Aviation of WWII
Home Custom Search
Japan Aichi D-3A B7A E13A E16A H9A M6A Photos & Drawings

E13A "Reisu"
Float Reconnaissance Seaplane
Aichi

E13A on IGN Aoba

E13A "Reisu" (Jake). Float reconnaissance seaplane. The prototype E13A1 went for testing in April 1938, almost simultaneously with two two-seater E12A1. During factory tests, the E13A1 showed significant superiority over the E12A1 in speed and maneuverability, not to mention flight range. Around the same time, Kaigun Koku Hombu finally decided on what he wanted from a ship reconnaissance, having dropped the requirements for a two-seater car, rightly believing that the Mitsubishi F1M2 seaplane would also cope with all its tasks. Thus, further work focused on the three-seater long-range E13A1.

At the end of October, the E13A1 was handed over for comparative tests with the Kavanishi E13K1 by naval pilots.

In trials, Kawanishi's rival E13K1 surpassed Aichi's seaplane in most characteristics other than top speed, with a less powerful engine but proved to be more difficult to operate and maintain. However, in the summer of 1939, the first prototype of the E13K1 crashed in one of the flights. Soon, the second and final prototype of Kavanishi's seaplane went missing during a test flight over the sea. Thus, the product of Yoshishiro Matsuo reached the final for lack of other rivals.

In December 1940, the long-range reconnaissance aircraft Aichi E13A1 was adopted by the fleet under the designation "Reishiki minakamitei satsuki" - "Type 0 Model 11 Marine Reconnaissance Aircraft" or E13A1. During operation, the long name of the aircraft was shortened to the abbreviation "Reimisu" or even "Reisu".

Initially, mass production was launched at the Aichi plant in the city of Funakata, where, however, only 133 copies of the E13A1 were produced. Since 1942, the plant was reoriented to the production of D3A dive bombers and the production of Reisu reconnaissance aircraft was transferred to the Watanabe company, later renamed into Kyushu Hikoki KK. From 1942 to 1945, 1237 Reisu units were produced here. Another 48 pieces were produced at the 11th Naval Aviation Arsenal in Hiro in 1940-1942.

During mass production, the E13A1 reconnaissance aircraft was practically not modified. It was only in November 1944 that the E13A1a version began to be mass-produced, in which the float mounting scheme was changed. Rigid struts to the struts connecting the float to the wing were replaced with cable guides.

The E13A1b variant was equipped with a Type 3 Ku Model 6 (H6) search radar with antennas installed along the aft fuselage along the sides and on the leading edge of the wing.

The E13A1c version had enhanced armament. The 7.7-mm Type 92 machine gun in the gunner's cockpit was replaced by a 20-mm Type 99-1 cannon on a mobile mount. The cannon E13A1c was intended mainly not so much for hunting anyone as it was a weak attempt to increase the defenses of a vehicle operating deep behind enemy lines. This version appeared in the second half of 1944, when the "Jake" suffered severe losses during the battle of the Mariana Islands, and the issue of increasing the security of the vehicle became especially acute.

Several aircraft that did not receive a special designation were equipped with magnetometers to detect submarines, but this tool turned out to be ineffective - it could only work when the aircraft was flying at an altitude of no more than 10 m above the water. There are also mentions of night versions of the aircraft, equipped with flame arresters on the engine manifolds.

A total of 1418 aircraft were produced.

Aichi E13A1
Crew 3
Dimensions
Wing span, m 14.50
Wing area, m² 36.00
Length, m 11.30
Height, m 4.70
Powerplant
1×PE Mitsubishi MK8D Kinsei 43
Power, hp 1×1080
Weight, kg:
Empty weight 2,642
Loaded weight 3,640
Gross weight 4,000
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 375
Cruising speed, km/h 220
Maximum rate of climb, m/min 495
Service ceiling, m 8,730
Service range, km 2,090

Armament. One 7.7 mm type 92 machine gun on a movable mount back; bomb load: 1×250 kg bomb or 4×60 kg depth charges.

Photo Description

Drawing Aichi E13A1

Bibliography

  • E Aranov. Aichi B7A Ryusei/Grace
  • "Japan Aircraft of World War II." /Oleg Doroshkevich/
  • "Encyclopedia of military engineering" /Aerospace Publising/
Aichi Kawanishi Kawasaki Mansyu Mitsubishi Nakajima Tachikawa Yokosuka Photos & Drawings

©AirPages
2003-

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте
Самолёты Aichi D-3A B7A E13A E16A M6A Фото и схемы Боевое применение E13A E16A D-3A

E13A "Reisu"
Поплавковый гидросамолет-разведчик
Aichi

Aichi E13A Jake

E13A "Reisu" (Jake). Поплавковый гидросамолет-разведчик. Прототип Е13А1 вышел на испытания в апреле 1938 г., практически одновременно с двумя двухместными Е12А1. В ходе заводских испытаний Е13А1 показал существенное превосходство над Е12А1 в скорости и маневренности, не говоря уже о дальности полета. Примерно в это же время Kaigun Koku Hombu наконец определился с тем, что он хотел от корабельного разведчика, сняв требования на двухместную машину, справедливо посчитав, что со всеми ее задачами вполне справится и гидроплан Мицубиси F1M2. Таким образом, дальнейшие работы сосредоточились вокруг трехместного дальнего Е13А1.

