Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

Me 323 Gigant

Super-heavy transport aircraft

Messerschmitt

Me 323

The Messerschmitt Me 323 Gigant ("Giant") was a German military transport aircraft of World War II. It was a powered variant of the Me 321 military glider and was the largest land-based transport aircraft of the war.

The aircraft was a strut-braced high-wing aircraft of a mixed design, with deck empennage, a multi-wheeled chassis that could not be removed in flight, and a six-engine power plant. The aircraft is based on the Me 321 airframe and is similar in design to it. The main differences are as follows.

The wing of the aircraft has been modified for the installation of propulsion engines. The main power truss of the center section is reinforced and equipped with overlays for engine mounts. Each plate is made as a single unit, which is attached to the truss with four bolts. In the toes of the center section between the internal engines, there are the cabins of mechanics, and there is a manhole for access to all the engines. The plywood sheathing of the socks in the areas of the engine exhaust pipes is covered with sheet metal. Around the wing cannon installations, the linen sheathing was replaced with plywood.

Tandem chassis - along each side of the fuselage there are 5 wheels covered with a duralumin fairing. The front pair of wheels is of a smaller diameter and has its own suspension system, the three main wheels have their own. The suspension includes a beam, rod levers for the suspension of the wheels, two (one for the front pair of wheels) liquid-gas shock absorbers and one (two) spring damper. The main wheels are equipped with pneumatic brakes.

The power plant included 6 piston engines. Basically, a radial two-row air-cooled Gnome-Rhone 14N48 / 49 engine with a metal variable-pitch propeller of the Raitier or Chanviere type was used. On the right half-wing, GR 14N48 motors were installed with the right rotation of the shaft, and on the left - GR 14N49 with the left rotation. The fuel was stored in six sealed tanks located in the center section. The total supply of gasoline reached (on the Me 323E) 10740 liters.

The hydraulic system was powered by hydraulic pumps installed on the propulsion engines.

A total of 213 are recorded as having been made, a few being converted from the Me 321.

Me-321/323
Me 321B Me 323V-1 Me 323D Me 323E Me 323E/WT Me 323V-16
Crew 6 8 10 12 17 12
Dimensions
Length, m 28.15 28.15 28.15 28.15 28.15 28.15
Wing span, m 55 55 55 55 55 55
Height, m 10.15 9.6 9.6 9.65 9.6 9.6
Wing area, m² 300 300 300 300 300 300
Weight
Empty weight, kg 1220 25400 27330 29000 32000 32000
Normal takeoff weight, kg 34400 34000 43000 48000 40000 48000
Maximum takeoff weigh, kg 39400 36000 45000 50500 42000 54000
Loaded weight, kg 22000 8000 12000 10000 - 18200
Wing loading, kg/m² 114,7 113,3 143,3 160 133,3 160
Powerplant
Engine - 6 x G-R 14N 6 x G-R 14N 6 x G-R 14N 6 x G-R 14N 6 x Jumo 211RN
Power, hp - 6 x 1140 6 x 1140 6 x 1140 6 x 1140 6 x 1140
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h (without loading) - 220 280 252 255 285
Cruise speed, km/h at altitude H=1500m - 170 186 208 225 220
Landing Speed, km/h 120 115 120 120 120 130
Ceiling, m - 2000 4500 4200 4500 5000
Range at altitude H=2000m, km - 1100 1100 1200 1100 1100
Take-off run, m 1200 900 850 800 800 900
Landing field length, m 400 500 600 700 600 700
Transported Soldiers 200 - 130 120 - 130
Armament
Pcs Cannon - - - 2 x 20 mm 11 x 20 mm 2 x 20 mm
Machine guns 2-4 x
7.92 mm
- 4-6 x
7.92, 13
5 x
7.92 mm
4 x
7.92 mm
5 x
13 mm

                                                                                                                                                                                                              
Photo Description
Drawing Me.323D-1     Drawing Me 323D-1
Me.323 and the lorry 'Follow me'     Me 323 and the lorry "Follow me"
Me. 323. Opened front cargo door     Me-323 - Opened front cargo door.
Me. 323 at airfield in Italy , August, 1943     "Gigant" at airfield in Italy , August, 1943.

