Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

Ki-64 "Rob"

Heavy Fighter- Interceptor

Kawasaki

Kawasaki Ki-64 Rob

The experimental fighter Ki.64 "Rob" can be considered the most original machine for this purpose, built in Japan during the war years.

Takeo Doi began designing it in 1939, initially considering it a pure experiment in achieving high speeds. But the high design indicators (according to the creators, the aircraft could reach a speed of 700 km / h at an altitude of 5000 m) attracted the attention of the military, and already in October 1940 the project received the army designation Ki.64 and began to be considered as a heavy interceptor fighter.

High speeds were going to be achieved due to the high power of the engine and minimization of aerodynamic drag. Since motors with a power of about 2000 hp. then in Japan it was not yet, they decided to use a pair of Xa.40s installed in tandem in the fuselage. The second engine, located behind the cockpit, transmitted power to the front propeller through a long shaft passing under the pilot's feet. This arrangement of engines made it possible to significantly reduce the midsection of the aircraft, compared with the traditional arrangement of two engines on the wing. An additional effect was to be given by the use of a laminar wing profile and a steam cooling system.

Japanese engineers met the latter in Germany, where it was developed by Heinkel. The coolant mixture passed through the engine, boiled and evaporated, then flowing into the radiator-condensers under the wing skin. From there, it was pumped back to the reserve tank of the system. The absence of conventional honeycomb-type radiators protruding into the stream significantly improved the aerodynamics of the aircraft. In 1940, drawings and prototypes of the He 100 fighter and the He 119 high-speed reconnaissance aircraft were delivered from Germany. These aircraft were powered by DB601 engines (which were prototypes of Xa.40), with a steam cooling system.

Power point. At first, Doi wanted to place the engines one behind the other, as on the Italian racing seaplane Macchi MS.72 and the Soviet experienced bomber "C" designer VF Bolkhovitinov, taking the cockpit far back. Then he moved on to a very original scheme, dividing the motors with a pilot's cabin. The French did something similar a little earlier on Arsenal VG.10 and VG.20 aircraft.

A power plant that combined two Xa.40s (one of them with an extended shaft) with a steam cooling system and coaxial counter-rotation propellers was developed by the Kawasaki engine-building design bureau. She was designated as Xa.201. The screws were not synchronized with each other; each of them worked independently of the other. The front propeller was variable pitch, and the rear propeller was constant.

The cooling system was tested in October 1942 on a converted Ki.61. Until the end of 1943, he made 35 successful flights, overtaking serial fighters by 35-40 km / h. A considerable problem for the designers of Xa.201 was the shaking of the elongated shaft of the rear engine, but in the end they managed to get rid of it by introducing dampers into its supports. At the Xa.201 stand, it showed power up to 2350 hp.



Ki-64 'Rob' Specification
Crew 1
Dimensions
Wing span 13.50 m (44 ft. 3 ½ in.)
Wing area, 28.00 m² (301.389 Sq. Ft)
Length 11.03 m (36 ft. 2¼ in.)
Height 4.25m (10 ft. 5¼ in.)
Powerplant
Na-201 ,24-Cylinder inverted Vee liquid cooled. power 2350 hp
Weight
Empty weight 4050 kg (8929 lbs.)
Loaded weight 5100kg (11,244 lbs.)
Performance
Maximum speed at altitude 690km/h (429 mph)
m (ft) 5000 ( 16,400 ft)
Initial rate of climb 910m/min (2986 ft/min )
Time to level 5000m (16,400 ft) 5 min. 30 sec.
Service ceiling 12000 m (39,370 ft.)
Service range 1000 km (620 ml)
Armament
Four 20mm Type Ho-5 cannon  

