Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

Re.2001 Falco II
Fighter
Reggiane

Re. 2001 Falco II 1942

Re. 2001 "Falco II" 1942

In the summer of 1939, after the first flights of the Re.2000 Falco I fighter, the Italian Ministry of Aviation approached Reggiane with a proposal to improve the characteristics of the Re.2000 by modifying the airframe for a more powerful in-line RA engine. 1000RC-41 / I, which was a licensed A-shaped 12-cylinder Daimler-Benz DB.601A-1 water-cooled engine produced in Italy with an output of 875 kW (1175 hp).

The chief designer of the Reggiane firm, engineer Longhi, made modifications to the airframe in order to reduce weight and redesigned the fuselage. The first prototype Re.2001 with serial number MM409 left the shop on June 9, 1940 and was soon flown successfully.

His further fate was quite ordinary: after the fly-over, the prototype was handed over to the Air Force, which intensively tested it at the Guidonia airbase. Of the flight characteristics, I was pleased, first of all, by the maximum speed of 563 km / h at an altitude of 5500 meters and excellent maneuverability.

At the request of the Ministry of Aviation, the design bureau also worked on the second prototype, which differed from the first with a new three-spar wing and protected fuel tanks. Later, the company modified the first prototype MM409 to meet this standard. Also, the original glazing of the cockpit outside of the cockpit (known from Series I Re.2000) was replaced with new ones, such as on Series III aircraft. The second prototype looked the same; his originally retractable tailwheel was replaced by a non-retractable one.

On October 31, 1940, Reggiane received an order for the supply of two hundred Re.2001s, orders were also issued for licensed production of two hundred aircraft to Breda, one hundred machines to Caproni in Toledo and the same number of aircraft to the Caproni plant in Predappio. In February 1941, the construction of ten pre-production vehicles began (numbers MM8071 - MM8080). Successful tests were interrupted by the disaster of the second prototype on March 14, 1941, which claimed the life of pilot Pietro Scapinelli.

Regardless of the production of pre-production vehicles, the Re.2001 bis prototype was assembled, equipped with a completely new wing without a protruding block of radiators, now completely inscribed in the wing contour. Air was supplied to them through the air intakes in the leading edge of the wing. This prototype had the serial number MM538. In its manufacture, the fuselage and empennage of the first prototype MM409 were used. Tests of the Re.2001bis took place from the summer of 1941 to the summer of 1942 with the participation of German specialists. A maximum speed of 600 km / h was reached at an altitude of 6000 m. However, the decision to introduce it into production was not made, and the original wing was installed on the aircraft. The experience of installing radiators in the wing was later used in the design of the Re.2006 fighter.

In May 1941, the first pre-production aircraft was ready. The first production vehicle left the assembly line in September of the same year. In July 1941, the option of ordering one hundred Re.2001 fuselages for Sweden was being worked out. The DB-601 engines in this case were supposed to be supplied directly from Germany, but the project did not come to fruition. A long delay in the delivery of DB-601 engines or licensed RA-1000RC-41 / I led to the elimination of orders from the Breda and Caproni-Toledo firms, a decrease in orders from the Reggiane firm to one hundred and from the Caproni-Predappio firm to ten aircraft.

Constant delays in the delivery of DB-601/RA-1000 engines led to the fact that in January 1942 only 43 serial and 10 pre-production machines were ready. This depressing situation led the Ministry of Aviation to the idea of ​​installing an Italian invert 12-cylinder air-cooled Isotta-Fraschini Delta RC.16 / 48 engine with an output of 618kW (840 hp) on the Re.2001 airframe. The production of a prototype and a series of one hundred cars were ordered from Caproni-Toledo instead of the previously ordered Re.2001.

The first flight of the prototype Re.2001 Delta flew on September 12, 1942. During the tests (which took place at the Guidonia airbase since November 2), the prototype reached a speed of 523 km / h at an altitude of 5600 m and climbed 3000 meters in 4 minutes 11 seconds, and 6000 m in 10 minutes 30 seconds. On January 27, during the climb test, at an altitude of 7800 m, the engine overheated and stopped, and when trying to restart it, it exploded. Pilot Beretta escaped by parachute, but the plane was completely destroyed. Later, the Air Department canceled the order for the Re.2001 Delta.

