Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

Bf-109H

High-altitude fighter

Messerschmitt

Messerschmitt Bf-109H

In the course of the air war, more and more importance was attached to the flight altitude of combat vehicles, and in 1943, when a variant based on the Bf.109F was proposed as an intermediate solution to the high-performance fighter program, the main emphasis was on the altitude characteristics of the aircraft. Under the designation Bf.109H, this project met the requirements for the first stage of the super-fighter project. This phase was known as an urgent program and included the modernization of an already existing fighter. The second stage of the program provided for the creation of a super-high-altitude fighter and was planned before the end of 1944.

                                                                                                                                 

According to the initial design, the Bf.109H was a Bf.109F airframe with a DB-601 high-altitude engine and an additional direct insert in the wing consoles, bringing the total span up to 12 m. However, the Technical Department constantly raised the bar by increasing the ceiling from 13 000 to 15,000 m. This required major changes to the Bf.109H project. In parallel with this work, the Me.209-II was created, which was supposed to replace the Bf.109, and on April 23, 1943, the designer Messerschmitt proposed a high-altitude fighter based on the Me.209-II instead of the Bf.109H. This Project 1091a provided for the use of either a special high-altitude engine DB-628A, or DB-603U (DB-603E version with a TKL-15 turbocharger). According to the calculations, the P.1091a was supposed to have a ceiling of 17,500 meters. But at the same time, it was obvious that the new Messerschmitt fighter would be able to go into production only at the end of 1944, and the Luftwaffe needed a high-altitude fighter as soon as possible. Messerschmitt was instructed to return to the Bf.109H project, but taking into account the decisions on the P.1091a, including the DB-628 engine.

To test the engine installation on the Me.209-II, the Bf.109G-5 airframe (# 16281) was redesigned for the DB-628 mockup, the aircraft was called the Bf.109-V49. After bench tests, the DB-628 was installed on the Bf.109G-3 airframe (# 15338). The aircraft, designated Bf 109-V50, flew for the first time on May 18, 1943 under the control of weather vane Captain Wendel. Despite the design close to the DB-605A, the DB-628A with a two-stage supercharger and an intercooler turned out to be larger and heavier by 170 kg. The aircraft was equipped with a tunnel spinner and a propeller with wide blades. At the same time, the bow was lengthened by 0.75 m, which required the installation of a counterweight in the tail section. On the Bf.109H, for the same purpose, the wing was moved 0.25 m forward, and the tail area was increased.

After a short test in Augsburg, the Bf.109-V50 was transferred to the Daimler-Benz test center in Echterdingen, south of Stuttgart, where test pilots conducted two 30-hour test programs, during which an altitude of 15,500 m was reached. It was calculated that on takeoff the serial DB-628 engine will have a power of 1490 hp, at an altitude of 2000 m 1580 hp, at an altitude of 6400 m 1480 hp, at an altitude of 9600 m 1350 hp and at an altitude of 12 000 m 1130 hp. While the Bf 109-V50 with the DB-628 was being tested at Daimler-Benz, this engine was installed on another Bf 109G-5, which also received an increased keel and direct inserts into the wing. The aircraft flew in June 1943 under the designation Bf 109H-V54 (DV + JB). At the same time, work began on converting several Bf.109F-4 gliders into pre-production Bf.109H-0.

In addition to inserting straight sections into the wing, landing gear struts were also moved to the ends of these sections. The elongated stabilizer received struts. The rest of the Bf 109H-0 were similar to the Bf 109F-4 / Z, retaining the DB-601E-1 engine with the GM-1 afterburner system. Armament consisted of one MG-151/20 cannon and two 7.9 mm MG-17 machine guns. On these machines, it was mainly planned to investigate the problems of flights at high altitudes and equipment modifications. Bf 109H-1, which were intended for military trials, used the Bf 109G-5 airframe with a pressurized cabin and a DB-605A engine with a GM-1 afterburner system. In addition to equipment like the Bf.109H-0, the installation of Rb 20/30, 50/30 or 75/30 cameras was provided.

Several Bf.109H-1s were delivered at the beginning of 1944 for military trials to a unit near Paris. Although the flight data of the fighter was considered sufficient, and the ceiling reached 14,500 m, during a dive at a speed of 730 km / h, wing flutter began. A series of dive tests of the Bf.109H-1 was carried out in Augsburg by weather-captain Wendel, and on April 14, 1944, after a dive from an altitude of 5000 m, at an altitude of 3000 m at a speed of 800 km / h, wing flutter began. After Wendel took over the handle, the left wing fell off with part of the fuselage.

