Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

He 115 ✙
Multipurpose Seaplane
Heinkel

He 115

The He 115 floatplane, which by the beginning of World War II was already considered an obsolete aircraft, nevertheless managed to serve not only Germany, but also Norway, Sweden, Finland and Great Britain. Designed as a military aircraft designed to perform not only patrol missions, but also torpedo and bomber functions, the seaplane, with two huge floats, turned out to be too clumsy and unprotected to withstand enemy fighters. However, early prototypes of the He 115, which appeared in 1938, surpassed their competitor Hs 140, and Heinkel was awarded a contract for its production. As a result, 138 seaplanes were built, 76 of which were built at the Weser aircraft plant.

Structurally, the seaplane was an all-metal midwing, an oval-section monocoque fuselage and a two-spar three-section wing. The first flight of the He 115-V1 took place in August 1937, the seaplane was equipped with two 9-cylinder air-cooled engines BMW-132K, with a capacity of 960 hp. from. everyone. Two single-legged floats were mounted directly below the propulsion nacelles on a pair of vertical streamlined struts with wire braces. The fuselage compartment housed either one 700 kg torpedo or three 250 kg bombs. The crew consisted of three people - a pilot, a navigator and a radio operator. Defensive armament consisted of a pair of MG-15 machine guns. In the glazed, somewhat angular nose of the fuselage, a ball machine-gun mount was mounted. The second machine gun was at the end of the cockpit above the trailing edge of the wing.

The first production model of the He 115A-1 was produced in January 1939. It was a clean torpedo bomber, however, it was possible to carry three 250 kg bombs into the compartment. In addition, there were two holders under the wing.

In December 1939. the production of the He 115B-1 was launched, on which it was possible to use several "sets of field weapons", which made it possible to adapt the aircraft to solving special problems. So He 115B-1 / R-1 had two cameras. He 115B-1 / R-2 - holders for one 500kg bomb. He 115B-1 / R-З could carry two 500 kg LMA-III mines, one 1000 kg LMB-III. The empty weight of the He 115B-1 was 6720 kg, and the maximum take-off in the mine layer version was 10815 kg.

The latest C-series aircraft had heavier armament than the B-series. Armament of the He 115 C-1. One 7.9 mm MG-15 machine gun with 525 rounds in the bow mount, one stationary 15 mm MG-151 cannon forward, one 7.9 mm MG-15 machine gun with 1,500 rounds on a movable mount backward and one MG-17 in the tail of each nacelle; 1 torpedo LTF-5 or LTF-6b, or 1x 920 kg mine LMB-III, or 2x500 kg LMA, or 3x250 kg bombs in the compartment and 2 under the wing.

By the summer of 1940, the seaplane as a torpedo bomber was clearly outdated. Its tasks could be perfectly solved by faster and less vulnerable land aircraft. But the long range and duration of the flight made it possible to use the seaplane as a patrol aircraft and a minelayer. The greatest "merit" of the He 115 is considered to be its participation, together with the submarines and aircraft He 111 and Ju 88, in the defeat of the PQ-17 convoy in July 1942, which arranged a real hunt for practically defenseless ships abandoned by their escort and continued to go to Arkhangelsk, 23 out of 36 ships were sunk. The infamous page of the British fleet of World War II ...



He 115 C1
Crew 3
Dimensions
Wing span, m 22.30
Length, m 17.30
Height, m 6.30
Wing area, m² 86.80
Weight, kg:
Empty 6,880
Loaded weight 10,690
Powerplant
2 PE BMW-132K, power, h.p. 2 × 960
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 300
Cruising speed, km/h 285
Maximum range, km 2800
Service ceiling, m 3,200

Bibliography

  • Luftwaffe Aviation / V.N. Shunkov /
  • Luftwaffe Combat Aircraft / Edited by David Donald /
  • Encyclopedia of Military Equipment / Aerospace Publising /

Photo Description
Drawing He 115 B-2

Drawing He 115 B-2

He 115 Swedish Air Force, above the cockpit you can see the frame of the radio compass.

He 115 B-1. There is a torpedo suspension in the weapons bay.