Already in December 1941, the Ministry of Aviation decided to alter one hundred fuselages of the Re.2001 for different purposes. Thirty-nine aircraft, designated Re.2001CB (Caccia-Bombardiere - fighter-bomber), received a bomb rack under the fuselage for bombs weighing 100, 160 or 250 kg; two fuselages were lightened for testing ejection launches from the ground; 12 Re.2001 received brake hooks and attachments to the catapult for the intended operation from the aircraft carriers "Aquila" and "Sparviero", the first of them at the time of Italy's surrender was in the stage of completion, but was not completed. It didn’t come to the bookmark “Sparviero” at all. Here it is necessary to mention an unusual way of increasing the capacity of the underdeck hangars of these ships - special hooks were to be installed in the roots of the wings, for which the aircraft were suspended from special carts on the ceiling of the hangar. However, this idea did not wait for its implementation. The carrier-based aircraft carried the designation Re.2001OR. In April and June 1942, two series of these machines, fifty units each, were ordered. Production began, but as the introduction of aircraft carriers was continuously delayed, all Re.2001ORs were later modified to the standard ground vehicles and transferred to ground units for service.

One of the aircraft of the OR standard (MM.9921) was converted into a torpedo bomber. This variant was designated Re.2001G and was ready for testing in June 1943.

There were plans to build 50 Re.2001 GV. (GV - modification for the ability to carry a 630 kg bomb under the fuselage). According to the idea of ​​Lieutenants Galimberti and Vaccari, the plane could serve to strike at aircraft carriers. Initially, two aircraft of the SV variant were adapted for this. Their only combat use occurred on August 11, 1942, when aircraft piloted by Lieutenants Robone and Vaccari attacked the aircraft carrier Victories. Both pilots dropped bombs; however, only one bomb fell on the deck near the side of the ship and, without detonating, bounced overboard. This failure stopped the implementation of the Re.2001GV variant. On one of these aircraft (MM8077), tests were carried out for combined control of the gas sector and the angle of installation of the propeller blades during a dive. In an experimental dive from six to two thousand meters at an angle of 70 degrees, a speed of 950 km / h was achieved without exceeding the maximum engine speed and damaging the fuselage. Only one glazing panel of the cockpit canopy could not withstand the dynamic pressure and burst. In October 1942, dive bombing tests with a standard 250 kg bomb were tested at the experimental range in Furbar and very good results were obtained.

The next option under construction was the Re.2001CN (Caccia Notturma - night fighter), armed with two 20mm Mauser MG-151 cannons, placed in characteristic "tubs" in place of the original 7.7mm machine guns. However, difficulties in the supply of guns led to the fact that most of the aircraft retained their original armament.



Reggiane
Re.2000 Re.2001 Re.2002
Crew 1
Dimensions
Wing span, m 11.0
Wing area, m² 20.4
Length, m 7.99 8.36 8.16
Weight, kg:
Empty weight 2090 2485 2390
Gross weight 28500 3285 3240
Powerplant
Engine P.XI R.C.40 DB 601A P.XIX R.C.45
Power, hp. 985 1075 1195
Performance
Max speed km/h 530 563 530
at alt., m 5000 5400 5000
Time to alt. min, sek 6, 10 6 8, 48
m 6000 5000 6000
Service ceiling, m 10,500 11,100 10,500
Service range, km 1,400 1,100 1,100
Armament
Machine guns 2×12.7 2×12.7+2×7.7 2×12.7+2×7.7

Technical Description. The Reggiane Re.2001 was a low-wing, single-engine, all-metal fighter (or fighter-bomber).

Fuselage - all-metal semi-monococcus was made of duralumin. On the upper part of the fourth and fifth frames, a pylon was attached to protect the pilot when nosing. An armored plate was attached to the front of this structure. The cockpit canopy consisted of a permanent visor and a middle part that was reclining to the right, with sliding glass.

The pilot's seat had an armored backrest and a parachute cup, had vertical and horizontal adjustment.

The all-metal elliptical duralumin wing in plan was structurally similar to the Re.2000 wing. Consisted of five mounting parts: a three-spar center section, which included fuel tanks, chassis hinge assemblies and chassis niches; further - two consoles carrying cooling radiators between the third and fourth spars and between the sixth and eighth ribs and having aileron and flap hinge assemblies; and, further, two tips with aeronautical lights. Ailerons had a duralumin frame and linen sheathing. The left wing had a ground trimmer. The flaps were located along the trailing edge of the wing and the lower part of the center section along the entire span between the ailerons. They were operated electrically with the possibility of emergency manual control.

The all-metal plumage had linen sheathing of the rudders. The rudders were equipped with trimmers controlled in flight.

The chassis is retractable with a tailwheel. The main landing gear rotated 90 degrees during harvesting, and then lay flat in the wing. The landing gear with the retraction mechanism was covered by the fairing, the wheel in the retracted position was covered with a flap. The tail wheel is fixed.

