Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

German Aerial Bombs of the 1930s-1940s

A.B. Shirokorad

1 incendiary bomb; 2-fragmentation 10 kg bomb; 3-high-explosive 50-kg brmba

The German aviation was armed with a fairly wide range of aerial bombs - fragmentation, high-explosive, high-explosive, incendiary, chemical, etc.

High-explosive bombs were subdivided by caliber (weight) and wall thickness. Main calibers: 50, 250, 500, 1000, 1800 and 2500 kg. The thickness of the hull walls differed into thin-walled SC with a cylindrical middle part, a welded nose spinner and a screwed-in tail fairing with a stabilizer (the bomb was loaded through the bottom) and thick-walled SD - solid, the tail fairing was screwed after the bomb was loaded.

On the basis of thick-walled bombs, armor-piercing and missile-high-explosive (with a rocket engine to destroy armored and reinforced concrete targets) bombs were made. They were designated PC and PS.

The bombs were equipped with side fuses. The harness was in the form of a single lug or pad (for heavy bombs). To reduce the depth of penetration of bombs into the ground and increase the effect of the shock wave, a ring or cast-iron tips in the form of a ploughshare were welded to the head of some bombs.

High-explosive bombs with caliber up to 1000 kg were painted gray, and with caliber over 1000 kg - in light blue.

High-explosive, high-explosive and fragmentation bombs; 1 - SC 50; 2 - SC - 100; 3 - SD 250; 4 - SC 250; 5 - SD 500; 6 - SD 1000; 7 - SC 1000; 8 - SC 2500

Shrapnel bombs were designated SD and BdC. The bomb bodies were made of steel cast from two steel pipes of different diameters, inserted one into the other, the space between the pipes was filled with steel fragments or concrete (concrete SBe-1). These bombs were painted mainly in dark gray (SD-2 - green, SD-1 - lemon yellow). Small caliber fragmentation bombs were placed in containers, including containers of the AB type.

The SD-2 fragmentation bomb was distinguished by an unusual design solution. The bomb itself was in a cylindrical casing. The casing consisted of two spring-loaded halves. The bomb was cocked with a cable, one end of which was attached to the fuse, and the other, with a limiter, was brought out through a hole in the body.


An incendiary bomb assembled from several parts. Ignited with two small incendiary bombs attached to the side.

Incendiary bombs were produced in hulls of thin-walled high-explosive bombs corresponding in caliber. There were purely incendiary bombs, designated Br C - (50, 250 kg, etc.), Flam C - (50, 250 kg, etc.) and high-explosive incendiary bombs Spre C - (50, 250 kg, etc.) etc.). In addition to thermite cartridges, some bombs contained steel fragments and a TNT charge. Incendiary bombs were painted dark gray.

Large-caliber composite incendiary bombs were also used, which were manufactured in front-line conditions. The nose and tail (with a stabilizer) fairings from heavy high-explosive bombs, a harness and a fuse in the form of two small-caliber incendiary bombs were attached to the incendiary tank.

NC smoke bombs were made in hulls corresponding to the caliber of SD. They were dark gray with stripes of the same color as the smoke from the bomb.

On the stabilizers of some high-explosive and fragmentation bombs, the Germans welded "whistles". The fall of such bombs was accompanied by a high-pitched whistle, which caused panic among the morally unstable infantry. For the fired units, it served as a warning of danger.

To destroy the sides of surface ships, the Germans designed the so-called 800-kg planing bombs with a small jet engine SB-800RS. These bombs had a spherical warhead with a diameter of 750 mm and an annular stabilizer. The total length of the bomb is 1910 mm. The bombs were dropped at a low altitude, about 20 m, from a distance of 4.0-4.5 km from the target. After dropping, the solid-fuel engine was fired, and the bomb flew horizontally, and then touched the water at a low angle. The tail section and the stabilizer fell off, and the warhead made several ricochets and hit the side of the enemy ship. On tests, the lateral deviation from the target was up to 55 m with a drop range of 4.5 km. However, the accuracy of the planing bomb was very dependent on the state of the sea and the strength of the wind, so in 1944 work on it was discontinued.

Conventional armor-piercing bombs weighing from 500 to 1800 kg were put into service in 1940. Their combat use showed that when bombing from low altitudes (700-1500 m), the speed of falling bombs did not ensure penetration of all armored decks of battleships or heavy cruisers ... Increasing the bombing altitude to 5-7 km sharply reduced the likelihood of hitting the ship.