Bf.109H-V-55 Specification
Crew 1
Dimensions
Wing span, m 13.25
Length, m 10.25
Height, m 3.2
Wing area, m² 21.9
Powerplant
PE Daimler-Benz DB-605B, hp. 1600
Weight, kg:
Empty 2880
Maximum takeoff weight 3540
Performance
Maximum speed at altitude 6000 m, km/h 590
Maximum speed at altitude 13500 m, km/h 685
Service ceiling, m 13,500
Armament
30-mm MK108 cannon with 60 cartridges,
2 × 20-mm MG-151 cannon with 200 cartridges on each one
 

After several more test flights, further work on the Bf.109H was discontinued, as they stopped at the Ta.152H. By this time, several more high-altitude fighter projects were developed. On December 22, 1943, another prototype Bf 109H-V55 (# 15709 DV + JC) was flown. Tests of the Bf.109-V54 showed serious stability problems, which were mainly related to the contours of the nose section of the fuselage. As a result, the Bf.109H-V55 (originally it was made under the designation Me.209-V6, but then was used in the Bf.109H program, since the Me.209 program was discontinued), although it retained the lengthened nose of the fuselage, received a DB- 605B with supercharger from DB-603 and bonnet modeled on Bf.109G. The aircraft also received lengthened wingtips modeled on the high-altitude version of the Me.209, which increased the span to 13.25 m, received extended slats and ailerons, and a new keel. It was planned to install the DB-603G engine on the aircraft, but taking into account the delays in the work on the latter, it was decided to install the Jumo-213E-1 with the GM-1 system on the serial version of the Bf.109H. It was planned to manufacture this aircraft in versions of the Bf.109H-2 heavy fighter with three 30 mm MK-103 or MK-108 cannons and two MG-151/20; a light fighter Bf 109H-3 with one 30 mm MK-108 cannon and two 13 mm MG-131 machine guns and a Bf 109H-4 reconnaissance aircraft with one Rb 50/30 or 75/30 camera. None of these options were accepted, and all work ended on the Bf 109H-V55, which was destroyed after the Allied air raid on Augsburg on 25 February 1944. Its predecessor with the DB-628 engine (Bf 109H-V54) was destroyed half a year later on August 14, 1944 after a raid on the Daimler-Benz test center in Echterdingen.

Photo Description
Drawing Bf 109H-1

The Bf 109H-1

DB 605A/B

DB 605A/B

Bibliography

  • "Aviation of Luftwaffe" /Viktor Shunkov/
  • "Encyclopedia of military engineering" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "The air war" /№ 61/

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте English
 
Самолёты Messerschmitt BF109B,C,D BF109E BF109F BF109G BF109G-2 BF109H BF109K BF110C BF110E BF110G Me-410 Me-309 Me-163 Me-262A-1a Me-262A-2a Me-262B Me-264 1101 Me-321 Me-323 Фото и схемы Боевое применение JG5 Bf 109 JG54 Bf 110 Me 262 Me 262 Три мифа о... Luftwaffe

Bf 109H

Высотный истребитель

Messerschmitt

Bf 109H

В ходе воздушной войны все большее значение придавалось высоте полета боевых машин, и в 1943 г, когда в качестве промежуточного решения программы истребителя с высокими характеристиками был предложен вариант на базе Bf.109F, основной упор был сделан на высотные характеристики самолета. Под обозначением Bf.109H этот проект отвечал требованиям к первому этапу проекта супер-истребителя. Этот этап был известен как срочная программа и предусматривал модернизацию уже существующего истребителя. Второй этап программы предусматривал создание сверхвысотного истребителя и был запланирован до конца 1944 г.

Согласно первоначальному проекту Bf.109H представлял собой планер от Bf.109F с высотным двигателем DB-601 и дополнительной прямой вставкой в консоли крыльев, доводящих общий размах до 12 м. Однако, Технический департамент постоянно поднимал планку требований, увеличив потолок с 13 000 до 15 000 м. Это потребовало внести в проект Bf.109H серьезные изменения. Параллельно с этой работой создавался Ме.209-II, который должен был заменить Bf.109, и 23 апреля 1943 г конструктора Мессершмитта предложили высотный истребитель на базе Ме.209-II взамен Bf.109H. Этот Проект 1091а предусматривал использование либо специального высотного двигателя DB-628A, либо DB-603U (варианта DB-603E с турбокомпрессором TKL-15). По расчетам P.1091а должен был иметь потолок в 17 500 м. Hо в то же время было очевидно, что новый истребитель Мессершмитта сможет пойти в серию только в конце 1944 г, а высотный истребитель был нужен люфтваффе как можно скорее. Мессершмитт получил указание вернуться к проекту Bf.109H, но с учетом решений по P.1091а, в том числе двигателя DB-628.

Для отработки установки двигателя на Ме.209-II, планер Bf.109G-5 (#16281) был переделан под макет DB-628 самолет назывался Bf.109-V49. После стендовых испытаний DB-628 установили на планер Bf.109G-3 (#15338). Самолет под обозначением Bf.109-V50 полетел первый раз 18 мая 1943 г под управлением флюг-капитана Венделя. Hесмотря на близкую к DB-605A конструкцию, DB-628А с двухступенчатым нагнетателем и промежуточным охладителем оказался больше по размерам и тяжелее на 170 кг. Hа самолет был установлен туннельный кок и винт с широкими лопастями. При этом носовая часть была удлинена на 0,75 м, что потребовало установки в хвостовой части противовеса. Hа Bf.109H с этой же целью крыло передвинули на 0,25 м вперед, а площадь хвостового оперения увеличили.