Barrel armament consisted of two 12.7-mm Breda-SAFAT machine guns placed above the engine and equipped with synchronizers, and two 7.7-mm machine guns of the same company in the wing between the chassis niches and the cooling radiators. Ammunition - 350 rounds for fuselage and 600 rounds for wing-mounted machine guns. The Re.2001CN variant carried Mauser MG-151/20 20-mm cannons, imported from Germany, instead of 7.7-mm machine guns. The weapon was aimed using a San Giorgio reflex sight or an auxiliary mechanical sight. The aircraft had a set of flight and communication equipment, usual for that time. Bomb armament is given in the text.

Photo Description

Drawing Re 2001 Falco II.

Experienced Re 2001 with RA.1000 engine. A wooden protective walkway is laid on the wing. The aircraft is not equipped with a radio station.

Reggiane 2001 Falco II, 1942 Ministero dell' Aeronautica

Reggiane 2001 Falco II, 1942, Motore Alfa R.A. 1000 R.C. 41 Ia

Reggiane 2001 Falco II, 1942, fuselage machine guns Breda-SAFAT with a caliber of 12.7 mm.

Reggiane 2001 Falco II, 1942, aircraft instrumentation.

Reggiane 2001 Falco II, 1942, landing gear.

Reggiane 2001 Falco II, 1942, cockpit canopy.

Bibliography

  • Aeroplane "Re. 2001 Falco II" /Motore Alfa R.A. 1000 R.C. 41 Ia / Ministero dell' Aeronautica
  • War in the air / No. 97 /

Авиация Второй мировой

Авиация Второй мировой

На главную Поиск на сайте

Re.2001 Falco II
Истребитель
Reggiane

Re. 2001 Falco II 1942

Re. 2001 "Falco II" 1942

Летом 1939 года, после первых полетов истребителя Re.2000 Фалько I, итальянское министерство авиации обратилось к фирме Реджиане с предложением улучшить характеристики Re.2000 доработкой планера под более мощный рядный двигатель RA. 1000RC-41/I, представлявший из себя производимый в Италии по лицензии А-образный 12-цилиндровый двигатель водяного охлаждения Даймлер-Бенц DB.601A-1 мощностью 875 kW (1175 л.с).

Шеф конструктор фирмы Реджиане инженер Лонги произвел доработки планера с целью снижения веса и переконструировал фюзеляж. Первый прототип Re.2001 с серийным номером ММ409 покинул цех 9 июня 1940 года и вскоре был успешно облетан.

Дальнейшая его судьба была вполне обычной: после облета прототип был передан ВВС, которые его интенсивно испытывали на авиабазе Гуидония. Из полетных характеристик радовала, прежде всего, максимальная скорость в 563 км/ч на высоте 5500 метров и прекрасная маневренность.

По требованию министерства авиации, конструкторское бюро работало также над вторым прототипом, отличавшимся от первого новым трехлонжеронным крылом и протектированными топливными баками. Позднее фирма доработала под этот стандарт и первый прототип ММ409. Также первоначальное остекление закабинной части фонаря кабины пилота (известное по I серии Re.2000) было заменено новым, таким как у самолетов III серии. Так же выглядел и второй прототип; у него первоначально убираемое хвостовое колесо было заменено на неубирающееся.

Тридцать первого октября 1940 года фирма Реджиане получила заказ на поставку двухсот Re.2001, также были выданы заказы на лицензионное производство двухсот самолетов фирме Бреда, ста машин фирме Капрони в Толедо и такого же количества самолетов заводу Капрони в Предаппио. В феврале 1941 года началась постройка десяти предсерийных машин (номера ММ8071 - ММ8080). Успешные испытания прервала катастрофа второго прототипа 14 марта 1941 года, унесшая жизнь пилота Пьетро Скапинелли.

Независимо от изготовления предсерийных машин шла сборка прототипа Re.2001 bis, оснащенного совершенно новым крылом без выступающего блока радиаторов, теперь полностью вписанных в контур крыла. Воздух к ним подводился через воздухозаборники в передней кромке крыла. Этот прототип имел серийный номер ММ538. При его изготовлении были использованы фюзеляж и оперение первого прототипа ММ409. Испытания Re.2001bis проходили с лета 1941 до лета 1942 года при участии немецких специалистов. Была достигнута максимальная скорость 600 км/ч на высоте 6000 м. Однако решение о внедрении в производство не было принято, и на самолет установили первоначальное крыло. Опыт установки радиаторов в крыле позже был использован при проектировании истребителя Re.2006.

