Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

Do-217N

Night Fighter

Dornier

Do-217N2

Do 217N-V1 took off for the first time on July 31, 1941. With the exception of the power plant and the restoration of the rear bomb bay (the ability to carry bombs reflected the decision to use this type for night raids behind enemy lines on the Eastern Front), it was similar to the Do217J-2. Its first production version began to enter the night fighter groups from the last quarter of 1942. This variant, the Do217N-l, had the same FuG202 radar as the Do217J-2. Other equipment included the FuG25, which provided identification with anti-aircraft batteries and served as a direction indicator for the Himmelbett system operator, a FuG101 radio altimeter and a FuG10 shortwave radio. From April 1943, when the British Air Force began to suppress radio communications between night fighters and Himmelbett posts, an additional VHF radio station FuG 16 was introduced, operating in a part of the spectrum that was not covered by the British. On some aircraft, the MG FF-M cannon battery was replaced by four MG 151 cannons of the same caliber. The rate of fire and ballistic trajectory of MG FF shells was somewhat inferior to the desired ones, and the MG 151 was distinguished by both a higher rate of fire and better ballistic data.

Do 217N-1 Early combat experience revealed the fact that the upper turret and ventral ledge machine gun are rarely used. Therefore, it was decided to remove both, covering the lower point with a long wooden fairing, providing some reduction in aerodynamic drag. This combination was carried out using a special factory conversion kit in frontline repair shops. The modified aircraft were designated Do217N-1 / U1. The next novelty introduced on the Do 217N-1 was the Shrage Muzyk, an additional cannon that fired obliquely upwards. The Shrage Muzyk experiment was performed on Do 17Z-10 by Oberleutenant Schonert, squadron commander in 4 / NJG2. When Schonert received the Knight's Cross from Major General Kammhuber in July 1942, he reminded the commander that installing a stationary upward-firing cannon on the Do 217 would allow the bomber's almost unprotected belly to be attacked from a position where the fighter would be virtually inaccessible. defensive fire. As a result of this conversation, Kammhuber issued an order to modify the three Do217 night fighters for vertical cannons for combat evaluation.

Three converted aircraft were produced in the spring of 1943. Two 20mm MG 151 cannons were mounted in the central fuselage for forward-upward firing at an angle of 70 °. The weapon was aimed using a reflex sight mounted on the cockpit ceiling above the pilot's head and slightly in front of him. The first definitive victory with the Shrage Musik was noted in May 1943. This and subsequent similar successes led to the creation of a field conversion kit for use on the Do 217, consisting of four 20mm cannons, mounted at an angle of 70 degrees to the horizontal. The aircraft modified in this way were designated Do217N-2 / R22. Shrage Muzyk added another 500 kg to the weight of the aircraft with equipment, lowering the ceiling by 500 m, and the maximum speed by 5 km / h at the ground and by 14 km / h at an altitude of 6000 m.

Do 217N-2 Having replaced Do217N-1 in production at the end of spring 1943, Do 217N-2 was distinguished by all these features, which were gradually introduced on Do 217N-1 / U1. Production was finally discontinued at the end of 1943. A total of 207 Do 217J and Do 217N fighters were delivered to the Luftwaffe this year. Dornier night fighters were widespread in night fighter groups. They were usually used in conjunction with the Bf 110. No group was equipped with only Do 217. Groups I, II and III, NJG 3 and NJG 6, operating in Central Command, also included some Do 217 by the end of 1943. NJG4, based in in the Frankfurt area and at times sent to Eindhoven as part of the 3rd Air Fleet, had two Do 217 squadrons in the II group. In addition to the night protection of the Third Reich itself. Do 217 fighters were also deployed between August and November 1943 on the Eastern Front, where I / NJG100 operated - a separate group known as "railroad night fighters" as their primary mission was to hunt for trains. She operated in the central sector as part of the 6th Air Fleet. With the collapse of the Himmelbett defense system during Operation Gomorrah and the hasty introduction of the impromptu Wilde Sau night-hunting system, the Do 217 night fighter's career took off. Flight duration has become the most important characteristic of a night fighter, defined by the phrase "during the night". Apart from a handful of Ju 88s, the Do 217J and Do 217N were the only fighters in the night fighter groups that could cover significant distances in the German night sky and thus fulfill the functions required by the new tactics. Meanwhile, the ratio of Ju88 fighters and bombers on the assembly lines began to change dramatically - from 1:11 in 1942 to 1: 3.6 in 1943. Over the last six months of the year, 706 Ju 88 fighters left assembly lines, after which, finally, fighters were favored in production over bombers. However, the introduction of the Wilde Sau gave the Dornier fighters a short "glory hour".