В конце октября Е13А1 был передан для сравнительных испытаний с Каваниши Е13К1 флотскими летчиками.

В ходе испытаний соперник от Каваниши E13K1 превзошел гидроплан Аичи в большинстве характеристики, кроме максимальной скорости, будучи оснащенным менее мощным двигателем, но оказался более сложным в эксплуатации и обслуживании. Однако летом 1939 года в одном из полетов разбился первый прототип Е13К1. Вскоре второй и последний прототип гидроплана Каваниши пропал без вести во время испытательного полета над морем. Таким образом, изделие Йошиширо Мацуо вышло в финал за неимением других соперников.

В декабре 1940 года дальний разведчик Аичи Е13А1 был принят на вооружение флота под обозначением "Reishiki minakamitei satsuki" - "Морской разведывательный самолет Тип 0 Модель 11" или E13A1. В процессе эксплуатации длинное название самолета сократили в аббревиатуру "Reimisu" или даже "Reisu".

Первоначально серийное производство было развернуто на заводе Аичи в городе Фунаката, где было выпущено, правда, лишь 133 экземпляра Е13А1. С 1942 года завод был переориентирован на выпуск пикировщиков D3A и производство разведчиков "Рейсу" передали на фирму Ватанабе, позднее переименованную в Кюсю Хикоки КК. Здесь было произведено с 1942 по 1945 год 1237 штук "Рейсу". Еще 48 штук выпустили на 11-м арсенале морской авиации в Хиро в 1940-1942 гг.

В процессе серийного производства разведчик E13A1 практически не модифицировался. Лишь с ноября 1944 года начал серийно выпускаться вариант E13A1а, у которого изменилась схема крепления поплавков. Жесткие подкосы к стойкам, соединяющие поплавок с крылом, были заменены на тросовые растяжки.

Вариант E13A1b оснащался поисковым радаром Type 3 Ku Мodel 6 (H6) с антеннами, установленными вдоль хвостовой части фюзеляжа по бортам и на передней кромке крыла.

Версия Е13А1с имела усиленное вооружение. 7,7-мм пулемет Тип 92 в кабине стрелка заменялся на 20-мм пушку Тип 99-1 на подвижной установке. Пушечный Е13А1с предназначался, главным образом, не столько для охоты за кем бы то ни было, сколько являлся слабой попыткой повысить обороноспособность машины, действовавшей в глубоком тылу противника. Эта версия появилась во второй половине 1944 года, когда "Джейки" понесли жестокие потери в ходе битвы у Марианских островов, и вопрос повышения защищенности машины встал особенно остро.

Несколько самолетов, не получивших особого обозначения, оборудовались магнитометрами для обнаружения подлодок, но это средство оказалось неэффективным - оно могло работать лишь при полете самолета на высоте не более 10 м над водой. Встречаются также упоминания о ночных вариантах самолета, оснащенных пламегасителями на коллекторах двигателя.

Всего было произведено 1418 самолетов.

Aichi E13A1
Экипаж 3
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 14,50
Площадь крыла, м² 36,00
Длина самолета, м 11,30
Высота самолета, м 4,70
Силовая установка
1×ПД Mitsubishi MK8D Kinsei 43
Мощность, л.с. 1×1080
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого самолета 2642
Нормальная взлетная 3640
Максимальная взлетная 4000
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 375
Крейсерская скорость, км/ч 220
Максимальная скороподъемность, м/мин 495
Практический потолок, м 8730
Практическая дальность, км 2090

Вооружение. Один 7,7-мм пулемет тип 92 на подвижной установке назад; бомбовая нагpузка: 1 × 250 кг бомба или 4 × 60 кг глубинные бомбы

Фото Описание

Схема Aichi E13A1

Подробно

Источники

  • "Поплавковые самолеты Японии" /Евгений Аранов/
  • "Авиация Японии" /Андрей Фирсов/
  • "Самолеты Японии Второй мировой войны." /О. Дорошкевич/
Aichi Kawanishi Kawasaki Mansyu Mitsubishi Nakajima Tachikawa Yokosuka Фото и схемы

©AirPages
2003-