В мае 1941 года был готов первый предсерийный самолет. Первая серийная машина покинула сборочную линию в сентябре того же года. В июле 1941 года прорабатывался вариант заказа ста фюзеляжей Re.2001 для Швеции. Двигатели DB-601 в этом случае должны были поставляться прямо из Германии, но к реализации проекта дело не дошло. Длительная задержка с поставкой моторов DB-601 или лицензионных RA-1000RC-41/I привело к ликвидации заказов на фирмах Бреда и Капрони-Толедо, уменьшению заказов у фирмы Реджиане до ста и у фирмы Капрони-Предаппио до десяти самолетов.

Постоянные задержки поставок моторов DB-601/RA-1000 привело к тому, что январю 1942 года были готовы только 43 серийных и 10 предсерийных машин. Эта удручающая ситуация навела Министерство авиации на мысль установить на планер Re.2001 итальянский инвертный двенадцатицилиндровый двигатель воздушного охлаждения Изотта-Фраскини Дельта RC.16/ 48 мощностью 618kW (840 л.с). Изготовление прототипа и серии в сто машин были заказаны фирме Капрони-Толедо вместо ранее заказаных Re.2001.

Первый полет прототипа Re.2001 Delta совершил полет 12 сентября 1942 года. Во время испытаний (проходивших на авиабазе Гуидония со 2 ноября ) прототип достиг скорости 523 км/ч на высоте 5600 м и набрал высоту 3000 метров за 4 минуты 11 секунд, а 6000 м - за 10 минут 30 секунд. 27 января, во время испытаний на скороподъемность, на высоте 7800 м перегрелся и остановился двигатель, а при попытке повторного запуска он взорвался. Пилот Беретта спасся на парашюте, но самолет был полностью уничтожен. Позднее, Министерство авиации аннулировало заказ на Re.2001 Delta.

Уже в декабре 1941 года Министерство авиации приняло решение о переделке ста фюзеляжей Re.2001 для разных целей. Тридцать девять самолетов под обозначением Re.2001CB (Caccia-Bombardiere - истребитель-бомбардировщик) получили под фюзеляж бомбодержатель для бомб массой 100, 160 или 250 кг; два фюзеляжа были облегчены для испытаний катапультных стартов с земли; 12 Re.2001 получили тормозные крюки и узлы крепления к катапульте для предполагавшейся эксплуатации с авианосцев «Аквила» и «Спарвьеро», первый из них к моменту капитуляции Италии находился в стадии достройки, но закончен не был. До закладки «Спарвьеро» дело вообще не дошло. Тут надо упомянуть о необычном способе увеличения емкости подпалубных ангаров этих кораблей - в корнях крыльев должны были быть установлены специальные крючья, за которые самолеты подвешивались к специальным тележкам на потолке ангара. Однако эта идея не дождалась своей реализации. Палубные самолеты несли обозначение Re.2001OR. В апреле и июне 1942 года были заказаны две серии этих машин по пятьдесят штук каждая. Изготовление началось, но так как ввод авианосцев в строй непрерывно затягивался, все Re.2001OR позднее были модифицированы до стандарта наземных машин и переданы для службы наземным подразделениям.

Один из самолетов стандарта OR (ММ.9921) был переделан под торпедоносец. Этот вариант был обозначен Re.2001G и подготовлен к испытаниям в июне 1943 года.

Существовали планы постройки 50 Re.2001 GV. (GV - модификация под возможность несения под фюзеляжем 630 кг бомбы). По идее лейтенантов Галимберти (Galimberti) и Ваккари (Vaccari), самолет мог служить для нанесения ударов по авианосцам. Вначале для этого приспособили два самолета варианта СВ. Единственное боевое применение их произошла 11 августа 1942 года, когда пилотируемые лейтенантами Робони (Robone) и Ваккари самолеты напали на авианосец «Викториес». Оба пилота сбросили бомбы; однако, лишь одна бомба упала на палубу возле борта судна и не взорвавшись, отрикошетила за борт. Эта неудача остановила реализацию варианта Re.2001GV. На одном из этих самолетов (ММ8077) проводились испытания совмещенного управления сектором газа и угла установки лопастей винта при пикировании. При опытном пикировании с шести до двух тысяч метров под углом 70 градусов была достигнута скорость 950 км/ч без превышения максимальных оборотов мотора и повреждений фюзеляжа. Только одна панель остекления фонаря кабины пилота не выдержала динамического напора и лопнула. В октябре 1942 года прошли испытания бомбардировки с пикирования стандартной 250 кг бомбой на экспериментальном полигоне в Фурбаре и были получены очень хорошие результаты.

Следующим строившимся вариантом был Re.2001CN (Caccia Notturma - ночной истребитель), вооруженный двумя пушками Маузер MG-151 калибром 20-мм, размещенными в характерных «ванночках» на месте первоначальных пулеметов калибром 7,7-мм. Однако, трудности в поставках пушек привели к тому, что большинство самолетов сохранило первоначальное вооружение.