Due to the priority given to the rearmament of the Ju 88 night fighter groups, the Do 217 night fighter's combat career was short. If by the end of August 1944. only one I / NJG3, based in Ka-Strup and Lüneburg, was fully armed with Ju88, but by the end of the year all three groups NJG2, II / NJG3 and one group each in NJG1 and NJG6 were rearmed with Junkers, and Dornier fighters "almost completely disappeared from service.

In the last weeks of their combat use, some Do 217N-2s were equipped with a FuG 220 Liechtenstein SN-2 radar, which was not operated by Windou. It had a maximum detection range of 6.5 km. However, for the Dornier, which lacked the high flight characteristics that would allow attacking in pursuit, the short zenith of glory continued until the Zame Sau ("hand boar") tactic was adopted: fighters penetrated the bombers as the latter moved towards the target and then attacked "on the run". Also, the Ju 88s did not appear in large numbers. Like all the night fighters used in World War II with the exception of one, the Northrop P-61 Black Widow, the Do 217 was improvised but made a big deal in the dramatic months of 1943.


                                                                                                                                                                                                              
Specification
Do217K-1 Do217M-1 Do217J-2 Do217N-1
Dimensions
Length, m 17.12 17.12 17.67* 17.67*
Wing span, m 19.0
Wing area without a fus., m² 48.5
Wing area,including a fus., m² 56.7
Height in line of flight, m 4.8
Weight, kg:
Empty weight, kg - 9065 8730 10270
Loaded weight - 16790 13180 13200
Powerplant
Engine (two) BMW 801D DB603A BMW 801ML DB603A
Power, hp takeoff 1700 1750 1580 1750
at alt 1440 1620 1380 1850
m 5700 5700 4600 2100
Performance
Max speed, km/h at alt 515 560 489 515
m 4000 5700 5500 6000
Cruise speed, km/h at alt - 400 465 470
m -     5400
Rate of climb min - 6.7 3.5 9
to alt, m - 2000 1000 4000
Ceiling, m - 7350 9000 8900
Range, km - 2150 2050 1755
Armament
7.92-mm machine guns 3** 3** 4 4
13-mm machine guns 2/3 2/3 2 2
15/20-mm cannon no no 4 4
Internal bomb load, kg 2500 2500 no 400
Bombs, kg 4000 4000 no 400

* - without radar antennas.

** - the nose 7.9-mm twin MG 81Z machine gun was quite often replaced with 13-mm MG 131.

- no data

Photo Description
Drawing Do-217N-2 Drawing Do-217N-2
Dornier Do-217J-2 Dornier Do 217N-2

Bibliography

  • "Aviation of Luftwaffe" /Viktor Shunkov/
  • "Encyclopedia of military engineering" /Aerospace Publising/

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте English
 
Самолёты Дорнье в СССР Dornier Do-17E Do-17Z Do-18 Do-215 Do-217 Do-217E5 Do-217K Do-217M Do-217J Do-217N Do-335 Фото и схемы Боевое применение Do 335 Luftwaffe

Do-217N

Ночной истребитель

Dornier

Do-217N

Do 217N-V1 впервые взлетел 31 июля 1941г. За исключением силовой установки и восстановления заднего бомбоотсека (способность несения бомб отражало решение использовать этот тип для ночных рейдов в тыл противника на Восточном фронте) он был подобен Do217J-2. Его первый серийный вариант начал поступать в группы ночных истребителей с последнего квартала 1942г. Этот вариант, Do217N-l, имел тот же радар FuG202, что и Do217J-2. Другое оборудование включало устройство FuG25, обеспечивающее опознавание зенитными батареями и работавшее как указатель направления для оператора системы "Химмельбетт", радиоальтиметр FuG101 и коротковолновую радиостанцию FuG10. С апреля 1943 г., когда английские ВВС начали подавлять радиосвязь между ночными истребителями и постами "Химмельбетт", была дополнительно введена УКВ-радиостанция FuG 16, действовавшая в той части спектра, которая не перекрывалась англичанами. На некоторых самолетах батарея пушек MG FF-M заменялась четырьмя пушками MG 151 того же калибра. Скорострельность и баллистическая траектория снарядов MG FF несколько уступала желаемым, a MG 151 отличалась как более высокой скорострельностью, так и лучшими баллистическими данными.

