Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

He-177A-5 "Greif"

Heavy Bomber

Heinkel

He-177A-5 "Greif"

The bomber "Heinkel" He 177 is considered a twin-engine (two twin engines) all-metal cantilever mid-plane.

Fuselage: All-metal semi-monocoque square section with heavily rounded corners. The power set consists of 52 frames and stringers. Sheathing - duralumin sheets, riveted flush. Technologically, the fuselage was divided into five parts. The hatch for the crew to enter the aircraft was located in the lower part of the ventral gondola, there was an additional hole in the bottom of the rear fuselage. The glazed cap of the tail firing turret was opened by tilting to the side.

Single-spar wing with two auxiliary spars, trapezoidal shape with rounded tips. In the center section, motor mounts were attached to the main spar. In the front parts of the center section there are niches for the internal landing gear, and in the consoles - niches for the external landing gear. Behind them were wing-mounted petrol and oil tanks. Oil coolers are installed in the root parts of the consoles.

The wiring of the ailerons and flaps is rigid, the trim tabs are soft, cable.

The plumage is of the usual type, the keel and stabilizer are single-spar, trapezoidal. The stabilizer on early modifications is reversible, starting from A-3 - with a fixed installation angle of +2°. The metal skinned rudders are fitted with trim tabs and Flettner flaps. The steering wheel is tight.

Three-point chassis of the classical scheme. A characteristic feature of the machine was the twin main racks, each of which consisted of two separate "half-racks" with its own wheels and cleaning mechanisms. The inner "half-pillars" were removed towards the fuselage, and the outer ones - towards the ends of the wing. This design is caused by the desire to reduce the load on the wheels and fit rather massive chassis elements into a relatively thin wing, without "inflating" the engine nacelles. The tail wheel also retracted in flight by turning back into the fuselage. The release of racks and chassis shields was carried out using a hydraulic drive. The sashes in the parking position are closed and opened only at the time of release and retraction. Depreciation of the main struts is air-oil, tail - spring.

Powerplant. For He 177A-5, the DB 610 engine (paired with DB 603) was used instead of the DB 606 used on the first versions (paired with DB 601).

For their fire hazard, "Vultures" received the nickname "lighters", and there were good reasons for this. In an effort to improve aerodynamics, Heinkel's designers arranged the engine compartment so tightly that there was no room for fire bulkheads in it, and oil tanks and oil lines had to be installed next to the exhaust pipes, which often glowed red hot in flight. Electrical cables ran there. As a result, at the slightest depressurization, a fire became inevitable. In addition, at high altitudes, the oil sometimes boiled, while the lubrication of the engines was broken, the engines overheated and, at best, they stalled, and at worst, they caught fire.

Each pair of engines rotated a four-blade VISH automatic machine VDM with a diameter of 4.5 m through a reduction gear. In the event of an emergency, any engine could be turned off manually, for which special clutches served. The propulsion systems were cooled with a mixture of water and ethylene glycol, and to increase the survivability, the cooling system of each motor was a completely autonomous unit. For the same purpose, the frontal radiators in the engine nacelles were divided into four closed sections. The passage of air through the radiators was automatically regulated by thermostats and hydraulically controlled shutters. The fire extinguishing systems also operated automatically.

Despite the tests of one aircraft, on which 56 causes of engine fire were identified and eliminated, the problems could not be completely eliminated. Obviously, the finalization of the design could seriously slow down the production of machenes.



He 177 A-5/R2 Specification
Crew 6
Dimensions
Wing span 31.44 m (103 ft. 1 in)
Wing area, 21.7 m² (234 ft²)
Length 22 m (72 ft. 2 in)
Height 6.4m (21 ft)
Powerplant
2 Daimler-Benz DB 610A-1/B-1 , power 2,950 hp
Weight
Empty weight 16,800 kg (37,038lb)
Loaded weight 31,000kg (68,343lb )
Performance
Maximum speed at altitude 472km/h (295 mph)
m (ft) 6,100 (21,000lb)
Initial rate of climb 260m/min (853 ft/min )
Service ceiling 7080 m (26,500 ft)
Range with Fritz or Hs 293 missle 5000 km (3,107 ml)

Defensive weapons. On the He 177A-5/R2 heavy defensive armament was installed to fight enemy fighters: on the tail turret (position 3) - 20 mm MG 151 gun , 300 rounds of which were in the ammunition box in the rear of the fuselage: on the rear dorsal turret (position B2) - MG 131 machine gun with 750 rounds, which controlled remotely from a blister above the cockpit; in the glazed nose - machine gun MG 81J (position A1) with 2000 rounds: in front of the ventral gondola 300 rounds, and in the back of the gondola - two MG 81 machine guns (position B) with 2000 rounds each.

