Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

The BMW 801D

BMW 801 D-2

The BMW 801D-2 14-cylinder radial twin-in-line engine with direct fuel injection had a rated power of 1,460 hp. and takeoff power 1,700 hp. The slightly lower power in comparison with American and Soviet air-cooled engines is explained by the fact that the German engine was designed for low-octane C-3 gasoline with an octane rating of 95, and this forced the designers to limit the afterburner on boost.

The motor was cooled by a 12-blade fan mounted directly behind the propeller and driven from the propeller by a step-up gear. Each cylinder had carefully fitted baffles on the liner and on the head. Cooling air exited through slots on the side and bottom of the bonnet, as well as through adjustable slots in the side bonnet covers.

The exhaust system consisted of 12 pipes. 10 cylinders had individual jet pipes, and the four lower cylinders were paired. Individual pipes were brought out four on each side of the engine in front of the adjustable flaps of the cooling system in such a way that the cooling air formed a layer between the exhaust gases and the cab skin, preventing the latter from heating. Four pipes from the six lower cylinders were brought out “under the belly”.

Motors were most often supplied complete with hoods, underwater pipes, and if necessary, with tropical filters, with an oil cooler and an oil tank, as well as with the front ring of the motor mount, which simultaneously served as a reservoir for the liquid used in the automatic control of the propeller group. Such a kit was indicated by the addition of the letter T (Triebwerksanlage) to the engine brand: BMW 801TD.



BMW 801D Specification
Number of cylinders 14
Diameter of the cylinder, mm 156
Course of the piston, mm 156
Engine capacity, l 41.8
Fuel С-3
Take-off condition
Power, hp 1800
Turnovers, rev/min 2700
Nominal condition
Power on 1-st speed at height 700m, hp 1590
Power on 2-st speed at height 5200m, hp 1360
Turnovers, rev/min 2400
Extreme condition
Power on 1-st speed at height 650m, hp 1820
Power on 2-st speed at height 5200m, hp 1490
Turnovers, rev/min 2700

Automatic propeller VDM 0-12176 А-3, constant speed, metal, wide-bladed (maximum blade chord - 315 mm), had a diameter of 3.3 m.On airplanes with BMW 801TS / TU, another propeller was used: VDM 9-12175 Н- 3 with a diameter of 3.5 m with Heine wooden blades.

The motor and the propeller were controlled by an automatic machine, which provided the adjustment of the basic parameters of the motor and propeller to the most advantageous values ​​when operating with one lever. Depending on the position of the gas sector, the machine selected boost pressure, fuel supply, ignition timing, supercharger speed switching and propeller pitch.

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте  Мобильная версия
 
Самолёты Focke-Wulf FW 56 FW 58 FW 187 FW 189 FW 190A1 FW 190A5 FW 190A8 FW 190D FW 190F FW 190G FW 191 FW 200 Ta 152 Ta 154 Ta 400 Фото и схемы Боевое применение FW 189 FW 190A FW 190F/G FW 190D/Ta152 JG 54 Luftwaffe

Мотор BMW 801D-2

BMW 801 D-2

14-цилиндровый звездообразный двухрядный мотор BMW 801D-2 с непосредственным впрыском топлива имел номинальную мощность 1460 л.с. и взлетную мощность 1 700 л.с. Несколько меньшая по сравнению с американскими и советскими двигателями воздушного охлаждения мощность объясняется тем, что немецкий мотор был расчитан на низкооктановый бензин С—3 с октановым числом 95, а это вынудило конструкторов лимитировать форсаж по наддуву.

Мотор охлаждался 12-лопастным вентилятором, установленным непосредственно за винтом и приводившимся в движение от винта повышающим редуктором. Каждый цилиндр имел тщательно пригнанные дефлекторы на гильзе и на головке. Охлаждающий воздух выходил через щели сбоку и снизу капота, а также через регулируемые щели на боковых крышках капота.

Система выхлопа состояла из 12 патрубков. 10 цилиндров имели индивидуальные реактивные патрубки, а четыре нижних цилиндра — спаренные. Индивидуальные патрубки были выведены по четыре с каждой стороны мотора перед регулируемыми створками системы охлаждения таким образом, что охлаждающий воздух образовывал прослойку между выхлопными газами и обшивкой кабины, предохраняя последнюю от нагрева. Четыре патрубка от шести нижних цилиндров выводились «под брюхо».

Моторы чаще всего поставлялись в комплекте с капотами, подводными патрубками, а если необходимо, то и с тропическими фильтрами, с маслорадиатором и маслобаком, а также с передним кольцом моторамы, которое служило одновременно и резервуаром для жидкости, использовавшейся в автомате управления винтомоторной группой. Такой комплект обозначался добавлением литеры Т (Triebwerksanlage) к марке мотора: BMW 801TD .

Характеристики мотора BMW 801D
Число цилиндров 14
Диаметр цилиндра, мм 156
Ход поршня, мм 156
Литраж, л 41,8
Сорт топлива С-3
Взлетный режим
Мощность, л.с. 1800
Обороты, об/мин 2700
Номинальный режим
Мощность на 1-ой скорости на высоте 700м, л.с. 1590
Мощность на 2-ой скорости на высоте 5200м, л.с. 1360
Обороты, об/мин 2400
Чрезвычайный режим
Мощность на 1-ой скорости на высоте 650м, л.с. 1820
Мощность на 2-ой скорости на высоте 5700м, л.с. 1490
Обороты, об/мин 2700

Винт-автомат VDM 0-12176 А-3, постоянных оборотов, металлический, широколопастный (максимальная хорда лопасти — 315 мм), имел диаметр 3,3 м. На самолетах с BMW 801TS/TU использовался другой винт: VDM 9-12175 Н-3 диаметром 3,5 м с деревянными лопастями фирмы Heine.

Мотор и винт управлялись автоматом, обеспечивавшим настройку основных параметров работы мотора и винта на наивыгоднейшие значения при управлении одним рычагом. В зависимости от положения сектора газа автомат подбирал давление наддува, подачу топлива, опережение зажигания, переключение скоростей нагнетателя и шаг винта.

©AirPages
2003-