После коротких испытаний в Аугсбурге Bf.109-V50 был переведен на испытательный центр Даймлер-Бенц в Эхтердингене к югу от Штутгарта, где пилоты-испытатели провели две 30-часовые программы испытаний, во время которых достигалась высота полета 15 500 м. Было рассчитано, что на взлете серийный двигатель DB-628 будет иметь мощность 1490 лс, на высоте 2000 м 1580 лс, на высоте 6400 м 1480 лс, на высоте 9600 м 1350 лс и на высоте 12 000 м 1130 лс. Пока на Даймлер-Бенце испытывался Bf.109-V50 с DB-628, этот двигатель поставили на еще один Bf.109G-5, также получивший увеличенный киль и прямые вставки в крыло. Самолет полетел в июне 1943 г под обозначением Bf.109H-V54 (DV+JB). Одновременно началась работа по переделки нескольких планеров Bf.109F-4 в предсерийные Bf.109H-0.

Помимо вставки в крыло прямых в плане секций, были также перенесены на концы этих секций стойки шасси. Удлиненный стабилизатор получил подкосы. В остальном Bf.109H-0 были подобны Bf.109F-4/Z, сохранив двигатель DB-601E-1 с системой форсажа GM-1. Вооружение состояло из одной пушки MG-151/20 и двух 7,9 мм пулеметов MG-17. Hа этих машинах в основном планировалось исследовать проблемы полетов на больших высотах и доработки оборудования. Bf.109H-1, которые предназначались для войсковых испытаний, использовали планер Bf.109G-5 с гермокабиной и двигателем DB-605A с системой форсажа GM-1. Помимо оборудования как у Bf.109H-0 была предусмотрена установка фотокамер Rb 20/30, 50/30 или 75/30.

Несколько Bf.109H-1 были в начале 1944 г поставлены для войсковых испытаний в часть под Парижем. Хотя летные данные истребителя посчитали достаточными, а потолок достигал 14 500 м, при пикировании на скорости 730 км/ч начинался флаттер крыла. Серия испытаний Bf.109H-1 на пикирование была проведена в Аугсбурге флюг-капитаном Венделем, и 14 апреля 1944 г после пикирования с высоты 5000 м, на высоте 3000 м при скорости 800 км/ч начался флаттер крыла. После того, как Вендель взял ручку на себя, левое крыло отвалилось с частью фюзеляжа.

После проведения еще нескольких испытательных полетов дальнейшие работы по Bf.109H были прекращены, так как остановились на Та.152H. К этому времени были разработаны еще несколько проектов высотного истребителя. 22 декабря 1943 г был облетан еще один опытный самолет Bf.109H-V55 (#15709 DV+JC). Испытания Bf.109-V54 показали серьезные проблемы с устойчивостью, которые в основном были связаны с обводами носовой секции фюзеляжа. В результате Bf.109H-V55 (первоначально он делался под обозначением Me.209-V6, но потом был использован в программе Bf.109H, так как программа Ме.209 была прекращена) хотя и сохранил удлиненную носовую часть фюзеляжа, получил двигатель DB-605B с нагнетателем от DB-603 и капот по образцу Bf.109G. Самолет также получил удлиненные законцовки крыла по образцу высотного варианта Ме.209, которые довели размах до 13,25 м, получил удлиненные предкрылки и элероны, новый киль. Hа самолет планировалось поставить двигатель DB-603G, но, учитывая задержки с работами по последнему, на серийный вариант Bf.109H было решено ставить Jumo-213E-1 с системой GM-1. Планировалось производство этого самолета в вариантах тяжелого истребителя Bf.109H-2 с тремя 30 мм пушками МК-103 или МК-108 и двумя MG-151/20; легкого истребителя Bf.109H-3 с одной 30 мм пушкой МК-108 и двумя 13 мм пулеметами MG-131 и разведчика Bf.109H-4 с одной фотокамерой Rb 50/30 или 75/30. Hи один из этих вариантов не был принят, и все работы закончились на Bf.109H-V55, который был разрушен после налета на Аугсбург 25 февpаля 1944 г авиации союзников. Его предшественник с двигателем DB-628 (Bf.109H-V54) был уничтожен полугодом позже 14 августа 1944 г после налета на испытательный центр Даймлер-Бенц в Эхтердингене.

Характеристики Bf.109H-V-55
Экипаж 1 чел.
Размеры.
Размах крыла, м 13.25
Длина самолета, м 10.25
Высота самолета, м 3.2
Площадь крыла, м² 21.9
Двигатель
DB-605B; 12-цил. жидкостного охлаждения типа перевернутой V,
взлетной мощностью, л.с.
1600
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого 2880
Максимальная взлетная 3540
Летные данные.
Максимальная скорость, км/час на высоте 6000 м 590
на потолке полета 685
Практический потолок, м 13500
Вооружение
1 x 30 мм пушка МК-108 (60 снарядов) в развале цилиндров
2 x 20 мм MG-151 (200 снарядов на ствол) в крыле.
1
2

Источники

  • "Боевые самолеты Третьего рейха" /У. Грин/

©AirPages
2003-