Do 217N-1 Ранний опыт боевой экспулатации вскрыл факт, что верхняя турель и пулемет в подфюзеляжном уступе используются редко. Поэтому было решено снять и то и другое, закрыв нижнюю точку длинным деревянным обтекателем, обеспечивающим некоторое снижение аэродинамического сопротивления. Эта комбинация проводилась при помощи специального заводского переделочного комплекта в ремонтных мастерских на передовых. Модифицированные самолеты были обозначены Do217N-1/U1. Следующей новинкой, введенной на Do 217N-1, была "Шраге музик" - установка дополнительной пушки, стрелявшей наклонно вверх. Эксперимент с установкой "Шраге музик" был проведен на Do 17Z-10 оберлейтенантом Шонертом, командиром эскадрильи в 4/NJG2. Когда Шонерт в июле 1942 г. получал "Рыцарский крест" от генерал-майора Каммхубера, он напомнил командующему, что установка на Do 217 неподвижной пушки, стреляющей вверх, позволит атаковать почти незащищенное "брюхо" бомбардировщика из положения, при котором истребитель будет практически недоступен оборонительному огню. В результате этой беседы Каммхубер издал приказ модифицировать три ночных истребителя Do217 под установку вертикальных пушек для оценки в боевых условиях.

Три переделанных самолета были выпущены весной 1943 г. Две 20-мм пушки MG 151 монтировались в центральной части фюзеляжа для стрельбы вперед-вверх под углом 70°. Оружие наводилось при помощи рефлекторного прицела, установленного на потолке кабины над головой пилота и чуть впереди него. Первая достоверная победа при помощи "Шраге музик" была отмечена в мае 1943 г. Эта и последующие подобные удачи привели к созданию полевого переделочного комплекта для применения на Do 217, состоявшего из четырех 20-мм пушек, устанавливаемых под углом 70 град, к горизонтали. Модифицированные таким образом самолеты обозначались Do217N-2/R22. "Шраге музик" добавила к весу самолета с оборудованием еще 500 кг, снизив потолок на 500 м, а максимальную скорость на 5 км/ч у земли и на 14 км/ ч на высоте 6000 м.

Do 217N-2 Сменивший в конце весны 1943 г. Do217N-1 в производстве, Do 217N-2 отличался всеми этими особенностями, постепенно вводившимися на Do 217N-1/U1. Производство было окончательно прекращено в конце 1943 г. Всего 207 истребителей Do 217J и Do 217N было поставлено люфтваффе за этот год. Ночные истребители "Дорнье" были широко распространены в ночных истребительных группах. Они обычно использовались совместно с Bf 110. Ни одна группа не была оснащена только Do 217. I, II и III группы NJG 3 и NJG 6, действовавшие в Центральном командовании, тоже включали некоторую долю Do 217 к концу 1943 г. NJG4, базировавшаяся в районе Франкфурта и временами направляемая в Эйндховен в состав 3-го воздушного флота, имела две эскадрильи Do 217 во II-й группе. Кроме ночной защиты собственно Третьего Рейха. Истребители Do 217 также применялись между августом и ноябрем 1943 г. на Восточном фронте, где действовала I/NJG100 - отдельная группа, известная как "железнодорожные ночные истребители", поскольку их главной задачей была охота за поездами. Она действовала в центральном секторе в составе 6-го воздушного флота. С развалом оборонительной системы "Химмельбетт" во время операции "Гоморра" и поспешным введением импровизированной системы ночной охоты "Вильде Сау", карьера ночного истребителя Do 217 пережила бурный взлет. Продолжительность полета стала важнейшей характеристикой ночного истребителя, определяемой фразой "в течение ночи". Кроме горстки Ju 88, Do 217J и Do 217N были единственными истребителями в ночных истребительных группах, которые могли покрывать значительные расстояния в ночном небе Германии и таким образом выполнять функции, требуемые новой тактикой. Тем временем соотношение истребителей и бомбардировочных вариантов Ju88 на сборочных линиях начало коренным образом изменяться - от 1:11 в 1942 г. до 1:3,6 в 1943 г. За последние шесть месяцев года сборочные линии покинули 706 истребителей Ju 88, после чего, наконец, в производстве было отдано предпочтение истребителям по сравнению с бомбардировщиками. Однако внедрение "Вильде Сау" дало истребителям "Дорнье" короткий "час славы".