Bibliography

  • Warplanes of the Third Reich /Green, William.н/
  • Messerschmitt Me 321/323: The Luftwaffe's "Giants" in World War II. /Dabrowski, Hans-Peter./

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте English
 
Самолёты Messerschmitt BF109B,C,D BF109E BF109F BF109G BF109G-2 BF109H BF109K BF110C BF110E BF110G Me-410 Me-309 Me-163 Me-262A-1a Me-262A-2a Me-262B Me-264 1101 Me-321 Me-323 Фото и схемы Боевое применение JG5 Bf 109 JG54 Bf 110 Me 262 Me 262 Три мифа о... Luftwaffe

Me 323 Gigant

Сверхтяжелый транспортный самолет

Messerschmitt

Краткое техническое описание транспортного самолета Me 323D/E

Самолет представляет собой подкосный высокоплан смешанной конструкции, с палубным оперением, неубираемым в полете многоколесным шасси и шестидвигательной силовой установкой. Самолет создан на базе планера Me 321 и по конструкции во многом повторяет его. Основные отличия следующие.

Крыло самолета доработано под установку маршевых двигателей. Основная силовая ферма центроплана усилена и снабжена накладками под моторамы. Каждая накладка выполнена как единый узел, который крепится к ферме четырьмя болтами. В носках центроплана между внутренними двигателями находятся кабины механиков-мотористов, а для доступа ко всем двигателям имеется лаз. Фанерная обшивка носков в зонах выхлопных патрубков двигателей закрыта листами жести. Вокруг крыльевых пушечных установок полотняная обшивка заменена фанерной.

Шасси тандемной схемы — вдоль каждого борта фюзеляжа располагаются 5 колес, закрытых дюралюминиевым обтекателем. Передняя пара колес меньшего диаметра и имеет свою систему подвески, три основных колеса — свою. Подвеска включает балку, стержневые рычаги навески колес, два (один — для передней пары колес) жидкостно-газовых амортизатора и один (два) пружинный демпфер. Основные колеса оснащены тормозами, работающими от пневмосистемы.

Силовая установка включает 6 поршневых моторов. В основном применяется звездообразный двухрядный двигатель воздушного охлаждения Gnome-Rhone 14N48/49 с металлическим винтом изменяемого шага типа Raitier либо Chanviere. На правом полукрыле установлены моторы GR 14N48 с правым вращением вала, а на левом — GR 14N49 с левым вращением. Топливо размещается в шести протектированных баках, находящихся в центроплане. Общий запас бензина достигал (на Ме 323Е) 10740 л.

Гидросистема работает от установленных на маршевых двигателях гидронасосов.

Me-321/323
Me 321B Me 323V-1 Me 323D Me 323E Me 323E/WT Me 323V-16
Экипаж, чел 6 8 10 12 17 12
Геометрия
Длина самолета, м 28.15 28.15 28.15 28.15 28.15 28.15
Размах крыла, м 55 55 55 55 55 55
Высота, м 10.15 9.6 9.6 9.65 9.6 9.6
Площадь крыла, м² 300 300 300 300 300 300
Массы, нагрузки
Масса пустого, кг 1220 25400 27330 29000 32000 32000
Взлетная масса, норм., кг 34400 34000 43000 48000 40000 48000
Взлетная масса, макс., кг 39400 36000 45000 50500 42000 54000
Макс. масса груза, кг 22000 8000 12000 10000 - 18200
Нагрузка на крыло, кг/м² 114,7 113,3 143,3 160 133,3 160
Силовая установка
Мотор - 6 x G-R 14N 6 x G-R 14N 6 x G-R 14N 6 x G-R 14N 6 x Jumo 211RN
Мощность, л.с. - 6 x 1140 6 x 1140 6 x 1140 6 x 1140 6 x 1140
Лётные данные
Макс. скорость (без груза), км/ч - 220 280 252 255 285
Крейсерская скорость на H=1500м, км/ч - 170 186 208 225 220
Посадочная скорость, км/ч 120 115 120 120 120 130
Потолок, м - 2000 4500 4200 4500 5000
Дальность на H=2000м, км - 1100 1100 1200 1100 1100
Длина разбега, м 1200 900 850 800 800 900
Длина пробега, м 400 500 600 700 600 700
Перевозимые солдаты, чел. 200 - 130 120 - 130
Вооружение
число пушки - - - 2 x 20 mm 11 x 20 mm 2 x 20 mm
пулеметы 2-4 x
7.92 mm
- 4-6 x
7.92, 13
5 x
7.92 mm
4 x
7.92 mm
5 x
13 mm
Фото Описание
Схема Me 323D-1

Схема Me 323D-1

Ме 323 и грузовик Follow me

Ме 323 и грузовик "Follow me"

Открытый передний грузовой люк

Ме-323 - открытый передний грузовой люк.

«Гигант» на аэродроме в Италии (август 1943)

«Гигант» на аэродроме в Италии (август 1943).

Источники

  • "Крылья Люфтваффе (боевые самолеты третьего рейха)" /Уильям Грин/
  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/

©AirPages
2003-