Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

D4Y "Suisei"

D4Y Suisei
  • Dive Bomber
  • Yokosuka

On the morning of October 24, 1944, a lone single-engine aircraft appeared over the American squadron. Diving a comet through the explosions of anti-aircraft shells, he covered the aircraft carrier Princeton with a single 250-kg bomb. A fire followed, and then, at the time of the evacuation of the crew, a powerful explosion that severely damaged the nearby cruiser Birmingham. 229 people died, 420 were seriously injured ...

The plane that inflicted this heavy blow on the American fleet was the Susay-Kometa dive bomber - one of the most beautiful aircraft of the Second World War. It has been engineered with art that rivals those of the British Mosquito bomber. Even their fate is similar - designed as bombers, they were first used as reconnaissance aircraft and both were used as night fighters. But, despite its outstanding combat characteristics, the history of "Sussei" as it were ended with the defeat of Japan, and in comparison with the glory of "Mosquito" "Sussei" remained only in the hearts of rare aviation enthusiasts.

Already while the first D3A1 was being tested, the Imperial Navy issued a new 13-C mission for the next generation of dive bombers. Initially, the Japanese naval headquarters planned to put into production a modified version of Heinkel He 118. The fleet acquired from the firm "Ernst Heinkel AG" experienced Not 118 V4 and license to manufacture it. The aircraft was tested in the spring of 1938 in Japan under the designation DXHel "experimental naval attack aircraft type He". But it turned out to be too heavy for use from an aircraft carrier, and plans for its mass production were rejected after the plane was destroyed in the air. But the characteristics of the He 118 impressed the Japanese naval headquarters, and as a result, the 13-C specifications appeared for a two-seater dive bomber with a maximum speed of 515 km / h, a cruising speed of 425 km / h, a flight range of 1450 km with a 250-kg bomb and 2200 km without bombs. There was no competition for this task - the order was received by the 1st Naval Aviation Technical Arsenal in Yokosuka, which was supposed to develop a reduced version of the He 118 for use from small aircraft carriers.

Under the leadership of Chief Engineer Masao Yaman, Arsenal designers designed one of the most aesthetic single-engine bombers of World War II. The resulting D4Y1 barely resembled its progenitor He 118 - only the use of a 12-cylinder liquid-cooled engine Aichi "Atsuta" remained in common, which was a licensed version of the Daimler-Benz DB 601 A, which was on a German car. The aircraft had a wingspan of 11.5 m. Despite its small size, the D4Y1 carried the same amount of fuel as the larger D3A1 and had a bomb bay for 500 kg bombs. For use as a dive bomber, the aircraft had three electrically operated brake flaps. They stood right in front of the flaps. The fuel system included five unprotected tanks with a capacity of 1070 liters - one under the pilot's seat and four between the wing spars. Two 330-liter fuel tanks could be suspended under the wing. There was a 73-liter oil tank behind the engine. The defensive armament was the same as that of the D3A1: two synchronous 7.7-mm Type 97 machine guns and one movable 7.92-mm Type 1 machine gun in the rear of the cockpit. The plane could carry 560 kg of bomb load.

Development of the D4Y1 progressed slowly - the small Yokosuka design bureau was having a hard time coping with the many technical innovations used on the aircraft.

Since the Aichi "Atsuta" engine was not yet ready, the plane was equipped with a Daimler-Benz DB 600G purchased in Germany. The plane made its first flight in Yokosuka in December 1940. The flights were extremely successful, the characteristics were high, and the handling was pleasant. This was enough to start pre-production of the D4Y1. The next four prototype aircraft were also powered by imported DB 600G engines. By the time the testing of these machines was completed in 1941, it was decided to transfer production to the Aichi plant in Ettoku, since the naval arsenal did not have the necessary capacity. However, the rapid launch of the aircraft into production was prevented by the wing flutter during dive bombing tests. In this case, cracks appeared in the wing spar. Work on the pre-production vehicles for the Aichi engines had already gone far enough to change anything, and it was decided to finish them in the version of deck reconnaissance. The reconnaissance plane was equipped with a K-8 camera with a 250 mm or 500 mm lens. With engines Aichi AE1A "Atsuta" 1200 hp the aircraft was accepted into service under the designation "deck reconnaissance aircraft type 2 model 11" (Aichi D4Y1-C). At the same time, the aircraft retained the small arms, but the bomb racks were removed.

