Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

Ca.311
Light Reconnaissance Bomber
Caproni

Caproni 311

Caproni Ca.310 repeated the design and dimensions of its predecessor, only the fuselage became 0.8 m shorter. The upgraded Caproni differed from the Ca.309 in its onboard equipment, chassis type and engines. With retractable struts and a power plant of two star-shaped seven-cylinder "Piaggio" P.VII C.16 of 430 hp. (or C.35 engines with superchargers), the maximum speed increased, in comparison with the Ghibli, by almost 100 km / h.

The military version of the "three hundred and tenth" had three 7.7-mm machine guns "Breda-SAFAT": two - in the roots of the wing, the third - on the upper turret with a blister. As a light bomber, the Ca.310 could carry 400 kg of small bombs. The crew consisted of 3-4 people.

The prototype Ca.310 made its first flight on April 9, 1937. The aircraft, named "Libecchio" (southwestern wind blowing from Libya), was built in a significant series. Passenger and cargo Ca.310, distinguished by the absence of lower glazing in the nose, were few. The basis of the "shaft", coming from the plant "Caproni Aeronautica Bergamasca" and the headquarters of the firm in Taliedo near Milan, were military aircraft.

The baptism of fire "three hundred and tenth" took place during the civil war in Spain. "Aviation Legionaria" (the Italian air corps of the Francoists) had 12 Libeccio scouts. Next, the service of Ca.310 began in Libya. And in February 38th, five aircraft, significantly improved without weapons, participated in the III Sahara air races. Pilots I. de Wittembeschi, W. Maddalena and J. Parodi took the first three places. The triumph spurred Caproni's foreign customers. But the reliability of the aircraft left much to be desired.

Almost all Ca.310 were exported. They were sold to Czechoslovakia and Peru. 12 aircraft were bought by Yugoslavia. Most likely, it was these machines that, after the German attack and the split of the country, became part of the Croatian Air Force, an ally of Germany. The Hungarians bought 36 cars, but in 1938 33 Ca.310s with various defects were returned to the company. "Libecchio", which Hungary abandoned, remained in Italy.

Norway intended to buy 24 Ca.310. Having tested the first four cars, the Norwegians refrained from further purchases, since the characteristics of the Italian aircraft were noticeably behind those promised by the company, and the build quality was unsatisfactory. The plant improved the Ca.310 model by providing Piaggio P.XVI R.C.35 radial engines with a capacity of 650 hp each, three-blade propellers with spinners, and additional shields on the landing gear. The aircraft received the designation Ca.312.

In the 39th, Norway again ordered Caproni light bombers, this time - 12 "three hundred and twelfth". But supplies were interrupted by the war and the German occupation. A small batch was given to the Italian Air Force. One copy was useful for testing the air brakes of the Balerio system.


Variant Ca.312 IS, a torpedo bomber on two floats, with a nose like the "three hundred and eleventh", remained on paper.

Even Great Britain, which possessed the Anson bomber Avro and other aircraft of the same class, made a large order for the Ca.310 in January 1939. It was not canceled even after the start of the war with Germany. The motives of the British - below.

In addition to the main modifications of "Libecchio", there was also a float Ca.310 "Idro", a naval reconnaissance aircraft, with reduced bow glazing and no weapons. In August 1940, when the Italian fleet needed a replacement for the Romeo Ro 43 catapult biplane, the developers of the Caproni firm once again returned to hydroaviation. A reconnaissance torpedo bomber Ca.316 appeared with "Piaggio" P.VII C.16 "stars" (450 hp each), two-blade propellers and armament consisting of a 12.7-mm machine gun in the root of the left wing and 7.7- mm - on the top turret, 400 kg of bombs or torpedoes. The Ca.316 existed in several prototypes, but did not go into production. Internal competition with Ca.313 and Ca.314 interfered.