The preliminary design of the Ki.64 was completed in January 1941, and on January 23, the Army Air Forces ordered one prototype aircraft from Kawasaki. However, further work was delayed due to the great complexity and novelty of the design, as well as due to the design bureau being overloaded with the design of the first Ki.60, and then Ki.61. Only at the end of 1943 was it possible to complete the first and only prototype machine. Radiators-condensers were placed in the wing consoles, since the inner sections were occupied by gas tanks and weapons (the aircraft carried two 20-mm Ho.5 cannons), left radiators for the front engine, right ones for the rear. It is interesting that the Japanese designers used shields as radiators and the movable part of the wing. The oil cooler was common, it stood asymmetrically, under the right half-wing. Since the Japanese failed to achieve good tightness of the cooling system, a large reserve tank was installed in the fuselage to compensate for the loss of coolant. The same tank was supposed to compensate for possible water losses from bullet holes in battle.

In December 1943, the Ki.64 took to the air for the first time. The flight data turned out to be high, although they did not reach the promised 700 km / h. Difficulties arose with the cooling system - water losses turned out to be significantly more than calculated. The plane took off, enveloped in a cloud of steam. A total of five flights were made. On the fifth, the rear engine jammed due to overheating. The tester made an emergency landing, severely damaging the machine.

In the series, it was supposed to produce an improved version, Ki.64-KAI with a more powerful motor unit based on a pair of Xa.140, which was supposed to develop up to 2800 hp. Another difference was the Sumitomo counter-rotation propeller, the production of which was established under license from the German company VDM. The front and rear propellers in this unit were not only adjustable in pitch, but also completely feathered - they were installed along the stream, reducing resistance when the propeller was idle. Such an innovation made it possible to turn off one engine in cruising flight. The armament of the Ki.64-KAI was supposed to be supplemented by a pair of Ho.5s above the front engine with a complex synchronization system - the movement of two sets of blades had to be taken into account. According to calculations, this fighter could reach a speed of 800 km / h.

In parallel with the Ki.64-KAI, in 1943 a simplified modification of the Ki.88, the Japanese Airacobra, was developed. She did not have a front motor, the only Xa.40 (or Xa.140) was behind the cockpit. The cooling system was returned to traditional honeycomb radiators. The armament of the Ki.88 consisted of one Xo.203 (37 mm), which fired through the propeller hub, and a pair of Xo.5s at the bottom of the forward fuselage. The data, of course, was much lower than that of the Ki.64: it was believed that the maximum speed would be of the order of 600 km / h. A wooden full-size layout of the Ki.88 was made, but that was it - in October 1943, work on it was stopped.

The design of the Ki.64-KAI continued until the middle of 1944, when the Koku Hombu decided that it would take too much time to fine-tune this machine. Specialists were switched to other projects that promised faster returns. The Xa.201 engine after the accident of the first prototype aircraft returned to the engine plant, and the disassembled Ki.64 airframe was stored in one of the hangars in Kagamigahara.

It was there that American intelligence officers found him in the autumn of 1945. The unfamiliar machine was given the code name "Rob". Soon they also found a motor installation, which was of greater interest than the aircraft. Both were sent to the USA. The fighter itself did not reach America - probably on the way it was washed away by a storm from the deck of an aircraft carrier. But Xa.201 was tested at the Wright Field Air Force Research Center, but the rapid development of jet aircraft quickly depreciated its merits. Ki.64 remained only a memory of the talent and originality of Japanese designers.

Drawing Ki 64

Bibliography

  • - War Planes Of The Second World War - Fighters - /Green, William, 1964, Doubleday And Company, Inc., New York/

Авиация Второй мировой На главнуюПоиск на сайтеEnglish
Самолёты Kawasaki Ki-45 Ki-61 Ki-64 Ki-100 Фото и схемы

Ki-64 «Rob»

Тяжелый истребитель-перехватчик

Kawasaki

Ki-64 «Rob»

Экспериментальный истребитель Ки.64 «Rob» можно считать наиболее оригинальной машиной этого назначения, построенной в Японии в годы войны.