D4Y Suisei


D4Y2 'Suisei' Specification
Crew 2
Dimensions
Wing span, m 11.5
Wing area, m² 22.8
Length, m 10.20
Height, m 3.75
Powerplant
12 PE Aichi AE1P air-cooled 1400 hp at sea level; 1340 hp at 1700 m; 1280 hp at 5000 m
Weight, kg
Empty weight 2640
Gross weight 3840
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 575 km/h at altitude 5250 m
Cruising speed, km/h 425 km/h at 2000 m
Time to 3000 m 4.5 min
Service ceiling 10,700 m
Service range 3,600 km
Armament (Defensive)
7.92 mm type 1 or 13 mm type 2 Machine gun  
Weapons
Bombs, kg 500 + 2x30

At a time when the D3A2s rushed into desperate attacks under heavy attacks from enemy fighters in the Solomon Islands area, the designers of Aichi and the Yokosuka Arsenal made every effort to redesign the D4Y1 wing. The wing received a reinforced spar and new air brakes. The aircraft was accepted for production in March 1943 under the designation "Susay naval bomber model 11". Thus, the production of the aircraft was limited for a long time: only two D4Y1-Cs were released in October and November 1942, five D4Y1-Cs in December 1941, six in February and seven in March 1942. However, after launching into series " Comets, "the total output of D4Y1 and D4Y1-C increased rapidly, reaching 76 machines in December. As the serial production expanded, new modifications of the aircraft were prepared. Thus, the "Susay" naval bomber model 11 "(D4Y1 KAI) resembled its predecessor and only differed in some structural reinforcement for launching an aircraft from aircraft carrier catapults. In the spring of 1944 he went into series D4Y2 with the Aichi AE1R "Atsuta" 32 engine with a capacity of 1400 hp. in five modifications: "model 12" with a glider "model 11"; "Susay" model 22 "(D4Y2 KAI) with catapult launchers;" Susay "model 12A" and "model 22A" with a 13-mm "type 2" machine gun installed in the rear part of the cockpit instead of the standard 7.92-mm "type one"; The "deck reconnaissance aircraft type 2 model 12" (D4Y2-C) was the previous version of the reconnaissance aircraft for the Atsuta -32 engine.

The 11th Naval Arsenal in Hiro was also connected to the production of B4Y, delivering 215 aircraft from April 1944 until the end of the war. A small number of D4Y2s produced by this arsenal were converted into Sussei-E (D4Y2-S) night fighters. In this case, all bomber and aircraft carrier equipment was removed, and a 20-mm Type 99 gun was installed in the rear fuselage for forward firing at an angle to the horizon. However, this modification had little success - even if the pilot detected the target, the low climb rate of the vehicle did not allow taking a position for an attack.

With the reinforcement of the wing, the Susay has become a very effective dive bomber with characteristics significantly higher than that of the Curtiss SB2C Helldiver. The main problem of the aircraft was its power plant - neither Daimler-Benz DB 601 A, nor its licensed copy of Aichi - "Atsuta" or Kawasaki Na-40 did not have the necessary reliability. As a result, at the beginning of 1944 the aircraft was converted to a 14-cylinder air-cooled engine Mitsubishi MK8R "Kinsei" -62 with a capacity of 1560 hp. The first Kinsei-powered aircraft was produced in May 1944. Despite the large "forehead" of the radial engine, the increase in air resistance was minimized by installing side fairings on the fuselage behind the hood, so that flight characteristics remained practically unchanged. The second D4Y3, along with 91 D4Y2s, was released in June 1944, but the next month production began to switch to a version for the Kensei engine. Thus, in July and August 1944, 10 and 61 aircraft of this type were delivered, respectively, compared with 83 and 9 aircraft powered by Atsuta engines for the same periods. By September 1944, only D4Y3 remained in production (pictured above), and the peak of production of this aircraft was reached in December of the same year - 106 D4Y. The aircraft was produced at Aichi and the first arsenal in two versions: the "Susay" naval bomber model 33 (D4Y3) and the "ZZA model" (D4Y3a) - the latter had a 13-mm machine gun on a mobile installation. The latest production aircraft were also equipped with three launch rocket boosters for takeoff from small aircraft carriers.