Авиация Второй мировой

Авиация Второй мировой

На главную Поиск на сайте

He 115 ✙
Многоцелевой гидросамолёт
Heinkel

He 115

Поплавковый гидросамолет He 115, к началу Второй мировой войны уже считавшийся устаревшим самолетом, тем не менее, успел послужить не только Германии, но и Норвегии, Швеции, Финляндии и Великобритании. Спроектированный как военный самолет, призванный выполнять не только патрульные задачи, но и функции торпедоносца и бомбардировщика, гидросамолет, с двумя огромными поплавками, оказался слишком неповоротливым и незащищенным, чтобы противостоять истребителям противника. Однако, ранние прототипы He 115, появившиеся в 1938 году, превзошли своего конкурента Hs 140, и компания "Хейнкель" получила контракт на его производство. В итоге было построено 138 гидросамолётов, 76 из которых - на авиастроительном заводе "Везер".

Конструктивно гидросамолет представлял собой цельнометаллический среднеплан, монококовый фюзеляж овального сечения и двухлонжеронное трехсекционное крыло. Первый полет Hе 115-V1 состоялся в августе 1937 г., гидросамолет оснащался двумя 9-цилиндровыми двигателями воздушного охлаждения ВМW-132К, мощностью 960 л. с. каждый. Два однореданных поплавка монтировались прямо под двигательными гондолами на паре вертикальных обтекаемых стоек с проволочными расчалками. В фюзеляжном отсеке размещалась либо одна 700 кг торпеда, либо три 250 кг бомбы. Экипаж предусматривался из трех человек - пилота, штурмана и радиста. Оборонительное вооружение состояло из пары пулеметов МG-15. В остекленной, несколько угловатой носовой части фюзеляжа монтировалась шаровая пулеметная установка. Второй пулемет был в конце кабины над задней кромкой крыла.

Первая серийная модель Hе 115A-1 выпускалась с января 1939 г. Это был чистый торпедоносец, правда, была предусмотрена возможность подвески в отсек трех 250 кг бомб. Кроме того были два держателя под крылом.

В декабре 1939г. было развернуто производство Hе 115B-1, на котором можно было использовать несколько "наборов вооружения полевой установки", позволявших приспособить самолет к решению специальных задач. Так Hе 115B-1/R-1 имел две фотокамеры. Hе 115B-1/R-2 - держатели на одну 500кг бомбу. Hе 115B-1/R-З мог нести две 500 кг мины LMA-III мм одну 1000 кг LMB-III. Пустой вес Hе 115B-1 был 6720 кг, а максимальный взлетный в варианте минного заградителя - 10815 кг.

Последние самолеты серии C имели более тяжёлое вооружение по сравнению с серией B. Вооружение He 115 C-1. Один 7,9-мм пулемет MG-15 с 525 патронами в носовой установке, один неподвижная 15-мм пушка МG-151 вперед, один 7,9 мм пулемет МG-15 с 1500 патронами на подвижной установке назад и по одному МG-17 в хвосте каждой мотогондолы; 1 торпеда LTF-5 или LTF-6b, или 1х 920 кг мина LMB-III, или 2×500 кг LMA, или 3×250 кг бомбы в отсеке и 2 под крылом.

К лету 1940 г. гидросамолет в качестве торпедоносца явно устарел. Его задачи могли прекрасно решать более скоростные и менее уязвимые сухопутные самолеты. Зато большая дальность и продолжительность полета позволяли использовать гидросамолет в качестве патрульного самолета и минного заградителя. Самой большой "заслугой" He 115 принято считать его участие, вместе с подводными лодками и самолетами He 111 и Ju 88, в разгроме каравана PQ-17 в июле 1942 года, устроившими настоящую охоту за практически беззащитными судами, брошенными своим охранением и продолжавшими идти в Архангельск, 23 из 36 судов оказались потоплены. Позорная страница британского флота Второй мировой...

He 115 C1
Экипаж 3
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 22,30
Длина, м 17,30
Высота, м 6,30
Площадь крыла, м² 86,80
Масса
Пустого, кг 6880
Нормальная взлётная, кг 10690
Силовая установка
2 ПД BMW-132K, мощностью, л.с. 2 × 960
Летные данные
Max скорость, км/час 300
Крейсерская скорость, км/ч 285
Максимальная дальность, км 2800
Практический потолок, м 3200

Источники

  • "Авиация Люфтваффе" /В.Н. Шунков/
  • "Боевые самолеты Люфтваффе" /под редакцией Дэвида Дональда/
  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/

Фото Описание

Схема He 115 B-2

He 115 ВВС Швеции, над кабиной можно рассмотреть рамку радиополукомпаса.

He 115 B-1. Идет подвеска торпеды в отсек вооружения.