Техническое описание. Reggiane Re.2001 был одномоторным цельнометаллическим истребителем (или истребителем-бомбардировщиком) низкопланной схемы.

Фюзеляж - цельнометаллический полумонококк был изготовлен из дюраля. На верхней части четвертого и пятого шпангоутов крепился пилон, предохраняющий пилота при капотировании. В передней части этой конструкции крепилась броневая плита. Фонарь кабины пилота состоял из постоянного козырька и откидывающейся вправо средней части, имеющей сдвижные стекла.

Кресло пилота имело бронеспинку и чашку под парашют, имело регулировку по вертикали и горизонтали.

Цельнометаллическое дюралевое крыло эллиптической формы в плане было конструктивно сходно с крылом Re.2000. Состояло из пяти монтажных частей: трехлонжеронного центроплана, включавшего топливные баки, узлы навески шасси и ниши шасси; далее - две консоли, несущих между третьим и четвертым лонжеронами и между шестой и восьмой нервюрами радиаторы охлаждения и имевших узлы навески элеронов и закрылков; и, далее, двух законцовок с аэронавигационными огнями. Элероны имели дюралевый каркас и полотняную обшивку. Левое крыло имело устанавливаемый на земле триммер. Закрылки располагались по задней кромке крыла и нижней части центроплана по всему размаху между элеронами. Управлялись электрически с возможностью аварийного ручного управления.

Цельнометаллическое оперение имело полотняную обшивку рулей. Рули были снабжены управляемыми в полете триммерами.

Шасси - убирающееся с хвостовым колесом. Основные стойки шасси при уборке поворачивались на 90 градусов, а затем плоско укладывались в крыло. Стойку шасси с механизмом уборки прикрывал обтекатель, колесо в убранном положении закрывалось щитком. Хвостовое колесо неубирающееся.

Ствольное вооружение состояло из двух пулеметов Бреда-САФАТ калибром 12,7-мм, размещенных над двигателем и снабженных синхронизаторами, и двух пулеметов калибра 7,7-мм той же фирмы в крыле между нишами шасси и радиаторами охлаждения. Боезапас - по 350 патронов для фюзеляжных и по 600 патронов для крыльевых пулеметов. Вариант Re.2001CN вместо пулеметов калибра 7,7-мм нес пушки Маузер MG-151/20, калибра 20-мм, импортируемые из Германии. Оружие наводилось при помощи коллиматорного прицела Сан Джоржио либо вспомогательного механического прицела. Самолет имел обычный для того времени комплект пилотажного и связного оборудования. Бомбовое вооружение приведено в тексте.


Характеристики Re.2000/2001/2002
Re.2000 Re.2001 Re.2002
Экипаж, чел. 1 1 1
Геометрия
Размах крыла, м 11.0 11.0 11.0
Площадь крыла, м2 20.4 20.4 20.4
Длина самолета, м 7.99 8.36 8.16
Массы, кг
Вес пустого 2090 2485 2390
Взлетный вес 28500 3285 3240
Силовая установка
Мотор P.XI R.C.40 DB 601A P.XIX R.C.45
Мощность, л.с. 985 1075 1195
Лётные данные
Максимальная скорость км/ч 530 563 530
на высоте, м 5000 5400 5000
Время набора высоты мин, cek 6, 10 6 8, 48
м 6000 5000 6000
Практический потолок, м 10500 11100 10500
Дальность полета, max км 1400 1100 1100
Вооружение
Число пулеметов 2x12.7 2x12.7 + 2x7.7 2x12.7 + 2x7.7


Фото Описание

Схема Re 2001 Falco II.

Опытный Re 2001 с мотором RA.1000. На крыле уложена деревянная защитная дорожка. Самолет не оборудован радиостанцией.

Reggiane 2001 Falco II, 1942 Ministero dell' Aeronautica

Reggiane 2001 Falco II, 1942, Motore Alfa R.A. 1000 R.C. 41 Ia

Reggiane 2001 Falco II, 1942, фюзеляжные пулеметы Бреда-САФАТ калибром 12,7-мм.

Reggiane 2001 Falco II, 1942, приборное оборудование самолета.

Reggiane 2001 Falco II, 1942, ООШ.

Reggiane 2001 Falco II, 1942, фонарь кабины пилота.

Источники

  • Aeroplane "Re. 2001 Falco II" /Motore Alfa R.A. 1000 R.C. 41 Ia / Ministero dell' Aeronautica
  • "Война в воздухе" /№ 97/