The defeat of the Japanese in the Mariana Islands and the Philippines, where almost all aircraft carriers were lost, forced to make changes to the Susay again. During the fighting for the Philippines, a significant number of D4Ys were used as kamikaze aircraft. Since the Japanese fleet was left without aircraft carriers, a special single-seat version of the Susei for the kamikaze - D4Y4 - was developed at Aichi. The radio operator's place was removed, the lantern above it was closed, and the plane could carry an 800-kg bomb in a semi-drowned position. Since February 1945, the D4Y4 or "Special Marine Attack Bomber Sussei Model 43" has been replaced on the Aichi assembly line in Ettoki D4Y3.

It was planned to produce the "Susi model 54" (D4Y5) naval aircraft carrier bomber under the Nakajima NK9C "Homare" air-cooled engine with a capacity of 1825 hp. It was supposed to install armor protection for the crew and protected tanks, but until the end of the war, the experienced D4Y5 was never completed. A total of 2,038 D4Ys were built: by the 1st Arsenal in Yokosuka - 5 experimental vehicles, Aichi - 6 D4Y1s for military trials, 660 D4Y1 and D4Y1-C; 320 D4Y2 and D4Y2-C, 536 D4Y3, 296 D4Y4, and by the 11th Arsenal plant in Hiro - 215 D4Y1, D4Y2 and D4Y3.

Photo Description
Drawing D4Y2

Drawing D4Y2

Yokosuka D4Y1 Suisei at the airfield

Yokosuka D4Y1 Suisei at the airfield

Bibliography

  • "Encyclopedia of military engineering " /Aerospace Publising/
  • "Japan Warplanes of World War II" /Oleg Doroshkevich/

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте  Мобильная версия
 
Самолёты Yokosuka B4Y1 D4Y P1Y MXY7 Фото и схемы

D4Y "Suisei"

Палубный пикирующий бомбардировщик

Yokosuka

D4Y Suisei

Утром 24 октября 1944 г над американской эскадрой показался одинокий одномоторный самолет. Кометой спикировав сквозь разрывы зенитных снарядов, он одной единственной 250-кг бомбой накрыл авианосец "Принсетон". Последовал пожар, а потом, в момент эвакуации экипажа - мощный взрыв, тяжело повредивший находившийся рядом крейсер "Бирмингем". Погибло 229 человек, 420 было тяжело ранено...

Самолетом, нанесшим этот тяжелый удар американскому флоту был пикирующий бомбардировщик "Сусей" - "Комета" - один из самых красивых самолетов Второй мировой войны. Он был спроектирован с искусством, не уступающим таким разработкам, как британский бомбардировщик "Москито". Даже их судьба сходна - спроектированные в качестве бомбардировщиков, они сначала использовались в качестве разведчиков и оба применялись в качестве ночных истребителей. Но, несмотря на свои выдающиеся боевые характеристики, история "Сусея" как бы закончилась с поражением Японии, и по сравнению со славой "Москито" "Сусей" остался только в сердцах редких любителей авиации.

Уже в то время, когда первый D3A1 проходил испытания, имперский флот выпустил новое задание 13-Си для следующего поколения пикировщиков. Первоначально японский морской штаб планировал запустить в серию модифицированный вариант Хейнкеля Не 118. Флот приобрел на фирме "Эрнст Хейнкель А.Г." опытный Не 118 V4 и лицензию на его производство. Под обозначением DXHel "штурмовик морской экспериментальный тип Не" самолет испытывался весной 1938 г в Японии. Но он оказался слишком тяжелым для применения с авианосца, а планы его серийного производства были отклонены после разрушения самолета в воздухе. Но характеристики Не 118 произвели на японский морской штаб впечатление, и в результате появились спецификации 13-Си на двухместный пикировщик с максимальной скоростью 515 км/ч, крейсерской скоростью 425 км/ч, дальностью полета 1450 км с 250-кг бомбой и 2200 км без бомб. Конкурса по этому заданию не было - заказ получил 1-й морской авиационно-технический арсенал в Йокосуке, который должен был разработать уменьшенный вариант Не 118 для применения с небольших авианосцев.