В связи с приоритетом, отдаваемым перевооружению групп ночных истребителей на Ju 88, боевая карьера ночных истребителей Do 217 была короткой. Если к концу августа 1944г. только одна I/NJG3, базировавшаяся в Ка-струпе и Люнебурге, целиком была вооружена Ju88, но к концу года все три группы NJG2, II/NJG3 и по одной группе в NJG1 и NJG6 были перевооружены на "Юнкерсы", а истребители "Дорнье" почти полностью исчезли с вооружения.

В последние недели своего боевого использования некоторые Do 217N-2 были оборудованы радиолокатором FuG 220 "Лихтенштейн" SN-2, на который не действовали "Уиндоу". Он имел максимальную дальность обнаружения 6,5 км. Однако для "Дорнье", лишенного высоких летных характеристик, позволяющих атаковать вдогон, короткий зенит славы продолжался, пока не была принята тактика "Заме Сау" ("ручной кабан"): истребители проникали в строй бомбардировщиков, когда последний двигался к цели и затем атаковали "на ходу". Также не появились в большом количестве Ju 88. Подобно всем ночным истребителям, применяемым во II мировой войне, за исключением одного -Нортроп Р-61 "Блэк Уидоу", Do 217 был импровизацией, но имел большое значение в нескольких драматических месяцах 1943 г.

Бомбардировщики Do 217
Do217E-1/3 Do217E-2 Do217K-1 Do217M-1 Do217J-2 Do217N
Геометрия
Длина самолета, м 17.25 17.25* 17.12 17.12 17.67** 17.67**
Размах крыла, м 48.5 48.5 48.5 48.5 48.5 48.5
Площадь крыла без фюзеляжа, м2 48.5 48.5 48.5 48.5 48.5 48.5
Площадь крыла включая фюзеляж, м2 56.7 56.7 56.7 56.7 56.7 56.7
Высота в линии полета, м 4.8 4.8 4.8 4.8 4.8 4.8
Массы, кг
Вес пустого, кг 8590 8855 - 9065 8730 10270
Вес полетный 15290 16465 - 16790 13180 13200
Силовая установка
Мотор (два) BMW 801MA BMW 801ML BMW 801D DB603A BMW 801ML DB603A
Мощность л.с. взлетная 1580 1580 1700 1750 1580 1750
на высоте 1460 1380 1440 1620 1380 1850
м 5000 4600 5700 5700 4600 2100
Лётные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч на высоте 497 515 515 560 489 515
м 5600 5200 4000 5700 5500 6000
Крейсерская скорость, км/ч на высоте 410 415 - 400 465 470
м 5200 5200 -     5400
Скороподъемность мин - - - 6.7 3.5 9
на высоту, м - - - 2000 1000 4000
Потолок, м 7000 7500 - 7350 9000 8900
Дальность, км 2400 2300 - 2150 2050 1755
Вооружение
7,92-мм пулеметы 5-7 3 3*** 3*** 4 4
13-мм пулеметы нет 2 2/3 2/3 2 2
15/20-мм пушки 1 1 нет нет 4 4
бомбы, кг в бомбоотсеке 2500 2500 2500 2500 нет 400
бомбы, кг всего 3000 4000 4000 4000 нет 400

* - без хвостового воздушного тормоза.

** - без радарных антенн.

*** - носовой 7,9-мм сдвоенный пулемет MG 81Z нередко заменялся 13-мм MG 131.

- - нет данных.

Подробно

Источники

  • "Авиация Люфтваффе" /В.Н. Шунков/
  • Авиация и космонавтика. /1999 №10/
  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/

©AirPages
2003-