Проектирование ее Такео Дои начал в 1939 г., первоначально считая это чистым экспериментом в области достижения больших скоростей. Но высокие расчетные показатели (самолет по оценкам создателей мог достигнуть скорости 700 км/час на высоте 5000 м) привлекли внимание военных и уже в октябре 1940 г. проект получил армейское обозначение Ки.64 и начал рассматриваться как тяжелый истребитель-перехватчик.

Высоких скоростей собирались достигнуть за счет большой мощности мотоустановки и минимизации аэродинамического сопротивления. Поскольку моторов мощностью порядка 2000 л.с. тогда в Японии еще не было, то решили использовать пару Ха.40, установленных тандемно в фюзеляже. Второй двигатель, расположенный позади кабины, передавал мощность на передний винт через длинный вал, проходящий под ногами летчика. Такое расположение двигателей позволяло существенно сократить мидель самолета, по сравнению с традиционным расположением двух двигателей на крыле. Дополнительный эффект должно было дать применение ламинарного профиля крыла и паровой системы охлаждения.

С последней японские инженеры познакомились в Германии, где ее разрабатывала фирма "Хейнкель". Охлаждающая смесь проходила через двигатель, закипала и испарялась, поступая затем в радиаторы-конденсаторы под обшивкой крыла. Оттуда ее откачивали обратно в резервный бак системы. Отсутствие выступающих в поток радиаторов обычного сотового типа существенно улучшало аэродинамику самолета. В 1940 г. из Германии доставили чертежи и опытные образцы истребителя Не 100 и скоростного разведчика Не 119. На этих самолетах стояли моторы DB601 (являвшиеся прототипами Ха.40), с паровой системой охлаждения.

Силовая установка. Сначала Дои хотел разместить двигатели друг за другом, как на итальянском гоночном гидросамолете Макки МС.72 и советском опытном бомбардировщике "С" конструктора В.Ф.Болховитинова, отнеся кабину пилота далеко назад. Затем он перешел к весьма оригинальной схеме, разделив моторы пилотской кабиной. Нечто подобное чуть раньше сделали французы на самолетах Арсенал VG.10 и VG.20.

Мотоустановку, сочетавшую два Ха.40 (из них один с удлиненным валом) с паровой системой охлаждения и соосными винтами противовращения, разрабатывало моторостроительное КБ "Кавасаки". Ее обозначили как Ха.201. Винты не синхронизировались между собой; каждый из них работал независимо от другого. Передний винт был изменяемого шага, а задний - постоянного.

Систему охлаждения в октябре 1942 г. опробовали на переделанном Ки.61. До конца 1943 г. он сделал 35 успешных полетов, обгоняя серийные истребители на 35-40 км/час. Немалой проблемой для конструкторов Ха.201 стала тряска удлиненного вала заднего двигателя, но в конце концов от нее удалось избавиться, введя демпферы в его опоры. На стенде Ха.201 показывала мощность до 2350 л.с..

Эскизный проект Ки.64 был закончен в январе 1941 г. и 23 января ВВС армии заказали "Кавасаки" один опытный самолет. Однако, дальнейшие работы затянулись из-за большой сложности и новизны конструкции, а также из-за перегрузки КБ проектированием сначала Ки.60, а затем Ки.61. Лишь в конце 1943 г. удалось завершить первую и единственную опытную машину. Радиаторы-конденсаторы разместили в консолях крыла, так как внутренние секции были заняты бензобаками и вооружением (самолет нес две 20-мм пушки Хо.5), левые радиаторы для переднего мотора, правые для заднего. Интересно, что японские конструкторы использовали как радиаторы и подвижную часть крыла - щитки. Маслорадиатор был общий, он стоял асимметрично, под правым полукрылом. Поскольку японцам не удалось добиться хорошей герметичности системы охлаждения, то в фюзеляже установили большой резервный бак для возмещения потерь охлаждающей жидкости. Этот же бак должен был скомпенсировать возможные потери воды от пулевых пробоин в бою.