Под руководством главного инженера Масао Ямана конструкторы арсенала спроектировали один из самых эстетичных одномоторных бомбардировщиков второй мировой войны. Получившийся D4Y1 мало напоминал своего прародителя Не 118 - общим осталось только использование 12-цилиндрового двигателя жидкостного охлаждения Айчи "Ацута", который представлял собой лицензионный вариант Даймлер-Бенца DB 601 А, стоявшего на немецкой машине. Самолет имел размах крыла 11,5 м. Несмотря на небольшие размеры, D4Y1 нес столько же топлива, что и больший по размерам D3A1, и имел бомбоотсек на 500-кг бомб. Для использования в качестве пикировщика самолет имел три тормозных щитка с электроприводом. Они стояли прямо перед закрылками. Топливная система включала пять непротектированных баков емкостью 1070 л - один под сиденьем пилота и четыре между лонжеронами крыла. Под крылом можно было подвесить два 330-л топливных бака. За двигателем находился 73-л маслобак. Оборонительное вооружение было как у D3A1: два синхронных 7,7-мм пулемета "тип 97" и один подвижный 7,92-мм пулемет "тип 1" в заденей части кабины. Самолет мог нести 560 кг бомбовой нагрузки.

Разработка D4Y1 продвигалась медленно - небольшому конструкторскому бюро из Йокосуки было тяжело справиться с большим количеством технических новшеств, использованных на самолете.

Так как двигатель Айчи "Ацута" не был еще готов, на самолет поставили купленный в Германии Даймлер-Бенц DB 600G. Первый свой полет самолет совершил в Йокосуке в декабре 1940 г. Полеты проходили на редкость успешно, характеристики были высокими, управляемость - приятной. Этого было достаточно для начала подготовки производства D4Y1. Четыре следующих опытных самолета также были оснащены импортными двигателями DB 600G. К моменту завершения испытания этих машин в 1941 г было решено перевести производство на завод Айчи в Еттоку, так как морской арсенал не имел необходимых мощностей. Однако быстрому запус«у самолета в производство помешал флаттер крыла при испытаниях на бомбометание с пикирования. При этом в лонжероне крыла появлялись трещины. Работа над предсерийными машинами под двигатели Айчи уже зашла довольно далеко, чтобы что-либо менять, и их было решено закончить в варианте палубных разведчиков. На разведчике устанавливалась фотокамера К-8 с 250-мм или 500-мм объективом. С двигателями Айчи АЕ1А "Ацута" мощностью 1200 л.с. самолет был принят на вооружение под обозначением "палубный самолет-разведчик морской тип 2 модель 11" (Айчи D4Y1-C). На самолете при этом сохранили стрелковое вооружение, но бомбодержатели были сняты.

В то время, когда D3A2 бросались в отчаянные атаки под жесткие удары истребителей противника в районе Соломоновых островов, конструкторы Айчи и Йокосукского арсенала прилагали все усилия для перепроектирования крыла D4Y1. Крыло получило усиленный лонжерон и новые воздушные тормоза. Самолет был принят для производства в марте 1943 г под обозначением "морской бомбардировщик "Сусей" модель 11". Таким образом, производство самолета долгое время было ограничено: выпустили только по два D4Y1-C в октябре и ноябре 1942 г, пять D4Y1-C в декабре 1941 г, шесть в феврале и семь в марте 1942 г. Однако, после запуска в серию "Кометы", общий выпуск D4Y1 и D4Y1-C быстро возрос, достигнув 76 машин в декабре. По мере разворачивания серийного производства были подготовлены новые модификации самолета. Так, "морской бомбардировщик "Сусей" модель 11" (D4Y1 КАИ) напоминал своего предшественника и лишь отличался некоторым усилением конструкции для запуска самолета с катапульт авианосцев. Весной 1944 г пошел в серию D4Y2 с двигателем Айчи АЕ1Р "Ацута" 32 мощностью 1400 л.с. в пяти модификациях: "модель 12" с планером "модели 11"; "Сусей" модель 22" (D4Y2 KAI) с устройствами запуска с катапульт; "Сусей" модель 12А" и "модель 22А" с установкой в задней части кабины 13-мм пулемета "тип 2" вместо стандартного 7,92-мм "тип 1"; "палубный разведчик морской тип 2 модель 12" (D4Y2-C) был предыдущим вариантом разведчика под двигатель "Ацута"-32.

К производству B4Y был подключен и 11-й военно-морской арсенал в Хиро, поставивший с апреля 1944 г до конца войны 215 самолетов. Небольшое число D4Y2 из числа выпущенных этим арсеналом было переделано в ночные истребители "Сусей-Е" (D4Y2-S). При этом все бомбардировочное и авианосное оборудование снималось, а для стрельбы вперед под углом к горизонту в задней части фюзеляжа была установлена 20-мм пушка "тип 99". Однако эта модификация имела небольшой успех - даже если летчик обнаруживал цель, малая скороподъемность машины не позволяла занять позицию для атаки.

