Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

A6M2 "Reisen, Zero"

Shipborne Fighter

Mitsubishi

A6M2 Reisen

Mass production of the A6M2 was launched in August 1940 at the Mitsubishi plant in Nagoya, and later also at the Nakajima plant in Kuizuma.

During serial production, changes continued to be made to the aircraft design. Starting from the 22nd production aircraft, they began to install a reinforced rear wing spar, from the 37th they improved the cooling of the engine (they changed the location of the exhaust pipes - they used to come out in the area of ​​the fourth cover, which regulates the engine cooling, and starting from the 37th copy - in the area of ​​the fifth ). We reduced the cross-section of the hole in the wing through which the 20 mm cannon fired, and also reduced the cockpit air intake located at the base of the right wing half. Starting from the 47th copy, the glazing of the rear of the canopy was slightly changed. Tests carried out at the end of July on board the aircraft carrier "Kara" showed that the wingspan, although it allowed the aircraft to be lifted from the hangar to the deck with a standard lift, but left too little clearance. Therefore, starting from the 65th copy, the wing ends began to fold. All these changes led to the appearance of the A6M2 model 21. The shape of the cockpit air intake and the section of the cannon ports changed again. Starting with the 127th copy, a balancing system was installed on the ailerons, adjustable on the ground.

Radio equipment from the fighter was sometimes dismantled. It's not just about making the car lighter and improving aerodynamics, it's just that Japanese radios were extremely unreliable at that time, and the delivery of spare parts to them was a serious problem.

At the beginning of the war in the Pacific, the Japanese fleet had 520 carrier-based fighters, including 328 Zero. On December 7, 1941, 79 A6M2 fighters from six heavy aircraft carriers took part in the air raid on Pearl Harbor: 43 aircraft accompanied the first wave of Japanese bombers and 36 acted as part of the second wave. Since there was no serious resistance to the Japanese in the air, the Zeros were mainly engaged in attacking ground targets, using their 20-mm cannons very effectively.

A6M 'Zero' Specification
A6M2 mod21 A6M3 mod32 A6M2-N2 A6M5 mod52
Crew 1
Dimensions
Wing span, m 12.0 11.0 12.0 11.0
Wing area, m² 22.438 21.538 22.438 21.300
Length, m 9.050 9.060 10.1317 9.121
Height, m 3.525 3.570 4.305 3.570
Weight, kg:
Empty weight 1745 1807 1921 18945
Loaded weight 2421 2535 2460 2743
Powerplant
Nakajima Sakae 12 21 12 21
Power, hp/kW 841/619 1024/754 841/619 1024/754
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h at sea level 296 370 296 330
at altitude, km/h 533 540 436 565
at altitude, m 4550 6000 4300 6000
Time to altitude km/min 5/6'00'' 6/7'19'' 5/6'43'' 6/7'01''
Service ceiling, m 10 300 11 050 7960 11740
Service range , km x 2378 x 1920
Armament
2x7.7 Type 97/cartridges 2х500 2х500 2х500 2х500
2x20-mm Type 99 mod 1/cartridges Mk3/2x60 Mk4/2x100 Mk3/2x60 Mk4/2x100
Bombs, kg 2x60 2x100 2x60 2x100

                                                                                                                                                                                                              
Photo Description
Drawing A6M2 Model 21

Drawing A6M2 Model 21

A6M1

Mitsubishi A6M1

Bibliography

  • "Encyclopedia of military engineering" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "50 best fighters of World War II" /Gennadiy Kornukhin/
  • "Air war" /# 3. A6M Zero/

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте English
 
Самолёты Mitsubishi A5M A6M2 A6M2-N A6M3 A6M5 A7M G4M J2M Ki-21 Ki-46 Ki-67 Ki-109 Фото и схемы Боевое применение A6M

A6M2 "Reisen"

Палубный истребитель

Mitsubishi

A6M2 mod 21 © Михаил Быков

A6M2 mod 21

Массовое производство А6М2 было развернуто в августе 1940 года на заводе фирмы «Мицубиси» в Нагое, а позднее также на заводе фирмы «Накадзима» в Куидзуме.

В процессе серийного изготовления в конструкцию самолета продолжали вноситься изменения. Начиная с 22-го серийного самолета стали устанавливать усиленный задний лонжерон крыла, с 37-го улучшили охлаждение мотора (изменили расположение выхлопных патрубков - раньше они выходили в районе четвертой крышки, регулирующей охлаждение двигателя, а начиная с 37-го экземпляра - в районе пятой). Уменьшили сечение отверстия в крыле, через которое стреляла 20-мм пушка, также уменьшили воздухозаборник кабины пилота, расположенный у основания правого полукрыла. Начиная с 47-го экземпляра несколько изменили остекление задней части фонаря кабины. Испытания, проведенные в конце июля на борту авианосца «Kara» показали, что размах крыла, хотя и позволял поднимать самолет из ангара на палубу стандартным лифтом, но оставлял слишком малый зазор. Поэтому начиная с 65-го экземпляра концы крыла стали складываться. Всё эти изменения привели к появлению самолета А6М2 модель 21. В очередной раз изменилась форма воздухозаборника кабины пилота и сечение пушечных портов. Начиная со 127-го экземпляра, на элероны устанавливали систему балансировки, регулируемую на земле.

Радиооборудование с истребителя иногда демонтировалось. Дело не только в стремлении облегчить машину и улучшить аэродинамику, просто японские радиостанции были в те времена крайне ненадежными, а доставка запчастей к ним представляла собой серьезную проблему.

В момент начала войны на Тихом океане японский флот имел 520 палубных истребителей, в том числе 328 «Зеро». 7 декабря 1941 года в воздушном налете на Пёрл-Харбор участвовали 79 истребителей А6М2 с шести тяжелых авианосцев: 43 самолета сопровождали первую волну японских бомбардировщиков и 36 действовали в составе второй волны. Так как никакого серьезного сопротивления японцам в воздухе оказано не было, «Зеро» занимались преимущественно штурмовкой наземных целей, весьма эффективно используя свои 20-мм пушки.

A6M ZERO
A6M2 mod21 A6M3 mod32 A6M2-N A6M5 mod52
Экипаж, чел. 1
Геометрия
Размах крыла, м 12.0 11.0 12.0 11.0
Площадь крыла, м2 22.438 21.538 22.438 21.300
Длина самолета, м 9.050 9.060 10.1317 9.121
Высота самолета, м 3.525 3.570 4.305 3.570
Массы, кг
Пустого 1745 1807 1921 18945
Нормальная 2421 2535 2460 2743
Силовая установка
Nakajima Sakae 12 21 12 21
Мощность, л.с./kW 841/619 1024/754 841/619 1024/754
Лётные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч взлетная 296 370 296 330
max на высоте 533 540 436 565
м 4550 6000 4300 6000
Время набора высоты км/мин 5/6'00'' 6/7'19'' 5/6'43'' 6/7'01''
Практический потолок, м 10 300 11 050 7960 11740
Дальность полета max, км x 2378 x 1920
Вооружение
2x7.7 Type 97/патронов 2х500 2х500 2х500 2х500
2x20-mm Type 99 mod 1/патронов Mk3/2x60 Mk4/2x100 Mk3/2x60 Mk4/2x100
Бомб, kg 2x60 2x100 2x60 2x100

Подробно

Источники

  • "50 лучших истребителей Второй мировой войны" /Корнюхин Г.В./
  • "Война в воздухе" /№3 A6M Zero/
  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "Крылья Родины " /№1,1992г. А. Медведь "Удар по Жемчужной гавани"/

©AirPages
2003-