Caproni Ca.311. An experimental Ca.310 bis with a fully glazed cockpit without a ledge became the prototype for the next Caproni. Light bomber and reconnaissance aircraft Ca.311, "born" in April 1939, inherited the "three hundred tenth - bis" nose shape. The rounded cockpit reduced the length of the fuselage by almost half a meter. More advanced aerodynamics affected the characteristics and controllability of the aircraft. The stepped front part of the hull reappeared on the Ca.311M variant (modified).

On the Ca.311 there were the same "stars" Piaggio P.VII C.35 with a capacity of 470 hp each. (on takeoff - 500 hp). The location of the weapons has changed. Of the three 7.7 mm machine guns, one was on the upper turret of the "Kaproni-Lanchiani" type, the other was at the root of the left wing, and the third was in the lower hatch. Bombs with a total mass of up to 400 kg were mounted on an internal suspension.

The Italian Air Force became the consumer of these "Capronis". The operation of the Ca.311 showed that its power plant was too weak for a real combat aircraft. A replacement was proposed for the most powerful Piaggio, tested on the Ca.312, but their frontal resistance did not suit the designers.

Ca.311
Crew 3-4
Dimensions
Wing span, m 16.20
Wing area, m² 38.40
Length, m 11.80
Height, m 3.69
Weight, kg
Empty 3,460
Loaded weight 4,822
Powerplant
Engine 2 х PE Piaggio P.VII, power, h.p.
takeoff power, h.p. 2 х 470
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 365
Cruising speed, km/h 307
Service range, km/h 1,600
Service ceiling, m 7,400
Armament
machine guns 3х7.7mm
Bombs, kg 400
Photo Description
Drawing Caproni Ca.310 bis

Drawing Caproni Ca.310 bis, 2 радиальных двигателя "Пьяджо" P VII C.35.

Caproni Ca.310

Caproni Ca.310, general view 3/4 front and back.

Caproni Ca.311, general view 3/4 front and back.

Caproni Ca.311, powerplant - 2 "Piaggio" radial motors P VII C.35.

Caproni Ca.311, power plant (rear view) - 2 "Piaggio" radial motors P VII C.35.

Caproni Ca.311, aircraft layout.

Caproni Ca.311, suspension of bombs in the bomb bay.

Caproni Ca.311, opening locks for bombing.

Caproni Ca.311, suspension of cassettes in bomb bay.

Caproni Ca.311, cassettes for explosive 2 kg bombs.

Caproni Ca.311, turret "Caproni-Lanciani" type "Delta".

Caproni Ca.311, lower firing point.

Caproni Ca.311, placement of radio equipment.

Caproni Ca.311, radio receiver of the radio operator (marconista - mitragliera). In the foreground is the "Marconist" intercom. Headphones hang on the receiver, here a tube with a horn - a microphone - hangs down.

Caproni Ca.311, radio operator's workplace.

Caproni Ca.311, loop antenna and radio compass frame.

Caproni Ca.311, wind turbine.

Caproni Ca.311, machine gun at the root of the wing (Drawing).

Caproni Ca.311, machine gun at the root of the wing . Below under the cab - Pitot tube.

Caproni Ca.311, commander intercom.

Caproni Ca.311, aircraft intercom.

Caproni Ca.311, motor's dashboard.

Bibliography

  • Encyclopedia of Military Equipment / Aerospace Publising /
  • From Wind to Squall / Sergey Ivannikov /
  • Aeroplano CAPRONI 311 2 motori P VII.C.35. /Ministero dell' Aeronautica Milano 1941/

Авиация Второй мировой

Авиация Второй мировой

На главную Поиск на сайте

Ca.311
Легкий бомбардировщик-разведчик
Caproni

Caproni 311

Caproni Ca.310 повторял конструкцию и размеры своего предшественника, только фюзеляж стал короче на 0,8 м. Модернизированный "Капрони" отличался от Са.309 бортовым оборудованием, типом шасси и двигателями. С убирающимися стойками и силовой установкой из двух звездообразных семицилиндровых "Пьяджо" P.VII С.16 по 430 л.с. (или моторов С.35 с нагнетателями) максимальная скорость выросла, по сравнению с "Джибли", почти на 100 км/ч.