He-177 aircraft were in service with KG-40 and KG-100, in which these bombers took part in air raids on London in the first weeks of 1944. Six aircraft of the A-6 modification had a pressurized cabin, but the problems with the reliability of the engines were not resolved. For example, in February 1944, out of 14 He-177a-5 aircraft that took off to bomb the British Isles, one could not take off as a result of engine problems, and 8 were forced to return halfway due to overheating or engine fire. Another plane was shot down by the enemy, so they reached England and dropped bombs on the target only four machenes.

In the end, tired of fighting the vagaries of "sparks", the Germans set about developing the "Vulture" with four conventional engines in four nacelles. At the end of 1943 and 1944, several prototypes of the aircraft were built, which received the designation He 177B (or He 277). But in June 1944, due to the rapid deterioration of the economic situation in Germany, the expensive project was closed.

Heinkel and Arado firms produced a total of 565 He-177A-5 aircraft.

Photo Description
Drawing He 111 A-5/R6

Drawing He 111 A-5/R6

He 177 A-5 (Nr. TS439). Test - flight, RAF, Britannia, 1945

He 177 A-5 (Nr. TS439). Test - flight, RAF, Britannia, 1945.

He 177 A-5

He 177 A-5.

Add More

Bibliography

  • "Aviation of Luftwaffe" /Viktor Shunkov/
  • "Encyclopedia of military engineering" /Aerospace Publising/

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте English
 
Самолёты Heinkel He 51 He 100 He 111 He111B2 He 111H He 111H-11 He 111Z-1 He177A5 He 178 He 219 He 280 He 162 Фото и схемы Боевое применение He 111 He 162 He 177 Luftwaffe

He-177A-5 "Greif"

Тяжелый бомбардировщик

Heinkel

He-177A-5

Бомбардировщик «Хейнкель» Не 177 считается двухмоторным (два сдвоенных двигателя) цельнометаллическим свободнонесущим среднепланом.

Фюзеляж: Цельнометаллический полумонокок квадратного сечения с сильно скругленными углами. Силовой набор состоит из 52 шпангоутов и стрингеров. Обшивка -дюралевые листы, приклепанные впотай. Технологически фюзеляж делился на пять частей. Люк для входа экипажа в самолет находился в нижней части подфюзеляжной гондолы, дополнительный лаз имелся в днище задней части фюзеляжа. Застекленный колпак хвостовой стрелковой турели открывался откидыванием вбок.

Крыло однолонжеронное с двумя вспомогательными лонжеронами, трапециевидной формы с закругленными законцовками. В центроплане к главному лонжерону крепились моторамы. В передних частях центроплана оборудованы ниши для внутренних стоек шасси, а в консолях - ниши для внешних стоек. За ними располагались крыльевые бензо- и маслобаки. В корневых частях консолей установлены маслорадиаторы.

Проводка элеронов и закрылков жесткая, триммеров мягкая, тросовая.

Оперение обычного типа, киль и стабилизатор однолонжеронные, трапециевидной формы. Стабилизатор на ранних модификациях переставляемый, начиная с А-3 - с фиксированным углом установки +2°. Рули с металлической обшивкой снабжены триммерами и закрылками Флеттнера. Проводка рулей жесткая.

Шасси трехточечное классической схемы. Характерной особенностью машины были сдвоенные основные стойки, каждая из которых состояла из двух отдельных «полустоек» со своими колесами и механизмами уборки. Внутренние «полустойки» убирались по направлению к фюзеляжу, а внешние - к концам крыла. Такая конструкция вызвана стремлением уменьшить нагрузку на колеса и вписать довольно массивные элементы шасси в относительно тонкое крыло, не «раздувая» при этом мотогондолы. Хвостовое колесо также убиралось в полете поворотом назад, в фюзеляж. Выпуск стоек и щитков шасси осуществлялся с помощью гидропривода. Щитки в стояночном положении закрыты и открывались только в момент выпуска-уборки. Амортизация основных стоек воздушно-масляная, хвостовой - пружинная.
Силовая установка   Для Не 177А-5 использовался двигатель DB 610 (в паре с DB 603) вместо применявшихся на первых вариантах DB 606 (в паре с DB 601).

