассеаба). Они также нарушали вражеские морские перевозки и принимали участие в таких сухопутных операциях, как завоевание Сомали. В сентябре 1940 года Pipistrelli были весьма активны, атакуя конвои и бомбя британские базы Хартум и Порт Судан. В ходе выполнения этих заданий потери были тяжелыми и поскольку пополнения не поступали, эффективность эскадpилий стало очень низкой. К 10.1.41 из общего числа в Восточной Африке остались боеготовыми только 26 SM.81, а к 1-му февраля боеспособными из них остались только 6 самолетов. В Западной Сахаре находились 14-й штоpмо в Эль Адеме (южнее Тобрука) с 21 SM.81 и 15-й штоpмо со столькими же SM.81, занятых исключительно транспортными задачами. В конце войны немногие оставшиеся в Италии SM.81 находились в эскадpильях связи.

Серийное производство самолёта продолжалось с 1934 до марта 1938 года. Всего выпущено 534 самолёта.


SM 79 SM 81
Экипаж 4-5 6
Геометрия
Длина самолета, м 15,60 18,36
Высота самолета, м 4,10 4,37
Размах крыла, м 21,18 24,00
Площадь крыла, м2 61,00 93,60
Массы, кг
Пустого 6800 6800
Нормальная взлетная 10500 10504
Силовая установка
Мотор 3 ПД Alfa Romeo 126 RC.34
Мощность взлетная, л.с. 3 х 750
Лётные данные
Максимальная скорость на 5000м, км/ч 430 336
Крейсерская скорость, км/ч 360 287
Практическая дальность, км 2000 2000
Практический потолок, м 7000 7000

Фото Описание

Схема Savoia-Marchetti SM.81

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81, турели в убранном положении.

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81, компоновка самолета.

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81, силовая установка.

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81, гондола бомбардира.

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81, основная опора шасси.

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81, закрылки.

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81, размещение на фюзеляже ветряка-генератора и трубки Венури.

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81, фотоаппарат.

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81, рабочее место радиста.

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81, верхняя турель выдвинута.

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81, верхняя турель убрана.

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81, нижняя турель выдвинута.

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81, нижняя турель убрана.

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81, кабина экипажа.

Savoia-Marchetti SM.81, рабочее место командира.

Источники

  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/
  • Aeroplano "SAVOIA-MARCHETTI" Tipo SM. 81 /Ministero dell' Aeronautica, Roma/