Военный вариант "триста десятого" имел три 7,7-мм пулемета "Бреда-SAFAT": два - в корнях крыла третий - на верхней турели с блистером. Как легкий бомбардировщик, Са.310 мог нести 400 кг бомб небольшого калибра. Экипаж состоял из 3-4 человек.

Опытный экземпляр Са.310 совершил первый полет 9 апреля 1937 г. Самолет, нареченный "Либеччио" (юго-западный ветер, дующий со стороны Ливии), строился значительной серией. Пассажирских и грузовых Са.310, выделявшихся отсутствием нижнего остекления в носу, насчитывалось немного. Основу "вала", шедшего с завода "Капрони Аэронаутика Бергамаска" и головного предприятия фирмы в Талиедо под Миланом, составляли военные самолеты.

Боевое крещение "триста десятого" произошло на гражданской войне в Испании. "Авиационе легионариа" (итальянский авиакорпус у франкистов) располагал 12 разведчиками "Либеччио". Следом началась служба Са.310 в Ливии. И в феврале 38-го пять машин, значительно полегчавших без вооружения, участвовали в III-х Сахарских авиагонках. Летчики И. де Виттембески, У. Маддалена и Дж. Пароди заняли три первых места. Триумф подстегнул зарубежных заказчиков "Капрони". Но надежность самолета оставляла желать лучшего.

Почти все Са.310 выпустили на экспорт. Их продавали в Чехословакию и в Перу. 12 самолетов купила Югославия. Скорее всего, именно эти машины после немецкого нападения и раскола страны вошли в состав ВВС Хорватии, союзницы Германии. 36 машин приобрели венгры, но в 1938-м 33 Са.310 с различными дефектами вернули фирме. "Либеччио", от которых отказалась Венгрия, остались в Италии.

Норвегия намеревалась купить 24 Са.310. Опробовав первые четыре машины, норвежцы воздержались от дальнейших закупок, так как характеристики итальянского самолета заметно отставали от обещанных фирмой, а качество сборки оказалось неудовлетворительным. Завод улучшил модель Са.310, снабдив звездообразными двигателями "Пьяджо" Р.XVI R.C.35 мощностью по 650 л.с, трехлопастными винтами с коками, и дополнительными щитками на стойках шасси. Самолет получил обозначение Са.312.

В 39-м Норвегия вновь заказала легкие бомбардировщики "Капрони", на этот раз - 12 "триста двенадцатых". Но поставкам помешала война и немецкая оккупация. Малую серию отдали итальянским ВВС. Один экземпляр пригодился для испытаний воздушных тормозов системы "Балерио".

Вариант Ca.312 IS, торпедоносец на двух поплавках, с носом, как у "триста одиннадцатого", остался на бумаге.

Даже Великобритания, располагавшая бомбардировщиком "Авро" "Энсон" и другими машинами того же класса, сделала в январе 1939 г. крупный заказ на Са.310. Его не отменяли и после начала войны с Германией. О мотивах британцев - ниже.

Помимо основных модификаций "Либеччио" существовал еще поплавковый Са.310 "Идро", морской разведчик, с уменьшенным остеклением носовой части и без вооружения. В августе 40-го, когда итальянскому флоту понадобилась замена катапультному биплану "Ромео" Ro 43, разработчики фирмы "Капрони" еще раз вернулись к гидроавиации. Появился разведчик-торпедоносец Са.316 со "звездами" "Пьяджо" P.VII С.16 (по 450 л.с), двухлопастными винтами и вооружением, состоящим из 12,7-мм пулемета в корне левого крыла и 7,7-мм - на верхней турели, 400 кг бомб или торпеды. Са.316 существовал в нескольких прототипах, но в серию не пошел. Помешала внутренняя конкуренция с Са.313 и Са.314.