In 1942, the Luftwaffe adopted 3 jet armor-piercing bombs: PC500RS "Paulina", PC1000RS "Paul" and PC1800RS "Panther" weighing 500, 100 and 1800 kg, respectively. A small solid-propellant engine installed in the tail of the bombs gave them an additional vertical speed of about 160 m / s, thereby significantly increasing their armor penetration.

1 - BT 200 torpedo bomb; 2 - PC 1000; 3 - SB 800R-5 250; 4 - X-1.

Here are the data of several German conventional bombs. The smallest incendiary bombs weighed only 1 kg. They are 350 mm long and 50 mm in diameter. There were the same small fragmentation bombs, and some of them were made from 50-mm mortar mines.

  • 10 kg fragmentation bombs were 585 mm long and 86 mm in diameter.
  • 50 kg fragmentation bombs were 1100 mm long and 200 mm in diameter.
  • 250-kg high-explosive fragmentation bombs had a length of 1630-1651 mm, a diameter of 368-370 mm. BB-112.5 kg weight.
  • 500-kg high-explosive fragmentation bombs SC-500 had a length of 2022 mm, a diameter of 470 mm.
  • 1000-kg high-explosive bombs SC-1000 had a length of 2660 kg, a diameter of 660 mm.
  • 1800-kg high-explosive bombs SC-1800 had a length of 3500 mm, a diameter of 660 mm.
  • 2500-kg high-explosive bombs SC-2500 had a length of 3900 mm, a diameter of 820 mm.

Bibliography

  • History of aircraft weapons / A.B. Shirokorad /

Авиация Второй мировой На главнуюПоиск на сайтеEnglish
 
Вооружение MG-15 MG-17 MG-81 MG-131 MG-FF MG-151 MK-103 MK-108 ВК-3,7 Джаз Авиабомбы

НЕМЕЦКИЕ АВИАБОМБЫ 1930-40-х г.г.

А.Б.Широкорад

1-зажигательная бомба; 2-осколочная 10-кг бомба; 3-фугасная 50-кг брмба

На вооружении германской авиации состоял довольно широкий ассортимент авиабомб - осколочных, осколочно-фугасных, фугасных, зажигательных, химических и др.

Фугасные авиабомбы подразделялись по калибру (весу) и толщине стенок. Основные калибры: 50, 250, 500, 1000, 1800 и 2500 кг. По толщине стенок корпуса различались на тонкостенные SC с цилиндрической средней частью, приваренным носовым коком и привинченным хвостовым обтекателем со стабилизатором (бомба снаряжалась через донную часть) и толстостенные SD - цельнолитые, хвостовой обтекатель привинчивался после снаряжения бомбы.

На основе толстостенных бомб делались бронебойные и ракетно-фугасные (с ракетным двигателем для поражения бронированных и железобетонных целей) бомбы. Они обозначались PC и PS.

Бомбы оснащались боковыми взрывателями. Подвесная система была в виде одного ушка или колодки (для тяжелых бомб). Чтобы уменьшить глубину проникновения бомб в грунт и увеличить эффект ударной волны, к головной части некоторых бомб приваривали кольцо или чугунные наконечники в виде лемеха.

Фугасные авиабомбы калибром до 1000 кг окрашивались в серый цвет, а калибром свыше 1000 кг - в светлоголубой.

Фугасные, осколочно-фугасные и осколочные бомбы; 1 - SC 50; 2 - SC - 100; 3 - SD 250; 4 - SC 250; 5 - SD 500; 6 - SD 1000; 7 - SC 1000; 8 - SC 2500

Осколочные авиабомбы обозначались буквами SD и BdC. Корпуса бомб делались стальными литыми из двух стальных труб разных диаметров, вставленных одна в другую, пространство между трубами заполнялось стальными осколками или бетоном (бетонные SBe-1). Окрашивались эти бомбы в основном в темно-серый цвет (SD-2 - в зеленый, SD-1 - в лимонно-желтый). Осколочные авиабомбы малых калибров укладывались в контейнеры, в том числе в контейнеры типа АВ.

Необычным конструктивным решением отличалась осколочная бомба SD-2. Сама бомба находилась в цилиндрическом кожухе. Кожух состоял из двух подпружиненных половинок. Бомба взводилась с помощью тросика, один конец которого крепился к взрывателю, а другой, с ограничителем, выводился наружу через отверстие в корпусе.