За свою пожароопасность «Грифы» получили прозвище «зажигалки», и для этого были все основания. В стремлении улучшить аэродинамику конструкторы Хейнкеля так плотно скомпоновали двигательный отсек, что в нем не оказалось места для противопожарных переборок, а маслобаки и маслопроводы пришлось устанавливать рядом с выхлопными патрубками, которые в полете нередко раскалялись докрасна. Там же проходили кабели электросистемы. В результате при малейшей разгерметизации пожар становился неизбежен. Кроме того, на больших высотах масло иногда закипало, при этом смазка двигателей нарушалась, моторы перегревались и в лучшем случае - глохли, в худшем же - загорались.

Каждая спарка двигателей вращала через понижающий редуктор четырехлопастный ВИШ-автомат VDM диаметром 4,5 м. В случае нештатной ситуации любой двигатель мог быть отключен вручную, для чего служили специальные муфты сцепления. Двигательные установки охлаждались смесью воды и этиленгликоля, причем для повышения живучести система охлаждения каждого мотора являлась полностью автономным агрегатом. С этой же целью лобовые радиаторы в мотогондолах делились на четыре замкнутые секции. Прохождение воздуха через радиаторы регулировалось автоматически с помощью термостатов и гидроуправляемых жалюзи. Также автоматически действовали и системы пожаротушения.

Несмотря на испытания одного самолета, на котором было выявлено и устранено 56 причин возгорания двигателя, полностью неполадки устранить не удалось. Очевидно, что доработка конструкции могла серьезно замедлить выпуск машин.
Оборонительное вооружение   На Не 177A-5/R2 устанавливалось тяжелое оборонительное вооружение для борьбы с истребителями противника: на хвостовой турели (позиция 3) - пушка MG 151 калибра 20 мм, 300 патронов которой находились в ящике для боеприпасов в задней части фюзеляжа: на задней надфюзеляжной турели (позиция Б2) - пулемет MG 131 с 750 патронами, который управлялся дистанционно из блистера над кабиной экипажа; в носовой остекленной части - пулемет MG 81J (позиция А1) с 2000 патронов: в передней части подфюзеляжной гондолы пушка MG 151/20 (позиция А2) с 300 патронами, а в задней части гондолы - два пулемета MG 81 (позиция В) с 2000 патронов каждый.

Самолеты Не-177 состояли на вооружении KG-40 и KG-100, в составе которых эти бомбардировщики принимали участие в воздушных налетах на Лондон в первые недели 1944 года. Шесть самолетов модификации А-6 имели герметичную кабину, однако проблемы с надежностью двигателей так и небыли решены. К примеру в феврале 1944 года из 14 самолетов Не-177а-5, вылетевших для бомбардировки Британских островов, один не смог взлететь в результате неполадок с двигателями, а 8 вынуждены были вернуться с половины пути из-за перегрева или возгорания двигателей. Еще один самолет был сбит противником, поэтому достигли Англии и сбросили бомбы на цель только четыре машины.

В конце концов, устав бороться с капризами «спарок», немцы взялись за разработку «Грифа» с четырьмя обычными двигателями в четырех гондолах. В конце 1943-го и 1944 году было построено несколько опытных экземпляров самолета, получившего обозначение Не 177В (или Не 277). Но в июне 1944-го из-за стремительного ухудшения экономического положения Германии дорогостоящий проект закрыли.

Фирмы "Хейнкель" и "Арадо" в общей сложности изготовили 565 самолетов Не-177А-5.

Характеристики
Экипаж 6 чел.
Размеры.
Размах крыла, м 31,44
Длина самолета, м 22
Высота самолета, м 6,4
Двигатель.
2 X 24-ти цилиндровых DB610A/1/B-1, л.с. 2 x 3100
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого самолета 16800
Максимальная взлетная 31000
Летные данные.
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 488
Время набора высоты 6000 м, мин 39
Практический потолок, м 8000
Дальность с двумя ракетами Hs 293, км 55000
Вооружение
7,92-мм в передней кабине,20-мм пушка и 2X7,92-мм в подфюзеляжной гондоле,
13-мм пулемет в верхней и 20-мм пушка в задней установке, бомб
13230кг

Подробно

Источники

  • "Авиация Люфтваффе" /В.Н. Шунков/
  • журнал   «авиАМастер» №1 2000    /Геннадий Волоско/
  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/

©AirPages
2003-