В декабре 1943 г. Ки.64 впервые поднялся в воздух. Летные данные оказались высокими, хотя до обещанных 700 км/час не добрались. Возникли сложности с системой охлаждения - потери воды оказались существенно больше расчетных. Самолет взлетал, окутанный облаком пара. Всего совершили пять полетов. На пятом из-за перегрева заклинило задний двигатель. Испытатель совершил вынужденную посадку, сильно повредив машину.

В серии предполагалось выпускать усовершенствованный вариант, Ки.64-КАИ с более мощной мотоустановкой на базе пары Ха.140, которая должна была развивать до 2800 л.с. Другим отличием являлся винт противовращения "Сумитомо", производство которого налаживалось по лицензии немецкой фирмы VDM. Передний и задний винты в этом агрегате не только регулировались по шагу, но и полностью флюгировались - устанавливались по потоку, уменьшая сопротивление при неработающем винте. Такое новшество позволяло в крейсерском полете выключать один мотор. Вооружение Ки.64-КАИ предполагалось дополнить парой Хо.5 над передним двигателем со сложной системой синхронизации - предстояло учитывать движение двух наборов лопастей. По расчетам этот истребитель мог достигнуть скорости 800 км/час.

Параллельно с Ки.64-КАИ в 1943 г. разрабатывалась упрощенная модификация Ки.88 - японская "Аэрокобра". Переднего мотора у нее не было, единственный Ха.40 (или Ха.140) стоял за кабиной пилота. Систему охлаждения вернули к традиционным сотовым радиаторам. Вооружение Ки.88 складывалось из одной Хо.203 (37 мм), стрелявшей через втулку винта, и пары Хо.5 внизу в носовой части фюзеляжа. Данные, конечно, были намного ниже, чем у Ки.64: считалось, что максимальная скорость будет порядка 600 км/час. Деревянный полноразмерный макет Ки.88 был изготовлен, но на этом все и кончилось - в октябре 1943 г. работы по нему прекратили.

Проектирование Ки.64-КАИ продолжалось до середины 1944 г., когда "Коку Хомбу" решил, что на доводку этой машины уйдет слишком много времени. Специалистов переключили на другие проекты, обещавшие более быструю отдачу. Мотоустановка Ха.201 после аварии первого опытного самолета вернулась на моторный завод, а разобранный планер Ки.64 хранился в одном из ангаров в Кагамигахаре.

Там его и нашли сотрудники американской разведки осенью 1945 г.. Незнакомой машине присвоили кодовое имя "Роб". Вскоре отыскали и мотоустановку, представлявшую больший интерес, чем самолет. И то, и другое отправили в США. Сам истребитель до Америки не добрался - вероятно по пути его смыло штормом с палубы авианосца. А вот Ха.201 испытывалась в исследовательском центре ВВС Райт-Филд, но стремительное развитие реактивной авиации быстро обесценило ее достоинства. Ки.64 остался лишь воспоминанием о таланте и оригинальности японских конструкторов.

Характеристики Ki-64
Экипаж 1
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 13,50
Площадь крыла, м2 28,00
Длина, м 11,03
Высота, м 4,25
Двигатель
Ha-201 /2x Ha-40 12-цилиндровых V-образных/ 2350 л.с.
Массы, кг
Пустого самолета 4050
Максимальная взлетная 5100
Летные данные
Скорость максимальная на высоте 5000м, км/час 690
Время подъема на высоту 5000 5,5 мин
Максимальная скороподъемность м/мин 910
Практический потолок, м 12000
Практическая дальность, км 1000
Вооружение
2 кpыльевые 20 мм пушки Hо.5  

Источники

  • журнал   «Авиация и космонавтика» №1 2000    /Владимир Котельников/
  •    «Самолеты Японии Второй мировой войны»    /Олег Дорошкевич/

©AirPages
2003-