Зажигательная бомба, собранная из нескольких частей. Воспламенялась с помощью двух небольших зажигательных бомб, прикрепленных сбоку.

Зажигательные авиабомбы выпускали в корпусах соответствующих по калибру тонкостенных фугасных авиабомб. Были чисто зажигательные бомбы, обозначавшиеся Вг С - (50, 250 кг и т. д.), Flam С - (50, 250 кг и т.д.) и фугасно-зажигательные бомбы Spre С - (50, 250 кг и т.д.). В некоторых бомбах кроме термитных патронов находились стальные осколки и тротиловый заряд. Окрашивались зажигательные авиабомбы в темно-серый цвет.

Применялись и составные зажигательные авиабомбы большого калибра, которые изготавливались во фронтовых условиях. К баку с зажигательной смесью крепились носовой и хвостовой (со стабилизатором) обтекатели от тяжелых фугасных авиабомб, подвесная система и запал в виде двух малокалиберных зажигательных авиабомб.

Дымовые бомбы NC делались в корпусах, соответствующих по калибру SD. Они были темно-серые с полосками того цвета, какой дым давала бомба.

На стабилизаторах некоторых фугасных и осколочных авиабомб немцы приваривали «свистки». Падение таких бомб сопровождалось пронзительным свистом, который вызывал панику у морально неустойчивой пехоты. Для обстрелянных же частей он служил предупреждением об опасности.

Для поражения бортов надводных кораблей немцы спроектировали так называемые глиссирующие 800-кг бомбы с небольшим реактивным двигателем SB-800RS . Эти бомбы имели шарообразную боевую часть диаметром 750 мм и кольцевой стабилизатор. Общая длина бомбы 1910 мм. Сброс бомб происходил на малой высоте, около 20 м, с дистанции 4,0-4,5 км от цели. После сброса срабатывал твердотопливный двигатель, и бомба летела горизонтально, а затем касалась воды под малым углом. Хвостовая часть и стабилизатор отваливались, а боевая часть делала несколько рикошетов и ударялась в борт корабля противника. На испытаниях боковое отклонение от цели составляло до 55 м при дальности сброса 4,5 км. Однако точность глиссирующей бомбы очень зависела от состояния моря и силы ветра, поэтому в 1944 г. работы над ней были прекращены.

Обычные бронебойные бомбы весом от 500 до 1800 кг были приняты на вооружение в 1940 г. Их боевое применение показало, что при бомбардировке с небольших высот (700-1500 м) скорость падения бомб не обеспечивала пробития всех броневых палуб линкоров или тяжелых крейсеров. Увеличение же высоты бомбометания до 5-7 км резко снижало вероятность попадания в корабль.

В 1942 г. на вооружение люфтваффе были приняты 3 реактивные бронебойные авиабомбы: PC500RS «Паулина», PC1000RS «Поль» и PC1800RS «Пантера» весом соответственно 500, 100 и 1800 кг. Небольшой твердотопливный двигатель, установленный в хвостовой части бомб, сообщал им дополнительную вертикалью скорость около 160 м/с, тем самым он существенно увеличивал их бронепробиваемость.

1 - бомба-торпеда BT 200; 2 - PC 1000; 3 - SB 800R-5 250; 4 - X-1.

Приведем данные нескольких германских обычных авиабомб. Самые маленькие зажигательные авиабомбы были весом всего в 1 кг. Их длина 350 мм, а диаметр 50 мм. Были такие же маленькие осколочные бомбы, причем часть из них делали из 50-мм минометных мин.

10-кг осколочные бомбы имели длину 585 мм, диаметр 86 мм.
50-кг осколочные бомбы имели длину 1100 мм, диаметр 200 мм.
250-кг осколочно-фугасные бомбы имели длину 1630-1651 мм, диаметр 368-370 мм. Вес ВВ-112,5 кг.
500-кг осколочно-фугасные бомбы SC-500 имели длину 2022 мм, диаметр 470 мм.
1000-кг фугасные бомбы SC-1000 имели длину 2660 кг, диаметр 660 мм.
1800-кг фугасные бомбы SC-1800 имели длину 3500 мм, диаметр 660 мм.
2500-кг фугасные бомбы SC-2500 имели длину 3900 мм, диаметр 820 мм.

Источники

  • "История авиационного вооружения" / А.Б.Широкорад /

©AirPages
2003-