Caproni Ca.311. Экспериментальный Са.310 bis с полностью застекленной кабиной без уступа стал прототипом следующего "Капрони". Легкий бомбардировщик и разведчик Са.311, "родившийся" в апреле 1939 г, унаследовал форму носа "триста десятого - бис". Округлая кабина уменьшила длину фюзеляжа почти на полметра. Более совершенная аэродинамика сказалась на характеристиках и управляемости самолета. Ступенчатая передняя часть корпуса вновь появилась на варианте Са.311М (модифицированный).

На Са.311 стояли те же "звезды" "Пьяджо" P.VII C.35 мощностью по 470 л.с. (на взлете - 500 л.с). Изменилось расположение вооружения. Из трех пулеметов калибра 7,7 мм один находился на верхней турели типа "Капрони-Лянчиани", другой - в корне левого крыла, третий - в нижнем люке. Бомбы общей массой до 400 кг крепились на внутренней подвеске.

Потребителем этих "Капрони" стали итальянские ВВС. Эксплуатация Са.311 показала, что его силовая установка слишком слаба для настоящего боевого самопета. Предлагалась замена на мощнейшие "Пьяджо", опробованные на Са.312, но их лобовое сопротивление уже не устраивало конструкторов.


Ca.311
Экипаж 3-4
Геометрия
Размах крыла, м 16,20
Площадь крыла, м² 38,40
Длина самолета, м 11,80
Высота самолета, м 3,69
Массы, кг
Пустого 3460
Нормальная взлетная 4822
Силовая установка
Мотор 2 х ПД Piaggio P.VII мощностью, л.с.
Мощность взлетная, л.с. 2 х 470
Лётные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 365
Крейсерская скорость, км/ч 307
Практическая дальность, км 1600
Практический потолок, м 7400
Вооружение
пулеметы 3х7,7мм
бомб, кг 400


Фото Описание

Схема Caproni Ca.310 bis, 2 радиальных двигателя "Пьяджо" P VII C.35.

Caproni Ca.310, общий вид 3/4 спереди и сзади.

Caproni Ca.311, общий вид 3/4 спереди и сзади.

Caproni Ca.311, силовая установка - 2 радиальных двигателя "Пьяджо" P VII C.35.

Caproni Ca.311, силовая установка (вид сзади) - 2 радиальных двигателя "Пьяджо" P VII C.35.

Caproni Ca.311, компоновка самолета.

Caproni Ca.311, подвеска бомб в бомбоотсеке.

Caproni Ca.311, открытие замков на бомбометание.

Caproni Ca.311, подвеска кассет в бомбоотсеке.

Caproni Ca.311, кассеты для разрывных 2-кг бомб.

Caproni Ca.311, турельная установка "Caproni-Lanciani" тип "Delta".

Caproni Ca.311, нижняя огневая точка.

Caproni Ca.311, размещение радиооборудования.

Caproni Ca.311, радиоприемник стрелка-радиста (marconista - mitragliera). На переднем плане переговорное устройство "маркониста". На приемнике висят наушники, здесь-же свисает вниз трубка с рупором - микрофоном.

Caproni Ca.311, рабочее место стрелка-радиста.

Caproni Ca.311, шлейфовая антенна и рамка радиополукомпаса.

Caproni Ca.311, ветряк-генератор.

Caproni Ca.311, пулемет в корне крыла (схема).

Caproni Ca.311, пулемет в корне крыла. Внизу под кабиной - ППД (трубка Пито).

Caproni Ca.311, устройство внутренней связи командира.

Caproni Ca.311, переговорное устройство самолета.

Caproni Ca.311, приборная панель моториста.

Источники

  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "От "Ветра" до "Шквала"" /Сергей Иванников/
  • Aeroplano CAPRONI 311 2 motori P VII.C.35. /Ministero dell' Aeronautica Milano 1941/