С усилением крыла "Сусей" стал весьма эффективным пикировщиком с характеристиками значительно более высокими, чем у Кертисса SB2C "Хеллдайвер". Главной проблемой самолета была его силовая установка - ни Даймлер-Бенц DB 601 А, ни его лицензионная копия Айчи -"Ацута" или Кавасаки На-40 не обладали необходимой надежностью. В результате в начале 1944 г самолет был переделан под 14-цилиндровый двигатель воздушного охлаждения Мицубиси МК8Р "Кинсей"-62 мощностью 1560 л.с. Первый самолет с двигателем "Кинсей" был выпущен в мае 1944 г. Несмотря на большой "лоб" звездообразного двигателя, рост воздушного сопротивления был сведен к минимуму установкой боковых обтекателей на фюзеляже за капотом, так что летные характеристики практически не изменились. Второй D4Y3 вместе с 91 D4Y2 был выпущен в июне 1944 г, но уже в следующем месяце производство стало переключаться на вариант под двигатель "Кенсей". Так, в июле и августе 1944 г было поставлены 10 и 61 самолет такого типа соответственно по сравнению с 83 и 9 самолетами под двигатели "Ацута" за те же периоды. К сентябрю 1944 г в производстве остался только D4Y3, а пик выпуска этого самолета был достигнут в декабре того же года - 106 D4Y. Самолет выпускался на Айчи и первом арсенале в двух вариантах: "морской бомбардировщик "Сусей" модель 33" (D4Y3) и "модель ЗЗА" (D4Y3a) - последний имел на подвижной установке 13-мм пулемет. Последние серийные самолеты также оснащались тремя стартовыми ракетными ускорителями для взлета с небольших авианосцев.

Поражения японцев на Марианских островах и на Филиппинах, где были потеряны почти все авианосцы, заставили вновь внести изменения в "Сусей". Во время боев за Филиппины значительное число D4Y использовалось в качестве самолетов для камикадзе. Так как японский флот остался без авианосцев, на Айчи была разработана специальная одноместная версия "Сусея" для камикадзе - D4Y4. Место радиста снималось, фонарь над ним заделывался, и самолет мог нести 800-кг бомбу в полуутопленном положении. С февраля 1945 г D4Y4 или "специальный морской бомбардировщик-штурмовик Сусей модель 43" заменил на сборочной линии Айчи в Еттоки D4Y3.

Планировался выпуск и "морского авианосного бомбардировщика Сусей модель 54" (D4Y5) под двигатель воздушного охлаждения Накадзима NK9C "Хомаре" мощностью 1825 л.с. Предполагалось установить бронезащиту экипажа и протектированные баки, однако до конца войны опытный D4Y5 так и не закончили. Всего было построено 2038 D4Y: 1-ым арсеналом в Йокосуке - 5 опытных машин, Айчи - 6 D4Y1 для войсковых испытаний, 660 D4Y1 и D4Y1-C; 320 D4Y2 и D4Y2-C, 536 D4Y3, 296 D4Y4, а заводом 11-го арсенала в Хиро - 215 D4Y1, D4Y2 и D4Y3.

D4Y "Suisei"
Экипаж 2 чел.
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 11,5
Длина самолета, м 10,2
Высота, м 3,75
Площадь крыла, м² 22,8
Мотор
12-цилиндровый воздушного охлаждения Айчи АЕ1Р Ацута с 3,2-м трехлопастным винтом изменяемого шага 1400 л.с. на взлете, 1340 л.с. на высоте 1700 м, и 1280 л.с. на высоте 5000 м.
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого самолета 2640
Максимальная взлетная 3840
Летные данные.
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 575 км/ч на высоте 5250 м
Крейсерская скорость, км/ч 425 км/ч на высоте 2000 м
Время набора высоты 3000м, мин 4,5
Практический потолок, м 10700
Максимальная дальность, км 3600
Вооружение
конце кабины находились либо 7,92-мм пулемет тип 1 либо 13-мм пулемет тип 2
Бомб на внешней подвеске, кг 500 + 2х30

Источники

  • " Авиация Японии во 2-й МВ" /ОНТИ ЦАГИ. АС №4/
  • Самолеты Японии Второй мировой войны. "Военная авиация" /О. Дорошкевич/

©AirPages
2003-